Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tubridys comments about Trinity College on the late late.

• 03-10-2009 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭

what did people think about his comments on the late late last night? for those who didnt see he made some comment when interviewing ricki lake about people going in to trinity irish and coming out english.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Pot, kettle and black. no? Tubridy is the biggest west brit of all time.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

link.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭FishTaco

He went to UCD, a little Trinity bashing is hardly unusual

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭spadder

From UCD to RTE, has he ever left south Dublin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭gaybitch

Doesn't change my opinion of Tubridy at all. I always thought he was way too pass-remarkable, liked to skew the interview to his own personal views and anecdotes (like that shambles of an interview with Brian McFadden) and was generally just a really cringey eejit.

He's a cock, and he can make whatever lame and used-up jokes about Trinity he likes. He was a cock before then, and odds are he'll continue being a cock long into the future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭AfterDusk

spadder wrote: »
    From UCD to RTE, has he ever left south Dublin?

In case you hadn't noticed, Trinity is southside as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,235 ✭✭✭lucernarian

I did laugh at it, not least because I didn't see it coming! If people are going to take that to heart, then they're either naive to the regular slagging that TCD gets around Ireland or else they have to get over themselves a bit.

Basically, that plonker who was in the right place at the right time to take over Kenny's gig is not doing anything except being himself. C'est la vie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,536 ✭✭✭Mark200

neil2304 wrote: »
    In case you hadn't noticed, Trinity is southside as well

UCD and RTE are feckin across the road from each other

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,316 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

**** you Tubridy, just because I used to drink cans of Harp down in the park and am now looking forward to tea and crumpets at lunch in a game of cricket doesn't mean I've changed nationality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭gaybitch

I did laugh at it, not least because I didn't see it coming! If people are going to take that to heart, then they're either naive to the regular slagging that TCD gets around Ireland or else they have to get over themselves a bit.

I'd slag Trinity more than anyone. But Tubridy is just such an irritant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭mardybumbum

I didnt watch the Ricki Lake interview, and I dont take the UCD vs TCD thing seriously at all. Just a bit of banter in my opinion.

But after watching the Richard Dawkins interview I can honestly say that I miss Pat Kenny.

What a twat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

If you don't like him, don't watch him. I've managed not to watch it for decades. Trinity always gets slagged. Whats the big deal. Slagging is very Irish, if you can't take it.... oh wait.... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

0_o your username is very similar to mine. Whats that about?

Kidswhocantspellrealgood was taken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Prof.Badass

I have noticed a strange hybrid of english and irish accents among many of the teaching/administrative staff of tcd (mind you, those of english origin tend to speak with fully english accents).

Luckily for us it does not seem to affect students.

While I do sometimes ponder on it's existance, it does not annoy me as say, the inane boasts of a conceited d4-head (an accent which although rampant in ucd, is rarely found in trinity outside of the gmb).

All this fixation on accents. No snobbery there then. Inverse or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,699 ✭✭✭Brian

Oh noes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,456 ✭✭✭Jev/N

BostonB wrote: »
    Kidswhocantspellrealgood was taken

You could have used Kidswhocantspellreelgood ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,277 ✭✭✭poisonated

Although I didn't see it.I think that you guys need to lighten up a little.Everyone gets slagged from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭EGaffney

Who cares about accents?

What is wrong with having one kind of accent, or another, as long as you can be understood?

Why should we criticise people for having an accent from Ireland, or England, or Dublin 4?

It is just another form of racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,365 ✭✭✭spoonbadger

EGaffney wrote: »
    Who cares about accents?

What is wrong with having one kind of accent, or another, as long as you can be understood?

Why should we criticise people for having an accent from Ireland, or England, or Dublin 4?

It is just another form of racism.
    Michael collins didn't fight and die in 1916, single handedly beating the british army, for them to come over here and sully our accents. And then force referendums upon us.

Chuckey are law!.

Jev/N wrote: »
    You could have used Kidswhocantspellreelgood ;)

That's too long

Michael collins didn't fight and die in 1916, single handedly beating the british army, for them to come over here and sully our accents. And then force referendums upon us.

Chuckey are law!.

he'd never have got into trinity with his accent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭punk_one82

Chuckey are law!.

The greatest post I've read all night. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 450 ✭✭taytothief

Ricki Lake?
    jaysus times are tough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

dan719 wrote: »

Just what I thought. Bit rich for him to be labelling Irish people as English.

http://www.herald.ie/entertainment/tv-radio/twist-as-tubridy-discovers-his-roots-1886550.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭stainluss

Chuckey are law!.

You are correct sir!
    Michael Collins didnt fight and die in 1916, he was killed in August 1922:rolleyes:(And the Brits had nothing to do with it)Never see the movie? lol

God Save The Queen:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Lame Lantern

That being called English (or being generally associated in any way with England) remains as insulting as a brick to the back of your aul mother's head (a racist brick, no less) tells me good old expensive-shoe-wearing Irish insecurity is alive and well in these toughest of times.

What did the Romans do for us anyway? Oops wrong thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭oceanclub

what did people think about his comments on the late late last night? for those who didnt see he made some comment when interviewing ricki lake about people going in to trinity irish and coming out english.

Some people never get over the fact they had to go to Stillorgan Polytechnic.

P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

dan719 wrote: »
    He's actually quite xenophobic when it comes to the Brits. Not really surprising given the family he's from. Saw him on Who Do You Think You Are and he was disgusted when he found out he was like 1/8th English. His reaction was quite offensive to watch for one of mungrel blood such as myself.

In the end he turned out to be directly descended from Edward III. Sickener.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

stainluss wrote: »
    You are correct sir!
    Michael Collins didnt fight and die in 1916, he was killed in August 1922:rolleyes:(And the Brits had nothing to do with it)Never see the movie? lol

God Save The Queen:D:D:D

Satire is lost on some people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

oceanclub wrote: »
    Some people never get over the fact they had to go to Stillorgan Polytechnic.

P.

No they just end up going to trinity as post grads... ;)

Tubridy is a dick head, bullshit banter no point even discussing it, he's a fucking sad little prick that should be on a trocaire easter collection box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 834 ✭✭✭The Agogo

El Siglo wrote: »
    No they just end up going to trinity as post grads... ;)

Tubridy is a dick head, bullshit banter no point even discussing it, he's a fucking sad little prick that should be on a trocaire easter collection box.

El Siglo and his sharp wit strike again! ...Meh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭dog_pig

Jesus christ, lighten the **** up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭Lame Lantern

dog_pig wrote: »
    Jesus christ, lighten the **** up
    It made the cover of Trinity News! It's serious business!

I mean, it's not like Trinity News is a let's-play-newspaper newspaper or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭Bajingo

I didnt watch the Ricki Lake interview, and I dont take the UCD vs TCD thing seriously at all. Just a bit of banter in my opinion.

But after watching the Richard Dawkins interview I can honestly say that I miss Pat Kenny.

What a twat.

I have to agree that interview was a shambles..He was literally smirking off everything Dawkins was saying..the priest in the audience gave a better interview..looking back Pat Kenny was actually pretty good.

I couldnt care less about his TCD comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

Why did the posts mentioning Ryan Tubridy's mother being in the CS department in Trinity magically disappear? Was it not true or what?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 8,260 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jonathan

Ryan is in the public domain. His mother is not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭ZWEI_VIER_ZWEI

How is she less in the public domain than any other staff member in Trinity that we routinely talk about? It's not even as if we were spreading rumours or gossiping...simply mentioning her existence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭johnl

How is she less in the public domain than any other staff member in Trinity that we routinely talk about? It's not even as if we were spreading rumours or gossiping...simply mentioning her existence.

Perhaps if we turn the phrase around, it will slide by the censor's red pen...

So instead we have "A staff member called Tubridy in the CS department has a famous son by the name of Ryan".

If you have a problem with this decision, feel free to start a thread in Helpdesk.

Further questioning will result in a lengthy ban.

Perhaps you might REFORM after a 2 month ban?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 207 ✭✭johnl

Jonathan wrote: »

I doubt it somehow...
    I think it will take a bit longer than that to re-educate him, his principles are annoyingly strong :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭vladglenin

Such wit.

People like you really annoy me. You are the manifestation of authoritarianism at its very pettiest. What benefit will banning that user be to the Boards community? Little, if any. You're flexing your muscles as if being an eager contributor somehow justifies your powers over the members here. It is possible, nay likely, that someone of much a lower post count (and hence credentials) will make a more intelligent, persuasive and reasoned contribution to the community than you may have ever made.

Ultimately, we are individuals here, not users. We expect, at the very least, humanity in the decisions that happen in this place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,632 ✭✭✭SligoBrewer

Ryan is in the public domain. His mother is not.

She's a staff member of TCD is she not?
    Is this not the TCD forum?

The Provost, SU Officers etc etc are discussed (quite insultingly in the case of SU officers) at times here and not a eyelid was batted. A name was mentioned and suddenly hell breaks loose.

Over the top moderation imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭Dongasaurus

Again the doctrinal socialist mantra waving ruse of boards TCD moderation rears its ugly head.

How is boards any more or less private or public than the word on the street?

And your joke wasn't funny.

vladglenin wrote: »
    Such wit.

People like you really annoy me. You are the manifestation of authoritarianism at its very pettiest. What benefit will banning that user be to the Boards community? Little, if any. You're flexing your muscles as if being an eager contributor somehow justifies your powers over the members here. It is possible, nay likely, that someone of much a lower post count (and hence credentials) will make a more intelligent, persuasive and reasoned contribution to the community than you may have ever made.
    I clearly stated any problems with my modding, take it to helpdesk. Banned for a month.
    Ultimately, we are individuals here, not users. We expect, at the very least, humanity in the decisions that happen in this place.
    I clearly stated that any problems with my modding should be taken to helpdesk, and that lengthy bans would be handed out if that warning was not heeded.

The issue here is that her private life was being discussed. Having a famous son is not a legitimate reason to have your place of work of disclosed and a link to your web page posted. Her status as a staff member is irrelevant.
    She's a staff member of TCD is she not?
    Is this not the TCD forum?

The Provost, SU Officers etc etc are discussed (quite insultingly in the case of SU officers) at times here and not a eyelid was batted. A name was mentioned and suddenly hell breaks loose.

Over the top moderation imo.
    Same again. Banned for 1 month.
    Again the doctrinal socialist mantra waving ruse of boards TCD moderation rears its ugly head.

How is boards any more or less private or public than the word on the street?

And your joke wasn't funny.
    1 month ban for you too Mr Markov.