Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Deer Permission

• 05-10-2009 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭

Hello,

I live in Co Clare and i am looking for Deer stalking territories from Galway to Kerry.

I got my hunting licence through exam in France in 1994. Used to shoot birds an big game on driven shoots, i also much enjoy shooting woodcocks with my Springer here in Ireland.

I would like to bring myTikka T3 270 WSM over in Ireland and start stalking.

If someone knows of some landowners who could sign a deer licence for their lands i would appreciate this very much.

I intend to bring a few friends from France to experience shooting in Ireland, so we could work on a hunting trade if you are interested in shooting for Boar in France.

Thx for your help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,061 ✭✭✭clivej

BoarHunter wrote: »
    Hello,

I live in Co Clare and i am looking for Deer stalking territories from Galway to Kerry.

I got my hunting licence through exam in France in 1994. Used to shoot birds an big game on driven shoots, i also much enjoy shooting woodcocks with my Springer here in Ireland.

I would like to bring myTikka T3 270 WSM over in Ireland and start stalking.

If someone knows of some landowners who could sign a deer licence for their lands i would appreciate this very much.

I intend to bring a few friends from France to experience shooting in Ireland, so we could work on a hunting trade if you are interested in shooting for Boar in France.

Thx for your help

So would I. Bring it on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 248 ✭✭thedragon

Speak to the IDS,they'd love you.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭BoarHunter

thedragon wrote: »
    Speak to the IDS,they'd love you.

Why is that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭jwshooter

Why is that ?

ignore the troll post.

hunting in ireland is a tightly keep thing ,hunters do not like outsiders coming on to there patch whether or not they have rights in the area and most dont.there is good hunting in clare.

if you look on the coillte web site there should be areas to lease.

i dont know what licence you had in france ,but it will not carry much weight hear .
    you will have to go through proper channels to get hunting .

the nargc , irish deer society, wild deer ireland ,would be the best place to start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭bunny shooter

jwshooter wrote: »
    ignore the troll post..........

To some your a troll :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Winty

I have looked on the Coilte website, its not great for information about a hunting licence.

How do you get permission to shoot deer in season and how much cash will it take

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,069 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

]
    Dead right JW
    Despite it being 100% harder than the Irish "liscense" it wont be worth anything here...Yet! Will be once the EU kicks us to touch here in a couple of years.:(

Boar hunter,
    PM me and I'll fill you in on Clare and the shooting here.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

And don't forget you need to have completed the HCAP to hunt on Coilte lands for next year.

i will try to complete the HCAP shortly but how can i do it if i can't get a rifle licence ?

the problem lies here ... no deer licence = no rifle licence so how can i pass the range exam ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,907 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

You put your rifle details down for the Deer license first, then apply for the FAC.

i will try to complete the HCAP shortly but how can i do it if i can't get a rifle licence ?

the problem lies here ... no deer licence = no rifle licence so how can i pass the range exam ?

I completed my HCAP without a rifle. But heard last night that the payment letter is on the way (six months after i applied for the 308)
    I got a loan of one on the day from a friend that was also doing the range test at the same time.

You do not need a license for the HCAP or a deer license, only the details of a gun that you are getting or now own.

BUT you will sure need a gun with a license to hunt deer with. :p

I have the 270 WSM back in France and getting the european firearm passeport for it. So for the HCAP i might get a rifle from someone.

Unless you are going to hunt deer on Coilte land ,you dont need the HCAP.
    I would read a thread here on the shooting boards on Coilte and its value for money.Personally,I wouldnt touch Coilte or the HCAP with a 10ft barge pole.:eek:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Bananaman

European Firearms pass will do you no good here.

You need an Irish Firearms Certificate in order to posess a firearm in Ireland.
    You need to apply for this to the Garda Station local to where you will be using it.

You need the European Firearms Pass to get it back out of Ireland as the Irish Firearms Certificate is not recognised anywhere else e.g. France.

B'Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

Grizzly 45
    While I agree with some of that thread, this guy is looking for shooting and also needs a firearm, I think Coillte might be his best option for the minute, unless he is lucky enough to get into a gun club or find himself some private shooting I dont see any other options !

Stil plenty of free shooting here for rather than getting involved in the Coilte/HCAP racket.And he has a rifle,just not in Ireland,once he has permission and liscense sorted out he can apply for it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,909 ✭✭✭BUACHAILL

yeah there is but its getting your hands on it thats the small problem. I was fairly well connected when I started off and I still had to go on a Coillte let to be assured shooting. Thankfully since then I have built up some private shooting but this took years and I was in a gun club etc.

I hope he gets it sorted either way !!

Thanks lads ! i will try to find landowners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

clivej wrote: »
    I completed my HCAP without a rifle. But heard last night that the payment letter is on the way (six months after i applied for the 308)
    I got a loan of one on the day from a friend that was also doing the range test at the same time.

You do not need a license for the HCAP or a deer license, only the details of a gun that you are getting or now own.

BUT you will sure need a gun with a license to hunt deer with. :p

I think you need insurance for the range test as well??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭meathshooter

Jonty wrote: »
    I think you need insurance for the range test as well??

you will need insurance thats right