Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Maglite Torch Deal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭nobeastsofierce

Not a bad fine OP, unusual for Lidl to be stocking brand name stuff like this? Although, I did pick up a Stanley toolbox they had on offer a few months ago

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Music Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,499 Mod ✭✭✭✭Blade

Thread cleaned up, cop on lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭MrAbc

Details on Lidl site says it's an LED version but with spare bulb(!!)...
    ...methinks you should check carefully whether it's the ordinary non-LED type, if that's important to you... :-)

[obviously, various internet sources would have good LED torches for the price]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭ripcord

Would an LED torch of the same size/batteries be brighter? I know maglites are good quality, but could I get a brighter torch for my 25 euro if I looked on the web?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Gryzor

i got the "Mini Maglite LED 3AA" on ibood recently, they pop up from time to time. Its the LED version, very bright, haven't had it long enough to comment on how long the batteries last.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

ripcord wrote: »
    Would an LED torch of the same size/batteries be brighter? I know maglites are good quality, but could I get a brighter torch for my 25 euro if I looked on the web?

Brighter, yes easily. Maglite tend to use older generation LEDs
    Look at the offerings from Fenix and Nitecore. You'll have a trade off
    between brightness and run-time. If you're price sensitive, have a look
    on Dealextreme for something similar to
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.24125

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭the_pod

If you're price sensitive, have a look on Dealextreme for something similar to
    http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.24125

Does the fact that we're checking Bargain Alerts not mean that we're all price sensitive? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

Just saw that Lidl are stocking Mag Lite torches again - but this time you can get a set for €29.99:

http://www.lidl.ie/ie/home.nsf/pages/c.o.20100401.p.Torch

From Thursday 01/04/10

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭carab

Thanks OP. Himself loves a Maglite, he has quite a collection but I'm sure 2 more will be "very handy"!!! :):rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭Le King

Love these things. Very handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

I couldnt advise a maglite. the new led lamps coming from china are simply miles ahead. Im after buying a bunch of them and I rate them as being much brighter than my maglites. 2aa and 3d.

http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.17401 for example is a great lamp. after I bought one, the maintenance lads in work fell for them and after an order to DX the rechargeable mags all went into a drawer somewhere

reliability and uniform quality is on the maglites side, they work and work which is important too, but the lamps with the newer dies are just shockingly brighter

even this tiny little one http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1993 is brighter than the 3w magleds and it runs off a single aa battery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The maglites tend to blow a lot of bulbs i've found. Which isn't the case with the LEDs i've tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,929 ✭✭✭Raiser

mawk wrote: »
    I couldnt advise a maglite. the new led lamps coming from china are simply miles ahead. Im after buying a bunch of them and I rate them as being much brighter than my maglites. 2aa and 3d.

The Chinese. A great bunch of lads!

The only Maglite I ever owned seemed to somehow dissipate all charge from my batteries when left turned off in a drawer somewhere.

- Brightest bit was when I fcuked it in the bin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭suppafly

mawk wrote: »
    even this tiny little one http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.1993 is brighter than the 3w magleds and it runs off a single aa battery

Just bought this one. looks good

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

I have so many "cheap but bright" torches lying about in various states of disrepair. I find you really get what you pay for in terms of longevity.

Will deffo be having a look at the mag lites here.