Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bernard Dunne

• 26-09-2009 11:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭

that pikey came accross as if he was going to win from the start , he thought he could just coast this match and take his cheque.

fair play to that little thai boxer, he knocked the **** out of dunne.
    at least we wont have to see any more of dunne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

So he lost then, I like watching fights but I just can't watch Dunne. I don't view him as a fighter at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Bringthethunder

Odysseus wrote: »
    So he lost then, I like watching fights but I just can't watch Dunne. I don't view him as a fighter at all.

He'd still knock you out though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

Typical, anything that goes well for the Irish, we immediately despise it.

He'd still knock you out though.

He just might, but then again he just might not. Nothing is certain in a fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

I actually like Dunne, was disappointed to see him lose after he made a good start.

Before I forget, IBTL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

jumpguy wrote: »

I think it's more the fact that he's a Dub and he lost. plenty of "Irish" like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭SoWatchaWant

Ha? Wtf is that supposed to mean?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 197 ✭✭Bringthethunder

Odysseus wrote: »
    He just might, but then again he just might not. Nothing is certain in a fight.

No your right. Im sure you could knock out a former world champion. Leave Dunne alone.

It nothing to do with his nationality, I just don't think he he is a world class boxer. I respect his determination in relation to his training, but that's about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

no, dunne is not a good boxer. peroid.

anytime he fights a decent boxer he fails

No your right. Im sure you could knock out a former world champion. Leave Dunne alone.

I never said that now did I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 908 ✭✭✭Whiskey Devil

Pikey? You've been watching too many English gangster films. Since when did any boxer act anyway differently to Dunne? Not a huge fan of the sport in general, but I like the sportsmanship in boxing. I felt really sorry for him tonight. Came across great in the interview.

That would be my point.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

that pikey came accross as if he was going to win from the start , he thought he could just coast this match and take his cheque.

Yeah, shame on Bernard for re-lighting the boxing spirit in Ireland!

He gave it a shot, which is more than you've ever done. It always amazes me at the amount of begrudgers there are in Ireland. The guy won a european title, a world title and gave the Irish sporting world something to look forward to.

He lost tonight after a strong start, but so what? He's human, and it just so happens that he got caught with a good punch and it shook his legs. Anyone who has fought in a combat sport can attest to how weak you feel after getting rocked.

Fair play to Bernard, he gave it a shot. Fair play to Poonsawat, he's a good little fighter and we knew that coming into the fight. I wish the best for him in his career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 392 ✭✭TirNaNog.

He wouldnt of been world champion if he wasnt a good boxer .. you Idiots!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭cashback

I really can't see anything about Dunne that's particularly dislikable.
    Maybe he talks himself up a bit but he's a boxer, and a boxer without confidence is just a punch bag.
    At least he doesn't engage in a lot of the crap other boxers do by completely disrespecting opponents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,962 ✭✭✭jumpguy

So how'd he get the world title in the first place?

It annoys me how people can blame someone who lost for their country, be it a rugby team, soccer team or boxer. People who've never played rugby in their life saying "So and so should've done this, he was dire". For ****'s sake, if you think you can do better, go away and do it yourself and see how you get on. Stick up for the bit of sporting skill we have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

OP is clearly a troll. Its a thread to provoke.

Do not feed the troll.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Yes he is. From a technical standpoint, Bernard is one of the best. His chin just doesn't match it.

I guess you missed his fight with Cordoba? 28-2 as a professional boxer, european and world title to show for it. What have you done in boxing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,505 ✭✭✭nevaeh-2die-4

FearDark wrote: »
    OP is clearly a troll. Its a thread to provoke.

Do not feed the troll.

im not a troll ya twat im making a point

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

What you call me... reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

i think you need a hug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭Jackeenboy

A$$HOLE..If he won you would of being saying how great he was, "that little gook got the $hit knocked out of him" etc.ur just a fool!:rolleyes:
    And we will see more of Dunne!

This is what I dislke about AH, people can't express their opinions with name calling coming into. It has happened on both sides here with in few minutes. Make you point,. express your opinion, no need for the idiots twats responses tbh.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Banned. Civility, gentlemen, please.
    No need to say the post is reported like that also, or calling people trolls, be careful.

This is closed, chat about it on the boxing forum.

FearDark wrote: »
    What you call me... reported.

In fairness then the idiots post deserves the same.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

TirNaNog. wrote: »
    He wouldnt of been world champion if he wasnt a good boxer .. you Idiots!

Another break, less name calling.

Jackeenboy wrote: »
    A$$HOLE..If he won you would of being saying how great he was, "that little gook got the $hit knocked out of him" etc.ur just a fool!:rolleyes:
    And we will see more of Dunne!

Missed this, thanks for the reported post.
    Banned.