Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Managing your bankroll

• 27-09-2009 6:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what way people operate their bankroll, ive been doing quite well this year betting mainly on just singles and doubles in the soccer. I started off with 100e and am almost up to 500. However anytime i win money i try and make withdrawals because ive found that when i get past the 150e mark on my bankroll i tend to get sloppy and lose my disapline, dont know what it is but the system is working for me and wondering what way other lads operate or do yas just let your money accumalate or take it out of your account/spend as it comes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I write down everything. It helps me keep track of things and helps me to see mistakes more easily.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭kart

Yes writing down everything helps a lot.
    I notice that by keeping track of your losses and winnings every period - take a month for example - it helps you to keep the discipline and is actually more than interesting to read afterwards:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,242 ✭✭✭In_tuition

On average I lay out €150 in bets per week, always make sure that part of that fund has a golf bet and a football bet. I withhold %25 of any winnings and put it into an betting bank for the likes of Cheltenham, football championships, darts events, stuff like that. The remaining %75 is usually spent on the house, clothes, weekend getaways. I've landed quite a few big golf bets so over the last couple of years I've managed to spend my winnings rather than try and spin them up. I always had the outlook that "it's not my money" so spin it up and win a big amount, it's happened on occasions but it's a foolish outlook and it's not such a great attitude when you have a family to support. I can afford €150 a week but that's about it, I love to have a bet when watching sport on tv but bets are usually kept to a minimum of 10's. The days of betting huge amounts are long gone, if you bet small and be sensible you can actually enjoy a bet more, in the past I've had large sums on certain events and there is no fun in it, having a 50 euro treble on the weekend with them all winning and 2 minutes to go and you sitting on the edge of your seat is a better buzz than having 2 grand on a nag at 1/2 and when you see the money flooding in prior to the off you are nearly at the counter ready to collect only to be fooled when the race actually goes off and it's hammered. No craic in that. Keep it small, keep in sensible and get your money back in your pocket when you can.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,752 ✭✭✭wb

The best thing I ever done was learn how to use excel and it's helped me no-end.

It's a bit boring and tedious, but I record every bet I make and the type of bet etc. Even if I'm out and about at the racecourse or the bookie shop or whatever, I stick it in a little notebook and put it in the spreadsheet later on.

It's a real eye-opener after a few months when you use the filter function and sort certain types of bet and it's certainly stopped me from doing many 'fun' bets of a fiver or tenner here and there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 344 ✭✭FunnyStuff

average out your weekly betting amounts, so say if you bet an average of 100 euro a week, keep two weeks worth of bets on your betting sites, then hold the rest in moneybookers or netteller, that way harder to get sloppy and blow the lot