Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Nancy's last day

• 01-10-2009 10:52am
    Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Just having some trouble getting this right. Something is off with the pacing, but I need a bit of advice.

Edited version re-posted further down...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭EileenG

Very entertaining, very well observed, lots of meticulously drawn characters, a real sense of place.

I just wonder: what's the point? How does it advance the story? What is it giving us that we need to know?

I know it would be heart breaking, but I think you could cut out some of it.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Cheers, Eileen. The point of this chapter is to introduce a character who will be one of the protagonists for the rest of the book. Her motivations for leaving her job and the country and going to do something extraordinary are laid out as well as the background to the psychological terror which plagues her and with which she battles later. There's also the set-up for a minor betrayal and of course an insight into the character herself, to try and create some empathy for her in the reader.

Can you give me any specific examples of bits which could be thrown out to improve it? I'm hopeless at that.

Assuming Nancy is the character you want to introduce, I'd play up her reactions and made less of the other characters. There's too much back story on all the customers, none of whom will probably reappear in the book (maybe Sean?) I'd be quite happy refering to them as "the auld bitch" or "the retired school teacher".

You might want to take a look at your use of adjectives. "cheap plastic watch", "meagre shopping", "dromedarian hunch". "fake black leather", "flat brown cap", "ancient head", "favourite mantra". Allow some nouns to stand on their own.

EileenG wrote: »
    Assuming Nancy is the character you want to introduce, I'd play up her reactions and made less of the other characters. There's too much back story on all the customers, none of whom will probably reappear in the book (maybe Sean?) I'd be quite happy refering to them as "the auld bitch" or "the retired school teacher".

Wouldn't that pretty much remove the 'sense of place'? I mean, I know you're right in that the characters are overdescribed, but would it not be really, really dull if they were just 'the old man', 'the policeman' etc. ?

Your job as the writer is to keep the sense of place, but you've asked the reader to keep track of a lot of different characters, most of whom will never appear again. I'd give a quick description of them, focus more on how she reacts to them, and shorten the whole thing.

For instance, I really liked the way Nancy reacted to the old bitch buying a "cow in kit form", that showed a lot about Nancy's personality, and I didn't need to know the name of the bitch.

Towards the end, I found I was scanning over the customers, just information overload.

You've got ten fully described characters in there, plus a mother and a mysterious figure. That's too much for what is really just an introduction to Nancy.

Right, I'm beginning to get what you mean. It didn't occur to me that readers would actively try and retain information on the 'scenery' characters but of course now that you mention it the reader would have no way of knowing who might show up again.

I gave them all names to illustrate the small-town suffocation of the place, but I could easily just dispose of half of them and as you say, even though Nancy might know them well, the reader doesn't need to, so cull the background and - this is the bit I really don't know how to do - make her react to them... this stuff is way harder than actually writing a book :D

Is this any better, for example?
    ----

Nancy Quinn pulled back the sleeve of work coat and glanced at her watch for the second-last time that day, before scanning the old man's groceries through her till. Tin of baked beans, small cauliflower, packet of hickory-smoked rashers.

"Afternoon, Mr. Gogarty, and how are you?" she beamed.

He smiled up weakly from under his hunched back and flat cap. As always, he'd forgotten to weigh the vegetable, or refused to do it on principle. Nancy rarely had the heart to make him trundle back and put it on the scales, preferring to nip off and print the label herself. It was stupid, when you thought about it, weighing a caulie. Anywhere else they were a unit price, but LoValu always had to be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,339 ✭✭✭me-skywalker

I liked it, very indepth and has a good yearn to it..

One or two small things i noticed... Too much dialogue and so many minute details on each individual person and observation.

I feel there's too much conversational writing in the piece, there are other writing technique's for dialogue between characters eg;

'Ah hello how are ya' Nancy said.......

I might try

They exchanged cheap pleasantries.... etc

Instead of literally using the he said she said tone you can cut out some of the dialouge to let it flow better.

Also on Nancy herself. It does give a sense that she is very observational and intelligent. Also some of her observations come across cold and judgemental. From reading this alone I wouldnt feel so much empathy for the character too much but in saying that theres obviously other chapters where that would be played on to greater effect.

Hope you keep writing and produce more good material.

So I've killed off the child and thinned out Dermot's description. Aoife and Pinkie reappear later in the book, but none of the others do. I'm still having a hard time with Sean and the sergeant though.

Cold, judgmental, intelligent - it's really interesting that you read that from the passage as I have a completely different image of her. 'Cold' I find especially strange, but it has been said to me before that are no likable characters in the whole book. I think I'm a closet misanthropist :D

Right, I'm beginning to get what you mean. It didn't occur to me that readers would actively try and retain information on the 'scenery' characters but of course now that you mention it the reader would have no way of knowing who might show up again.

I gave them all names to illustrate the small-town suffocation of the place, but I could easily just dispose of half of them and as you say, even though Nancy might know them well, the reader doesn't need to, so cull the background and - this is the bit I really don't know how to do - make her react to them... this stuff is way harder than actually writing a book :D

Is this any better, for example?
    ----

Nancy Quinn pulled back the sleeve of work coat and glanced at her watch for the second-last time that day, before scanning the old man's groceries through her till. Tin of baked beans, small cauliflower, packet of hickory-smoked rashers.

He smiled up weakly from under his hunched back and flat cap. As always, he'd forgotten to weigh the vegetable, or refused to do it on principle. Nancy rarely had the heart to make him trundle back and put it on the scales, preferring to nip off and print the label herself. It was stupid, when you thought about it, weighing a caulie. Anywhere else they were a unit price, but LoValu always had to be different.

I liked this much better. It put the spotlight on Nancy, while giving a slice of small town life where everyone knows everyone else. And I knew from the beginning that the old man wasn't going to be the arch-villain.

So I've killed off the child and thinned out Dermot's description. Aoife and Pinkie reappear later in the book, but none of the others do. I'm still having a hard time with Sean and the sergeant though.

Cold, judgmental, intelligent - it's really interesting that you read that from the passage as I have a completely different image of her. 'Cold' I find especially strange, but it has been said to me before that are no likable characters in the whole book. I think I'm a closet misanthropist :D

I wouldn't worry about it. You want a fully rounded character, which means the odd nasty thought as well. She's obviously a really nice girl, who does all sorts of good things for her customers, she's allowed to have sarky thoughts about the unpleasant ones. Too much sweetness and lights makes me want to puke.

Bumping this as I've since gone full circle and have reworked the first 16 chapters (actually 19 now, as I chopped the previous ones up smaller after ditching 40 pages, but I digress...).

I made a couple of small edits and think I still need to dump at least one character from this bit, but can't decide which one (you will be my accessories!)
    Nancy Quinn pulled back the sleeve of her work coat and checked her watch for the second-last time that day, before scanning the old man's groceries through her till. Tin of baked beans, small cauliflower, packet of hickory-smoked rashers.

He smiled up weakly from under his hunched back and flat cap. As always, he'd forgotten to weigh the vegetable, or refused to do it on principle. Nancy rarely had the heart to make him trundle back and put it on the scales, preferring to nip off and print the label herself. It was stupid, when you thought about it, weighing a caulie. Anywhere else they were a unit price, but LoValu always had to be different. She rolled the knobbly white head over the scanner and into a plastic bag along with the breakfast items. She wouldn't be charging him for the bag, either, and management could lick it or like it.
    "Two forty-seven please, Mister Gogarty" she said, handing the goods to him and smiling into his lost, rheumy eyes.
    "Grand girl" he whispered hoarsely, shuffling off. Five.

A lanky young man in a flannel suit shuffled up. His jaw hung ajar, his incisors protruding and twisted like Chaplin-feet.
    "Well Dermot" she winked at him, grabbing his packet of milk chocolate wholegrains from the belt. She was fairly sure this fella was Dermot, although it could well have been Paudie. The whole gang of those Brodericks grew up and out so fast there was no keeping track of them.
    "Oh, them are nice, would you gimme one?" she teased.
    The poor chap didn't know what to say, so she hurriedly passed the biscuits through along with a packet of AA batteries. The young man flipped out a debit card with all the cool of Dirty Harry in a confirmation suit and swiped it through the card reader as soon as she'd activated it. He grabbed his purchases, nodded and rushed out. Four.

Nancy didn't know the next customer's name, but she did know that the ould bitch couldn't count. Here she was again with a trolley-load of stuff coming through the ten-items-or-less checkout. Unless she was counting the poor unfortunate cow that she'd bought in kit form – two steaks, a pound of chops, a big bag of round mince, four litres of milk, a lump of red cheddar the size of a small child and a leather case for a mobile phone – as one article, her sums or her manners were well out.

It was always the way with these wans, thinking they owned the place and everyone in it. Wait till you see, she'd pull out the chequebook and get offended if asked to identify herself, holding up the queue of busy people even more. It was grand for her. She had no job to rush back to or small kids screaming for their dinner. The hackles at Nancy's nape stood up as the woman approached, smiled her condescending little smile and looked off to one side as Nancy scanned her produce, much of it twice or three times. As expected, the woman had no notion of how much of her husband's money she was spending and how much she was being overcharged and of course she began to search for her chequebook once the total of her expenditure had been announced. Her weary sigh suggested that the whole process of paying for her shopping was beneath her, an inconvenience which should really be handled by some manservant.
    "Goodbye now" said Nancy, a touch acerbically, as the women left, hitching her expensive Brighton handbag onto a shoulder wrapped in a Hermès scarf, touches of a class absent in her character. And then there were three.

"Sergeant" nodded Nancy to the chubby guard who had been watching the wordless departure of the lady with the expensive tastes.
    "The cut o' yer wan, hah?" he answered, nodding after his predecessor. "Lady muck. La-di-da. The same wan never done a hard day's graft in her life and yet she's there looking down on us as is keeping the place going. I tell you one ting, if it warn't for that husband o' hers it's a tracksuit and a pair of oul' runners she'd be wearing, and buying her groceries down in the Aldi along with the immigrants."

Nancy gave him a half-nod. The policeman looked back for approval from the others in the line.
    "Oh, Jasis sorry, son, I didn't mean that for you, like. No offence" he blurted at the tall, black man in the tracksuit standing behind him.
    The lawman's flustered apology was a silent comedy to the young man, whose earphones blocked out everything the portly cop was saying. Nancy smothered a snigger. Seán Curran was no more an immigrant than herself. Sure weren't they born in the same hospital. She swiped through Sergeant Drennan's midweek shopping. Cheap deodorant, a single-serving microwave lasagne, a pair of chocolate-brown socks, five tins of peas and a huge bag of dog-food. Drennan put on his cap, hitched up his sinking trousers and said his last goodbye to Nancy Quinn. Two to go.

"Howrya Seán?"
    "What's that?" asked the young man, removing his earplugs.
    "I just said howya" Nancy said again, a pinkish rush making her face tingle.
    For Jasis sake, she was thirteen again any time this fella came by, not able to string two words together.
    "Oh right, grand, and yourself?" said Seán, nodding his head slightly.
    He'd come for fags and chewing-gum – twenty Bensons and Wrigley's Spearmint. Neither gave much of an opening for a conversation, but she tried anyway. She might not see him again for a long time; no harm in having a last chat with him.
    "Still on the ould smokes? I thought you'd given them up?" she asked, running the chewing-gum through the scanner and sliding the cigarettes past the edge of the radar.
    "Ah, I did for a while, but you know yourself, once you have a few pints you kind of have to have a fag" he explained.
    "I do indeed, nothin' like a good long drag of a ciggie with a neckful of porter when you're finished work. Sixty-five cents."
    Seán looked puzzled. "Ehm, I think you forgot to charge me for the smokes" he said, pointing at the display screen.
    Nancy made a face to tell him to keep schtum. She felt a hand on the back of her swivel chair.
    "Everything all right here, Nancy?" asked the voice of Pinkie Moran, her immediate boss and assistant store manager.
    Without turning, she answered coolly "We're grand, Pinkie, just a packet of Bensons didn't go through". She took back the cigarettes and pushed them slowly through until they beeped. "Eh, six forty-five Seán" she said, accepting his ten-euro note.
    "It's not the first time something didn't go through today, is it Nancy. And I'd prefer if you called me Gerard, or Mr. Moran."
    Pinkie had picked up his nickname when as a four-year-old he'd taken to poking the tip of his little finger up his anus and running after the other children, forcing them to smell it. He'd presumably given up the practice a while since, but the name had stuck like **** to a new shoe.
    "Aye, I think there's something wrong with the scanner Pi... Ger, it's not been right all week."
    Moran wasn't convinced, but didn't want to force the issue, preferring instead to give his departing employee a gentle warning, for both their sakes. He was ultimately responsible for any major checkout errors occurring on his shift and could ill afford to let Nancy or anyone else give away the shop's goods, little and all as he cared about how much profit they made.
    "Just be careful, right Nancy, you know the story as well as I do."
    She knew he was right, but was annoyed with him correcting her in front of the customers, especially in front of Seán Curran, and this close to the end. She whipped around and scowled at him.
    "Ah for feck's sake, Ger, I'm ten minutes from walking out the door forever. You could go easy on me for once, don't you think?"
    Moran held up both palms and stepped back, preferring to let her get on with what was left of her job and clean up the mess in the till afterwards. Seán was at the door when she turned back. She waved after him – "See ya Seán!" – as he pushed the door open with his movie-double bum and nodded back to her. One.

Out of the corner of her eye she saw the last person she'd hoped to see at this exact point in her life. Her heart dropped two floors and her head instinctively ducked behind the Plexiglass divider as he passed in front of her field of vision, three aisles over. Daring a second look, she was relieved to see it wasn't him at all, nor even anyone that looked like him. He was wearing a black anorak, that was it, but that was all it took to set her off in a panic these days. That ****er was everywhere she looked.

"Stooory, chicken?" bellowed Aoife Nic An Rí, grabbing Nancy by the shoulders and pulling her forward, crushing her up against the Perspex divider separating client and cashier as she strait-jacketed her arms.
    "So this is i', yer last ever customer in this shi'ehole. Yeh must be so exsoirah?"
    Aoife loved to overplay her Dublin accent which seemed to grow thicker the further away she moved from the capital. Back home, her big-city twang was much more modulated, almost genteel; down the country it took on the overcooked flavour of a Roddy Doyle caricature. She wore it with zealous pride, a Dub in exile, much as she wore the plunge-neck mauve sweater currently fighting a losing battle to conceal her bounteous bosom. A half-dozen rolled-gold bangles jangled as she enveloped her soon-to-be unemployed friend, her black-dyed clutter of curls combining with her large upper body to completely obscure the cashier.
    "So jealous of you, you lucky bitch. What time are you flyin'?" she asked, finally allowing Nancy room to breathe.
    "Half-eleven tomorrow from Dublin, couple of hours wait in Heathrow and then off to Lima. Can't wait!"
    "Peru, isn't it? Is that where that place is you're always on about, Muchow Pichow?"
    "Yeah, Machu Picchu is down south a bit. I'll get a bus there after, maybe stop at the beach on the way down. I've nothin' planned you know, no hotel or anything. Am I cracked?"
    High, discordant notes of worry disrupted the symphony of her joy, the euphoria of her release from this job, this town, that bastard. Her heart was singing goodbye to LoValu, waving a handkerchief to County Mayo and all who lived there, but it was also drumming faster at the thought of what she was letting herself in for.
    "Mental, woman, a complete looper, and I wouldn't love you any other way. Here, you won't forget to e-mail me, send me pictures of Lima and Macho Picho and all the gorgeous Latin men you'll be shaggin', sure you won't?"
    Nancy promised. Not for all the world would she miss sharing the moments to come with her best friend. She'd tried several times to get Aoife to come along, but work and old debts would not afford the Dubliner the luxury, even for a week. Besides, this was Nancy's dream, a vision she had to follow. Ever since she'd first laid eyes on the Inca Ruins on the National Geographic channel, she'd known that one day she'd stand above it and look down into the sacred valley.
    "What is it, summer over there now? You'll be tryin' on yer new bikini while we're back here in feckin' Crossmolina wrapped up in our woollies." A twinge of envy couldn't tarnish the happiness Aoife felt for her friend, whom she knew needed this break more than anyone. "Just think, no more taking ****e from that little bollocks Moran or the wanker customers this place attracts" she went on, marvelling at how free the next few minutes would make Nancy.
    "Ah, he's grand, most of the time he's sweet, he's just doin' his job, like" Nancy defended Pinkie, who'd had her back a few times over the years, in fairness to him.
    Aoife sighed rawly and shook her leonine mane, hands on her broad hips in mock scolding. The brows above her kohl-black eyelids flattened.
    "Not a minute too soon, missus, you're beginning to talk like one of them. Right so, bag of apples, fusilli pasta, an avocado you could break kneecaps with, wholegrain rice for healthy bastards, tin of tomatoes, RTE Guide, vanilla ice-cream, cashews, three cans of Bulmers and a litre of milk. Ten items, no less, so you can say you were worked up to the last minute. Oh, and a packet of gee-stoppers!" she added, remembering the box of tampons in the bottom of the basket.
    Nancy giggled at her crude choice of terms for the feminine hygiene products.
    "Ah crap, that's eleven! I'll have to put something back, or go to another checkout" she mocked. "Or... idea!" Making sure she caught the assistant manager's eye before continuing, Aoife picked up a can of cider from the conveyor and cracked it open, brought it to her glossed, bee-stung lips and jerked her head back, gobbling half the tin in a rapid slug.
    "Gwan, will yeh" she urged Nancy, before knocking back the rest of the cider.
    Nancy needed no second invitation to follow suit, grabbing a second can and pouring some of the lukewarm apple booze down her throat. Pinkie was on them in a flash, clearly torn between his duty to throw the pair of them out and a desire to grab the third can and join in. He managed a weak "come on girls!" from a safe distance. That Aoife intimidated him no end, with her tough manners and the way she had of looking at you like you were ten years old. He wouldn't mind so much but he was mad into her, her and her massive laugh, her who-gives-a-****e attitude and that body. Oh, that body. She was a real Amazon, the kind of woman he dreamed of taming. None of them skinny yokes of models for him. If there were more Aoife Nic An Rís on the catwalks, the world would be a better place for lads like Pinkie Moran.

"Twenty-four seventy six please miss" grinned Nancy, regretting that the situation required her to charge her friend the full amount.
    "Robbery! I'm never comin' back here again!" smiled Aoife, counting out the symbolic coins which added up to the exact and final amount Nancy Quinn would bill a LoValu customer.
    "And me and all" she agreed, her voice catching slightly as she pushed the till drawer shut. In some weird way she'd miss the place.

Drop the first two customers. They don't interact with anyone else, and are just window dressing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

I like the first two customers, they give an idea of how long Nancy has been there and gives a bit of background about where she is too - I recognise those people.

I really like it, I want to read more, but if I had one criticism it'd be that there are a lot of adjectives.

Blush_01 wrote: »
    I really like it, I want to read more, but if I had one criticism it'd be that there are a lot of adjectives.

I'm going to have to print this out and mark them with a highlighter pen. I can no longer even see them reading through it :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I'm going to have to print this out and mark them with a highlighter pen. I can no longer even see them reading through it :)

Personally I would lose the auld bitch and teh policeman. The others are characters but those two feel a little more contrived, not caricatures but just an assembly of character traits rather than characters, if you know what I mean. The humour in the policemans embarrassment also doesn't have the same tone as the rest of it.

A bit of advice I heard years ago about creative writing was to re-read a piece and to draw a big black line through anything you were particularly proud of. The logic behind it (I think) is teh piece of writing you as a writer are most proud of is probably also the piece where you are being the most self indulgent! You're clearly a talented writer and as an audience the readers here will all see the quality of what you've written, the clarity of the descriptions and sharpness of teh characterisation. It's probably a question of styles and what individuals prefer to read but as a casual reader I often find myself scanning over a lot of the descriptive writing in a novel; reading to critique is different to reading for pleasure and will people be engaged enough to pay attention to all of teh background colour? By trimming some of the descriptive text you could maybe tighten up the entire passage and focus more sharply on the objectives of this section?

A bit of advice I heard years ago about creative writing was to re-read a piece and to draw a big black line through anything you were particularly proud of. The logic behind it (I think) is teh piece of writing you as a writer are most proud of is probably also the piece where you are being the most self indulgent!

I know exactly what this is about and I've found myself doing that a number of times - reading back and realising that a particular 'clever' line is forced where it doesn't belong out of vanity. I have a text file with a load of such lines which I might recycle some day :)

It's too much of a sweeping statement though - there's no harm being proud of a bit that you just feel works well.

So far I think only Aoife, Seán and Nancy herself haven't been recommended for execution and I don't particularly like Seán mysefl and Aoife is a bit caricaturish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

I enjoyed that and would read on. One thing that I found very jarring however was that one customer used a cheque. Unless your story is set several years ago it would be unlikely that anyone is using cheques for their groceries as the vast majority of stores no longer accept them. I know it might sound like a small thing but little things like that throw me right out of a story.

Really? It was originally set in 2005 but I've since moved it forward a couple of years. I had no idea cheques would no longer be accepted in Ireland (goes to show you can never do too much research!). That kind of shoots that whole paragraph in the arse.

Are there any payment types that would either annoy a cashier/other customers or require some form of ID?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 122 ✭✭dawvee

Are there any payment types that would either annoy a cashier/other customers or require some form of ID?

A card with no chip or a non-working chip (so they have to swipe and sign) would work, especially if there's no signature on the back.

I've actually had this problem with an old credit card where the signature had worn off. Also, volunteering to sign the card then and there doesn't help matters. :P

How long ago were cheques banned? Would it be conceivable that someone might not know, or know and still try to pay with a cheque?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

They weren't outright banned, but at the start of 2008 most UK chains stopped accepting them and most Irish shops followed suit as they are expensive and slow to process. They won't actually be legally phased out until 2016 but it's rare to have them accepted for groceries. Maybe if you add a line about how LoValue does still accept them in a similar fashion to the cauliflower being weighed. It would add to the woman's unreasonableness as she doesn't have any appreciation for the fact that she can actually pay the way she wants in this store. It might even explain why such a stuck up woman would be in a shop called LoValue.

How's this?
    It was always the way with these wans, thinking they owned the place and everyone in it. Wait till you see, she'd try and pay with a cheque as well. It was grand for her. She had no job to rush back to or small kids screaming for their dinner. The hackles at Nancy's nape stood up as the woman approached, smiled her condescending little smile and looked off to one side as Nancy scanned her produce, much of it twice or three times. As expected, the woman had no notion of how much of her husband's money she was spending and how much she was being overcharged. Her weary sigh suggested that the whole process of paying for her shopping was beneath her, an inconvenience which should really be handled by some manservant.
    "Goodbye now" said Nancy, a touch acerbically. And then there were three.

Some supermarkets do accept work or social welfare checks, with lots of counter-signing and ID checking. That would be a big hassle for the cashier, she'd have to go off and get her boss and do a lot of messing. But the auld wan doesn't sound like she'd have either a work or a SW cheque. She might have a lot of vouchers or something, and some are out of date, or for the wrong products?

But it's more likely she'd have a credit card and no idea what her PIN number was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

Dunnes have recently put up signs saying they no longer take HSE or Social Welfare cheques. Lots of places don't accept any kind of cheque as legal tender anymore.

An out of date card would be the best bet IMHO - she's too detached from the practicalities of life to realise that her card is out of date, she has the other one in her purse but as a matter of principle she won't acknowledge that she's wrong. She really doesn't care that she's causing trouble for everyone by insisting she's right, and she considers her co-patrons beneath her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Having read the edited version...

Overall very enjoyable and the below is what I would change if this were my writing.

I think the first sentence is over complicated by the ‘and checked her watch for the second-last time that day,’ and I would leave it out.

I think the "Afternoon, Mr. Gogarty, and how are you?" is perfectly fine and I can see her smile from this alone, no need to add, “She beamed”. Readers don’t really read these anyway and mentally usually skip over them.

I didn’t like the start of the opening sentence, but enjoyed the rest of the paragraph introducing the old man, although unless LoValu is a personal derogatory term your protagonist uses for the business then it doesn’t work, as no business would call themselves LoValu.

‘and smiling into’ these are the kind of words that you’d cut if someone said to you that you needed to tighten your writing. We need to feel people are smiling and the other emotions they feel without being told. Our writing should be descriptive enough without spelling it out. As an example if I heard someone say, “Grand Girl” I’d instinctively expect them to Shuffle off, and don’t need to be told. Besides, you’ve the old man shuffling off, to be followed by another younger man shuffle up, are we to take it it’s a town of Zombies? ;)

By now I can see you’ve good abilities when it comes to describing your characters and their dialogue.

‘His jaw hung ajar, his incisors protruding and twisted like Chaplin-feet.’ Nice one – Don’t think I’ll be introducing this man to my single female friends.

‘Unless she was counting the poor unfortunate cow that she'd bought in kit form –‘ This is a great line, and makes the continuance of the joke redundant.

‘touches of a class absent in her character.’ Nice line, and although this paragraph is used to show your protagonist’s dark side, it also says more about her, but I’ll leave that.

‘as is keeping the place going.’ ‘as if’?

The introduction of the guard would indicate to me your protagonist is either very reckless by over charging the bitch or a bit dim.

‘and buying her groceries down in the Aldi along with the immigrants."’ I think this line is out of date, as after the public sector pay cuts the sergeant or his wife would not be above shopping in Aldi, as do many the wiser white collar workers.

‘The lawman's flustered apology was a silent comedy to the young man, whose earphones blocked out everything the portly cop was saying.’ Excellent! Although I’ve a hard time thinking a Guard would be seen admitting such a mistake.

‘he'd taken to poking the tip of his little finger up his anus’ – Anus is the technical term, and doesn’t sit well with the type of dialogue. I know the prose doesn’t have to but if Nancy is the main character and is going to talk like this, then maybe using the word, ‘bum’ might be better. Not putting myself across well here, but hopefully you get what I mean.

There's a lot to like here and there's clearly a natural talent, but do believe a better writing technique needs to be developed.

Good luck

smcgiff wrote: »
    I think the first sentence is over complicated by the ‘and checked her watch for the second-last time that day,’ and I would leave it out.

I agree. I've since shortened this so it scans better.

I think the "Afternoon, Mr. Gogarty, and how are you?" is perfectly fine and I can see her smile from this alone, no need to add, “She beamed”. Readers don’t really read these anyway and mentally usually skip over them.

Again, good point.
    I didn’t like the start of the opening sentence, but enjoyed the rest of the paragraph introducing the old man, although unless LoValu is a personal derogatory term your protagonist uses for the business then it doesn’t work, as no business would call themselves LoValu.

I initially had a passage explaining the name, which is what the employees call it after the merger of LoKost and MegaValu. I took it out on the assumption that it would be obvious enough that the shop wasn't called this.
    ‘and smiling into’ these are the kind of words that you’d cut if someone said to you that you needed to tighten your writing. We need to feel people are smiling and the other emotions they feel without being told. Our writing should be descriptive enough without spelling it out. As an example if I heard someone say, “Grand Girl” I’d instinctively expect them to Shuffle off, and don’t need to be told. Besides, you’ve the old man shuffling off, to be followed by another younger man shuffle up, are we to take it it’s a town of Zombies? ;)

I'd never even noticed all the shuffling! Partly because I shuffled the paragrphs themselves but also because it just didn't strike me when reading it. Less shuffling!

‘Unless she was counting the poor unfortunate cow that she'd bought in kit form –‘ This is a great line, and makes the continuance of the joke redundant.

You mean it'll be obvious without actually detailing the items she's purchased?

‘as is keeping the place going.’ ‘as if’?

'as is' is a colloquialism, although I'm not sure it's common in Mayo. I'll double-check.
    The introduction of the guard would indicate to me your protagonist is either very reckless by over charging the bitch or a bit dim.

It honestly never occured to me that the guard would notice or care. She's balancing her till Robin-Hood style.
    ‘and buying her groceries down in the Aldi along with the immigrants."’ I think this line is out of date, as after the public sector pay cuts the sergeant or his wife would not be above shopping in Aldi, as do many the wiser white collar workers.

I wrote this over three years ago and the rest of the book is set in the same time period. I did update some things (e.g. references to high-spec cameras which were since obsolete) but I've decided not to do it any more as I'd just be chasing my tail - Ireland could be in a new boom by the time I've finished this thing ;)
    ‘The lawman's flustered apology was a silent comedy to the young man, whose earphones blocked out everything the portly cop was saying.’ Excellent! Although I’ve a hard time thinking a Guard would be seen admitting such a mistake.

Well I can't take everyone's advice (--amadeus-- particularly didn't like this bit) but am grateful to hear all opinions.
    ‘he'd taken to poking the tip of his little finger up his anus’ – Anus is the technical term, and doesn’t sit well with the type of dialogue. I know the prose doesn’t have to but if Nancy is the main character and is going to talk like this, then maybe using the word, ‘bum’ might be better. Not putting myself across well here, but hopefully you get what I mean.

I know what you mean but I don't think 'anus' falls into obscure-medical-jargon territory. It's commonly used even in jokes.

There's a lot to like here and there's clearly a natural talent, but do believe a better writing technique needs to be developed.
    ouch :(

Good luck

You mean it'll be obvious without actually detailing the items she's purchased?

I got it and laughed because you already set it up by mentioning it was a 10 items or less isle. However, it is more obscure by not detailing as you did with the rest of the sentence so your call.

Well I can't take everyone's advice (--amadeus-- particularly didn't like this bit) but am grateful to hear all opinions.

That's key - it's your writing and vision, and you need to decide what advice fits with the story you are trying to tell.

ouch :(

Didn't mean for it to come across like that :D but was used to being in writing groups that gave detailed critiques that could appear like that, but usually it was the case that you wouldn't bother reviewing something unless it was liked and had promise.

It kind of sounded like "maybe you could paint better with your left hand?" :D

When you say 'develop a better technique', could you expand on it a bit?

I know only too well what it’s like putting writing up for critique, it can make mums that put their children forward for baby judging competitions practically placid when it comes to reacting to perceived flaws in their creation. I've been there. :D

When you say 'develop a better technique', could you expand on it a bit?

I would see your main strengths as your humour and your ability to describe your situation observations. I could see you writing a Fiona Looney type piece or the Last Word type article on the back page of the Irish Examiner.

For a fictional novel I think you need to work on your narrative. For example, in your story the narrative goes from being detached from all characters, but then takes Nancy’s thoughts and even Sean’s. This is perfectly valid, but from my own reading is best done only by the most accomplished writers. You might want to study the different types of narrative styles and which might be best to write your story. It may be that what your doing is the best but give the others a try out.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Narrative#Literary_theory

I’ve briefly read the above and seems to leave out some other styles, but might be worth giving a quick read.

We’ve already discussed the likes of modifiers to dialogue, and the basic 'He said, She said' really seems to be the best. Another example of where this jarred for me was the following…’said Nancy, a touch acerbically’ – the word acerbically stopped me in my tracks as it jarred me out of the story. It seemed out of place with the main writing style.

Again, what I’m saying here is very much my opinion and likely not to enjoy universal agreement. Clearly it’s up to you to think whether or not I’m talking out of my… Anus! ;)

There’s one other thing I noticed on re-reading. While I think your dialogue is good in this excerpt – I think an entire novel written in colloquialism would be too much FOR ME. Others I’m sure may love it. I think most writers (though certainly not all) take a licence when writing and don’t write completely as we speak. For this reason, most writers drop pause words such as ‘am’ which are not needed to progress a story. You don’t either and I may be labouring the point somewhat.

Are you nearly finished this book?

There’s one other thing I noticed on re-reading. While I think your dialogue is good in this excerpt – I think an entire novel written in colloquialism would be too much FOR ME. Others I’m sure may love it. I think most writers (though certainly not all) take a licence when writing and don’t write completely as we speak. For this reason, most writers drop pause words such as ‘am’ which are not needed to progress a story. You don’t either and I may be labouring the point somewhat.

I think these are the only pages in the book with colloquial Irish dialogue and one of the few remaining chapters that uses a cross-narrative style. In that respect it's not really typical of the whole novel. At one stage, years back, each chaper was narrated in a different style depending on the character involved, but that got boring quickly.
    Are you nearly finished this book?

I think I'm on the 9th full rewrite so, no, not really.