Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Traffic Corps not a "money making" unit..

• 27-09-2009 10:44am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/traffic-corps-not-just-after-easy-targets-1897902.html?from=dailynews
    wrote:
    A senior garda figure has strenuously denied that the 1,200-strong traffic corps is a revenue-raising machine, but admitted there are some traffic gardai still adopting "shooting fish in a barrel" tactics in prosecuting motorists.

Some 248,000 motorists were issued with on-the-spot fines last year for speeding, using mobile phone and not wearing seat belts. With the fixed fine of €80, this suggests a total of around €20m for these three categories alone and there are 378 other offences under Road Traffic laws. What really incenses drivers is the "stupid" policing tactics where multiple prosecutions are issued for what are seen as petty reasons.

In recent weeks motorists on the dual carriageway in Stillorgan in south Dublin were prosecuted for driving in the bus lane just minutes before the 7pm restriction was lifted and the lane opened to ordinary traffic.

And there was uproar in Kerry last month after a considerable number of people travelling to Croke Park were prosecuted for speeding on the Naas Road at Newlands Cross where the 120km speed limit on the motorway suddenly reduces to 60km.

Gardai reject criticism of this particular exercise, saying that the traffic approaching the M50 intersection on the Naas Road, particularly at times where large numbers of country drivers are heading for Croke Park, is a serious worry. But Conor Faughnan of the AA sees some of the traffic policing as "peevish".

"On the Naas Road the motorist approaching Dublin has been on motorway since Portlaoise and suddenly the limit drops suddenly from 120km to 60km per hour with no clues in the landscape. That is precisely the worst place to put a speed cop. It is peevish and I really do think it is contrary to good policing. The AA are in favour of strict policing -- we have no sympathy for people talking on mobile phones.

"Irish people are actually pretty well-behaved, particularly when it comes to bus lanes. We had one of our counterparts over from Barcelona and he could not believe we were so compliant.

"In the vast majority of cases gardai are quite humane and civilised, but most of us can point to an experience where there isn't that human interaction. I think that some times they can be a little overzealous, where the letter of the law is being applied to a forensic extent."

Mr Faughnan said that, overall, he believed the traffic corps was making remarkable gains and that the nationwide analysis on collision-prone stretches of road would help direct resources at the most dangerous roads. The two worst stretches of road in Ireland are the Tallaght by-pass, with 15 deaths in 10 years, and the Kildare to Jamestown Road, also with 15 deaths.

Over the summer the traffic corps placed major emphasis on the reduction of drink-driving and carried out 105,000 mandatory alcohol tests between June and September. Compared to the same three-month period last year, detection rates were down by 75 per cent, with only 512 people failing the test or refusing to give a sample.

In a statement on these figures the Garda said: "Traffic injuries are a major health problem and alcohol is an important risk factor. It is well known that driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs increases the risk of involvement in a road collision.''

Provisional figures this year up to the September 8 indicate that over 31,000 collisions have been reported to gardai compared with 35,000 last year. There have been 206,000 fixed-charge notices in respect of other offences under the Road Traffic Act.

Whilst nobody advocates speeding etc. I'm pretty sure the ratio of petty enforcement outweighs reasonable execution of the laws by 5:1.

I love the way the all knowing Conor Faughnan gets his oar in all things traffice related, always good for a quote :rolleyes: What does he actually do :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

Sizzler wrote: »
    I love the way the all knowing Conor Faughnan gets his oar in all things traffice related, always good for a quote :rolleyes: What does he actually do :confused:

He works for a breakdown and recovery firm from the UK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,508 ✭✭✭omerin

i passed the ford petrol station on the east side of macroom and for 2 days this week there was 2 guards in an unmarked car doing a speed check in a 60km p/hr area. an area where no one has died and i would doubt if there has been a serious accident. it was like shooting fish in a barrel, yet the main cork to macroom road has claimed many lives and i would prefer if their time was occupied in garda cars patrolling that. i am sure this isn't an isolated case as i have seen them on the back road to ballincollig as well in another 60km road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

if its not a money making exercise would the Gardai/Government be willing to donate the fines they accrue to charity.

even if they did it for one whole year - how often would we see the gardai "shooting fish in a barrell" .... it would allow the Gardai to get some fantastic PR and several charities could benefit - the public would be happy in the knowledge that the money is actually going to a good cause and the media could spin on people appealing against speeding fines
    (heartless feckers not willing to help out charities :P)

like everything that the government are involved in - I'd love to see transparency - where does the money go ? (wasnt the bag levy supposed to be spent on the roads - now theres a proposal to increase it.... but no mention of what happens to the money - a lot of road projects have been scrapped - but this money is still coming in)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭AugustusMaximus

If it were not a money making exercise then there would be no fines and the penalty points would be enough of a deterent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭mikkael

trad wrote: »
    He works for a breakdown and recovery firm from the UK

Indeed. The AA also sell car insurance in Ireland. It's great to hear Conor Faughnan talking about insurance statistics / young male drivers. You just can't beat those impartial comments :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,786 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

"On the Naas Road the motorist approaching Dublin has been on motorway since Portlaoise and suddenly the limit drops suddenly from 120km to 60km per hour with no clues in the landscape. That is precisely the worst place to put a speed cop. It is peevish and I really do think it is contrary to good policing. The AA are in favour of strict policing -- we have no sympathy for people talking on mobile phones.

I think Conor needs an eye test if he thinks its motorway (120kph) all the way to Newland's Cross, it's 100kph dual carriageway since Naas! 100->60 sounds a lot but it's effectively the same as slowing from 60mph->40mph which was the norm in ye olde times when approaching towns/villages. 120->60kph sounds more dramatic and sensationalist though. Why does he need clues in the landscape, are road signs not enough anymore?