Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FÁS executive charged with €600k fraud

• 06-10-2009 1:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/fas-executive-charged-with-600k-fraud-429118.html
    A FÁS executive was charged today with 47 counts of defrauding the state training agency of more than €600,000.

Mr James Brooke-Tyrell (aged 53), with an address at Church Gate, Church Road, Greystones, Co. Wicklow, was brought before Dublin District Court this morning.

He was charged with 47 counts of deception by manufacturing a false tender, inducing FÁS while in his position as assistant video production manager, at Upper Baggot Street, D4, resulting in cheques being issued into accounts in the name of Yard Media, controlled by Mr Tyrell, from 2002 to 2008.

The charges, under the Theft and Fraud Offences Act, also state that this was allegedly “with intention of making a gain for yourself and causing a loss to another.”

Detective Garda Alan Browne told Judge Ann Ryan that Mr Tyrell said “no reply I have nothing to say” when he was charged.

State’s solicitor Kevin Ennis told Judge Ryan that the DPP had directed that “the matter proceed on indictment” which means the case is to be sent forward to the Circuit Court.

He sought a six-week remand for the book of evidence to be served.

In reply to a query by Judge Ryan as to the value of the money involved in the case Det-Gda Browne replied “just over €600,000".

Mr Tyrell, who was wearing a dark overcoat and a black suit, remained seated with his hands clasped and was silent during his court appearance.

Defence solicitor Mr Pearse Mehigan said his client had met the arresting garda by appointment at the Bridewell Station, in Dublin city-centre.

He said Mr Ted Crowley, the defendant’s father-in-law, who was present for the case, would act as the independent surety. Mr Crowley then stepped forward and shook hands with the accused.

Mr Crowley confirmed that he understood that he could lose his surety money if the defendant failed to attend his next court appearance. The case then put to second calling after which the prosecuting Garda said he had no objection to Mr Crowley acting as a bail person.

Judge Ryan granted Mr Tyrell bail in his own bond of €1,000 and with the independent surety in the sum of €10,000.

The State solicitor said that a condition was being sought to have the defendant “surrender his passport forthwith".

However, Mr Mehigan, defending, said that had already been done. Judge Ryan then ordered that Mr Tyrell was not to apply for travel documents.

An application for legal aid was granted after Judge Ryan was told that the arresting garda had no objection.

Judge Ryan then remanded Mr Tyrell to appear again on November 17 next when the book of evidence in the case is to be served.

Read more: http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/fas-executive-charged-with-600k-fraud-429118.html#ixzz0T9zctnSU

Can we hope for a similar story with bank executives?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Stee wrote: »

Hahahahaha, good one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭stevoman

probobly not. in this country if you steal €1000 you go to jail.

steal a €1,000,000 and they'l take you out for dinner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

The poor lad. Hopefully he'll be able to get on a back to work scheme.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Scum...

He better go to jail...

"An application for legal aid was granted" this is sickening. He steals from us, then has the cheek to apply for legal aid and steal from us further. If he is sent to jail he will leech off us for a few more years, after he is released he can go back to his mansion in greystones and live it up again... Can anyone else see what's wrong here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭drdeadlift

Sure he will get away with it,they dont send their own to jail.,,.and if he does go to jail he wont do much time and as someone above mentioned he will be back in his big house in greyatones.

What does cab have to do with this,do they only keep track of drug dealers(bad guys?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Can CAB regain these funds?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

For some reason I had the impression it was an IT guy that was going to be charged....Ye can't trust them IT feckers.....with their phase testers and their 'turn it off and then on again'......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

drdeadlift wrote: »
    Sure he will get away with it,they dont send their own to jail.,,.and if he does go to jail he wont do much time and as someone above mentioned he will be back in his big house in greyatones.

What does cab have to do with this,do they only keep track of drug dealers(bad guys?)

CAB Criminal Assets Bureau, AFAIK, they can recover money made from any criminal activity, not just drugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

His been a naughty boy, if he's not careful he'll get two slaps on the wrist and be the but of every joke down at the golf club.

CAB Criminal Assets Bureau, AFAIK, they can recover money made from any criminal activity, not just drugs.

I know this,its just the only time i ever hear CAB in the news storys they always seem to be linked to drug dealers&not the guys in suits,would be nice to see a few of these white colar robbing fvckers in hand cuffs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

True but as regards seizing property, where its the family home/property and its occupied by the rest of the family, its very doubtful if anything can be regained there alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 911 ✭✭✭994

drdeadlift wrote: »
    I know this,its just the only time i ever hear CAB in the news storys they always seem to be linked to drug dealers&not the guys in suits,would be nice to see a few of these white colar robbing fvckers in hand cuffs.

I thought CAB took your money if you can't show how you got it - they're not needed in this case, the court can seize his assets because they know it was fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

He got legal aid???fúcking joke. one can only hope that this is the start of many jail sentences for scum like this. I hope he never works again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,372 ✭✭✭✭walshb

stevoman wrote: »

No no no, steal a million and they will bump up your pension by a further million!:eek:

994 wrote: »
    I thought CAB took your money if you can't show how you got it - they're not needed in this case, the court can seize his assets because they know it was fraud.

Both are similar,goods bought by dirty moola.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Yeah but this guy didn't just use it on flights, limos and hotels. He actually just robbed it straight off.

I'd say he's going to jail.

how did he think he was going to get away with it? Does/did fas get regular audits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

He is charged with €600,000 which is a lot closer to a million then a grand.
    This is a big fish.

We could well see something like this occur in Anglo, but it won't be for a while due to the complexity of evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭Agent J

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/1006/breaking41.htm

Irish Times are reporting that it is only an assistant manager who has already been fired.

Small fish compartaitvely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭gar32

If you lay with dogs you wake up flies. I know this man many years ago and I am sure it was the normal goings on in FAS and I hope people who breaks the law pay back in full. Greed is the problem yet its also held up as why people work hard. Rewards for hard work and easy money robbed are not the same. People need to feel honest and fear breaking the law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Agent J wrote: »
    http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/breaking/2009/1006/breaking41.htm

Irish Times are reporting that it is only an assistant manager who has already been fired.

Small fish compartaitvely.

A small fish who stole 0.6 million.

That is allot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

Unlucky guy, he obviously didn't join the FF party, if he did, he could have resigned with a massive pension and lump sum.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

He got legal aid???fúcking joke. one can only hope that this is the start of many jail sentences for scum like this. I hope he never works again.

So you'll be keeping an open mind on this case if you are called up for jury duty?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

Biggins wrote: »
    True but as regards seizing property, where its the family home/property and its occupied by the rest of the family, its very doubtful if anything can be regained there alone.

Charlie Haughey the legend...

"sure they are not my houses, they are me kids"

haha :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 421 ✭✭procure11

I suppose it is an acknowledgement of the superior intelligence of the latter! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

gar32 wrote: »
    I am sure it was the normal goings on in FAS

Read the details of the case. It definitely wasn't the usual expense fiasco stuff (not that I'm excusing that at all). This was out and out fraud.