Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Both cars broken into last night.

• 07-10-2009 9:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭

Feckers stole all my work stuff. The thing is both cars one is a Honda and one a VW were both opened without any damage. Did these thieves have some sort of scanner that unlocked the cars, anyone heard of that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

Id say the jammed something down the door to release the lock, didnt think this could be done on the VW though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 948 ✭✭✭Antrim_Man

Tipsy Mac wrote: »
    Id say the jammed something down the door to release the lock, didnt think this could be done on the VW though.

Both cars fully inspected, no damage. Totally confused and we are racking or brain wondering did we lock the cars, but as you know, you just press the button without thinking and never check the doors afterwards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,555 ✭✭✭✭Marlow

Depending on how new or old they are, sure it can be done.

Give you an example:

VW Transporter/Caravelle T4: You can break into the car using the sliding door or backdoor without anyone ever will notice and even leave the car locked. A pain to explain to the insurance. There are mechanisms you can buy to improve security here.

Most new cars with key-fob style locks: A guy I know nearly caught a couple of people, that broke into his car using an electronic gadget, that made the alarm go offline and opened the central lock.

/M

Marlow wrote: »
    Depending on how new or old they are, sure it can be done.

Give you an example:

VW Transporter/Caravelle T4: You can break into the car using the sliding door or backdoor without anyone ever will notice and even leave the car locked. A pain to explain to the insurance. There are mechanisms you can buy to improve security here.

Most new cars with key-fob style locks: A guy I know nearly caught a couple of people, that broke into his car using an electronic gadget, that made the alarm go offline and opened the central lock.

/M

sherlockzk0.gif

http://www.x-electronic.com/productdetail.aspx?productid=100044

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Check under the door handle directly under the lock. Sometimes a small philips-head screwdriver can be hammered from below up into the lock.

Deffo no damaged. Crime scene investigators been and gone and found nothing :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Should have sent Grissom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Not sure about the electronic suggestion. If it was a high powered Merc of BMW then yes but they simply took the contents only. No offence on yuor car choise of course :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Antrim_Man wrote: »
    They'll only work with the static frequency fobs/alarms. The rolling frequency ones are a lot harder to crack. If the OP's cars are the standard factory installs and they're static ones(which would be a bit mad ted if true), then get a third party alarm. A good one properly installed.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Stevie Dakota

Could anyone other than family members ever have access to BOTH keys in the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

that sucks ,i remember seeing two eastern european looking lads messing at my car vw passat with an electronic gadget about the size of a mobile phone until I scared them away,i now dont leave anything in the car and have a steering wheel and a gearbox lock on

Could anyone other than family members ever have access to BOTH keys in the past?

Nah, my VW is a hire car I only got recently from work, I dont even have a spare key for it. Luckily my wifes Honda they did not find the sat nav which was the only item of value in it. The stuff I lost was all from work so nothing personal so lucky enough.

Gardai recovered the lot as far as I can tell except for a Tom Tom sat nav, was not expecting that. They are holding the stuff until they get it checked for prints.

Seems it was all dumped in a ditch nearby and found by kids, so its a bit dirty but mostly there from what I've seen :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,704 ✭✭✭squod

Can't believe people don't have CCTV on their houses nowadays.
    The stuff is dirt cheap, a car payment would cover the cost of stuff nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,245 ✭✭✭psycho-hope

do either of the cars have central locking that remains locked when you are driving, if so its very easy to trick them into thinking they have been in an accident, sharp kick or bang to the front tyres and the locks will open ) and before anyone asks yes have seen it done)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

Don't know about the scanners but I've heard of blockers....when you hit the lock button the blocker jams the signal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭congo_90

sounds like something that happened to me a number of months back op. Had a horrible time with the gards as to how there was no sign of entry. At least your stuff is reovered though

squod wrote: »
    Can't believe people don't have CCTV on their houses nowadays.
    The stuff is dirt cheap, a car payment would cover the cost of stuff nowadays.

Any recommendations??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭c4cat

triple-M wrote: »
    that sucks ,i remember seeing two eastern european looking lads messing at my car vw passat with an electronic gadget about the size of a mobile phone until I scared them away,i now dont leave anything in the car and have a steering wheel and a gearbox lock on

How did you know they were eastern europeans?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

^ Yawn. He said they looked Eastern European......

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,721 ✭✭✭E39MSport

Any recommendations??
    I have panasonic IP kit in and around my home. I think it's great. You can get a POE external fixed one for about 150 (BL-C140). I can access them all over the internet and I have a second hand PC in the attic with a 1Tb drive to record images. I also ftp to remote location. You can go even cheaper with standard analog ones from ebay and either an analog recorder or convert the signal to digital.
    It's probably a little bit over the top but I got hooked on it and was delighted when I got it all working.

E39MSport wrote: »
    I have panasonic IP kit in and around my home. I think it's great. You can get a POE external fixed one for about 150 (BL-C140). I can access them all over the internet and I have a second hand PC in the attic with a 1Tb drive to record images. I also ftp to remote location. You can go even cheaper with standard analog ones from ebay and either an analog recorder or convert the signal to digital.
    It's probably a little bit over the top but I got hooked on it and was delighted when I got it all working.

Would love to do it but it sounds expensive.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

esel wrote: »
    ^ Yawn. He said they looked Eastern European......
    yeah and?:mad: you know there is a typical generic look which these guys had tall stocky blond hair,they looked eastern european polish/possibly latvian,so whats your problem?
    anyways get back to topic

do either of the cars have central locking that remains locked when you are driving, if so its very easy to trick them into thinking they have been in an accident, sharp kick or bang to the front tyres and the locks will open ) and before anyone asks yes have seen it done)

Not my two cars :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Would love to do it but it sounds expensive.:(

I have no external camera but I have a 4 camera system inside my house, you can get it all for under €400 which is feck all considering the excess on your insurance is probably more than that.

It is not too hard to hook it up yourself, mine is wired and was easy enough to do since I live in a bungalow and could ruin the wires through the attic.

www.cctvdirect.co.uk is who I used but even Mapplin have systems over here for about €400 I think.
    Just make sure the DVR you get has a lan port so you can hook it up to the interweb and remote view if needed. My alarm sends me a text if it goes off so I can always log on and see what is going on inside the house.

Oh and if you get a 4 camera system, you can always put one outside as they are usually indoor/outdoor with night vision etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

What year and model Honda? Most Japanese cars have a similar deadlock system whereby you have to press the lock button twice on the key-fob, once to lock the doors and the second to deadlock them. Toyota's and Mazda's definintely have this, not so sure about the recent Hondas, but you can easily check it by sitting in the car and pressing once, when you pull the handle the car will unlock. When you press it twice it deadlocks, so you can't get out. You need to press once then a second time within 5 seconds.

Biro wrote: »
    What year and model Honda? Most Japanese cars have a similar deadlock system whereby you have to press the lock button twice on the key-fob, once to lock the doors and the second to deadlock them. Toyota's and Mazda's definintely have this, not so sure about the recent Hondas, but you can easily check it by sitting in the car and pressing once, when you pull the handle the car will unlock. When you press it twice it deadlocks, so you can't get out. You need to press once then a second time within 5 seconds.

Honda is an 05 FRV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,093 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

triple-M wrote: »
    yeah and?:mad: you know there is a typical generic look which these guys had tall stocky blond hair,they looked eastern european polish/possibly latvian,so whats your problem?
    anyways get back to topic
    You are the one with the problem, tbh, as you do not seem to be able to differentiate between a post which is supporting you (as mine was), and the other kind. So, relax the angry face and exhale.

Not your ornery onager