Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin Zombie Walk 2009.

• 06-10-2009 12:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭

Hello everyone.

A Zombie Walk is being organised in Dublin on Saturday 31st October. The idea is to get loads of people dressed as zombies going for a lurch around the city centre.

We are meeting at 5 at St. Stephen's Green and the lurch is scheduled to last about two hours.

Zombie walks have happened in other cities, there are videos up on youtube.

I'm having trouble with links at the mo but will try and get more info up soon.

This event is free and just for the craic so will look forward to seeing youse there complete with blood and guts and most importantly . . .

BRAINS :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

WARNING:

Holding a Zombie Walk on the same day that members of the Zombie Survival and Zombie Hunters will be drinking heavily at the Noc Beers is a VERY BAD IDEA!!!!

If anybody gets snipped in the head, decapitated or has their skull smashed in, it will be in you hands to clean up after.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Think I will schedule a survivor's training day for the 31st October. I might hold it in Dublin. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Hi mud,

That sounds great, Any idea on confirmed numbers so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

BOFH_139 wrote: »
    WARNING:

Holding a Zombie Walk on the same day that members of the Zombie Survival and Zombie Hunters will be drinking heavily at the Noc Beers is a VERY BAD IDEA!!!!

If anybody gets snipped in the head, decapitated or has their skull smashed in, it will be in you hands to clean up after.....

:pac: come and have a go if you think you're human enough
    Hi mud,

That sounds great, Any idea on confirmed numbers so far?

around 40 that I know of but we're hoping for a lot more!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Dingleye

Hopefully nobody thinks it's for real... could get messy :D
    Dawn of the dead :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 303 ✭✭Brunteaphile

Can I bring this?

PSE06_Rattler_Crossbow.jpg

mud wrote: »

around 40 that I know of but we're hoping for a lot more!

I'm in Dublin that day, I'll defo check it out. How will I know who ye are? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 578 ✭✭✭Elba101

I'm in Dublin that day, I'll defo check it out. How will I know who ye are? :p

Just look for a big group of zombies...:P

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,282 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

Elba101 wrote: »
    Just look for a big group of zombies...:P
    I'm always on the lookout for a big group of zombies :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭Valmont

Kiith wrote: »
    I'm always on the lookout for a big group of zombies :cool:

I suppose you've never been in the ilac centre then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭_SONIC_

Can I bring this?

PSE06_Rattler_Crossbow.jpg

AWESOME!

put me down for one of those!! im going to be up in the shelbourne hotel!!!
    if it worked for the scum it will work for me!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Da Bounca

Been done in Stephens Green shopping centre before.
    Great craic though, go for it again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 220 ✭✭meducation

cool i'll more thank likely go to this hope its diverse and not just a load of lads in korn hoodies with fake blood lol
    zombies dont just eat emos

Dublin Zombie Crawl has been added to crawlofthedead.com

http://www.crawlofthedead.com/crawls/info/dublin_zombie_crawl_09/

it'll have to be a copy and paste jobbie, can't get the hang of linkage :(

doh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 448 ✭✭jenny2hat

Cya there :D
    Costume event, I'm assuming...?

jenny2hat wrote: »
    Cya there :D
    Costume event, I'm assuming...?

y'assume right, some folk going all out, can't wait!

just need to get a pesky paper out of the way and then I can get my zombie game on!

y'assume right, some folk going all out, can't wait!

just need to get a pesky paper out of the way and then I can get my zombie game on!

Rain just better hold off...

+1:)

Zombies care not if it is raining..............lightweights:p

Going to try to be there, am heading to Boards beers later that evening. If I miss the main event, I'd love to catch ye for a beer afterward.

3843923481a11747393013l.jpg
    Zombie from a movie I was playing an extra in today xD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,247 ✭✭✭✭6th

This looks awesome I had looked at the idea of a zombie walk to promote an event but didnt think the numbers would be there. If I cant make it I'm looking forward to reading about it in the Mondays paper!

yeah, that is quite cool. Love your eyes.

That's not me, that's the girl who bit me. She bit me on my back though, so I didnt get any facial wounds, not going to post my pic, it's lame in comparison lol.

Dirty Zeds, they're not to be trusted :pac:

Post the pic.....do it :D

Dirty Zeds, they're not to be trusted :pac:

Post the pic.....do it :D

¬¬ I know
    3843923481a11747393038l.jpg
    They didn't give me any blood on my face :(

Fair play :)

Freshly turned Zed eh? you will be at your most dangerous in a few days time, say, the 31st :eek:

Oh yes, indeed :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭DigiGal

Ah brilliant...there is a Zombie Survival Soc in my college, will let em know

Zombies care not if it is raining..............lightweights:p

Going to try to be there, am heading to Boards beers later that evening. If I miss the main event, I'd love to catch ye for a beer afterward.

Will hopefully know closer to the time what the plan for afters is :)
    3843923481a11747393013l.jpg
    Zombie from a movie I was playing an extra in today xD

awesomes!
    6th wrote: »
    This looks awesome I had looked at the idea of a zombie walk to promote an event but didnt think the numbers would be there. If I cant make it I'm looking forward to reading about it in the Mondays paper!

Do come 6th! *flutters eyelashes*

Bring it.
    DigiGal wrote: »
    Ah brilliant...there is a Zombie Survival Soc in my college, will let em know

Do it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 228 ✭✭pandemonium

Ooohh this sounds like so much fun!
    i'm gonna pester my mates into going with me.
    I've missed this forum!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cedomination

Dublin Zombie Crawl has been added to crawlofthedead.com

http://www.crawlofthedead.com/crawls/info/dublin_zombie_crawl_09/

it'll have to be a copy and paste jobbie, can't get the hang of linkage :(

doh!

So wait is this more of a pub crawl thing then a zombie walk?

No, the walk is first and then we'll play it by ear

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

No, the walk is first and then we'll play it by ear
    If you want to make sure everyones authentic ye should spend the day getting warped drunk and then do the zombie walk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 107 ✭✭irishbran77

So are people planning this as a proper zombie walk like they have across North American cities? What about getting the make-up done up properly... is there tips and advice people can share!?! We need a professional zombie make-up artist!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 Extravagant!

Sounds deadly, hope it turns out well
    I know I'll be there!

Been practising my shuffle since I heard =D

So are people planning this as a proper zombie walk like they have across North American cities? What about getting the make-up done up properly... is there tips and advice people can share!?! We need a professional zombie make-up artist!!

There's loads of help online - zombie makeup, fake blood/guts, costumes:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s96ytsc5xmk&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DzAwvJCHI0&feature=fvw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvKu2yd-PLc
    http://www.halloween-website.com/fake_blood.htm
    http://upstagereview.org/MakeupArticles/recipes.pdf
    http://www.fancydressstore.ie

//////////

***DUBLIN ZOMBIE CRAWL - HALLOWEEN 2009***

!!!!...JOIN US FOR A NIGHT OF DECAY-DENCE...GET YOUR FREAK ON - OF CORPSE YOU CAN...!!!!

WHAT? Dressing up as all kinds of zombies, groaning, moaning and dragging our bloody limbs in a 'walk of the dead' through town, hitting some pubs and having a laugh in true Halloween styleeeeee
    WHEN? Saturday - October 31st, 5pm (should take 1-2 hours)
    WHERE? Meet at St. Stephens Green entrance (opp. top of Grafton St), Dublin 2
    WHY? Why the **** not

//////////
    BRING ON THE BRAAAAAAAAINS...Let's get in the freakin' spookin' groanin' blood-curdlin' mood and reclaim our zombie ass rights this Halloween...it's cheap, subversive and fun...

THE IDEA: This year Halloween is a Saturday, so why not don our best zombie clobber and hit town? All that's involved is getting dressed up as our most gut-splitting, braaaaains-eating, maggot-infested zombie character, having a pint with some undead friends, and generally just laughing at each other and being ridiculous.
    THE ROUTE: Meet at St Stephens Green...Moan down Grafton St...Pop into a bar for a quick tipple...Groan against the windows of shops or some such nonsense...Head down Wicklow/ Georges St for another bloody mary...Drag ourselves into Temple Bar to eat some brains, or just for a final zombie drink...

//////////
    BIG CRAWLS IN OTHER CITIES:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ICtFiuSkWS4&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iiQ-ZMf7qO0&feature=related

//////////
    HELP WITH COSTUMES:
    For cheap zombie make up, you will probably need:
    Liquid latex (the base and the thing to stick it together - get it in O' Sullivan Graphics, Camden St; or RPM Supplies, etc); fake blood/ guts (see links below for recipes); coloured make-up (white, red, black, green, purple); porridge oats or corn flakes (for scabby, rotting skin); cotton wool/ toilet paper (for gashes and cuts etc)

There's loads of help online - zombie makeup, fake blood/guts, costumes:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s96ytsc5xmk&feature=related
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9DzAwvJCHI0&feature=fvw
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BvKu2yd-PLc
    http://www.halloween-website.com/fake_blood.htm
    http://upstagereview.org/MakeupArticles/recipes.pdf
    http://www.fancydressstore.ie

The best lookin' Zombies are usually specific characters...
    Here are some ideas: Bride/ groom zombies, football/ GAA zombie, clown zombie, construction worker, doctor/ nurse, ballgown/ tux, business suit, police officer, PJs/ night-dress etc...
    ...or dead people: Marilyn Monroe, Oscar Wilde, Hunter S Thompson, Plato, Queen Elizabeth, Jack the Ripper
    ...or classic horror characters: Carrie, Bela Lugosi, Norman Bates, Bettlejuice, anime, Dr Jekyll/Mr Hyde, Hellraiser
    etc...

//////////
    THINGS GOING BUMP HALLOWEEN NIGHT IN DUBLIN (for anyone who wants to keep the party going):

Dublin Electronic Arts Festival - Closing night Party: DEAF closes with techno legends Aux 88, Mark Broom, Educution and more: (17/ 15 Euro before midnight or in fancy dress): 10pm - Venue TBC

Mayer Hawthorne: One from the Stones Throw Records' stable, Hawthorne is an acclaimed multi-instrumentalist, singer, producer type of dude: 8pm - Crawdaddy, D2

Hardfloor, Like A Time, Americhord and more: Electric City present their big DEAF event with some amazing electronic action: 10pm - Twisted Pepper, Middle Abbey St, D2
    There are loads of other DEAF events on the night - keep an eye on www.deafireland.com

Partie Monster: Regular alt. clubbing night takes on the horror-tastic theme of "Hollywood is dead - Long live Hollyween...Slaughtered Stars of The Silver Scream Glamour Ghouls, Serial Glitters, Transvision Vamps and Wasted Witches!": 11pm - RiRa, Dame Court, D2

And of course the Boards Nocturnal beers in TP Smith's!:)
    //////////

...HAPPY HALLOWEEN...WOULD BE GREAT TO SEE YOU ALL IN THE ROTTING FLESH...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,813 ✭✭✭BaconZombie

I've the perfect sniper spot to pick you all off before you get to infect anybody....

we're almost ready and we look awesome

see you all there or in tp's later!

we're almost ready and we look awesome

see you all there or in tp's later!

what will ye be there at? St Stephens green , right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭Zamboni

New to Zombie forum and I can't wait to see photos from the walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭markw999

That was so much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭Bucklesman

Pictures from the lurch!

http://pix.ie/bucklesman/album/359454

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭MarkHall

Great Pics. I love the Brain on a stick.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Looks like halloween was fairly dead around dublin?

I'll get my coat...

Thanks to everyone who came along and enjoyed a great zombie crawl, will have pics up soon, awesome fun ;)

Sorry to have missed it, I waited around but it rained pretty hard, so I went to a pub and watched the rugby.

scary.jpg

Here's just one,

It's moi, It's scary!

scary.jpg

Here's just one,

It's moi, It's scary!

Good job, thats awesome

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,558 ✭✭✭SmileyPaul

so was the crawl a success?