Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I COULDNT BELIEVE MY LUCK

• 15-10-2009 1:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

found an old musician inc voucher from 12/05 for 150 euro.
    had forgotten all about it. I had tried to use it about a year ago for service work on a guitar but they dont accept vouchers for this.

then i found out the shop has closed and opened up as X music off the M50.
    Went in to see what they could do...
    brace yourselves... 25 euro worth of strings!!!!!!!

well i nearly fell over with the generosity!
    Cheers X music, all the best for a bright and prosperous future!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

thats only a pack n a half of elixers

i need a job there to sort u all out, i know my push pull pots from my arse and my mA from my volts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

That's a bit crappy....things were worth more back in '05 so really...the voucjer should be worth more!
    Was there an expiry date on the voucher?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,433 ✭✭✭Quattroste

I have yet to come across a voucher that lasts over a year. Your voucher is 4 years old. I think X Music were very generous to give you anything at all. If you don't redeem a voucher in the specified time then what do you expect. If you buy milk and it goes off before you drink it do you bring it back and ask for a refund?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 628 ✭✭✭kranog

There's a big difference here mate.....150 euro was spent in the store...why should there be an expiry date on it? The point of a voucher is that it's as good as cash in that store! Cash doesn't have an expiry...why should a gift voucher?
    Money was handed over to the store at one point....it doesn't matter when!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,573 ✭✭✭Fingers Mcginty

bad form methinks ...:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,178 ✭✭✭✭NothingMan

I know the Musician people moved to X Music, but is it still the same company? If it's a new registered company then they didn't have to give you anything.

If it is still Musician just renamed then if there's not an expiry date on the voucher then you were entitled to the full value I would imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭ElectroJazz

But still, different premises - different business/trading name, I think you were lucky to get anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭funkydunkey

i'd reckon thats fairly good form of them. Ian Dempsey has a fella on about consumer rights and hes always on about vouchers being a bad idea because the store is under no obligation to honour them even within the expiry date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

-=al=- wrote: »
    ...and my mA from my volts

I thought this would be something everyone working with guitar gear knows. I was looking at the TRex Fuel Tanks out there,

"How many amps does it supply?"
    "It's nine volts."

Now really... Whatever about thinking the guy's an idiot or whatever, should he really hold that job?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭ball ox

El Pr0n wrote: »
    I thought this would be something everyone working with guitar gear knows. I was looking at the TRex Fuel Tanks out there,

"How many amps does it supply?"
    "It's nine volts."

Now really... Whatever about thinking the guy's an idiot or whatever, should he really hold that job?
    you'd probably run 4 tube amps off it but that would be pushing it :<

El Pron you really are a cynical ould fwoker aren't you.....you seem to be always giving out about somethin don't ya?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 pdg

25 poxy euro for a 150 voucher.
    never mind the age, move to new premises etc etc.
    tight as a ducks ass! and he had a face like i was pulling the strings out of his!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭rcaz

El Pron you really are a cynical ould fwoker aren't you.....you seem to be always giving out about somethin don't ya?

Er, okay? I'm sorry that things annoy me?

Is it not fair to think that someone selling something should know their product? From experience, I work in an off-licence, and everyone in the place knows enough about wine to recommend a suitable wine for a give price/taste preference/meal etc. I don't think we provide an excellent, unparalleled service, I think we provide the only type of service that should be acceptable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

its a new company - musician is gone

its like have a voucher for a pan am flight for fecks sake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭BSOM

Fair due to the lads, they did not have to honour it as it is a totally different company. We had something similar when we took over a previous business, loads of people jumped at us when we opened up in the same location as the previous business. We said as a good will gesture we would honour half the amount on the voucher, we got nothing but hassle after that so fair dues to the lads! Good on ye !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭padraig_f

I've always found X-music one of the better shops when it comes to returning stuff etc. I think you're lucky to get anything.

El Pr0n wrote: »
    Er, okay? I'm sorry that things annoy me?

Is it not fair to think that someone selling something should know their product? From experience, I work in an off-licence, and everyone in the place knows enough about wine to recommend a suitable wine for a give price/taste preference/meal etc. I don't think we provide an excellent, unparalleled service, I think we provide the only type of service that should be acceptable.

Only messin with ya dude ;)

ah, i think it was just well greedy anyway.
    ..would it not be good business sense etc to have given just a little bit more for the voucher.

you have a vaild reason to return something...and you think your lucky that the shop doesnt make a fuss???!!!! bloody hell.
    those days are long gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭ArthurGuinness

I was told recently by a solicitor that vouchers legally cant expire they can put a date on them all they want but they still have to accept them. Dont know if this is true check it out.

pdg wrote: »
    ah, i think it was just well greedy anyway.
    ..would it not be good business sense etc to have given just a little bit more for the voucher.

you have a vaild reason to return something...and you think your lucky that the shop doesnt make a fuss???!!!! bloody hell.
    those days are long gone.

mmmmm, but it was not a valid voucher for X-Music ?

no it was not a music x voucher.
    but it is the same bunch of lads that were in musician inc.
    i feel cheated anyway, either way, regardless of all the details.
    a bit more effort required by the lads or they may end up with butter vouchers themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

mmm same voucher diff name...

either way unless there was en expiry date it shud be valid

no it was not a music x voucher.
    but it is the same bunch of lads that were in musician inc.
    i feel cheated anyway, either way, regardless of all the details.
    a bit more effort required by the lads or they may end up with butter vouchers themselves.

I understand you feel cheated, but the guys did not have any legal obligation to take your voucher. The legal view point on vouchers is that you cannot have an expiry date because for all intesive purposes it is money (in a different form) but seeing as the company which issues the voucher are no longer trading then it become defunt... i.e. Its like going to Dunnes stores with a voucher for Pennys that was bought in punts !.

I complete understand that you feel cheated but they guys in X, in my opinion, were fair in their offer. Also taking into account that the amount of strings you got for €25 in X is most likley €35 - €40 in comparison to RRP prices.

BSOM wrote: »
    I understand you feel cheated, but the guys did not have any legal obligation to take your voucher. The legal view point on vouchers is that you cannot have an expiry date because for all intesive purposes it is money (in a different form) but seeing as the company which issues the voucher are no longer trading then it become defunt... i.e. Its like going to Dunnes stores with a voucher for Pennys that was bought in punts !.

I complete understand that you feel cheated but they guys in X, in my opinion, were fair in their offer. Also taking into account that the amount of strings you got for €25 in X is most likley €35 - €40 in comparison to RRP prices.

i wouldnt say that its as far removed as that! its the same lads just a different name and location.
    the price of the strings are pretty much the same as anywhere..so i dont know where your getting the difference to RRP from?
    kidding yourself its great value maybe:)

i wouldnt say that its as far removed as that! its the same lads just a different name and location.
    the price of the strings are pretty much the same as anywhere..so i dont know where your getting the difference to RRP from?

mmmm, they arent really. Waltons Martins M150's are €8.50 and they're Elixirs for Electics are €17.99. You can check out their website for yourself and see what €25 would have gotten you :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭punchdrunk

how many packs o' strings did ya get anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

It's a different company and different location. It just happens that many of the people involved in Musician Inc work there. I think there are a few from some of the other shops also.

They had no obligation to honour it so you're lucky that they did give you something. Personally if I got a 150euro voucher for Musician a few years ago, it probably wouldn't stay in my pocket longer than a week. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭K-Ren

You're kind of lucky really getting a return, a what, 4 year old voucher from a different company- even if it was only 25 dubloons, the €150 probably wasn't on their books, so they could have given you those strings out of their own pocket.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭nicknackgtb

If all the lads from Musician inc went to say, Waltons (for arguments sake), you cant go into waltons and say, you worked in musician inc so you should give me my voucher from 4 years ago, that just dosnt work.

X-music is a new company, different books, different everything.

Vouchers are another way of making money for shops, its a retailers easy way of making money for someone else's lack of arsed'ness(!!!) to get up and go to the shop at the time they got the voucher. They give you a year generally to go to their shop and spend your voucher on anything at all there, but you cant expect to get it after that cause it has been taken off their books more or less at year end. everything gets updated.

For the lads at X to give you the strings, I say fair play, very generous and Im sure they would appreciate your kind compliment in your first post.

Rant over!!!! :D

nice rant.
    i would have thought the compliment was seen to be the smart arsed comment it was meant to be. maybe not.
    To be clear it was meant as...the scabby fackars!