Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Marathon 2009

• 06-10-2009 2:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

hello!!
    As i am too late to register for the Dublin Marathon I was wondering can i run the route later in the day?Or when is it open to the public again?I missed the registration day as i was sick so mad that i cant enter it:mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

If you've been sick for the 6+ months registration was open I wouldn't recommend running it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 elphinboy

no no i was just sick over the weekend and i fully forgot to register raging with myself but did 19 miles today so feeling good again..in a bit of a predicament:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,144 ✭✭✭Bally8

Just curious as to why you left it so late if you wanted to do it that badly? Registration has been open for months. Not being rude just amazed you left it till last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

My advice would be to run the route another day. Leave 26th October for those who were organised enough to pay up on time. Alternatively, take it as a lesson learned the hard way and enter for 2010.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭metamorphosis

Well registration was open for months on end. Closed yesterday at 5pm. Not.Going.To.Happen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 elphinboy

had a lot of personal stuff goin on thats the reason got that all soted so was meant to register last weekend then got sick.so do ye know if route is open on that monday(26th) again?thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

you could always ask for a number swap - just start another thread.....;)

(dont start a thread looking for a swap)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,001 ✭✭✭scottreynolds

elphinboy wrote: »
    had a lot of personal stuff goin on thats the reason got that all soted so was meant to register last weekend then got sick.so do ye know if route is open on that monday(26th) again?thanks

Find a charity to run for -- my friends did this for the Half after registration had closed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 638 ✭✭✭Rusty Cogs 08

elphinboy wrote: »
    so do ye know if route is open on that monday(26th) again?thanks

It's going to be open to registered, number wearing runners. If you involve yourself in there you're acting the maggot, if you run after everyone (amongst traffic) you're not going to have much of a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

The Davestator, you know that looking for a swap is against the charter. This is your first and final warning on this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Forget it mate, you'd be bonkers to run a marathon and not have your time recorded. Regroup and aim for the next one on the calendar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Barty

I presume you can go out and run the route later that day - just find out when the route reopens and stick to the footpaths. Unlike other routes I do not think there are any sections which are not normally open to the public (like the Jack Lynch tunnel for the Cork marathon) although I stand to be corrected on this.
    However as others have said you'd have no record of your time so if you have been training for the DCM perhaps you'd be better off looking for a marathon that will be on soon afterwards and your training won't be in vain (I'm sure lots of people on here will be able to tell you of other marathons on in November).
    Not sure if this could be your first marathon - I know that some people enter for their first marathon as soon as entry opens whereas others wait until the last minute to make sure that they get the training in and don't get injured - hope you got all your problems sorted - fair play for going out and doing 19 miles today after being sick for the weekend. It may be worth contacting the organisers and telling them of your prediciment - you're only 24 hours late? As for swapping numbers - that's a complete no no!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,542 ✭✭✭The Davestator

The Davestator, you know that looking for a swap is against the charter. This is your first and final warning on this.

I thought I'd made it clear that I was being ironic - obviously not - apologies

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭gerard65

OP, you can run the DCM route anytime you want to, just not between 9am and 4pm on the 26th of Oct, so go ahead and knock yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 400 ✭✭jb-ski

For a reduced fee we could set up a little finish line for you on Sunday 25th:).

(apologies elphinboy, if your post was serious )

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Surely a wind up?