Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wally!

• 05-10-2009 11:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭

Took a quick spin out to EIDW as I noticed rwy 16 was in use.

Parked up on the back road close to the threshold of 16. Couple of cars there already so I crossed the road and climbed up on the wall for a better view.

With my scanner in hand I watched as a Ryanair landed. On vacating he mentioned to the tower a flash of a strobe he saw close to the threshold lights, possibly from the lights.

From where I was I couldnt see anything amiss.

Anyway an Aer Lingus was a few miles out on approach and tower asks him to keep an eye out for a possible strobe or laser on short finals. The tower also dispatched an electrician to check the threshold lights.

At this stage I noticed a white flash next to the last remaining car parked on the road. The feckin eejit was taking photos with the flash on!! :eek:

Knowing the airport police were most likely on their way now as well I walked up to this fella and told him that the previous landing aircaft had reported his camera flash to the tower. I told him security was probably also on its way around. He quickly proceeded to drive off.

A few mins later an airport copper did turn up so I told him what it was.

Some people have no cop on!:rolleyes:

Was funny though. After the EI had landed he told the tower it could have been the aerodrome rotating beacon. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭Delta Kilo

What an idiot! He obviously knows as much about taking pictures as my dog does!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,472 ✭✭✭highlydebased

Taking photos with flash during the day is a bit of a waste ha ha. Bit of an idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Was night time. But a flash only goes so far. An aircraft 50 ft in the air would hardly be illuminated I imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,091 ✭✭✭Biro

If it was a point-and-shoot then he was wasting his time. However I have a Speedlite 430 and that's plenty to light up an ATR 72 on approach to Galway if I'm using a high ISO! I don't take the pic as he's coming towards me though, afraid it'll distract the pilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭View Profile

Yeah this fella had a decent looking camera. Maybe it was a boardsie?!