Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donadea 10k

• 02-10-2009 5:13pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭

this is on next saturday 10th oct .if any one has any questions or quieries post them here and ill answer them........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

I won't be running this myself but will be there taking pics, looking forward to it, so if any boardsies are doing it, let me know and I'll try get you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭chinguetti

Signed up last night for this and going from city centre.

Website seemed ok for directions so as of now, no questions but that might change.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,739 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I'd love to do this, but as usual didnt sign up early. Will i be alright to sign up on the day? I read somewhere that the is a limit of 600 people for this race. Will there still be room for me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

about 50 places left,so enter now

Done! Thanks ultraman, didnt want to miss this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭The Rook

Registered for this some time back, very much looking forward to it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mcdonrob

€ 28.00 for a 10k?entry here

Eerrr... no thanks saving for this again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,708 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

mcdonrob wrote: »
    € 28.00 for a 10k?entry here

Eerrr... no thanks saving for this again

The Simon 5m is half the price.
    Why the rip off lads?

its a charity event all the proceeds go to to "the little way cancer centre" .check donadearunningclub.com for more details..
    the simon run costs 20quid to enter asks for 150quid in sponsorship and its also a very good cause

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭mcdonrob

ultraman1 wrote: »
    its a charity event all the proceeds go to to "the little way cancer centre" .check donadearunningclub.com for more details..

Fair enough

Best of Luck with the event

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 kenster03

this is on next saturday 10th oct .if any one has any questions or quieries post them here and ill answer them........

hi ultraman1 i have entered race.
    Coming from portlaoise road what would the best way to get to race?

Can i ask what time does it start at? Also, will the race numbers be in the post or do i collect it there? Thanks.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Signed up to do this with a friend. If its wet on the day, is the forest path likely to get bogged at all?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 200 ✭✭Tawfee

Oryx wrote: »
    Signed up to do this with a friend. If its wet on the day, is the forest path likely to get bogged at all?

I've signed up for this, but going from the pictures on the website I had thought it was on tarmac paths thru the forest. Is this not the case? If it's going across the forest bed, will I get away with using my usual road shoes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭Seres

Tawfee wrote: »
    I've signed up for this, but going from the pictures on the website I had thought it was on tarmac paths thru the forest. Is this not the case? If it's going across the forest bed, will I get away with using my usual road shoes?
    you will be fine with your normal road shoes , course is on a proper walk way thru the forest and the with the weather so dry lately it probably wont be slippy , also really nice race , was very well organised last year , would have done it again this year only for i am doing a race the following day ,closer to home and at a cost of €10 !

kenster03 wrote: »
    hi ultraman1 i have entered race.
    Coming from portlaoise road what would the best way to get to race?
    if your comin down N7 come off at naas,head for sallins,then into clane,then kilcock road and will be signposted from there

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    Can i ask what time does it start at? Also, will the race numbers be in the post or do i collect it there? Thanks.
    start at 11 sharp.number collection is friday night and saturday morning at race HQ,st kevins GAA club.directions on website

Oryx wrote: »
    the paths are forest trails,.there may be some spots that will be mucky after all the rain today.ill be around the route on thursday,so will post more then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,473 ✭✭✭Roddy23

Down to do this - won't be able to collect my race number tonight or tomorrow night, will they be available for collection early on the race morning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 341 ✭✭Diggy78

Roddy23 wrote: »
    Down to do this - won't be able to collect my race number tonight or tomorrow night, will they be available for collection early on the race morning?

Hi Roddy,
    you'll be able to register on the morning. Between 9 and 10 at St Kevin's GAA beside the forest.

Hi Ultraman, as there's been some heavy rain this week i'm just wondering what condition the trails are like for tomorrow morning.

At least the weather is meant to be better than this morning.

Thanks,

C

i was there lst nite ,ther were a few mucky spots at about 3k just after the 9/11 memorial and then at about 5k, nuthing to get worried about,normal running shoes will do,but expect a little muck on them .there is a lot of tree coverage so it wont be a mud pile.beware the sneaki hill at 1.5 k;)......and boardsies conme over and introduce yirselves,i wont be runnin ,ill be at the finish line(iv the spot prizes);).....anto

ultraman, what's the story with the spot prizes? Is it for like 20th, 50th place, that kind of thing?

no no,.theres 1st,2nd and 3rd prizes for both men and women and a team prize.spot prizes will be random at the finish line....

thanks ultraman, was just wondering, i'm fairly new to this. weather's looking alright for tomorrow, really looking forward to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭journey

I'm doing this tomorrow. It's my first time attempting to run a full 10k so I'm very excited :)

Good luck to everyone tomorrow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 ZumGirl

Would a well timed and presented wink ;) increase the chances of receiving random treatment ultraman?

definely:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,492 ✭✭✭Woddle

This seemed like a great race, really wished I was running it instead of taking pics. Here's a few of my shots, it proved to be a bit difficult with the lack of light in a forest.
    Donadea 10k pics

Woohoo - I finished my first 10km, ran the lot and finished in approx 1:07. I'm over the moon. Really lovely route (although the hill before 8k nearly killed me lol).

Well done to the organisers. Will definitely be making this an annual event :D

(Off to see if I can spot myself in Woddle's pictures now!)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

... and I was the one on the other side of the road taking pictures:

3997989650_d968969c9d.jpg

Mine are now starting to appear here.

And of course you can search by your race number from here:

http://www.racepix365.com/Donadea-10km/photos100.aspx

Well done to all in Donadea for a great race that was really well orgainised, esp the signs from coming off the motorway to St Kevins'. Didn't win a spot prize so am gutted but was doing my damnest to dip under 43.00 (new pb:cool:) so couldn't see ya Ultraman for a prize!

Really nice course but some of those little hills were a bit of a killer near the end. Will be back next year all going well and will tell friends to do it.

Now to see how old/tired/wrecked i look in the photos!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

chinguetti wrote: »
    Really nice course but some of those little hills were a bit of a killer near the end.

You'll be glad to know that the guy riding the bike out in front of the leaders got overtaken by them towards the end as he was struggling to negotiate the hills as well. :D

Met a guy cycling the other way at 9k so it might be the same fella. Got me in 3 photos so far so thanks Woodle and Robinph.

Repeat mantra 'I must smile more while racing':p

Woddle wrote: »
    This seemed like a great race, really wished I was running it instead of taking pics. Here's a few of my shots, it proved to be a bit difficult with the lack of light in a forest.
    Donadea 10k pics

Thanks for the photos Woddle, i'm in a couple of them. It was a really enjoyable race, very good atmosphere at it. Think I just about set a PB (no more than 10-15 seconds i'd say), absolutely wrecked now.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

Very well organised, nice tshirts, if a big large for me. :D

Wooden medals made me laugh. Found it a hard run, did a 46.02, not a pb for me.

Really enjoyed this today - well organised and very nice course. Fair play to everyone involved (and thanks ultraman for the help on this thread). Quite like the medal, and really like the long sleeved t shirt. And i'm in one of the pictures (pained expression on my face - that's about right!). So thanks for that too guys.

To top it off, i came in under 45 mins (pb), which is a bit better than the 55 mins from my last 10k!

So i'll be back next year for sure. Congratulations to everyone who ran it.

Now, nearly time for my other reward - Lidl beer and Ireland on the box:p

That is all of the shots I took today uploaded now:

3998682220_00083f7725.jpg

Unfortunately due to the light in the forest I ended up with quite a few unusable pictures and there is also a fair number that I couldn't make out the race numbers on and you'll find those shots here.

Enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭chatoon

What a great race today...the organisation was second to none and particular thanks to all the boardsies who gave up their time to take photos of everyone...(there seemed to be one behind every tree!!); it did make the race feel really special! (although I'm still a bit scared to check them out lest I see my really pained expression as I tackled those hills - twice!!)... Great t-shirt, lovely medal and I knocked almost nine minutes off last year's time, so happy days...where's that glass of wine that I hope I've earned?!! :D

chatoon wrote: »
    thanks to all the boardsies who gave up their time to take photos of everyone...(there seemed to be one behind every tree!!);

I swear that's the only reason I managed to run the lot of it. Any time I felt like stopping for a little rest I'd spot another photographer and think "Must not be caught slacking on camera". Before I knew it I was at the finish line!:D

journey wrote: »
    I swear that's the only reason I managed to run the lot of it. Any time I felt like stopping for a little rest I'd spot another photographer and think "Must not be caught slacking on camera". Before I knew it I was at the finish line!:D

yep, there's nothing like the prospect of being caught on camera to make a person put a brave face on things!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭glennhysen

Well done to the organisers on a great race. I live in Celbridge so it was brilliant to have a race so near. Really enjoyed the route and will definitely head back there again to go running in the next few weeks.

big thanks to to you all for supportin this race and thanks to woddle and robinh for their photos.the results are up and there is a facility for any comments that you wish the organisers to act on ,good or bad
    regards ultranan1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭lecheile

Well done ultraman and Donadea - it was a great race as the others have said. It also was great to offer the sub-40 start, felt almost like an 'elite' being able to join the front of the line, and of course being able to run to the time also :D. Thoroughly enjoyed it - although next year we can promise that we will enjoy it more when we take the team prize ;)

lecheile wrote: »
    . Thoroughly enjoyed it - although next year we can promise that we will enjoy it more when we take the team prize ;)
    no chance....i mite even sport my runners next year