Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are some people constantly grumpy?

• 07-10-2009 1:58am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

I'm about to move in with a friend of mine and his missus. The outgoing couple got casually talking to my missus today and they spilled some beans on a few things.

Now, apparently me mates missus is a complete grump! Shes in her twenties, has a job, new car, this apartment we'll be renting together is also really nice.

So why do people like this get moody all the time?? Its a pain in the arse, especially since I'm moving in after work. hopefully they were over-reacting but I get the impression they're not, since it was her cousin telling us this!

It seems its mostly the daily post-work stress thats a big cause of tension. I'm thinking now is it worth the reduced rent in a nice place with tension, instead of paying over the odds for a crap place which we cant afford.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

This is AH. Of course we're grumpy. I'm almost constantly grumpy living in this godforsaken country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Does she have a septic toe by any chance?

The whole country is down with it apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

no, i'm the one with the gammy toenail. it fell off while i was in thailand last year but i stuck it back on with sellotape. now it stays on by itself and even grows a bit sometimes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Sean7

it's the economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Probably just work stress, i know a few people who are no go area's for about an hour and a half after they finish work, but then they get it out of their system and are fine.

ye i'll have to refrain from tryin to wind her up for sh*ts and giggles! especially after a few beers!
    actually, in my case with this one, apparently she has a sense of "this is our apartment, we're just letting you rent the room". They dont own the place either, they just got there first. If she starts with bossin me around i'll be gone pronto!

I've come across some miserable gits though, even before I left Ireland and before the "Big Recesh". Just people who constantly have something up their hole. I dunno how anyone can live like that. I'm totally laid back and let a lot of things slide without even a 2nd thought, but you see people getting wound up over nothing. It seems alien to me!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

The_B_Man wrote: »
    no, i'm the one with the gammy toenail. it fell off while i was in thailand last year but i stuck it back on with sellotape. now it stays on by itself and even grows a bit sometimes!

Let it fall off, you get a new one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,015 ✭✭✭CreepingDeath

I'm about to move in with a friend of mine and his missus.

Maybe 3 is a crowd and she doesn't want to have to share a house with two lads. She might be able to go all psycho on the boyfriend but when there's another neutral party in the house she has to reign in the crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I would say it's this bad dose that is doing the rounds these days called reality.

Can affect people of her age and the symptoms are crabbiness and raggy behaviour when they cannot have the biggest and best of everything now,loike right now.

Can also show when they haven't had a break for a week or ten days snowboarding or travelling or having a blast .

Maybe she had to get a bus somewhere or even jaysus forbid actually walk down to the shops when she normally gets taxis or home deliveries.

There are loads of reasons,maybe she can't afford the €100 euro or so you need for a quiet night in the pub.

This fcuking reality disease is very prevalent you know.

Lack of sex causes grumpiness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

This fcuking reality disease is very prevalent you know.
    Maybe that's what she needs to shake her out of her grumpiness/misery ....a relaity check

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭IvyTheTerrible

Some people are just grumpy feckers, unfortunately.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Oh leave me alone with all your questions. Can't you see I'm eating a pie here?

Piles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

I know Id rather live in a dinghy little place of my own than with that trollop..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Long Onion

Loopy wrote: »
    I know Id rather live in a dinghy little place of my own than with that trollop..

Ah, to own a boat ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,220 ✭✭✭✭Loopy

Jesus, you get away with nothing in AH..:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,175 ✭✭✭cosmic

My boss is a grumpy b*tch. I think it's because she's a pathetic lonely old hag who no one will ever love :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

It's not us grumpy people that are at fault; it's the twats we have to put up with every day that make us grumpy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

Why are some people constantly grumpy?

Fúck you!!

Thats why!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

i'm grumpy becuase my job is driving me insane. i'm ok-ish for the most part outside work though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

That's just the way people are bman...

If she's getting grumpy with ya, just grab her head and lick her face. See what her reaction is. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

rarnes1 wrote: »
    Lack of sex causes grumpiness
    I agree :mad::mad::mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

I agree :mad::mad::mad:

Bullsh!t... it has nothing to do with it ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭triple-M

aunt flow wont go away

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

:mad: Thers nothing wrong with being Grumpy and how dare you say otherwise espically with prices the way they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I'm only grumpy because I can't grab hold of the grumpy feckers on the interweb and throttle 'em to cheer 'em up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Pinky Pixie

I'm sick of gloomy people getting all antsy and moody when something good happens to other people or when I walk in to work in the morning with a big smilie face and everyone is all moopy because they got a bit rained on...cheer up people :)

Sick of gloomy news too so making this my new favorite new site:)

http://www.happynews.com/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

Maybe it's because people keep telling them things like "cheer up", "could be worse" or "it's not the end of the world" it wrecks my head when people say things like that.

Yeah you are right sorry:o, when I'm pissed off and someone said that I would have a nasty comment for them alright. But I hate people taking their grumpiness out on other people, you're creating a whole cycle of misery:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

:mad: Thers nothing wrong with being Grumpy and how dare you say otherwise espically with prices the way they are
    The prices can go up or down, I won't let it rule me, Money isn't the sole purpose of life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Maybe the grumpy people have the ability to see into the future and maybe they don't like what they see.

It's why Mystic Meg is so unhappy. She has seen her epitaph and she doesn't like it one little bit
    "Here lies Mystic Meg: A fraud who preyed on the weak and vulnerable and who was about as mystic as H from Steps"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I've concluded that very happy people are either on Prozac, or have been brainwashed by a cult.

ejmaztec wrote: »
    I've concluded that very happy people are either on Prozac, or have been brainwashed by a cult.

I am neither, I'd say I'm more Blissfully unaware :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I love watching repeats of Grumpy old men .Cheers me up no end

That's just the way people are bman...

If she's getting grumpy with ya, just grab her head and lick her face. See what her reaction is. :)

ah, a good old face lick is the cure for what ails ya!

i also encountered a bloke today in work. I'm in IT. He disagreed with our procedures for re-imaging PCs. grumpy old fart! spent 20 minutes arguing with him for no reason. he was just being an arse and causing me more hassle! in the end, we went forward as originally planned!! :mad:

reckon i'll go home and start slamming doors and stuff!! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

The prices can go up or down, I won't let it rule me, Money isn't the sole purpose of life.

nope, but in this country it's essential to living a nice happy one.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

I haven't sold anything in work for a while, I've been droped from the soccer team but the thing making me grumpiest of all, I haven't had sex in so long I think my virginity has grown back. I think I have every right to be grumpy :(

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

...Shes in her twenties, has a job, new car, this apartment we'll be renting together is also really nice...

therin lies your answer..she probably up to her neck in debt, and when I say neck I mean forehead, and when I say debt I mean Sh*t

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,160 ✭✭✭✭banshee_bones

Maybe it's because people keep telling them things like "cheer up", "could be worse" or "it's not the end of the world" it wrecks my head when people say things like that.

yes! *this* is the root cause of alot of people who dont necessarily feel the need to go around grinning like a cheshire cat all day long!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

Because she's a bitch?