Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Freeganism

• 14-10-2009 10:56am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭

Would you try it? Have you tried it? What did you have? Where is good to scavenge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Never heard of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,207 ✭✭✭meditraitor

Rubbish Idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

WindSock wrote: »
    Would you try it? Have you tried it? What did you have? Where is good to scavenge?

sweetpea, ive never heard of it - but ill try anything you ask me to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Oh right. Scabbing stuff for free. cool.

"Many freegans get free food by pulling it out of the trash, a practice commonly nicknamed dumpster diving"

Link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

Hippie crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 871 ✭✭✭gerTheGreat

No never, economies are diven by people spending money. By opting out you're damaging the economy even further. Why do you hate people with jobs? Aren't our jobs insecure enough without deliberately sabotaging the remnants of the economy? :P

For shame!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

No chance. Pighead is better than that. Looking for half eaten sausages in the bottom of wheelie bins is not what Pighead was put on this earth for.

Think Degsy is a fan though. Here's a pic of him last week looking for a bit of ham.
    http://huasipungo.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/02/freegan.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

havent tried it and probably wouldnt. i dont think it has really caught on here has it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Gone Drinking

Hippy alert

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Not for me but if others choose to, that's fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Anyone see that mad bastard on RTE a few weeks ago that lived on roadkill? He was on that Baz's Culture Clash (was a pretty good episode in fairness :o ). He was from Bristol or somewhere and drove around looking for roadkill. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,037 ✭✭✭KilOit

If we all did this we'd still be living in the stone age.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,555 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

don't the homeless need that food?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No never, economies are diven by people spending money. By opting out you're damaging the economy even further. Why do you hate people with jobs? Aren't our jobs insecure enough without deliberately sabotaging the remnants of the economy? :P

For shame!!!
    I make it my daily mission to damage the economy in some way, just little things. It won't really bring down the monetary world order but it makes me feel good on the inside.
    Anyone see that mad bastard on RTE a few weeks ago that lived on roadkill? He was on that Baz's Culture Clash (was a pretty good episode in fairness :o ). He was from Bristol or somewhere and drove around looking for roadkill. :(
    Why didn't he just drive over animals himself since he had a car. There's a petting zoo around his area.

ScumLord wrote: »

Why didn't he just drive over animals himself since he had a car. There's a petting zoo around his area.

He was a hippy.

Trying to watch his carbon footprint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Look at that. I go away for 20 mins and come back to see my thread is 2 pages long. Success! Now to read the quirkey answers.

What if you were walking past a big bin at the back of tescos or somewhere and you spotted a load of fruit & veg that wasn't spoiled and in packages. I would. Of course I'd wash them first. I do anyway.

And it's probably not just perishables. What about chocolates, biscuits and skittles?

What if you were walking past a big bin at the back of tescos or somewhere and you spotted a load of fruit & veg that wasn't spoiled and in packages. I would. Of course I'd wash them first. I do anyway.

And it's probably not just perishables. What about chocolates, biscuits and skittles?

you have me on board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,650 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

Damn lefty commie sons a bitches!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

Hate the notion! Well not hate, I mean it does make sense when the world's food supply going to waste and all that but I hate the experiences I've seen of it. I know some people who practice it and yes, they're living in daddy's pocket yet still rummaging behind Tesco's, none of them give to charity (they claim they need money themselves for India trip, etc.) and I'm running out of excuses on why I don't want to eat their "recycled" jam whenever I pop over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,134 ✭✭✭Lux23

I don't see myself scavenging any day soon but I do think its really sickening that supermarkets just throw food out that's perfect, the only problem with it the packet may be damaged. I think its a real shame that charities can't find a loophole to collect this food and distribute it. I know the main reason they don't is that greedy people are likely to sue if something they got for free makes them sick.

BTW I saw that episode of Baz's culture clash and the guy who lived on roadkill looked like a gone off piece of meat himself, it was sick.

Lux23 wrote: »
    I don't see myself scavenging any day soon but I do think its really sickening that supermarkets just throw food out that's perfect, the only problem with it the packet may be damaged.

I've heard around that they put bleach in the bin to deter rummaging, don't know if I believe that. You could injure anything from a human to some poor dog having a munch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭Paddycrumlinman

No never:-

Would I:- Yes, if I was destitute and had nothing.

Other than that its disgusting and unhealthy. In my opinion your down with the rats if you choose to live this way...

Jesus.... eating food from a bin, you expect this from homeless people who have nothing...

Im putting down a floor in the bedroom for the missus tonight. Last night i found a box of fine belgian chocolates under the bed, with only one or 2 eaten.

You are welcome to them. However the come with the caveat - they were found under my bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,267 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I suppose it rather depends on the circumstances, if life has got that bad that you have to resort to this you have my pity.

snyper wrote: »
    Im putting down a floor in the bedroom for the missus tonight. Last night i found a box of fine belgian biscuits under the bed, with only one or 2 eaten.

You are welcome to them. However the come with the caveat - they were found under my bed.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I know some hobos who do it

I saw this rich family do it on Wife Swap, just fcuking buy it in the shop you stupid hippies!

Packaged food is packaged food...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

I wouldn't do it unless my awesome high powered law career hit the skids, but I have a friend who did it or does it. He's in England. Nip round the back of Marks and Spencer, and stuff with a sell by date of that days date is in skips there.

He eats better than I do. If for example, a brand of jam gets a packaging redesign, then the entire lot the store had previously gets dumped, and he lives off jam. Well, he eats better than I do if you like jam I suppose.

And who wouldn't want to live off jam :D

They prefer the term 'Recycled' jam.

It's just jam, ffs.

Looks like it seems unpopular to some people here. Fine, more food for me so. (yet you are happy to eat shite fast food and junk...)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,907 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

My brother found a skip full of beer one time. It was a month before its going off date. The bastard doesn't even drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Brilliant idea, the amount of old junk I have been able to pawn off to people has been unbelievable. Saves a fortune in skip and dump charges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭Cadiz

There was a family who lived like this on that programme Wifeswap on C4.

They used to live on stuff thrown into the skip from their local Tesco mainly, stuff that was out of date etc. that was being thrown out. And anything else they could find for free.

They lived in a trailer in a commune with other Freeganism types. Had a little boy.

They put them in an apartment as part of the swap. The little fella was soo excited to have his own room, a few little (non-skip sourced) treats. Saddest thing to watch.

They claimed social welfare as well, which doesn't sound very of the spirit of the thing to me, but glad they did for the kids sake. There are so many headcases out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,917 ✭✭✭Wossack

/me changes his WEP key

no freeganising my wireless Windy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

My girlfriend did this in New York as part of a sociology project. She said it was absolutely sick and the people who do it are a shower of weirdos!

To be expected really, living on the scraps of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,118 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I happened to mention this to the manager of a large shopping center in Dundalk and she told me that they had people taking discarded produce from the stores bins so they decided to move the bins to an enclosed are and lock them.

I really don't know what's more retarded, going through a bin for food.. or locking the bins so people cannot use the food that's otherwise gonna be dumped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

I thought this was orgasms that you don't have to pay for.... silly me... you always have to pay for orgasms.

I once found a bunch of DVDs dumped in a skip at the back of the Virgin Megastore.

I only took one, 2010, which I had actually been thinking about purchasing in there the week before.

But as for food? I don't think so... I don't even like food that's served to me on a plate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Supermarket food that's packaged, I don't see any problem with. I don't see why they just don't give it to homeless shelters anyway. It's only going to save them money and by reducing their rubbish bill.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

I live above some shops (one a grocery store), and there`s a Freegan guy usually rummaging through the grocery store bins every evening. I`ve chatted to him about it, and although the thought of it repels me, he rightly points out that the food he takes is well wrapped, on its` sell by date (not its use by date), and pretty much fresh off the shelf (give or take an hour or so in a bin). And yeah, I can see where hes` coming from, but I just couldn`t do it. Like I said, it repels me! I`d never go to lunch at that guy`s house!

I happened to mention this to the manager of a large shopping center in Dundalk and she told me that they had people taking discarded produce from the stores bins so they decided to move the bins to an enclosed are and lock them.

I really don't know what's more retarded, going through a bin for food.. or locking the bins so people cannot use the food that's otherwise gonna be dumped

I guess the store's concern might be if one of these bin-raiding head-the-balls injured themselves on the property or poisoned themselves with something taken from the bins there it might be liable for compo..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭BroomBurner

A good few supermarkets recycle waste food in to compost. It's a shame that more can't do this, and save it all going to waste.

Not sure I could rummage about in a bin for food. Have had to rummage in bins for work-related reasons, and it's always that acrid smell that turns the stomach.

Not sure I could rummage about in a bin for food. Have had to rummage in bins for work-related reasons, and it's always that acrid smell that turns the stomach.[/QUOTE]

Whaaat? Tabloid hack? Garda? Professional stalker? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

I thought this was orgasms that you don't have to pay for.... silly me... you always have to pay for orgasms.

I once found a bunch of DVDs dumped in a skip at the back of the Virgin Megastore.

I only took one, 2010, which I had actually been thinking about purchasing in there the week before.

But as for food? I don't think so... I don't even like food that's served to me on a plate.

Some day you might meet a woman that doesn't charge hopefully! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,181 ✭✭✭✭Jim

Its actually shocking the amount of good, packaged food supermarkets throw away on a daily basis. Its also shocking the length's they'll go to to stop people taking this thrown away food that otherwise is going toward clogging up another landfill.

Yeah. Why do we have such a wasteful 'ah sure I'll buy another/new one' attitude. They don't have it in New Zealand, I tells ya. Everything there is second hand. Not sure about the freegan thing there though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭DIRTY69

Jim wrote: »
    Its actually shocking the amount of good, packaged food supermarkets throw away on a daily basis. Its also shocking the length's they'll go to to stop people taking this thrown away food that otherwise is going toward clogging up another landfill.

It is shocking. And why the **** don't they feed the homeless with it ?

Because there is no profit to be found in it.

Thanks, world.

If people stopped what they were doing for a second to just think of what they are doing this would be a lot nicer a place to live.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

The Flutther was ambling home after a good night at the curry house and got a very urgent 'pull' on the sphinct .

Espied a large Skip in the vicinity of Clare Hall with a large amount of good food inside.

Now the Flutther was in some panic ,heaved himself over the low end, and blew a skein of rancid sour smelling scutther over the lot, bannanas, tomatoes, peppers, own brand sausages ,even meals for two, mini pizzas the lot.

Totally coated.!!

So just be careful out there.