Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dannii Minogues Remarks- Stupid or Internalised Homophobia

• 11-10-2009 4:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭

Well lads what ye make of her remarks?
    I personally dont think she was homophobic as her career has lasted mainly due to support from the gay community.

None the less-Why bring it up?

George Micheal and Elton John dont use "him" instead of "her" when they write and sing their songs- so why bring it up against some lad in a singing competition when she is supposed to be critiqueing his performance??

Silly Lady

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,003 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

You know what might help? Letting us know what this remark was. You're assuming we all watch "The X-Factor" whereas some of us might be too busy sticking forks in our eyes instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Donnaghm

I watched the recent show by, eh, accident. Anyway, she asked the contestant why did he change the gender reference of a woman's songs from him to her given that the papers have been speculating about his sexuality all week. Completely out of order me thinks. She did make a tool out of herself though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,148 ✭✭✭✭KnifeWRENCH

Silly and tactless, but not homophobic.
    And even if she didn't articulate herself well, she did have a point - if he's bisexual then why bother changing the gender reference? It's not like it was a big secret or anything - he told the press himself that he was bi so it's not like she "outed" him.

It was just a gaffe. There was nothing malicious about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,565 ✭✭✭jaffa20

I thought it was a fair question since he claims he was bisexual and the lyric was written for a women so why change it when Danyl is attracted to men. There was no malice intended in what she said and she didn't really need to apologise.

I don't like Danyl, he's a bit too cocky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭unreggd

She made the point that it was silly he ranted in papers about bein Bi, then changed the song

Same with tellin Kandi Rain to not dress like sluts, but that was judged as jealousy

I think it was a silly choice of words on her part, but certaintly dont think it was homophobic

Also, I think it was a stab at Simon, as whenever he mentors a guy, he tried to make them appeal to girls for the teeny bopper votes, even if he knows they're not straight

Danyl is a sap anyways, but fair play to him bein able to sing with his head so far up his own arse :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Born Red 79

I don't understand why she said that. It was thoughtless but in my opinion, not homophobic. Silly really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

They were tactical. Undermine the favourite anyway possible. Shameful and desperate to win me thinks. Not homobphobic though.

Not that I watch this kind of drivel.....ehem...:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,488 ✭✭✭Goodshape

She referenced his sexuality in a lighthearted manor ON TV?!

My god, that's an outrage. Such a shameful and secretive thing as being gay or bisexual should be tip-toed around at all times and avoided completely at most!

And on prime time television too! There could have been children watching ffs!

It seems patently obvious from this outrageous slur that Dannii Minogue, pop diva and sister to massive gay icon Kylie, is a homophobic wench.

Fire that woman and ban this sick filth!

(or, maybe it really doesn't ****ing matter? Well, one or the other)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

I don't think the issue is that she was talking about homosexuality on a tv programme. I think everyones fine with that, tbh confused why you brough it up.

The issue is its none of her business what his sexual preference is, that has nothing to do with an artists ability to sing and perform, its a non issue which she stupidly brought up for god knows what reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Will Young sings to his 'baby boy' on one of the tracks on his last album. I don't recall there being any controversy over that.

If this guy had been whoring himself for publicity for coming out as bisexual, then asking why he felt the need to change the gender references is a fair question but hey, they got a bigger audience on Sunday evening than they did for the final last year, so Simon Cowell won't be that displeased.

cruizer101 wrote: »
    has nothing to do with an artists ability to sing and perform
    There's plenty of factors brought up and voted on in that show which have little or nothing to do with singing or performing ability.

It's just a total non-issue if you ask me. So she mentioned he's bisexual? So what? There's should be no need for policy of "don't ask, don't tell" on television for an out gay or bi person. It was said with a cheeky smile and not a hint of malice. The idea that it was at all a homophobic remark is ridicules and the fact she couldn't say that without some manor of 'uproar' or misinterpretation shows we have some ways to go yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭shay_562

Finally caved and looked up the clip on YouTube. Not sure how to take it - on the one hand, he had already said in interviews with the News of the World that he was bi, so it's not like she outed him. On the other, the sneer-y tone of her remarks was pretty crap - I don't think she was being homophobic, but she was trying to draw humour and score points for herself on the basis of his sexuality, which is a bit **** of her. But wavering back to the other side, the furor over it is a tad unnecessary - all the people (not necessarily here) saying "Why must someone's sexuality come into it?" are being pretty selective. People's real lives come into talent shows all the time - there was some woman last year who constantly mentioned her struggles with alcoholism and keeping her kids or some such, other people mention their girlfriends, boyfriends, husbands, wives etc like it's nothing. The "it should be left out of things, it's a talent show!" mentality only seems to cover stuff we find to be taboo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Oh christ, the screaming and screeching, what a load of bollix anyone who takes part in this show along is a complete tool. Dannii seem to be suggesting that the changing of the lyrics was an attempt by his to exploit his sexuality to gain support. References to "I don't believe it". Fair comment as far as I'm concerned.

"Look at me, I'm bisexual and thus appeal to a wider demographic".
    "Thats nice dear, but why are you telling me ".

Boston wrote: »
    Oh christ, the screaming and screeching, what a load of bollix anyone who takes part in this show along is a complete tool. Dannii seem to be suggesting that the changing of the lyrics was an attempt by his to exploit his sexuality to gain support. References to "I don't believe it". Fair comment as far as I'm concerned.

"Look at me, I'm bisexual and thus appeal to a wider demographic".
    "Thats nice dear, but why are you telling me ".
    What?
    The song was written from a female perspective, 'love him', 'want him', etc.. He changed the references from "him" to "her"... not the other way around. Dannii asked him why he did that after all the talk of his sexuality.

And everyone thought "oh my GOD she called him gay!!!11! How awful!11!"

Silly show, yeah. But undeniable entertainment tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Goodshape wrote: »
    What?
    The song was written from a female perspective, 'love him', 'want him', etc.. He changed the references from "him" to "her"... not the other way around. Dannii asked him why he did that after all the talk of his sexuality.

And everyone thought "oh my GOD she called him gay!!!11! How awful!11!"

Silly show, yeah. But undeniable entertainment tbh.

I'm sorry, I was trying not to listen to closely to the god awful song being butchered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,158 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

I'm confused why you are using the term "internalised homophobia"

When I read the thread title I thought that you were suggesting that Danni Minogue is a lesbian who can't face it

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sorry

Did anyone see this letter in the Indo today:

Dannii was just trying to be fair

Friday October 16 2009

One of the biggest miscarriages of justice in recent years is the accusation thrown at Dannii Minogue over comments she made on 'X Factor' last weekend. She has been charged with slander, convicted of homophobia and now it seems Joe Soap wants more than blood, he wants her publicly hanged.

On Saturday night's show, there was one person and one person alone who was not homophobic, and that was Ms Minogue.

Openly bisexual singer Danyl felt the need to change the lyrics of a popular song, to give the impression that he was serenading a woman as opposed to a man. For what reason? Was there a fear that if he embraced his sexuality he would alienate the all-important female vote?

Was there pressure from his mentor Simon Cowell and the production team to underplay his sexual orientation? It is no coincidence that past reality show winners and runner-ups, such as Will Young, Adam Lambert and Clay Aiken, all 'conceded' their sexuality post contest. Why is homosexuality still seen as a handicap, as something to be ashamed of? Why wasn't Danyl allowed or even encouraged to be true to whom he really is? And why on earth has Dannii Minogue been accused of such treacherous behaviour, when it was she, and she alone, who challenged the ridiculousness of the situation. An advocate of homosexuality for years, she merely questioned why an openly bi-sexual man unnecessarily changed the lyrics of a song. What she did was in fact extremely pro-gay. She attempted to lift the lid but her endeavours have fallen flat.

Is Dannii Minogue a modern day Joan of Arc or are the public just thick? Probably the latter.

D O'Donoghue
    Dublin 6

Irish Independent

Sorry wrote: »

Only the indo would bother publishing letters related to the X-factor. Rag and a half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Sorry

David Quinn, Kevin Myers, Ian O'Doherty. I would definitely agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,905 ✭✭✭Aard

That whether the Indo is worth reading, or the X-Factor worth watching is not the issue. Dannii's comment and the ensuing reaction are not solely "pleb" issues - they're issues that cut across all societal strata and are therefore worth discussing.

Which is worse? Widespread subtle homophobia or the existence of the Indo? I just can't make up my mind - and I'm a homosexual!!

Sorry wrote: »

I actually agree with this article. it's what i thought at first. I think there was something going on behind the scenes in recent years and i think the producers (cowell and co) do not what issues like this brought up on the show as it might alienate female viewer and make the contestant unpopular with a certain target market.

I think Danni knew that Cowell would have preferred to keep things quiet on screen and the reaction of Cowell once Danni posed that honest unscrypted question says it all. He changed the subject and pretended he didn't what he just said. I'm sure they talked about it after and the apologies were made in the results show to sweep it all under the carpet.

We have seen it before with Will Young who only came out once he had become popular and won the show.

jaffa20 wrote: »
    I actually agree with this article. it's what i thought at first. I think there was something going on behind the scenes in recent years and i think the producers (cowell and co) do not what issues like this brought up on the show as it might alienate female viewer and make the contestant unpopular with a certain target market.

I think Danni knew that Cowell would have preferred to keep things quiet on screen and the reaction of Cowell once Danni posed that honest unscrypted question says it all. He changed the subject and pretended he didn't what he just said. I'm sure they talked about it after and the apologies were made in the results show to sweep it all under the carpet.

We have seen it before with Will Young who only came out once he had become popular and won the show.

Do you really agree that "One of the biggest miscarriages of justice in recent years is the accusation thrown at Dannii Minogue" - really? I mean I can think of many many more miscarriages of justices - it wasn't as if Danni Minogue was hung for a crime she did not commit

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

By the way - Original Poster -you might want to read an explanation of "Internalised Homophobia"

http://lesbianlife.about.com/od/comingoutadvice/f/InternalizedHom.htm

Terry Pratchet

l, th
    Johnnymcg wrote: »
    Do you really agree that "One of the biggest miscarriages of justice in recent years is the accusation thrown at Dannii Minogue" - really? I mean I can think of many many more miscarriages of justices - it wasn't as if Danni Minogue was hung for a crime she did not commit

Well maybe not in such words. I'm agreeing more with how there is still some taboo with the discussion of homosexuality in the media especially in a contest where the producers want to keep things under wraps in order not to alienate viewers. Dannii did nothing wrong by questioning why Danyl changed the lyric in a famous song when it relates to who he is anyway. Cowell wasn't happy because it was him as his mentor who probably advised him to change the lyric to appeal to female audience who make up a larger percentage of voter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Plek Trum

Bit of an overblown fuss about a silly ill-worded remark. Sure everyone knows that Danni herself has enjoyed some personal time with girls now and again. Probably the least homophobic woman!

http://www.americangirl.co.uk/index.php/2006/10/17/dannii_minogue_caught_in_a_strip_joint

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 380 ✭✭Reflector

Dannii was just trying to be fair

Friday October 16 2009

One of the biggest miscarriages of justice in recent years is the accusation thrown at Dannii Minogue over comments she made on 'X Factor' last weekend. She has been charged with slander, convicted of homophobia and now it seems Joe Soap wants more than blood, he wants her publicly hanged.

On Saturday night's show, there was one person and one person alone who was not homophobic, and that was Ms Minogue.

Openly bisexual singer Danyl felt the need to change the lyrics of a popular song, to give the impression that he was serenading a woman as opposed to a man. For what reason? Was there a fear that if he embraced his sexuality he would alienate the all-important female vote?

Was there pressure from his mentor Simon Cowell and the production team to underplay his sexual orientation? It is no coincidence that past reality show winners and runner-ups, such as Will Young, Adam Lambert and Clay Aiken, all 'conceded' their sexuality post contest. Why is homosexuality still seen as a handicap, as something to be ashamed of? Why wasn't Danyl allowed or even encouraged to be true to whom he really is? And why on earth has Dannii Minogue been accused of such treacherous behaviour, when it was she, and she alone, who challenged the ridiculousness of the situation. An advocate of homosexuality for years, she merely questioned why an openly bi-sexual man unnecessarily changed the lyrics of a song. What she did was in fact extremely pro-gay. She attempted to lift the lid but her endeavours have fallen flat.

Is Dannii Minogue a modern day Joan of Arc or are the public just thick? Probably the latter.

D O'Donoghue
    Dublin 6

Irish Independent

Agree with this 1,000,000% . I only was initially annoyed at her as I didn't know that he had come out and I thought she was the one outing him.
    No need to change the lyrics of the song and also your man Olly sang a Tina Turner song and left it the same aqnd he's straight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

As Johnnymcg has already said, calling this "one of the biggest miscarriages of justice in recent years" is genuinely stupid. I doubt anyone would agree with that 0.001%

I love the way people have been saying Dannii can't be homophobic, sure her sister is a gay icon.

They're different people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭jady88

Donnaghm wrote: »
    Which is worse? Widespread subtle homophobia or the existence of the Indo? I just can't make up my mind - and I'm a homosexual!!

Definitely the continuing existence and decline of the Independent.