Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marathon TShirt

• 13-10-2009 2:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭

Hi there
    My girlfriend is running the NY marathon in a couple of weeks time.
    Wouldn't mind getting a personalised tshirt done for her - maybe with her name across the front and whatnot.
    I presume I can get the printing done in more or less any tshirt printing shop, but does anyone have any suggestions of what kind of tshirt to get for the event? Is it possible to buy a decent running top (long sleeve / short sleeve) somewhere in or around Dublin that is plain?
    Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

Lovely idea.

we ordered irish flag singlets from this site.

And then got our names printed on the shirts locally, remember to try have the name located so that your number doesn't block it.

If you can fit it, get Ireland printed it as well. Lots of people were cheering for Italy as I passed (wouldn't mind but I'm as far from Italian looking as you can get). :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

Great idea but I really wouldn't recommend it. Most runners wear teh same top on the day as they have in training to make sure that it fits, won't rub, etc. In fact it's a golden rule of marathons that you don't ever wear a new top for teh first time on teh race.

That said if you are happy for her to get it early to break it in then a good quality wicking T shirt is what you need, Runways on Parnell St sell them and Pearl Izumi t-shirts had excellent reviews on here recently. Or just buy the same type as she currently runs in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 987 ✭✭✭ekevosu

I was thinking of this myself, to get something Irish but I don't really wear singlets. Would having something printed on one of your normal running t-shirts block the natural evaporation of the moisture etc that these have? Depends on how big the printing is I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭montac

Thanks for the suggestions!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,559 ✭✭✭Peckham

Having been a spectator at NYC marathon last year, I'd highly recommend getting a name printed on the front (but agree with Amadeus' comments about "breaking in" the top. New Yorkers (and probably Americans in general) are a lot less reserved in their support for the runners than many Dublin marathon spectators, and are only too glad to shout your name if they see it.

Although would be preferable if your girlfriend has an easy to pronounce English name, rather than one of our uniquely Irish names like Niamh, Caoimhe, Grainne or something that most Americans have no chance at pronouncing...and aren't sure whether it's the person's name or an abstract brand of running top!

Would normally be very circumspect of having new gear on for a marathon but I have to say that the quality of the t-shirts was excellent and they were very light.

That said, maybe just get one for your girlfriend an dlet her decide, either way she could wear it after the race or something and she'll appreciate the effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

Good lord, them flag shorts are hilarious... So bad I actually want a pair! I just don't think any of them will go with my bright yellow running vest...

micro73.JPGmicro75.jpgflagIre.JPGflagUs.JPG

Ok - the first two aren't the flag shorts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,599 ✭✭✭plodder

ekevosu wrote: »
    I was thinking of this myself, to get something Irish but I don't really wear singlets. Would having something printed on one of your normal running t-shirts block the natural evaporation of the moisture etc that these have? Depends on how big the printing is I suppose.
    probably depends on the type of printing as well. I remember the old Bupa great ireland run (cotton) t-shirts were awful for that.

they're fairly spectactular.

Actually the singlets were ok but I did get a pair of racing shorts there (top left, one across, ... no, only joking) a plain blue pair with pockets and they were rubbish. The inside knicker bit was way too big and the shorts were just unwearable, the crotch was down to my knees.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Good lord, them flag shorts are hilarious... So bad I actually want a pair! I just don't think any of them will go with my bright yellow running vest...

micro73.JPGmicro75.jpgflagIre.JPGflagUs.JPG

Ok - the first two aren't the flag shorts

The last pair will go great with my Wonder Woman outfit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 726 ✭✭✭psychozeb

got an irish top off of irishfit and we got our club across the top of the front for paris this year.there was loads of irish out on the course and we got a cheer every time we passed people or they called out the club name.great boost when away from home.even runners coming up during the race giving us a shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭Aimman

Stark wrote: »
    The last pair will go great with my Wonder Woman outfit.

Hey, did you run the DCM last year as Wonderwoman? I ran the best part of the first 15M with a woman in the outfit, till she stopped took a portaloo break in Terenure. Never got to say thanks for keeping my pace up and helping finally getting sub 4:00, couldn't make out her number beside me in any of the photos.:(

On a couple of occasions, I bought wicked tops and broke them in over a few runs before getting my name put on it for races.

Cant recommend it high enough, its great to hear your name being called out, and the look on people's face around you as they wonder how so many people know you, lol.

In fairness, I agree with the spelling of the name. My name is Eamonn, and I only heard it called out in certain parts of Belfast for the last couple of Marathons, but not once in Berlin last year (except passing an irish pub) lol.

I did a 10km race in Kassel, Germany in June, and I wore my BUPA top from 2007 which had the Irish flag on the front and the back. When one German runner passed me by, he slapped me on the back and said 'Howya Paddy' in his best German-English.

People who cheer on your name when you start to struggle, suddenly become instant friends, and give you a great boost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,107 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Aimman wrote: »
    Hey, did you run the DCM last year as Wonderwoman?

No no. I was very much joking on that point.

psychozeb wrote: »
    got an irish top off of irishfit and we got our club across the top of the front for paris this year.there was loads of irish out on the course and we got a cheer every time we passed people or they called out the club name.great boost when away from home.even runners coming up during the race giving us a shout.

That looks brilliant, cheers, exactly what I was after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭Stupid_Private

If you're looking for anything urgent off irishfit I wouldn't bother - ie something for the Dublin Marathon, even the NY marathon could be a stretch. I swore after the last time I got something there that I'd never use them again. 10 days after making the order I got in touch with them to see what the deal was as I needed the product for an upcoming marathon. As it was Dublin to Dublin postage and John Buckley in Cork manages to get goods to you next day I thought 10 days was extreme. I contacted them on a Wednesday and was told it was already posted but not to expect it before the following Monday!!! Needless to say that the product arrived after the marathon. I had put a note on my initial order stating that I needed it before whatever date.

Then, I was annoyed to find out that another item I bought a few weeks ago from a different website was actually Irishfit. physiosupplies.ie. I only found out when the parcel arrived. Again a Dublin to Dublin order took 17 days from date of order to arrive at my door. To make matters worse a link was put up, on this forum, to the same thing on a different irish website in them 17 days. It was €7 cheaper than what I'd paid. I'd paid €19.99 and the other website had it for €12.99.

So my long winded opinion of irishfit - overpriced and slow.

If you're looking for anything urgent off irishfit I wouldn't bother - ie something for the Dublin Marathon, even the NY marathon could be a stretch. I swore after the last time I got something there that I'd never use them again. 10 days after making the order I got in touch with them to see what the deal was as I needed the product for an upcoming marathon. As it was Dublin to Dublin postage and John Buckley in Cork manages to get goods to you next day I thought 10 days was extreme. I contacted them on a Wednesday and was told it was already posted but not to expect it before the following Monday!!! Needless to say that the product arrived after the marathon. I had put a note on my initial order stating that I needed it before whatever date.

Then, I was annoyed to find out that another item I bought a few weeks ago from a different website was actually Irishfit. physiosupplies.ie. I only found out when the parcel arrived. Again a Dublin to Dublin order took 17 days from date of order to arrive at my door. To make matters worse a link was put up, on this forum, to the same thing on a different irish website in them 17 days. It was €7 cheaper than what I'd paid. I'd paid €19.99 and the other website had it for €12.99.

So my long winded opinion of irishfit - overpriced and slow.

Thanks Stupid_Private, much appreciated advice. Its for the week after Dublin but probably better to ring them first to make sure. I used to work across the road so I could just call in, not at the moment though so I'd be relying on post. Their website says sent within 24 hours but I guess that wasn't your experience.

If anyone else knows of any other Irish type running tops or ideas post them up please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭montac

I do like the look of the Irishfit gear.
    Shame about the delays though.
    Might well call in to the shop, although it does rather look like I could be browsing around someone's sitting room!

i recieved the tops off of irishfit the next day with no hassle,ordered a few at different times for lads in the club and never had a problem.

montac wrote: »
    I do like the look of the Irishfit gear.
    Shame about the delays though.
    Might well call in to the shop, although it does rather look like I could be browsing around someone's sitting room!

they had a stall at the dublin marathon expo last year so maybe it's worth calling in there to see what they can do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

On a similar issue is there anywhere that you can get the equivelant of a running top in the GAA county colors with crest?
    I will be running in New York and Dublin and will be wearing the Tipp jersey but I have to wear an under armour/ Caunterbury top under it to avoid chafing. Still feels a little constricted though.

psychozeb wrote: »
    i recieved the tops off of irishfit the next day with no hassle,ordered a few at different times for lads in the club and never had a problem.

I rang them up yesterday evening and ordered off them so I'll let ye know how long it takes. Shipping costs are low enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,395 ✭✭✭eliwallach

I will be running in New York and Dublin and will be wearing the Tipp jersey.

Classy :rolleyes:!

My stuff arrived this morning so a very quick delivery, ordered around 3 / 4pm on wednesday, arrived friday morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 576 ✭✭✭sarsfieldsrock

eliwallach wrote: »
    Classy :rolleyes:!

Hey, we still have pride in our players and the jersey they wear. Its a pity there isn't a county running top though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,241 ✭✭✭ronanmac

In defence of irishfit, I have only ordered from them on three different occasions but every time, my order was delivered the next day...