Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Name taken by Gardaí

• 08-10-2009 12:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I am was out last night, there was 5 of us but me an another lad had made a bit of a gap from the other lads and everyone was drinking cans but me on our way to the club. Me an my mate look back and see the lads had been pulled over by the Gardai for drinking in a public place. Me and my friend stupidly decide to walk back thinking our names wouldn't be taken but they end up taken our names. I asked the Garda what the story was, he said to me that he was giving me a warning and if I was caught again I would be prosecuted. I also stupidly gave my permanent address as apposed to my term address.

I know is a very small thing but just wondering what will come of this and how long will it stick to my name and what would happen if I was caught again?

Things that pissed me off was the fact we where in the middle of no where and this was the 1st time I had seen the Gardai around this area and eps at that time then walking back to the Gardai when we could of walked on and then the fact that I wasnt even drinking or doing anything wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,526 ✭✭✭finbarrk

If you weren't even drinking or doing anything wrong you have nothing to be worried about. Did the Guard say you did anything wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

Nothing will come of it, he took your name and gave you a verbal warning. All it means is your name will be recorded in their incident book for future reference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

If you were not drinking did you not say that to the garda?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,031 ✭✭✭petethebrick

Don't worry about it.
    There will be no record of your name on garda records.
    They just do this as part of warning you not to be drinking in public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Something similar happened to me and my friends a few years ago. The offender was one person and 2 "persuaders". The rest of the group including my best friend were completely innocent but the guards took their names anyway. When my friend asked the guard why she had her name taken the guard said she was "guilty by association". Her name was taken and the guards paid a visit to her home. That was it.

I on the other hand was told the Chief Inspector would be visiting my house and alas, he never did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭davmol

Guards trying to wind you up and put the frighteners into you.Forget about it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

You could get a summons but don't worry about it. You probably won't get one if it's your first time being caught.

There has been some trouble in my college with students being back but the local Garda station closes at 8pm or something and these Gardaí where from a different area. Like I am not worried about it but everyone in my college got this email.
    Dear student,

During the induction programme at the start of term both the University
    and the Students’ Union highlighted the importance of good relations
    with the community and made particular reference to noise and antisocial
    behaviour.

A number of complaints have been received recently by the University
    from the Community about the conduct of some students. It
    appears that a small number of students are bringing the University into
    disrepute and damaging relations between the University and its
    neighbours. This is unacceptable.

The University is liaising with the Gardai with a view to identifying
    any students that bring the University into disrepute. Any student found
    to be involved in vandalism or serious antisocial behaviour will be
    referred to the Disciplinary Committee of the University. Penalties for
    this kind of behaviour include suspension or expulsion from the
    University. In addition, such students are liable to prosecution by the
    Gardai

• Closed Accounts Posts: 195 ✭✭Astrogeek

That happened to me last night! I wasn't drinking, I was just talking to someone who was!
    Never knew they were that strick about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Things that pissed me off was the fact we where in the middle of no where and this was the 1st time I had seen the Gardai around this area

That bit's irrelevant, for a start.
    at that time then walking back to the Gardai when we could of walked on and then the fact that I wasnt even drinking or doing anything wrong.

That's bound to be annoying, alright.....but when included with the above sentence, it's a bit odd.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭dny123456

So does that mean, that the OP is now, "Known to the Gardai"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭anplaya

You could get a summons but don't worry about it. You probably won't get one if it's your first time being caught.

eh?are ya being serious or talking through yer arse?

op,i wouldnt worry,its not a big deal at all. all he did was take yer name and address. he probably doesnt know if it was your real name ya gave or address.

I gave him my student card so he knows its my real name. Also took my DOB as well which I thought was a bit odd.

I really doubt I would get a summons he even said to me that it was just a warning.

I don't think I will get into trouble now with the Gardaí but might get something from the college.

ya wont get a summons.that poster who said that doesnt have a clue or was arseing about.

ive had my name and address taken plenty of times before,whether it was as a teenager,student or adult,and i wasnt doing anything wrong at all.

nothing ever happened,usually was just a guard on a power trip.last time it happened was a few weeks ago was i was walking down the road on my way home one night minding my own business after havin a few drinks with the lads in the pub.2 guards stopped me and asked me where i was going.i was like home,wheres that etc took down my name and address and that was that. happened before,prob happen again,must be something about me:D

but nothing ever came of any of them.so nah wouldnt worry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭dubdcugirly

Relax nothing will happen! Under no circumstances will you get a summons.

But a tip for the future, if the garda doesnt shout at you telling you to come over - dont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭source

The reason for this is not power tripping as anplaya suggests, if a group of students/scumbags/adults/teenagers etc etc are walking down the road drinking and being rowdy, Gardai will take details if possible, If something happens in that area, Gardai then have the names of people who were in the area being rowdy, that can be questioned in relation to what happened, either as witnesses or suspects.

Op no need to worry about anything. Just a verbal warning is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,213 ✭✭✭PrettyBoy

OP, you have nothing to worry about!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

Nowt to worry about. The police have much bigger things to worry about, like giving out tickets to people parking in handicapped spaces etc.

Real cutting edge stuff.

foinse wrote: »
    The reason for this is not power tripping as anplaya suggests, if a group of students/scumbags/adults/teenagers etc etc are walking down the road drinking and being rowdy, Gardai will take details if possible, If something happens in that area, Gardai then have the names of people who were in the area being rowdy, that can be questioned in relation to what happened, either as witnesses or suspects.

Op no need to worry about anything. Just a verbal warning is all.

yes it is ,it seems like that to me in my particular situations when ive been stopped and asked to give my name and address for no reason,then being threatened that theyll arrest me when i ask them why even though they dont have a reason for stopping me in the first place.if that was the case theyd take the name of every person walking down the street minding their own business.its just in that particular moment in time they have nothing else to do so they go on a power trip,theyve got no other reason to do it.i usually just give em my name and address and laugh at them with their little man syndrome and then go on my way.