Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Six o'clock customer

• 04-10-2009 4:58pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Oh no, he's just walked in the six o'clock customer. He won't buy anything and doesn't have any intention of, it's just the other shops around me have won the race the close before me so he has nowhere else to go :( He will however let me cash up at around six thirty. Is there any other types of customers people have a disliking of? Anyway I better go help him.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

Tell him you're closed and he has to leave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

The Type that come into Matches at half time and ask for a discount or free entry.

No you can't now kindly fcek off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Lazy shop working cúnts who pull the shutters 3/4 of the way down at 5:30pm - 5:40pm and try to tell people the shop is closing/closed when it's supposed to be open until six o'clock.
    That annoys me. :)

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Lads who are still hanging round two hours after last orders, get out to fvck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

jerseyeire wrote: »
    Oh no, he's just walked in the six o'clock customer. He won't buy anything and doesn't have any intention of, it's just the other shops around me have won the race the close before me so he has nowhere else to go :( He will however let me cash up at around six thirty. Is there any other types of customers people have a disliking of? Anyway I better go help him.

I'm normally a 6 o'clock customer.

I work all day, sometimes even at the weekend. I normally don't have time to get to shops during the day so I'll pop in as soon as I can after work.

I have money to spend and don't mind spending it, believe me I'd rather be at home at that hour having a cup of tea than going into a shop. I look around for what I need, I always notice the staff.

If they're rolling their eyes or throwing dirty looks or have a bad attitude I won't buy anything there, I'd rather spend my money in places where I get treated properly and my custom is appreciated. I'm quite a savvy customer and I notice these little things straight away even though the shop staff think I don't.

I am that 6o'clock customer that your business needs so you can have a job, remember that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

yeah right, like those cunts who if a restaurant or fast food joint is closing at ten put up"cleaning in progress" on the shitters at nine.

I take great delight in going in there and unloading a "Scatteroo" of a shíte all over the gaff.

Lazy cnunts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭RugbyFanatic

yeah right, like those cunts who if a restaurant or fast food joint is closing at ten put up"cleaning in progress" on the shitters at nine.

I take great delight in going in there and unloading a "Scatteroo" of a shíte all over the gaff.

Lazy cnunts.

Your toilet jokes aren't funny, just stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Jokes?

What jokes?

No one joking around here buddy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Shitting is serious business for the Flutt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭peepeep

Why do you let people do this? Tell them you're closing and that they have to leave. End of problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Jeez will ye all not get out of this thread and let me go home.

Tis half-six already and none of ye who came in here since six have bought a damm thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

And they`re usually nursing half a pint of guinness that`s gone all crusty and disgusting, seemingly, so they can hold you (the long suffering barstaff) up that little bit longer.
    So glad its over now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

Oh no, he's just walked in the six o'clock customer. He won't buy anything and doesn't have any intention of, it's just the other shops around me have won the race the close before me so he has nowhere else to go :( He will however let me cash up at around six thirty.

Yet you have time to post on boards.
    Where is the "submit reply" key on your till?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

And they`re usually nursing half a pint of guinness that`s gone all crusty and disgusting, seemingly, so they can hold you (the long suffering barstaff) up that little bit longer.
    So glad its over now.
    mikom wrote: »
    Yet you have time to post on boards.
    Where is the "submit reply" key on your till?

Get out of this thread.

Ye don't have to go home but ye cant stay here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I almost had a spaz attack outside Elvery Sports in Sligo last week at 17.50. I really had to buy some €4 flip flops and the doors were locked. The let me in eventually. I don't know why I needed them so badly now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 924 ✭✭✭Elliemental

WindSock wrote: »
    I almost had a spaz attack outside Elvery Sports in Sligo last week at 17.50. I really had to buy some €4 flip flops and the doors were locked. The let me in eventually. I don't know why I needed them so badly now.

Your life depended on a pair of flip-flops?:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,528 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

The Type that come into Matches at half time and ask for a discount or free entry.

No you can't now kindly fcek off.

I'd let them in for 75% of the price and take the money you wouldn't get otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Your life depended on a pair of flip-flops?:eek:

No, my life was not in any danger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,913 ✭✭✭Danno

Ignorant and inconsiderate folk do this kind of thing. They are usually sunday shoppers too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

i used to work in a store and this woman used to come in now and again. She was about 60 and dressed very elegantly. The smell however was overpowering. no, not perfume - upon closer inspection it was quite obvious she **** herself quite often. The dress was always a cream colour.. the poo stains stood out somewhat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,910 ✭✭✭OneArt

It's around 7 or 8 in a golf club restaurant. I'm the only waiter. The kitchen and restaurant are clean, and all the customers are gone. We're closing the curtains, about to close up when a pair of moany, snobby golf-women come in and order coffee and HALF A F*CKING SCONE each (about 5 euro altogether) and sit there for about ten hours with me having to wait until all hours before they fricken leave.

Golf ladies are pure EVIL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

OneArt wrote: »
    It's around 7 or 8 in a golf club restaurant. I'm the only waiter. The kitchen and restaurant are clean, and all the customers are gone. We're closing the curtains, about to close up when a pair of moany, snobby golf-women come in and order coffee and HALF A F*CKING SCONE each (about 5 euro altogether) and sit there for about ten hours with me having to wait until all hours before they fricken leave.

Golf ladies are pure EVIL.

Man that sounds like my kind of hell. I couldnt work in a job where I didnt have a fairly set finishin time. I would go nuts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,483 ✭✭✭Ostrom

Used to hate that. And the drunken begging was pathetic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,183 ✭✭✭✭Will

The type of customer who you do everything you can for, they ask for X you get them X. When you show them what they asked for they ask for something completely different, before you know it there is a mountain of clothes there and they end up leaving because they can't find what they want. Even though you got them what exactly they asked for.

The customer who thinks everything in the shop is overpriced. That's all well and good but I as the shop assistant do not set the prices, you can b¡tch at me all you want but unfortunately it won't change the price of the product. More often than not I agree with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,992 ✭✭✭✭partyatmygaff

Restaurant customers who come in 10 mins before last orders, order a pizza to share and drinks and sit there for more than 1 hour with you just standing behind the till with a look on your face mixed of "Im begging you, just leave" and being extremely tired.
    Then they leave without a cent tip and leave a mess. Latest I had to go home was 2am (With a 1 hour journey back home) after I started at 12am that morning. Was meant to finish at 11.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,661 Mod ✭✭✭✭Faith

I hate that. I don't mind customers who are just browsing, or buying one or two quick things. But in my job, people can give us lists and we'll get the items for you. I bloody hate people who come in at 1 minute to close and give you a list of 20 items!

For those of you who think the shop assistants are just being annoying and lazy, bear in mind that we've been there since 9am, standing and smiling and serving annoying customers all day. Our feet are killing us, we're starving, and all we want to do is get home to have a rest finally. So cut us some slack if our smile fades a little when you come up to us at closing time, demanding attention. We close by 6, my bus is at 6.10 and is a 5 minute walk away. If I waste 5 minutes serving you, I then have to wait another half an hour to get the next bus. We'll serve you, but don't expect us to be happy about it.

Faith wrote: »
    I hate that. I don't mind customers who are just browsing, or buying one or two quick things. But in my job, people can give us lists and we'll get the items for you. I bloody hate people who come in at 1 minute to close and give you a list of 20 items!

For those of you who think the shop assistants are just being annoying and lazy, bear in mind that we've been there since 9am, standing and smiling and serving annoying customers all day. Our feet are killing us, we're starving, and all we want to do is get home to have a rest finally. So cut us some slack if our smile fades a little when you come up to us at closing time, demanding attention. We close by 6, my bus is at 6.10 and is a 5 minute walk away. If I waste 5 minutes serving you, I then have to wait another half an hour to get the next bus. We'll serve you, but don't expect us to be happy about it.

You should post the name of the shop that you work in.

That way all of us annoying customers can try and help you out by not shopping there. Then you'll have lots of free time and can catch whatever bus you want.

I'm sure you're life would be better without us. There's no way this plan can fail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

TheZohan wrote: »
    You should post the name of the shop that you work in.

That way all of us annoying customers can try and help you out by not shopping there. Then you'll have lots of free time and can catch whatever bus you want.

I'm sure you're life would be better without us. There's no way this plan can fail.

or maybe you can appreciate they value their time outside work as much as you.

You were saying you are the six o'clock customer due to your job, so when does the sales assistant get to become the six o'clock customer?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Who is the Six O'Clock Customer?

Didn't Paul Weller write a tune about this very thing once?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭byrner88

and have the cheek to ask for another drink when they say they missed last orders but have 4 or 5 pints in front of them GTFO

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Who is the Six O'Clock Customer?

Didn't Paul Weller write a tune about this very thing once?

Good question. According to the OP its someone wasting time who comes into your store and prevents you from closing. According to others its people making a mad dash to grab something before the shop closes.

I understand the OP though. There is people who will come in and browse but would have no intention of buying or engaging in a conversation with the sales assistant. There is also people who might need to grab an item quickly which is okay but sometimes a line has to been drawn. People need to respect other people's limitations.

or maybe you can appreciate they value their time outside work as much as you.

You were saying you are the six o'clock customer due to your job, so when does the sales assistant get to become the six o'clock customer?

I would never expect staff to stay on past closing because of me. There are many, many days that 6 o'clock shopping would be completely out of the question for me, as I would still be working. Even at that I am finished with my last customer I might have to drive 3hrs to get home. There's no bus every 30min.

ah then we have a confusion over what is a 6 o'clock customer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭phic

I apologised once to someone in a shop for coming in at the last minute, saying I work in a shop too and know how annoying it is. He told me if things like that annoy me I'm in the wrong job! Suppose he's right!
    what really annoys me is when people leave their kids in my shop while they go to the supermarket next to us, which closes 2 hours after us, so the kids are still there at 6! I've literally had to tell kids they have to get out we're closing and leave them waiting in our dooorway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,195 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

Ah, it's the 7/8 o clock customer in my job. Don't have a problem with them, but when the clock hits 7/8 they should be in the queue or almost in it, not having a full-on browsing session, get lost! These customers are reminded (in case the announcements aren't enough) that they need to proceed to the till or else leave. Occassionally it's not enough, we think they're gone and they pop up out of nowhere 20 minutes after the shop closed, act outraged that shock horror the tills are closed and no-one's going to the cash office a few floors down, bring up a float and open a till for them, the cheek!! Some last customers have this attitide. The ones who are queing sedately are fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,218 ✭✭✭jiltloop

I'm normally a 6 o'clock customer.

I work all day, sometimes even at the weekend. I normally don't have time to get to shops during the day so I'll pop in as soon as I can after work.

I have money to spend and don't mind spending it, believe me I'd rather be at home at that hour having a cup of tea than going into a shop. I look around for what I need, I always notice the staff.

If they're rolling their eyes or throwing dirty looks or have a bad attitude I won't buy anything there, I'd rather spend my money in places where I get treated properly and my custom is appreciated. I'm quite a savvy customer and I notice these little things straight away even though the shop staff think I don't.

I am that 6o'clock customer that your business needs so you can have a job, remember that.
    You come across as extremely arrogant. I work in a shop, I get paid from 10 to 6 only. I don't get paid after 6. Quite often customers like yourself cost me 20 to 30mins of time from my personal life. Time which could be spent doing better things such as spending time with my kids.
    So get off your high horse and stop pretending that you have a right to waste my time cos my hard work is keeping me in my job not the couple of euro you may spend the odd time after 6pm in a shop.