Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A mini-tour of Ireland

• 02-10-2009 11:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭

So last weekend I set off on a bit of a cycle, a sort of last blast before the cold weather closes in. Plan was to take a long route roughly around the south of the country, from Dublin via Galway and Kerry to Cork over three days, stay over there for a rest day, and then head back to Dublin. 4 days cycling, a bit over 800km. Having done the Raid Pyrénéen earlier in the month I was reasonably set up for light touring which involves a large saddlebag and bar bag attached to my racing bike.

Day 1: Dublin-Kinavara 206km

I set off quite late, delayed packing, fiddling with the route in my GPS and trying to figure out how to work my new iPod. I finally got out the door just before 11 though I was feeling quite good. Out the Nangor road was not exactly the most exciting but it did get me into green fields relatively quickly on route to Celbridge. From there it was on to small roads through Timahoe, stopping for lunch in Edenderry. Making good progress at this stage, over 30km/h.

For lunch I had a steak sandwich and I fear that this was a mistake, from the moment I got back on the bike I was really feeling the going was tough. Maybe a week off after the Raid wasn't enough, I was feeling it in my legs and there seemed to be a headwind the whole way. I had cycled much of this route last winter and while most of the signs in Daingean congratulating Brian Cowen had been taken down the unoccupied house still with them had its windows broken.

Stopped at Loch Clochán, lay down for a bit and ate a cookie. Felt a bit better then and continued, crossing the Shannon at Banagher as last time but then went south through Loughrea and Ardrahan, arriving quite tired at Kinavarra on the south of Galway Bay.

th_IMG_4755.jpg th_IMG_4770.jpg th_IMG_4783.jpg th_IMG_4798.jpg th_IMG_4804.jpg th_IMG_4815.jpg th_IMG_4822.jpg th_IMG_4828.jpg th_IMG_4844.jpg th_IMG_4849.jpg th_IMG_4851.jpg th_IMG_4856.jpg th_IMG_4882.jpg th_IMG_4891.jpg th_IMG_4896.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

Day 2: Kinavara-Killorglin 193km

Got on the road reasonably early and set off my plan of cycling around the coast of the Burren, thanks to the advice of Boards. The scenery was spectacular, as was the headwind. Yesterday was not a headwind, this was most definitely a headwind. At one point I passed a weather vane/windmill type contraption that was pointed straight at me with a wheel spinning wildly. Took a break to look at the Cliffs of Moher a bit after which I headed inland over a bit of a hill towards Kilimer... this was steep but actually a relief with the wind dying down.

Just about made the 15:00 Shannon Ferry but they were out of sandwiches so a muffin had to do for lunch instead- still, 400 calories. The sun came out arriving in Kerry and it was pretty much straight down the N69 through Listowel and Tralee to Killorglin. Not a bad road for cycling to be honest, as N roads go. There was an option of going straight over the mountain on a smaller road between Tralee and Castlemaine but I didn't really have the heart.

th_IMG_4903.jpg th_IMG_4907.jpg th_IMG_4915.jpg th_IMG_4920.jpg th_IMG_4924.jpg th_IMG_4931.jpg th_IMG_4944.jpg th_IMG_4961.jpg th_IMG_4973.jpg th_IMG_4991.jpg th_IMG_5013.jpg th_IMG_5014.jpg th_IMG_5020.jpg th_IMG_5043.jpg th_IMG_5057.jpg

Day 3: Killorglin-Cork 160km

This was Saturday morning and I met up with Boardsie Lescol in Killorgan at not too much past 9am for our planned spin up the Gap of Dunloe and Molls Gap. Lescol's legs were in better shape going up the Gap of Dunloe so I was happier to let him go on up ahead and admire the scenery, which was the most stunning I have seen anywhere in Ireland. On the road between Dunloe and Molls Gap we met ROK_ON who stormed on through Kenmare towards the bottom of the notorious Priest's Leap. I had been feeling pretty weak from the last two days and not sure whether I would cycle back to Dublin from Cork on the Monday.

Now I had actually programmed this route into my GPS without looking at an elevation chart so to me it just looked like another minor road, a shortcut if you will avoiding the lengthy snaking of the N71 through Glengariff. ROK_ON to his credit had warned me sufficiently of what was coming up and I can certainly concur with it being the hardest climb I have seen in this country. It is both of reasonable length (around 7km total) while also having a good solid 1 or 2km of over 15% gradient. On a terrible road surface. Great stuff.

Visibility at the top was non-existent but on descending into Co. Cork this cleared up below 200m or so. Stopped for a very nice toasted sandwich in a pub in Lisheen before tackling the Pass of Keimaneigh. After the Priest's Leap I don't think anything would have been too much trouble but in any case this one was only 201m and I think was really more of a pass from the other side, the approach from Kealkill was very gentle. On through Macroom and along the "beautiful Lee valley" which in fairness to it was. Felt pretty good at the end of today.

th_IMG_5067.jpg th_IMG_5079.jpg th_IMG_5081.jpg th_IMG_5089.jpg th_IMG_5091.jpg th_IMG_5099.jpg th_IMG_5103.jpg th_IMG_5125.jpg th_IMG_5137.jpg th_IMG_5142.jpg th_IMG_5161.jpg th_IMG_5166.jpg th_IMG_5179.jpg th_IMG_5207.jpg th_IMG_5226.jpg

Day 4: Cork-Dublin 256km

Having had a rest day on Sunday getting up very late and walking around Fota, was feeling positive about cycling back to Dublin on Monday morning. Left Cork at 08:00 not really knowing how long it would take me but with lights for contingency. Picked a quite hilly route out of Cork (I really should look at the contours) but was feeling pretty strong. Through Fermoy before turning off at Kilworth and before I realised it I was 250m up another big hill. All very pleasant small roads though, through Cahir and Cashel where I joined the R639. Now this is the old N8 and while basically completely deserted it is a grand wide road with a good surface and hard shoulder so good progress was made to Freshford, where I took my first stop for lunch. This was great progress, Freshford was slightly over half way home.

Lunch was in a somewhat eccentric establishment which had quite an obsession with taps and hand cleaning but was certainly welcome. After Ballyragget I found myself on a marked Kilkenny bicycle trail which involved going up a series of very steep but short hills to Castlecomer. Again I had planned my Dublin-Cork route to simply be the shortest possible avoiding busy roads and had not really paid any attention to contours. This road just went completely straight over the hills while the more sensible R694 snaked around them.

From Castlecomer I was on to the N78 which was basically a straight run in to Kilcullen. The road started quiet and got busier after Athy. Before Naas I turned off towards Punchestown, back on to small roads for the final run in to Saggart, the N81 and home. Under 10km from the finish I punctured in Tallaght and spent a fair while faffing around with that. Still got home before 18:30 and didn't need to use my lights. Ordered a pizza and ate the whole lot, tired but satisfied.

th_IMG_5277.jpg th_IMG_5299.jpg th_IMG_5315.jpg th_IMG_5324.jpg th_IMG_5329.jpg th_IMG_5341.jpg th_IMG_5360.jpg th_IMG_5379.jpg th_IMG_5386.jpg th_IMG_5392.jpg th_IMG_5393.jpg th_IMG_5397.jpg th_IMG_5412.jpg th_IMG_5457.jpg th_IMG_5468.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭Dr.Millah

Sounds like a lovely trip. The Kinavara-Killorglin route sounds really nice and the photos prove it.
    Hope you enjoyed it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,277 ✭✭✭km991148

sounds a great trip, but 4 days cycling! what took ye so long..!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

Blorg,That some spin.Where do you get the energy . What are your organisational skills like. Would make a great route for a Fancy Sportive as TOIChallenge not looking good for 2010:D (website has disappeared)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

Well done Blorg nice cycle and some pace, fair dues for doing the leap after 2 days of cycling... hardcore, were there many photo stops on the way up?

What type of accommodation did you stay in? friends, hotels or fields

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 765 ✭✭✭oflahero

Fantastic stuff. Your posts always remind me that I should just get up off my arse more often and just potter off on randonnees down the country.

Jaysus though, you must spend every cent and holiday you have on bike-related stuff... I can't keep up with new this, new that, new gadget for this that and the other, trip here, trip there. I hope you're writing a book!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 11,394 Mod ✭✭✭✭Captain Havoc

Esroh wrote: »
    Blorg,That some spin.Where do you get the energy.

I don't know where he gets it but I do know how to take it away: Kryptonite :D

Seriously though, looks like a cracker of a trip and fair play to you.

https://ormondelanguagetours.com

Walking Tours of Kilkenny in English, French or German.

Thanks for the comments. I found the Leap OK to be honest, just got down into my bottom gear and stood, establishing a bit of a rhythm. Stopped once briefly to take off my knee warmers, which is when the guy with the Giant passed, I caught up with him and stayed with him to the top.

My photos are generally all taken while moving, which means the majority turn out shook, I have to sift through to find a few decent ones :)

Kinavara and Killorglin I stayed in a hotel and guesthouse respectively, both of which were very nice. The latter one had a daughter who competes in 24 hour MTB races so they didn't think my trip anything particularly unusual :) Cork I stayed with my girlfriend who lives there. So it worked out pretty reasonable really, €100 on accomodation (could have spent less there if I was motivated but those places looked nice and had free WiFi) a fiver on the ferry and my food was about the lot. It's easy to do and Ireland is actually a lovely country to cycle in...

Would be good to arrange something similar for an epic Boards trip next year, particularly if the TOI is not running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

Fair play blorg, a lovely way to round off the season. Makes me want to try this touring thing for myself (though my mileage would have to be a bit lower than yours and avg speeds too). Yet again you're an inspiration to us all.

I must have a go at the priest's leap too if you think it's the toughest climb in the country. Nice photos on Dunloe too. We did it the day before the last Ring of Kerry and I think it has to be the most surreally dramatic place I've ever been in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

Well done Blorg.

I was delighted to have some company on my morning cycle. Sorry for suggesting the Ballyvaughan/Fanore/Doolin road without telling you about the slight sea breeze that blows in from the Atlantic.

Was good to meet lescol also.

@Niceone. Anyone time you want to come down and try the Leap (or Lep as it is pronounced in these parts) then let me know. Its not that pictureseque (Dunloe or say Borlin Valley are stunning). But the the 2km in the middle rising 300m are tougher than anything I have ever done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

blorg wrote: »
    Would be good to arrange something similar for an epic Boards trip next year, particularly if the TOI is not running.

Great. Halves on a tandem?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,831 ✭✭✭ROK ON

I would be particularly interested in this. There are so many parts of the country that I would love to cycle in. Would be even more on for it if we could get it supported.
    I just dont like the idea of stuff on my bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Blorg is that how you get away with having so many bikes, cause the other half is in Cork and therefore doesn't see them and doesn't know about boards so she is completely in the dark about it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭lukester

Epic trip, have never really done any touring, but this kind of report makes me want to try it out.

I love that road from Kinvara along the coast towards the Cliffs of Moher. Sister-in-law owns the health food store in Kinvara, next time you'll have to call in for a discounted Slow Puck

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,833 ✭✭✭niceonetom

ROK ON wrote: »
    @Niceone. Anyone time you want to come down and try the Leap (or Lep as it is pronounced in these parts) then let me know. Its not that pictureseque (Dunloe or say Borlin Valley are stunning). But the the 2km in the middle rising 300m are tougher than anything I have ever done.

Careful now, you'll end up with boardsies in your front garden demanding you share your fine after dinner mints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,565 ✭✭✭thebouldwhacker

ROK ON wrote: »
    I would be particularly interested in this. There are so many parts of the country that I would love to cycle in. Would be even more on for it if we could get it supported.
    I just dont like the idea of stuff on my bike.

So this prob should be a thread of its own as its off thread but such an idea has entered my mind before. I am the proud owner of a not so flash camper which would make a perfect support vehicle, food stops, carrying gear etc. I'm sure I could persuade my G.F. to do the driving and food making.... this is of course being put out there on a caffeine fueled Friday so I'll prob delete this come Monday... But a supported boards tour is certainly an achievable concept.

Comments?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Fair play and well done Blorg - I'll bet the pizza tasted great after the trip up from Cork.

So this prob should be a thread of its own as its off thread but such an idea has entered my mind before. I am the proud owner of a not so flash camper which would make a perfect support vehicle, food stops, carrying gear etc. I'm sure I could persuade my G.F. to do the driving and food making.... this is of course being put out there on a caffeine fueled Friday so I'll prob delete this come Monday... But a supported boards tour is certainly an achievable concept.

Comments?
    Cool, I'm there :) Supported while not necessary is always nice. To be honest all that is strictly necessary for a supported ride is transporting the bags from start to finish point each day. If we made it a week- take five days off, start on the Saturday morning, eight days cycling, 1,600km would be very possible!*

*Or we could keep it down to the 1,000 either!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭Esroh

BouldW/Blorg Start a thread. I have access to a mini-bus/broomwagon
    Also know someone who has done foodstop support on M2M multiday trips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Dude you are class. Don't know what else to say really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Sorry, new to these boards. Are you a former, current pro/am. Impressive stuff all the same. Dont do touring myself (I stick to riding hard though not over 200k) but if someone organised what has been mooted above then I could be tempted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 648 ✭✭✭lescol

Great post blorg. Was good to meet you and ROK ON. A week on the bike sounds good, if "she who must be obeyed" could be persuaded! Otherwise a drop into the proposed route for a day or three might work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

transporting the bags from start to finish point each day.

And whoever's driving the van can cycle back to the start point so they don't miss out...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭chakattack

Epic solo journey! Inspiring stuff...

I presume you ate ALOT more than mentioned in your post?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Well done blorg and thanks for sharing it with us. Love the photos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 272 ✭✭tomc

Great trip and photos, now you have me thinking....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭Redjeep!

Nice. Great inspiration. I wish that I'd done something like that in September for a few days.

I hope you washed your hands (and turned the taps off).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 roforofofight

Fair play blorg, great trip & thanks for sharing.

Was involved in an accident recentley -nothing serious just some scrapes & bruises- but it knocked my confidence for doing these longer kinda rides. So this really helps!