Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disgusting, simpleminded, ignorant Irish people

• 08-10-2009 1:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭

I just had a couple of midweek drinks with friends and was walking home when I saw a young German couple being hassled by a couple of Irish lads. The Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class. They were doing the Heil Hitler salute and shouting 'Nazi, Nazi' followed (rather ironically and ignorantly) by 'Oui, Oui'. The German couple were politely smiling but they were obviously very intimidated.

I literally feel sick thinking about this and I'm pissed off with myself that I didn't step in and say something to these dicks. Would I have got my ass kicked? Maybe but I hate that these tourists may think that these two dickheads in any way represent the views of even a small minority of Irish people.

I find this kind of behaviour deeply sickening and those who engage in it are the lowest of the low. I feel slightly ashamed to be Irish tonight. I hate to be so alarmist but what the f*ck has happened to this country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭flanree

I completely agree with your reaction but with regard to 'what happened to this country?' - this is not a new thing in this OR ANY country. There will always be a contingent of ignorant assholes wherever you go. Out of curiousity what age were both parties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

I mentioned it once but I think I got away with it
    daveyjoe wrote: »

I find this kind of behaviour deeply sickening and those who engage in it are the lowest of the low. I feel slightly ashamed to be Irish tonight. I hate to be so alarmist but what the f*ck has happened to this country?

Calm down. There are ignorant people and racist people in all countries.
    These people are not representive of you or me.
    You are being alarmist.

Let's all have a cup of tea.

You should remove 'Irish' from the title of your thread imo, it's a racist as the people you described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

Shít i've been a victim of racism in other countries and even in Ireland. Spíc is a common one even though i'm not Latino. It exists and i hope others who expeirence it have the intelligence not to brand an entire country of people based on some people's attitudes or actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 481 ✭✭Fiend-Foe

I hate that kind of stuff.

I know this one tool who calls everyone of middle eastern apperance a "paki".

It does my head in, so ignorant. They could be from anywhere, but no they're ALL from Pakistan.

Gobsh1tes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭daveyjoe

Yeah, that was a bit over the top of me. I guess I just felt a bit ashamed to be born in the same country as those guys tonight. My blood is still boiling.

What age were they? I'd guess 20'ish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

I saw a young German couple being hassled by a couple of Irish lads. The Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class. They were doing the Heil Hitler salute and shouting 'Nazi, Nazi'

theyre saying what we're all thinking :D:D:D

Naw im joking but seriously I can understand why you were offended by this display.

As a nation, however, we are not that openly racist. You should go to India or China or various other places if you want to see racism dude. At least here its generally acknowledged that ethnic slurs are a bad thing.

If a white Irish couple were made fun of in India today then trust me there wouldnt be anyone on the Indian boards expressing their disgust.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Yeah, that was a bit over the top of me. I guess I just felt a bit ashamed to be born in the same country as those guys tonight. My blood is still boiling.

What age were they? I'd guess 20'ish.

Yea it's horrible alright, disgusting and unnerving.
    Unfortunately we've been born in the same species as these tossers and there is even less we can do about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

The German couple were politely smiling

Whilst quietly stroking the lugers beneath their jackets I'll bet.
    Any more lip...... and it would have been BLAM, BLAM, BLAM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

I know we're talking about Ireland here but cannot believe how openly racist Australians are!

I have had dinner with quite a few Australian families lately and most of them are really bad. Asians and Africans being the but of the majority of jokes.

2nd or 3rd generation Irish are very bad for Irish/ English racism too... shocking stuff!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,918 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Thats friendly racism though.

Theres 1 black american bloke here in the office. yesterday he mentioned he was losin his colour and wanted a tan. so the whole office start telling him hes pure black and messing with him about it. Like shouting across the office. It was racist, but everyones friends here so it wasnt malicious. therefore, friendly racism.

i compare it to childhood innocence and naivety in grown ups, rather than racism. aussies dont beat around the bush and worry about bull**** like political correctness. i say fair play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭CliffHuxtabel

The_B_Man wrote: »
    Thats friendly racism though.

Theres 1 black american bloke here in the office. yesterday he mentioned he was losin his colour and wanted a tan. so the whole office start telling him hes pure black and messing with him about it. Like shouting across the office. It was racist, but everyones friends here so it wasnt malicious. therefore, friendly racism.

i compare it to childhood innocence and naivety in grown ups, rather than racism. aussies dont beat around the bush and worry about bull**** like political correctness. i say fair play!

id say whether or not something is friendly racism depends more on the attitude of the person on the receiving end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

CliffHuxtabel - true.

I got quite uncomfortable to hear them talking about the Irish / English debate, and I have no connections with the North... Just the way they were talking about it, dragging up past history and generally being really narrow minded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

The couple walked away safely and the eejits will be dole leeches until that dries up and theyre left homeless. Happy ending imho

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,817 ✭✭✭ynotdu

Racisim is just fear with a large dollop of ignorance and populism.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,956 ✭✭✭CHD

You don't like Ireland then you can get out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,526 ✭✭✭brendansmith

Those two ignorant bafoons should be put in a concentration camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭komodosp

Hardly an Irish phenomenon
    It's that kind of racism that leads to the whole politically correct thing that everyone hates...

The thing is friendly slagging / banter goes on all the time, it's a good thing. But because of the likes of the idiots in the OP, we can't extend it across racial borders, making the PC people as racist as the ones we hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭Acid_Violet

I just had a couple of midweek drinks with friends and was walking home when I saw a young German couple being hassled by a couple of Irish lads. The Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class. They were doing the Heil Hitler salute and shouting 'Nazi, Nazi' followed (rather ironically and ignorantly) by 'Oui, Oui'. The German couple were politely smiling but they were obviously very intimidated.

I literally feel sick thinking about this and I'm pissed off with myself that I didn't step in and say something to these dicks. Would I have got my ass kicked? Maybe but I hate that these tourists may think that these two dickheads in any way represent the views of even a small minority of Irish people.

In fairness the Germans give as good as they get. When some friends of mine went on an exchange there the people in their class constantly made a lot of subtle and not so subtle IRA references. A German friend of mine living here started (jokingly) accusing a guy she just met of being a big mad racist because he was a white South African. She describes it just as 'ze German sense of humour, ya'.

That said, accosting any strangers in the street ain't cool. Whenever I see drunken idiots doing that it always makes me wish people in this country (let alone worldwide) would drink less. Btw, you sure they weren't just messing OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I'm just throwing this out there but maybe they were actually brave Irish people confronting a known Nazi war criminal, y'know, disguised as a young lad?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I'm just throwing this out there but maybe they were actually brave Irish people confronting a known Nazi war criminal, y'know, disguised as a young lad?

Or worse yet, the Boys from Brazil!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 986 ✭✭✭Bill-e

Inter railing a few years back, we got in an drunken argument with a group of
    Germans and resorted to all kinds of name calling and shouting across a street. Nazi was defiantly one of them... :( I'm pretty sure they called us drunken Irish and all that.
    Anyway, somehow we ended up best of buddies with these guys and I've still got pictures of us all falling around the streets of prague having an absolute ball of a time!
    People will be people imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Ze Germans are fair game. If we ever let em forget the war, they'll get all full of themselves again and before we know where we are they'll have the tanks rolling in off the Rosslare - Cherbourg ferry......................

.........or so says my mad racist uncle! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,418 ✭✭✭griffdaddy

They do make exceedingly good pornography though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

it always makes me wish people in this country (let alone worldwide) would drink less.

Woah there cowboy! Lets not go overboard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Shocking.

Unless they're Brits (in which case, we're just electing not to forget ancient historical injustice), it's just not on.

Mr.David wrote: »
    Woah there cowboy! Lets not go overboard!

In fairness, 90% of people acting like Jackass' after dark, getting in fights and giving abuse to passers-by wouldn't do so if they weren't pissed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

OP, I think you should have steeped in and said something to those guys. You would not have got you 'ass kicked' because those types are cowards that back down at the slightest challenge. It would have the German holiday in some had stood up to them.

We have a choice. Tolerate this behaviour or stand up against it. I gave a junky on Abbey Street an earful for remarks he made to a African lad a few weeks back at the LUAS stop. Hopefully he will think twice before doing that again. Maybe it will make no difference, but I'm sure the African was glad to see some standing up for him and doing nothing wasn't going to help much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

In fairness, 90% of people acting like Jackass' after dark, getting in fights and giving abuse to passers-by wouldn't do so if they weren't pissed.

True. but thats still only 90% of a minority (say 5% of the population at most). For the remaining 95.5% of us, lets not give booze and excess the chop just yet!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Or worse yet, the Boys from Brazil!

Even the Boys from Brazil must be middle aged by now :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I literally feel sick thinking about this and I'm pissed off with myself that I didn't step in and say something to these dicks.

Ok, tellz me - vot vould you have sed then?..

'Come on, ve have ze vays and ze meanz to make you speek.

:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

IThe Irish lads were dressed pretty respectably and looked typically middle class.
    So? I know of numerous middle-class guys who have engaged in that kind of crap.

Dudess wrote: »
    So? I know of numerous middle-class guys who have engaged in that kind of crap.

That's exactly my point, I mentioned it because people might have otherwise assumed that they were working class or "knackers".
    Btw, you sure they weren't just messing OP?

They were laughing as they did it but the couple were obviously intimidated and just wanted it to end without confrontation. If they weren't so pig ignorant then it would be funny, they came up with such gems as... "You are une Nazi! Oui?" (In a fake German accent). Idiots.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

I hate to be so alarmist but what the f*ck has happened to this country?

its in the...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Agricola wrote: »
    Ze Germans are fair game. If we ever let em forget the war, they'll get all full of themselves again and before we know where we are they'll have the tanks rolling in off the Rosslare - Cherbourg ferry......................

.........or so says my mad racist uncle! :D

Your uncle is wrong!

Ze Germans are already here, yielding their (mod) powerz over you :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

OP did you intervene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 181 ✭✭Occam

I literally feel sick thinking about this and I'm pissed off with myself that I didn't step in and say something to these dicks.

I wouldn't worry about it. The Germans started it....

...by invading poland

Mr.David wrote: »
    True. but thats still only 90% of a minority (say 5% of the population at most). For the remaining 95.5% of us, lets not give booze and excess the chop just yet!

Not giving it the chop, just people (when they reach a certain age) should have the cop-on to know when to stop so that they don't make fools of themselves. I guess a lot of people drink too much so that they have the balls to get in a fight etc though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 777 ✭✭✭Mayoegian

Why when people want to say how bad a couple of people are, they must generalise by saying 'The Irish' etc.?

Mayoegian wrote: »
    Why when people want to say how bad a couple of people are, they must generalise by saying 'The Irish' etc.?
    Are you referring to me?

I mentioned that they were Irish because it was relevant to the fact that I felt 'slightly ashamed to be Irish tonight'. I wasn't generalising and I acknowledged that they were in the tiny minority of Irish people. I stand by the title of this thread as it refers to the particular Irish people that are disgusting, simpleminded and ignorant. The title is not 'The Irish are disgusting, simpleminded and ignorant people'.

Please point out the generalisation that you are referring to. You are being overly sensitive IMO. Rant over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

There are plenty of these hard men about always full of beer,happened to me a few months back they are all brave from across the road but when you go over to em ask them who the hard man is all goes very quiet,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

idiots thats all they are!!! in saying that its not only the irish that do it the polish and other ethnics can be very intimidating over here too, only differance we cnt understand their language!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 nams

o-o

the number of foreign kids completely outweights the amount of irish kids in my school. they call us paddies. :<
    it's like the opposite here. the foreign kids beat on the irish kids. :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 72 ✭✭sagat

The beauty of the modern world is the amount of camera's everyone has, next time you see people acting like pricks, photograph them and post the photo to Forums like this. Within a couple of hours they will be recognized, named and shamed. then good luck to the gobsheites when a prospective employer Googles them only to find a summary of their antics.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

sagat wrote: »
    The beauty of the modern world is the amount of camera's everyone has, next time you see people acting like pricks, photograph them and post the photo to Forums like this. Within a couple of hours they will be recognized, named and shamed. then good luck to the gobsheites when a prospective employer Googles them only to find a summary of their antics.

Lol.
    Prospective employers are going to google the names of people who apply for a job,yeah?
    Then if they find out through boards.ie that they once gave some germans a hard time they'll refuse the the jobs,yeah?

Zis is ze sort of sing ze nazis vould luff to do,Ja.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

Ok, tellz me - vot vould you have sed then?..

'Come on, ve have ze vays and ze meanz to make you speek.

:p

He would have said "Halt! Hande Hoch..for you Irishmaner,ze slagging is OvER!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭citizen_p

i know lads like that...i hang around with them but they cn be idiots at time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭irish_bob

id say whether or not something is friendly racism depends more on the attitude of the person on the receiving end.

a very modern attitude , i felt victimized therefore i was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

we are the inheritors of a bog ignorant peasant mentality...but hopefully in a generation or two it will die out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,485 ✭✭✭Archeron

I hate everybody equally, its the only fair way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

cant we all just get along :(