Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Someone took a photo of my car?

• 04-10-2009 2:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭

So Saturday I was driving around the city centre (Dublin) Through the Coome towards Patrick St. I stopped at the junction of Francis St, not in a yellow box, to let a gent pull out of Francis St since the the traffic was a bit built up ahead and I wasnt going to get anywhere quicker. He pulled out and when he got in front of me decided to stick his phone out the window position it towards my reg and take a photo, flash in all, in the direction of my car :confused:

Assuming he is going to report me to the guards, for what I do not know, Surly its a case of his word against mine. And using his phone while driving might backfire on him. I dont think he wants my details to send me a present for letting him pull out :D

Has this happened to anyone else or have you done this to anyone? Im sure bad and dangerous driving is reported all the time.
    I had two passengers in the car, one who knows the area very well and both are positive I did nothing out of turn, only let the man out pull out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭Absurdum

check the "Here's what I saw today" thread!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

do you have a nice car ? like spoiler and all that jazz ?

is your reg plate modified in anyway ?

maybe they like the looks of you ?

maybe you car will appear on a website somewhere for Dublin's kindest drivers ?

i dont know :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Dancor

Nope, bog standered 02 Focus.

very strange indeed,

were there any "birds" in the car ? ;)

is your car damaged in any way ?

is it a cool color ?

wheels ?

did you get the reg of the guy that took the pic ? report him for using a phone while driving and invasion of privacy ?

This is annoying :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭.Longshanks.

robbie_998 wrote: »
    very strange indeed,

were there any "birds" in the car ? ;)

is your car damaged in any way ?

is it a cool color ?

wheels ?

did you get the reg of the guy that took the pic ? report him for using a phone while driving and invasion of privacy ?

This is annoying :(
    A car on a public road.....Ahem....i can see the gardai following that one up alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,157 ✭✭✭Johnny Utah

A car on a public road.....Ahem....i can see the gardai following that one up alright

Constitutes harassment imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bookerboy

If the Gardai can't give you a handy little speeding ticket they won't be interested in you.Safety on the roads dosen't come under their remit,revenue does.
    Don't loose any sleep over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

If he was dumb enough to use the flash the reg probably won't show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

eamon234 wrote: »
    If he was dumb enough to use the flash the reg probably won't show.
    Why's that? Sure the speed cameras have a huge flash and they get the reg numbers

Grahamo999 wrote: »
    Why's that? Sure the speed cameras have a huge flash and they get the reg numbers

well he's out side anyway so any kind of flash wouldnt do any good.

plus the flash on a phone wouldnt be too brilliant anyway :)

the question is would his phone have a good enough camera to read the reg plate and would it be blurry or anything

mountainoutofamolehill1.jpg

Good rebuttal; however I still maintain that you cannot go around taking pictures of a person's car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

Good rebuttal; however I still maintain that you cannot go around taking pictures of a person's car.
    Yes, that's true, provided your car is locked up in a private garage. Other than that there is absolutely nothing illegal about taking a picture of something in public.

So, is it okay for someone to take pictures of an unmarked Garda car which is parked in a public place?

(Just playing devil's advocate; I don't intend to go around taking pictures of Garda cars).

lads your going off topic here,

back to the op please,

So, is it okay for someone to take pictures of an unmarked Garda car which is parked in a public place?

(Just playing devil's advocate; I don't intend to go around taking pictures of Garda cars).
    Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

maybe you should actually check out what you are legally allowed to do or not before you post.

it is NOT illegal to photograph a person and or object in a public place - it is however illegal to publish an image of a person without permission....Anyone can take a pic its how they use it that matters.

you are not permitted to photograph on private property without the permission of the owner.

This guy probably took the pic with intentions of bringing the image to the gardai - however if you were moving or if he was moving the chances that he would get a readable image are limited (too many factors to take into account).....as you say OP - if he brings it to Gardai he could land himself in trouble ...two wrongs dont make a right.

PCPhoto wrote: »
    maybe you should actually check out what you are legally allowed to do or not before you post.

it is NOT illegal to photograph a person and or object in a public place - it is however illegal to publish an image of a person without permission....Anyone can take a pic its how they use it that matters.

you are not permitted to photograph on private property without the permission of the owner.

http://www.out-law.com//default.aspx?page=9764

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,551 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

The car was on public property, nothing illegal about taking photos of it....hell I could take pictures of your car with my DSLR if its on public property and its 100% legal.

Gardai won't give a monkeys, Johnny Utah if you want to discuss photographers rights you'll enjoy the photography forum ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭DaMonk

maybe he was getting your reg number to use for a similar car i.e. he knows someone with the same year and colour focus and wants to change the plates for whatever reason, toll charges or speeding camera's.

DaMonk wrote: »
    maybe he was getting your reg number to use for a similar car i.e. he knows someone with the same year and colour focus and wants to change the plates for whatever reason, toll charges or speeding camera's.

I've actually done that in the past week. Seen a nice motor and was curious what engine it had (was de-badged). Took a pic and checked mywheels.ie site late that evening....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

He encountered a courteous driver in dublin traffic, mabe he wanted the picture as a memento or for proof when telling the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭Redisle

Probably took a pic just to make you all paranoid and worried about why he took a pic?

Messing with you head man..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Was there a hot blonde standing next to your car?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 757 ✭✭✭Signpost

Anything around you that could have been interesting?

I once done similar, but there was a pidgeon stuck beak first in their grill still flapping

For the record, I stopped when out and we removed the offending bird!

Redisle wrote: »
    Probably took a pic just to make you all paranoid and worried about why he took a pic?

Messing with you head man..

And it worked lol. Just dont want an unexpected letter from the guards saying someone made a complaint and so on.

Well my mate in work who lives in the area found out about our photographer driving friend and it turns out he runs a bussiness in the area and is campaigning for traffic lights at that junction as its taking him along time to pull out onto the busy road. Not enough saints on the road like myself to let him out :p Taking photos as proof for the council or something to that effect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

^ he's diceing with death, a tough guy might take it the wrong way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,272 ✭✭✭✭Paulw

This doesn't apply, since the OP said the photo was taken of his car. The car doesn't have a right to privacy. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,450 ✭✭✭actuallylike

To the people at who were posting on the first page of this thread, never have I read such a bunch of paranoid overreactors

Someone took a picture of my car...

Really? Better report him to the police!

Reread the two lines above over and over again until the ridiculousness of it sets in!