Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Contour Design Shuttle Pro 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Yip - I have one. It’s great. I haven’t used it as much as I should in the past, but have been using it a lot more lately & it’s really handy. …. and since you got yours for less than half what they cost new ;) ... you’re laughing

On Pro Tools 8, there seems to be some bug - when using the jog wheel, it sometimes crashes the session (I tried new drivers, but no joy). Aside from that, no complaints

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭PaulBrewer

ZV Yoda wrote: »
    Yip - I have one. It’s great. I haven’t used it as much as I should in the past, but have been using it a lot more lately & it’s really handy. …. and since you got yours for less than half what they cost new ;) ... you’re laughing

On Pro Tools 8, there seems to be some bug - when using the jog wheel, it sometimes crashes the session (I tried new drivers, but no joy). Aside from that, no complaints

Cheers, that wouldn't be the only bug in PT8 now would it !

Do you use a template or just set up your own buttons ?

I use the PT template... my mate has customised his buttons & has the same prob with the jog wheel. I might customise some of mine (I also use a Command 8 control surface).

And does that have all the transport controls etc? Does it keep you away from the keyboard ?
    Does it make the whole process quicker in your opinion?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭studiorat

Jaysus! How many fingers do youse lads have? Look at that thing...

That's the point - dedicated buttons and lots of em ...

PaulBrewer wrote: »
    And does that have all the transport controls etc? Does it keep you away from the keyboard ?
    Does it make the whole process quicker in your opinion?

Yip to all of the above... the standard Pro Tools template has all the transport functions - from memory it also has zoom, tool toggle mode, edit/mix view & shuttle wheel is set up to navigate the timeline in edit mode.

It's handy for me - I track & mix in one room, so I use the Shuttle Pro as a secondary controller - especially when tracking drums (when I have my back the Mac/keyboard).

When I got mine (new) the box contained various sets of pre-printed button labels (some for each DAW template, some with just blank inserts - so you can write the customised function on them). If you didn't get those with yours, check the website to see if you download a pdf version - very handy for labelling the buttons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭Welease

I use use my Nostromo a lot.. Similar product (but designed more for gamers). Being able to record macro's of commonly used keystrokes and assign then to a single key is nice (and those profiles can be loaded onto the device for transportation between PC's)..

http://www.n52te.com/