Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems With My Car

• 30-09-2009 7:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

I'l be quick:
    Seat Ibiza, 1997, 1000cc, 65 500 miles on the clock.

Having engine problems with this baby and looking for some proper advice.
    Acceleration is slugish and engine is very very noisy. The car kicks and jumps sometimes in 2nd/3rd gear.

Please please help me with this one!!

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

You really need to bring it to a mechanic, these things are all but impossible to diagnose online. Have you checked the oil?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

When was it last serviced?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

I'd start by checking the plug leads. Very common fault on VAG engines of that vintage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,754 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Motor mounts maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭userfriendly2

yeah i,ve checked the oil and it's grand. i think it needs a mechanic sso i'l look at getting her serviced. Any good places i should go for a service. i'm in dublin on the northside??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 285 ✭✭vw4life

crosstownk wrote: »
    I'd start by checking the plug leads. Very common fault on VAG engines of that vintage.

yeah,that sounds about right unless the headgasket is gone or moisture in the distributor cap,all very simple to check by a mechanic

I bought the car this time last year, a mechanic in bray sold it to me. he said it was taken in as a trade in and he hadn't touched it. the only thin i know with regards to cars is how to drive and it drove fine so i took it.. since then i got a mate to change the brake pads and drain and cchange the oil. I have never had it professionaly serviced. I can't afford a new car and this one only cost 1000 euro so my concern is that i don't want to spend 200/300 euro on service and possibly parts and then not see any real results??

What you guys think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,620 ✭✭✭Graham_B18C

I bought the car this time last year, a mechanic in bray sold it to me. he said it was taken in as a trade in and he hadn't touched it. the only thin i know with regards to cars is how to drive and it drove fine so i took it.. since then i got a mate to change the brake pads and drain and cchange the oil. I have never had it professionaly serviced. I can't afford a new car and this one only cost 1000 euro so my concern is that i don't want to spend 200/300 euro on service and possibly parts and then not see any real results??

What you guys think?
    If your mate changed the oil then he obviously has a lil bit of knowledge, changind the oil is the worst part of a service.

Ask him will he do it for you and buy him a few pints for it (pints is the preffered currency with my friends) then go to Consort in Finglas and tell them you want a service pack for a 97 1L Ibiza, they'll give you the Plugs, Air Filter, Oil Filter and Oil. Should cost around 50 quid and can be done in about an hour.

I wouldn't go to a Mechanic with a car like that for a service. It aint hard at all. But get someone who knows a bit to show you how first.

Just remembered, I actually got the tool for the spark plugs with the service kit, it was 50 or 55 euro, that was for a 1L Micra, I reckon your's would be about the same price!

Ok, so just got the car serviced. turns out ther is a misfire in the cylinder valve or something like that and its not worth getting fixed.. feck it anyway.

now i'm just gonna drive the car into the ground and then get a new engine installed prob a 1.2L and keep it as 1L on the books. Thanks to everyone for their advice but now i need some more regarding buying an engine and getting it installed???

anyone help.????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭Tipsy Mac

now i'm just gonna drive the car into the ground and then get a new engine installed prob a 1.2L and keep it as 1L on the books. Thanks to everyone for their advice but now i need some more regarding buying an engine and getting it installed???

anyone help.????

Quick tip, this means your insurance policy is invalidated and if you are in a crash your insurance company is likely to initiate legal action against you to recover their costs. The gardai could also seize the car for fraud. Your saving in not declaring will be €51 in road tax, insurance won't go up too much either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Second hand engine would set you back about €450 to €500.
    Ring around a few mechanic's.

Just rang Summerhill Spares. They seem pretty switched on. 700 for the engine fitted and new clutch, timing belt, full service Etc!!!

really happy with that. do you think its a good price??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Very good price, i'd go for it.

It's a 1.4L too so **** quick haha now i need te get the tinted windows and alloys and body kit haha

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭SV

It's a 1.4L too so **** quick haha now i need te get the tinted windows and alloys and body kit haha

Oh god.
    Oh god oh god oh god.

:(

SV wrote: »
    Oh god.
    Oh god oh god oh god.

:(

Hahahahahaha made me laugh
    thanks

Ok guys,

So the car is in with summerhill spares since monday and they're going to put a 1.4L engine into it?? I'l blog again after i've driven her around for a while and let you know how she's driving.

For now though I would like some info on how to get my car tuned up???
    What Parts should i be looking for that would increase:1.Accelleration
    2. Speed 3. BHP 4. Handling ETC????

Hope somebody can give me some info. I'm only putting about a grand into it over the next 6 months so i'm on a budget.

Appreciate any help you can offer???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

Ok guys,

So the car is in with summerhill spares since monday and they're going to put a 1.4L engine into it?? I'l blog again after i've driven her around for a while and let you know how she's driving.

For now though I would like some info on how to get my car tuned up???
    What Parts should i be looking for that would increase:1.Accelleration
    2. Speed 3. BHP 4. Handling ETC????

Hope somebody can give me some info. I'm only putting about a grand into it over the next 6 months so i'm on a budget.

Appreciate any help you can offer???

1 simple solution, buy a faster car!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

They feel peppy enough with the 1.4 (well a Cordoba I drove once did despite only 60 brake). I'd limit yourselt to a nice set of wheels and a decent set of tyres to be honest. Not a lot you can do to them performance wise really and any gains would be minimal.

Or trade it in...

EPM wrote: »
    They feel peppy enough with the 1.4 (well a Cordoba I drove once did despite only 60 brake). I'd limit yourselt to a nice set of wheels and a decent set of tyres to be honest. Not a lot you can do to them performance wise really and any gains would be minimal.

Or trade it in...

Alri thanks for that, had that feeling all along, It's not a sports car!! haha
    But non the less, at the very least it's gonna look nice so alloys and tints are a must. I was thinking to get it resprayed but cant seem to find any info on the net on places in dublin???

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,563 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

This thread has suddenly become in the wrong forum. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

A respray will cost you a lot more than a grand...and be careful that the tints you use are legal and all that. You should try posting something in the modified motors forum maybe