Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Viewing Houses on Saturday - Opinions needed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Eh, hate to be a bee in your bonnet but aren't some of those developments(sure of second two) involved in a court case about cracked walls/foundations? (pyrite)

If I was a buyer, I wouldn't touch them. Never heard of the first development but the developer Albany Homes built that estate between Kinsealy and Swords(Holywell I think) and I just wouldn't trust them from the rumours flying about the place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

gurramok wrote: »
    Eh, hate to be a bee in your bonnet but aren't some of those developments(sure of second two) involved in a court case about cracked walls/foundations? (pyrite)

If I was a buyer, I wouldn't touch them. Never heard of the first development but the developer Albany Homes built that estate between Kinsealy and Swords(Holywell I think) and I just wouldn't trust them from the rumours flying about the place.

I did hear about such a case involving Menolly / Lagan but thought the Menolly developments listed above were not affected :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,340 CMod ✭✭✭✭Davy

stepbar wrote: »
    I did hear about such a case involving Menolly / Lagan but thought the Menolly developments listed above were not affected :confused:

I thought it was the coast that had the problems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Oliver1985

Folks,

I've going to view the following developments this Saturday

Doolin House, Clare Village, Clarehall - Albany Homes

Beau Park, Clongriffin - Menolly Homes

The Coast, Baldoyle - Menolly Homes

I'm interested in the one and two beds, more so the one beds. I have prices in mind however I would like to hear the general opinion around here. Of course it maybe a different story once I get up there.

Any observations, views etc. would be greatly appreciated

Mate dont bother with Doolin house I looked at the ones they had left last week!!! one 2 bed the balcony is facing a brick wall and the second one they showed me had the lift shaft in your living room!

As for Clongriffin they are the ones involved in the court case with the walls cracking.They are re-doing some houses around the back part of it now! The newer part of it Marsfield @ Clongriffin is nice but all still empty as they have not changed the price they are still up as 370k.

The coast is nice but still could come down a little bit i think there around the 200k!!

Check out Northern Cross at the hilton there opp tesco they are nice appartments!!! But they are pricey at 235k!!
    Id hold out!!

Yep, the second two are indeed involved in the court case.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0219/breaking60.htm
    IT wrote:
    The proceedings arise from alleged defects in hundreds of houses on three estates in Co Dublin - Drynam Hall, Kettles Lane, Kinsealy, Co Dublin; Beaupark, Clongriffin, Dublin 13 and Myrtle, The Coast, Baldoyle, Dublin 13. A range of tests have been carried out on the affected houses in preparation for the court action and the results of those will be outlined.

Yep, the second two are indeed involved in the court case.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/0219/breaking60.htm

Fcuk it, I'll go have a look anyhow. Throw in a "tyre kicker" offer :D

Anyhow, surely it calls into question why these developments are still being marketed when they are defective?

Mind you I doubt any bank would give a mortgage if there's concerns such as those raised already.

O.P Did you check these out?

Oliver1985 wrote: »
    O.P Did you check these out?

Yep, actually seen 5 apts on Saturday; the 3 above and "The Waterways" (Ashtown) and Achill / Erris Square in Waterville (Blanchardstown).

Checked out Clarehall first. Only "OK". Wasn't really that impressed by it. As well as that there are many more apts to come on stream (at least 100 more).

I then went across to Beaupark in Clongriffin. Quite simply, Beaupark is a kip. It really hit home when we were coming up in the lift...... the estate agent and me were going up in the lift when a chap hopped in. First question - "Did you hear anything about the burned out car in the carpark...." I don't think the estate agent knew what way to look :D Then, at the top of the stairs I could see nothing but prams / small bikes and a scutter of kids in one apt block. Kinda thought to myself - "what kinda kip is this?". Apts were crap in this development. The general area looks sh1te and is characterised by a massive underdeveloped area which will remain undeveloped for a long, long time.

The same agent brought me across to "The Coast" development. The train line from Portmarnock to Howth Junction splits the two developments in half. A train station is coming on stream in Feb 2010 and will serve both developments. This development is a world away from Beaupark and at least looks finished (even thought there's further land to be developed which will also remain undeveloped for many many years). At least it looks nice and well maintained. I went and had a look at a 1 and 2 bed. In the 2 bed I instantly spotted a hairline crack on the wall as I walked into the sitting room. Not a good start. Nothing else to note really.

All in all, I don't think I will be moving to any of the developments above.

On the way home I checked out "The Waterways". Lovely apartments but they're also a lovely price. Management fees are ridiculous (as with all of the apartments I seen up to this point). I left very quickly.

Finally, I made my way down to Waterville and took a look at the 1 and 2 beds. Management fees only 700 eur in this development which I felt was quite reasonable. I was particularily impressed with the 1 beds in this development. The seperate kitchen and sitting room is really a feature of these apartments. However, the advertised price of 150k does not include furniture (fair enough most don't) but the price with furniture is 160k!!!! FFS :rolleyes: I kid you not when she told me what furniture 10k would buy, I laughed at her. Crazy..........Other than that, it's a very nice development.

Top 5 would be as follows:

1. The Waterways (very nice but overpriced)
    2. Waterville (again very nice but slightly overpriced)
    3. The Coast (nice but overpriced)
    4. Clare Village (overrated, management fees off the wall)
    5. Beaupark (dodgy kip).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

What was the management fees?

Yep, actually seen 5 apts on Saturday; the 3 above and "The Waterways" (Ashtown) and Achill / Erris Square in Waterville (Blanchardstown).

Checked out Clarehall first. Only "OK". Wasn't really that impressed by it. As well as that there are many more apts to come on stream (at least 100 more).

I then went across to Beaupark in Clongriffin. Quite simply, Beaupark is a kip. It really hit home when we were coming up in the lift...... the estate agent and me were going up in the lift when a chap hopped in. First question - "Did you hear anything about the burned out car in the carpark...." I don't think the estate agent knew what way to look :D Then, at the top of the stairs I could see nothing but prams / small bikes and a scutter of kids in one apt block. Kinda thought to myself - "what kinda kip is this?". Apts were crap in this development. The general area looks sh1te and is characterised by a massive underdeveloped area which will remain undeveloped for a long, long time.

The same agent brought me across to "The Coast" development. The train line from Portmarnock to Howth Junction splits the two developments in half. A train station is coming on stream in Feb 2010 and will serve both developments. This development is a world away from Beaupark and at least looks finished (even thought there's further land to be developed which will also remain undeveloped for many many years). At least it looks nice and well maintained. I went and had a look at a 1 and 2 bed. In the 2 bed I instantly spotted a hairline crack on the wall as I walked into the sitting room. Not a good start. Nothing else to note really.

All in all, I don't think I will be moving to any of the developments above.

On the way home I checked out "The Waterways". Lovely apartments but they're also a lovely price. Management fees are ridiculous (as with all of the apartments I seen up to this point). I left very quickly.

Finally, I made my way down to Waterville and took a look at the 1 and 2 beds. Management fees only 700 eur in this development which I felt was quite reasonable. I was particularily impressed with the 1 beds in this development. The seperate kitchen and sitting room is really a feature of these apartments. However, the advertised price of 150k does not include furniture (fair enough most don't) but the price with furniture is 160k!!!! FFS :rolleyes: I kid you not when she told me what furniture 10k would buy, I laughed at her. Crazy..........Other than that, it's a very nice development.

Top 5 would be as follows:

2. Waterville (again very nice but slightly overpriced)
    3. The Coast (nice but overpriced)
    4. Clare Village (overrated, management fees off the wall)
    5. Beaupark (dodgy kip).

You say 150k is overpriced ! What price range you aiming for?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,243 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Great place. Friend has a place there. Very nice.

The asking price is only a guideline price. Talk to the devloper. You can easily work out a deal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 172 ✭✭skD13

Hi stepbar,

I live in Clongriffin (of which Beaupark is a part of). Obviously I am concerned with the image the place has so I’ll lay my cars on the table there straight away, but I am disappointed that you had such a poor impression of the area on first viewing.

Of course anyone is free to have an opinion that the place is a kip but just to clear a few things up and maybe shed some further light on things.

1.The pyrite court case only affects houses in the Beaupark section of the estate (behind the apartments you viewed). It cannot affect apartments due to different construction techniques and apartment dwellers have legal documents stating this. It also does not affect houses in the newer section of the estate on the left by the new park. Some of the roads are in a state of disrepair around the Beaupark houses and will remain so until someone accepts liability for the pyrite issue. Still though… we will probably all be guilty by association for some time despite people like me trying to clear things up.
    2.In The Coast only the Myrtle houses are affected by pyrite not the Red Arches (Google this and you will find plenty of articles stating same).
    3.The fire on Friday was unprecedented and not a regular occurrence. Investigations are ongoing but there has been no conclusive report yet that it was arson, though it is looking likely. A fire broke out in an underground car park in Clongriffin before (in a different block) and it turned out to be an engine fire. Underground car parks are notoriously difficult to secure 24/7 so this is not a problem confined to Clongriffin.
    4.The common areas may not have been up to scratch where you viewed due to an ongoing dispute between some residents and the management company about payment of fees. This has caused services such as cleaning and maintenance to be pulled intermittently. The dispute is ongoing but again not common to this development due to lack if legislation on the issue of management companies . Prepare for similar problems in any development where you will be under a management company.
    5.The Main St. is currently being dug up by Dublin City Council who are taking the Main St. into ownership in time for the opening of Clongriffin DART station in January 2010. This was stipulated by Irish Rail as a condition for opening the train station.
    6.The Coast development will be linked to Clongriffin via a cycle path and DCC are currently looking at other ways to open up the development as part of the Designing Dublin project http://www.design21c.com/node/2 which is currently in progress.
    7.You must have noticed the new eco-park on the entrance to the development. I am surprised you did not mention it as a positive for moving into the area. It has been getting quite a lot a attention lately and was part of the recent Open House event http://www.architecturefoundation.ie..._collins_park/ .
    8.A range of apartments built by Gannon Homes (they own most of the land in Clongriffin and sold land to Mennolly who built the apartments you looked at the weekend) are currently for rent down at the Station Plaza (you probably didn’t make it down that far, apart from being empty it is actually nice). They will probably be put up for sale when the DART opens in January.

That’s all really… I hope I have given you a fair assessment of the area from a resident's perspective. The place has its problems for sure but also has a lot of potential (great park, DART imminent, 128 bus every 10 mins and supposedly Superquinn to open after the DART opens). Again I am disappointed at the first impression you got of the place but a lot of work is being done at the moment by DCC, the developer and residents in the lead up to the DART station opening which should give a much better aesthetic to the place in the coming months.

If you need any further information on the area visit our residents website www.clongriffinresidents.com

You say 150k is overpriced ! What price range you aiming for?

Based on a rental yield of 6% (CBRE) its overpriced by about 10k if you use a monthly rental of 700. Using the mcwilliams / us formula about 40k. Everything is on the table at the mo but ill tell you i wont be ripped off.

You gonna rent for another year? Im thinking about renting one more year at the moment !!! Im in two minds like yourself i dont wanna be ripped off :(

skD13 wrote: »
    Hi stepbar,

I live in Clongriffin (of which Beaupark is a part of). Obviously I am concerned with the image the place has so I’ll lay my cars on the table there straight away, but I am disappointed that you had such a poor impression of the area on first viewing.

Of course anyone is free to have an opinion that the place is a kip but just to clear a few things up and maybe shed some further light on things.

1.The pyrite court case only affects houses in the Beaupark section of the estate (behind the apartments you viewed). It cannot affect apartments due to different construction techniques and apartment dwellers have legal documents stating this. It also does not affect houses in the newer section of the estate on the left by the new park. Some of the roads are in a state of disrepair around the Beaupark houses and will remain so until someone accepts liability for the pyrite issue. Still though… we will probably all be guilty by association for some time despite people like me trying to clear things up.
    2.In The Coast only the Myrtle houses are affected by pyrite not the Red Arches (Google this and you will find plenty of articles stating same).
    3.The fire on Friday was unprecedented and not a regular occurrence. Investigations are ongoing but there has been no conclusive report yet that it was arson, though it is looking likely. A fire broke out in an underground car park in Clongriffin before (in a different block) and it turned out to be an engine fire. Underground car parks are notoriously difficult to secure 24/7 so this is not a problem confined to Clongriffin.
    4.The common areas may not have been up to scratch where you viewed due to an ongoing dispute between some residents and the management company about payment of fees. This has caused services such as cleaning and maintenance to be pulled intermittently. The dispute is ongoing but again not common to this development due to lack if legislation on the issue of management companies . Prepare for similar problems in any development where you will be under a management company.
    5.The Main St. is currently being dug up by Dublin City Council who are taking the Main St. into ownership in time for the opening of Clongriffin DART station in January 2010. This was stipulated by Irish Rail as a condition for opening the train station.
    6.The Coast development will be linked to Clongriffin via a cycle path and DCC are currently looking at other ways to open up the development as part of the Designing Dublin project http://www.design21c.com/node/2 which is currently in progress.
    7.You must have noticed the new eco-park on the entrance to the development. I am surprised you did not mention it as a positive for moving into the area. It has been getting quite a lot a attention lately and was part of the recent Open House event http://www.architecturefoundation.ie..._collins_park/ .
    8.A range of apartments built by Gannon Homes (they own most of the land in Clongriffin and sold land to Mennolly who built the apartments you looked at the weekend) are currently for rent down at the Station Plaza (you probably didn’t make it down that far, apart from being empty it is actually nice). They will probably be put up for sale when the DART opens in January.

That’s all really… I hope I have given you a fair assessment of the area from a resident's perspective. The place has its problems for sure but also has a lot of potential (great park, DART imminent, 128 bus every 10 mins and supposedly Superquinn to open after the DART opens). Again I am disappointed at the first impression you got of the place but a lot of work is being done at the moment by DCC, the developer and residents in the lead up to the DART station opening which should give a much better aesthetic to the place in the coming months.

If you need any further information on the area visit our residents website www.clongriffinresidents.com

Thanks for your post. I note what you have said and whilst the county council has made great effort to make the place look all nice and rosy, it is far from the case. The park looks nice but out of place in the whole development. Anyhow really its the scum hanging around that puts me off. I mean there must have been 6 kids hanging around the Centra at lunch time on Saturday, bikes all over the place and looking all hard as they greeted customers at the door of Centra. As well as that, whilst I was driving around I noted a few dodgy looking chaps going up and down the Main St. Certainly the sort I wouldn't like to meet down a dark alleyway anyhow. From your own website, it appears the the Beaupark apts on the Main St is where the problems lie. In addition, the entire centre of the site remains in a shocking state. I suspect that it will never be developed.

I appreciate that Clongriffin has a lot going for it and that as a committee you are doing your best but until those issues are sorted it will remain an undesirable place to live.

You gonna rent for another year? Im thinking about renting one more year at the moment !!! Im in two minds like yourself i dont wanna be ripped off :(

We'll see but I'll tell you one thing, no estate agent will bullsh1te me. At this stage I don't give a flying fcuk what they say. I have no respect for them. For too many years, everyone and sundry took their word (I also include valuers word) for Gospel..... (and before someone says Pot calling Kettle black, I'm a newbie to the banking game and certainly wasn't involved in the property madness).

BTW, I know of one person who bought an apartment in Waterville for 270k (a 2 bed). The going price at the time was 320k. This was at the start of 2008. The same new apartments are selling for 250k. They have a long way to go considering (depending on what your view is....) that property valuations from 07' have fallen 40% and still probably have another 20% to go depending on who you talk to.

Fair play to ya Stepbar for sticking by your guns and looking out for that thing called 'value' which estate agents are not used to in previous years. Shortage of buyers out there so you can really get best buck for your money by shopping around.

Management fees are an issue indeed. Its a bill in some cases of 2k a year, thats madness. Oh and just remember, what they say the mgt fees are in the first year does not neccesarily mean they will be at that level the following year, some places offer teaser rates in year 1 and hike them after!!

Waterville ain't plain sailing either. The further in away from the Snugborough Rd is best, away from the bad part of Blanch. Take a stroll on the first road in Waterville that runs parallel to Sungbororugh(off Tory sq) and the scorched tarmac in various places is a giveaway.

Fair play to ya Stepbar for sticking by your guns and looking out for that thing called 'value' which estate agents are not used to in previous years. Shortage of buyers out there so you can really get best buck for your money by shopping around.

Management fees are an issue indeed. Its a bill in some cases of 2k a year, thats madness. Oh and just remember, what they say the mgt fees are in the first year does not neccesarily mean they will be at that level the following year, some places offer teaser rates in year 1 and hike them after!!

Waterville ain't plain sailing either. The further in away from the Snugborough Rd is best, away from the bad part of Blanch. Take a stroll on the first road in Waterville that runs parallel to Sungbororugh (off Tory sq) and the scorched tarmac in various places is a giveaway.

Management fees are a issue alright. Off the wall in some places.

However estate agents don't see this as a problem - The estate agent in Clarehall seemed to think 1.5k for a 2 bed was good as she pays 1.8k!!!!!

I said to her "1.5k :eek: Off the wall :rolleyes:..... It's not a development in Ballsbridge, ya know".

I hear what you're saying about Waterville. I went out there last night but didn't go up where you mention.

Hi stepbar,

I meant that the council are currently working on a lot of initiatives to deal with the undeveloped land, hoardings etc. but it is work in progress and not finished! The Main St. will be ready in the new year for DART opening. The developer has a bit of tidying up to do also on the periphery.

As regards the kids, we get a mix coming to use the skatepark, some neo mullets with the trackie bottoms tucked in (de rigeur on the northside these days :)) and just as many skater kids. You obviously caught some of the former. Most are grand save for a bit of littering but I don't imagine the type of youngsters you saw would be any different in Cabra/Finglas (Ashtown) or Blanch (Waterville). Same goes for the other dodgy punters you saw. Anyway, no amount of me saying I've lived here 4 years and have had no problems (as neither have most of the hundreds of actively engaged residents that use our forum and attend community events) will change your initial bad impression. It will however make the residents even more determined to better the place (as best we can as we can't finish the empty lots!). We focus on the positives... these are unprecedented times and indeed much of our estate may never be completed, but unlike most areas we have a fantastic €20 million newly constructed park, a DART station and a regular cross-town bus service. When the Metro is (possibly) canned due to budget constraints that will be a boon for us.

Anyway, best of look with your search for your first home. It's an exciting time and you are certainly in a better position than I was 4 years ago! Plus you have IKEA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

I mean there must have been 6 kids hanging around the Centra at lunch time on Saturday, bikes all over the place and looking all hard as they greeted customers at the door of Centra.
    You'll see that at nearly every shop these days, due to a massive lack of facilities, and the knowledge that the Gardai can't really touch them.
    skD13 wrote: »
    we get a mix coming to use the skatepark
    Aye. Skateparks will draw people, but it usually works out for the best, as there'll be something to do, as opposed to the estates where there is naught to do. If you're buying, and you find a nice place with no scum around, look for stuff that teenagers can do. Real stuff, and not the little bit of grass the EA calls the "green area". I say this as many areas are just a ticking timebomb, as once the kids grow up, you'll have gangs roaming around looking for something to kill the time.

Seeing as how I am here now defending my turf and bantering with ye, I may as well offer some general advice. Management Companies… do your research!!! Like who is the agent of the management company? Can residents be on the board of the management company (check your leases)? If there are empty units in your development will the developer pay up for them? And check the breakdown of the fees. You’d be surprised how easily €1,500 or €2,000 adds up (bins could be €400 like as they would cost in a non service charge estate) and with the new multi unit development bill coming (about time) €200 per unit must go into the sinking fund every year.

Also be very careful of this one. If you are buying an apartment check if it has a lift and if it does how many apartments does it service. Lifts are a major cost and due to a stipulation brought in a few years ago in the city development plan all apartments must be dual aspect and that restricts the number of apartments that can be serviced by a lift. Great idea in principle from the perspective of nice bright apartments with no box rooms but a problem from a financial perspective (lifts cost a fortune).

O.P did you try the affordable housing scheme ? Im on it with dublin city council!

Just as well....

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/embattled-killoe-developments-records-836444m-loss-1924901.html

With the way things are going the reciever will be in next year.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

In the 2 bed I instantly spotted a hairline crack on the wall as I walked into the sitting room. Not a good start.

One comment if you're still looking - plaster will often give a small crack like you describe as it dries. The usual thing would be to wait till the plaster has fully dried then giving a final finish and painting. It doesn't necessarily mean that there are structural problems, and if you're buying from new you just put it on your snag list that it's to be redone.

I don't know any of the developments you're talking about, but consider a two-bed over a one bed if the price difference isn't huge - in general I've heard it's easier to sell a two-bed later, and if you're planning on living there yourself it's nice to have a study/guest room.

Just as well....

http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/embattled-killoe-developments-records-836444m-loss-1924901.html

With the way things are going the reciever will be in next year.....

Yeah jesus things are bad there!! But this is what I dont get why do they not do a firesale there!! There is 100s of empty appartments there and still they are asking 210k for them!!!:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 686 ✭✭✭bangersandmash

But this is what I dont get why do they not do a firesale there!! There is 100s of empty appartments there and still they are asking 210k for them!!!:confused:
    Banks rolling up interest on developer loans in anticipation of some deus ex machina?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭Tech3

Yeah jesus things are bad there!! But this is what I dont get why do they not do a firesale there!! There is 100s of empty appartments there and still they are asking 210k for them!!!:confused:

Obviously it would be the right thing to do to get rid of the rot and start from scratch. The government want to keep property prices at an artificial level which will delay any sign of a recovery.

tech2 wrote: »
    Obviously it would be the right thing to do to get rid of the rot and start from scratch. The government want to keep property prices at an artificial level which will delay any sign of a recovery.
    Yeah I Know and its so stupid :(

Op did they say when the next phase of clare village will be coming online!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

Are you sure buying an apartment is a good idea? They age really badly (I live in one which is 15 years old and the building is in bits), and when our property market collapses (which it will) apartments will be the hardest hit.

Would you not be better off hanging on a bit and buying a house?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 marmalade3

:rolleyes:Taut property market had already collapsed??........Silly me:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

marmalade3 wrote: »
    :rolleyes:Taut property market had already collapsed??........Silly me:confused:

No, houses and apartments are still incredibly overpriced.

It might look like it has crashed compared to the bubble, but you shouldn't be comparing the real world with a bubble. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 marmalade3

Well that's one area of my pension plan up the swaneeee.... any opinions on commercial property located on a main street with a good tenant with a government paycheck every month, paying their rent in full and on time?

The situation in Clongriffin is a little more complicated than that owing to the amount of different developers who still have units for sale there… as follows:

Ross (Menolly/Killoe) actually has very little units left unsold. As far as I am aware less than 20 and one was the apartment Stepbar viewed recently. Three other developers still have unsold units in the development. Menolly’s biggest problem in Clongriffin is the pyrite issues in the Beaupark section of the estate which he built, not a glut of unsold units.

Pierse Construction built the Marrsfield units and have a good share of apartments left unsold but they have not yet dropped prices (in any overt public offering that I am aware of anyway). DCC also own some of these apartments which they bought off Pierse on the AH scheme. Not sure what is happening with those or if the council will proceed to sell them at a loss or not. No idea on numbers here but a few blocks are unoccupied for sure. They are nice apartments but very isolated at the north of the site. This may change if access to the DART is opened from that section of the site.

Barina Construction build 2 blocks to the right at the entrance to Clongriffin. They were sold as Station Point along with another block from plans which has not materialized. A lot of these are sold but there are some left unoccupied.

Gerry Gannon (Gannon Homes) and his son Peter (Pennon Homes) still own a lot of stock in Clongriffin, apartments and houses. Gannon was the original landowner who sold the plots to Menolly/Killoe, Pierse, Barina. He put some apartments briefly on the market a couple of years ago, none sold so he removed them and rented them out. He has a significant number of unsold units and is currently doing some finishing on them as I suspect he plans to put them on the market in the Spring when the DART has opened (official line from Irish Rail etc. is still January 2010, may slip a few weeks but the station is in the finishing stages). It will be interesting to see what he tries to sell them for. Gannon still maintains that the businesses he has contracted to open in Clongriffin (notable Superquinn) will do so when the DART opens but residents remain skeptical. But then again the park and DART were finished so who knows.

So again… it’s complex with this many fingers in the pie. But Menolly doing a fire sale would still leave a glut of unsold units in Clongriffin because other developers actually own them! It looks like some developers in the area that can afford to hold out a little longer are doing so to see if a spanking new DART station on the doorstep will entice any buyers. Probably not in the numbers they are hoping but it should help. Residents (like me) really do hope they price them realistically so we can see some numbers move into the place and get some shops open and some life into the place. Most of us honestly would rather see apartments selling for %%% less than we bought them than continue to live in a ghost town. We’ll see come the new year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Clongriffin is also set for more development, it in my opinion will improve over the next few years.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/commercialproperty/2012/0516/1224316188527.html
    There is a mosque and development of the vacant centre area which is a bit of an eye sore over the last while, but has been improving over time.
    I believe the proposed development will help bring more amienities to the area and it will be a thriving commiunity in a few years.