Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"I'm after doing it again"

• 27-09-2009 12:32pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭

Out travelling at the moment and the girl I'm travelling with has been slagging me about using the phrase "I'm after doing it again". Don't use it for everything but said it the other day and she hadn't a clue what I meant. Genuinely didn't.

Then we asked some other English folk and they hadn't a clue what it meant either.

Is it correct English or is it just one of them Irishisms?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

You're after doing it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

Do it again and I'll tell you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

What did you do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭m3llowship

The whole "I'm after" is a total Irishism!

We are the only ones that use it.

"Im after eating too much"

"I'm only after cleaning those windows"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

Yup, it's just an Irish thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

its not really bad grammer but its adding a repetition of a past tense (after.....again) which is probably why they are confused

- "I've done it again" would be more correct.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 371 ✭✭Kradock

m3llowship wrote: »
    "Im after eating too much"

"I'm only after cleaning those windows"

Fair play , after I eat too much , I couldn't get up and clean the windows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 633 ✭✭✭Warfi

I think it's called Hiberno-English. I used to teach English in Japan, and you can imagine their confusion when I told them 'I have done' is the same as 'I'm after doing'. The people I lived with (English speakers from Oz and the States) couldn't understand me either! I didn't realise I was saying 'Im after' until they pointed it out.
    I heard somewhere before that it comes directly from Irish eg Tá mé tar éis an leabhar a léamh-I'm after reading the book.,
    Another one that's supposed to come directly from Irish is when some people say 'The dog died on me', people from 'out foreign' might take that very literally:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

kraggy wrote: »
    Out travelling at the moment and the girl I'm travelling with has been slagging me about using the phrase "I'm after doing it again".

She can't slag you with her mouth full.... ;)

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,054 ✭✭✭✭Professey Chin

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    What did you do?
    More importantly, who did you do?
    The girl youre travelling with?
    Is she hot?
    Pics?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Warfi wrote: »
    I think it's called Hiberno-English. I used to teach English in Japan, and you can imagine their confusion when I told them 'I have done' is the same as 'I'm after doing'. The people I lived with (English speakers from Oz and the States) couldn't understand me either! I didn't realise I was saying 'Im after' until they pointed it out.
    I heard somewhere before that it comes directly from Irish eg Tá mé tar éis an leabhar a léamh-I'm after reading the book.,
    Another one that's supposed to come directly from Irish is when some people say 'The dog died on me', people from 'out foreign' might take that very literally:pac:

Way to go, ruin a thread with facts why don't ya! Aw. :pac:

chin_grin wrote: »
    Way to go, ruin a thread with facts why don't ya! Aw. :pac:
    Suas do thóin féin :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

But it makes perfect sense? I'm currently in the state after I've done something. It describes present and past tense at the same time, all these other countries should speak proper English like we do be speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

It's a direct translation from the Irish "táim tar éis..."

I like our Hiberno-English. If we don't have our own language really anymore at least we have made the English language our own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

Piste wrote: »
    It's a direct translation from the Irish "táim tar éis..."

I like our Hiberno-English. If we don't have our own language really anymore at least we have massacred the English language to make up for it.

fyp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Piste

Tomayto-Tamahto ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

so what you are just after doing, you've done it before so "your after doing it again"

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,514 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

and because there is no one word for yes in Irish, you never get a straight ans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Purple Gorilla

I've noticed that...also "amn't" is an Irishism

and because there is no one word for yes in Irish, you never get a straight ans.

And I think that's why you hear people saying 'I am' or 'I did' instead of just plain old 'Yes'. Comes from the Irish way of answering using the original verb from the question such as 'Tá' or 'Bhí'.
    It's considered rude to reply ' 'Sea' to a question in Irish, similar to today's version of 'yeah, whatever'.
    I'm going to be kicked off this forum for dragging it down with no nonsense, hard hitting facts.

I'm tellin' it like it is, mofos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭MrEko

Warfi wrote: »
    And I think that's why you hear people saying 'I am' or 'I did' instead of just plain old 'Yes'. Comes from the Irish way of answering using the original verb from the question such as 'Tá' or 'Bhí'.
    It's considered rude to reply ' 'Sea' to a question in Irish, similar to today's version of 'yeah, whatever'.
    I'm going to be kicked off this forum for dragging it down with no nonsense, hard hitting facts.

I'm tellin' it like it is, mofos.

Somebody call Bollocko and get this guy out. If people start making sense in AH it might tarnish our bad reputation.

I'm a girl. That's probably tarnishing the bad name of After Hours too:p

(my plans are finally coming to fruition)

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I had a similar arguement with a few aussies a few years ago. One of them said he "just about caught the train", which in his lingo meant he almost caught it, but not quite, and when I said that if he "just about caught the train", then he would have barely made it, but he would have, he was taken aback. It was while I was working in London, and it tuned out that it was the few Aussies vs the Irish and English on that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

5starpool wrote: »
    I had a similar arguement with a few aussies a few years ago. One of them said he "just about caught the train", which in his lingo meant he almost caught it, but not quite, and when I said that if he "just about caught the train", then he would have barely made it, but he would have, he was taken aback. It was while I was working in London, and it tuned out that it was the few Aussies vs the Irish and English on that one.

To me it means he didnt catch it. He missed it by a close margin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Out travelling at the moment and the girl I'm travelling with has been slagging me about using the phrase "I'm after doing it again"

Terrible pillow talk to be honest OP. She was right to be annoyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Terrible pillow talk to be honest OP. She was right to be annoyed.

Maybe he was after doing it again a bit early.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭jaysusjones

Out travelling at the moment and the girl I'm travelling with has been slagging me about using the phrase "I'm after doing it again". Don't use it for everything but said it the other day and she hadn't a clue what I meant. Genuinely didn't.

Then we asked some other English folk and they hadn't a clue what it meant either.

Is it correct English or is it just one of them Irishisms?

I found the same with saying "Giving out to" when I was traveling, nobody knew what that meant either.

I found it was hard to explain without sounding all "Ye Olde English"...Yep Scold

Or maybe the Irish are the only ones who give out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I found the same with saying "Giving out to" when I was traveling, nobody knew what that meant either.

I found it was hard to explain without sounding all "Ye Olde English"...Yep Scold

Or maybe the Irish are the only ones who give out :)

Pretty easy concept to explain really. Maybe you just ain't good at speakeh de engrish?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 115 ✭✭jaysusjones

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Pretty easy concept to explain really. Maybe you just ain't good at speakeh de engrish?

Oh and Arrogance, I really hate Arrogance

Oops Wrong Thread
    I'm after doing it again :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

This reminds me of when I said to an American, "Jesus, i cant stick listenin to this tool all night" Cue blank expression until i explained that the word "stick" is analogous to "stand" in this case. I mean, youd think these foreigners could join the dots on this stuff! I hear all sorts of mangled english from other nationalities and I can get the basic message everytime. We're just superior I spose!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭In All Fairness

Piste wrote: »
    Tomayto-Tamahto ;)

For some reason this made me think of Pearl Harbour. I'll have to give up the spliff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I'm after reading the last three pages of this thread and I'm after deciding it's ****e.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kraggy

thanks for the replies guys and gals.

Though the Brits don't use it, I'm still not going to concede on this one. If you break it up it makes grammatical sense. To me anyway.

Should have copped that it came from Irish as I'm and Irish speaker myself.

Ah well, until I find some answers elsewhere, I'm still not giving in. Don't want to give her an even bigger head than she has :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

Ah well, until I find some answers elsewhere, I'm still not giving in. Don't want to give her an even bigger head than she has :p

Well if you want her to give you some head, I'd suggest giving it up so you don't bother her even more! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,918 ✭✭✭✭orourkeda

Why couldnt you just say i've done it again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 398 ✭✭Hydroquinone

In England "Are you after X?" means "Do you want X?". Not as in Hiberno English, where we all know it means "Have you already had X"

If your woman is English, that's why there's a disconnect. Though I bet if she asked you "So are you after a bit of hot hot lovin', IrishStud?" you'd understand her well enough.
    I mean, you and she would presumably both already know you've not just had some, so what kind of a half wit would you be to answer "No"? :D

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Nor is their a word for No.

And while there are a few words like the Spanish Mañana, none of them convey the same overwhelming sence of urgency.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

orourkeda wrote: »
    Why couldnt you just say i've done it again

Is that you Britney? ;):)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭mental07

Is it true that the expression 'giving out' comes from 'ag tabhairt amach'? I've never heard any non-Irish people use 'giving out'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭Reindeer

Agricola wrote: »
    This reminds me of when I said to an American, "Jesus, i cant stick listenin to this tool all night" Cue blank expression until i explained that the word "stick" is analogous to "stand" in this case. I mean, youd think these foreigners could join the dots on this stuff! I hear all sorts of mangled english from other nationalities and I can get the basic message everytime. We're just superior I spose!

That's because, with our accents, to an American it sounded like you said, 'I cvnt stick ..."