Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

€40M high-tech 'green' engineering building

• 26-09-2009 8:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.siliconrepublic.com/news/article/13945/randd/300-new-jobs-to-construct-40m-hi-tech-green-engineering-building
    The construction of a €40m "green" engineering building at NUI Galway will result in 300 new construction jobs, the Taoiseach said today. The turning of the sod on the new facility comes just a day after the opening of Microsoft’s €500m data centre in Dublin which makes use of the Irish climate to cool itself and uses just 1pc of the amount of water used by traditional data centres.
    “The new engineering building will be financed through a combination of exchequer funding and resources realised by NUI Galway, including philanthropy,” Taoiseach Brian Cowen TD said.
    “The new building will bring benefits to Galway City and its surrounds by creating jobs for the next two years. Longer term, it will enable NUI Galway to continue to produce excellent engineering graduates supporting the Smart Economy in areas such as innovation and renewable energy technologies,” Cowen said.
    NUI Galway has recently seen soaring engineering programme applications which reflect favourably on carefully thought-out new programmes.
    These include Energy Systems Engineering, designed in response to a growing demand for professional engineers to work in the energy sector. Another new course is Engineering Innovation, which aims to create a new type of electronic engineer with skills in innovation and entrepreneurship essential to delivering the Smart Economy.
    The 14,200 sq-metre engineering building will accommodate the College of Engineering and Informatics, housing 110 staff and about 1100 students.
    It will include "green-building" initiatives, and with its exposed construction design, will itself be utilised as a teaching tool for the students.
    High-tech renewable energy systems, environmentally friendly heat generation using carbon-neutral biomass, rainwater recycling, ground source heat pump, and low-embodied energy construction materials wherever possible will underpin the building’s green credentials and provide working examples for engineering students to study.
    “This new engineering building reflects our commitment to providing students with the highest quality learning experience in engineering education,” the president of NUI Galway, Dr James J Browne, said.
    “NUI Galway enjoys a strong reputation in engineering, evidenced by this year’s increase in undergraduate engineering entry to over 250 students – a 25pc increase on the previous year.
    “This approach to education at NUI Galway is based on the university’s key research strengths and our strong linkage with industrial partners. We offer a range of innovative programmes - from Biomedical to Energy Engineering – which highlights the university’s commitment to the national and regional needs of the Smart Economy,” Browne said.
    Designed by award-winning architects RMJM (Scotland) in partnership with Taylor Architects of Castlebar, Co Mayo, the building will be the largest constructed in one development on the NUI Galway city campus and will be situated to the north of the Quincentennial Bridge.
    BAM Building Ltd has been signed as the main contractor for what will be one of the largest construction projects west of the Shannon and on completion will be the largest engineering building in the country.
    By John Kennedy
    Something for 1100 students to look forward to, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭lumpwood

Have been 'looking forward' to this for the last eight years....might get a year in there if I'm lucky. Sounds pretty swanky....might finally stop the trek to GMIT to 'borrow' their facilities every week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭RichCRX

All be it a good thing...the planning of it all was rubbish.I mean starting building at the start of term so loads of noise and LOADS of confusion about parking...Should have sorted the little things like PROPER PARKING(not some ****ty thing miles away in corrib village).

What were they doing during the summer...nothing!awful badly timed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

tbh, just get a bike!

<.<
    >.>

Seriously though, the college has always been badly disorganised when it comes to infrastructure (parking is only one symptom) but I think it's partly due to sporadic infrastructural investment. Big name places like Trinity reap a huge amount of regular income through research and tourism that regional colleges like NUIG haven't access to (instead relying mainly on grants and philanthropy it seems). When you don't know when your next going to get the money it can be hard to adequately plan for the future,

And to be frank, a new engineering building is far more important than convenient parking solutions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,563 ✭✭✭leeroybrown

RichCRX wrote: »
    All be it a good thing...the planning of it all was rubbish.I mean starting building at the start of term so loads of noise and LOADS of confusion about parking...Should have sorted the little things like PROPER PARKING(not some ****ty thing miles away in corrib village).

What were they doing during the summer...nothing!awful badly timed.
    There was always going to be confusion regarding parking when term restarted regardless of when the build started. There is no land south of Corrib Village that they could realistically put parking on. The only option would have been a multi-storey and it couldn't be done due to the enormous cost involved. The University is subject to some pretty heavy planning restrictions regarding parking that always make life awkward. The Engineering building project couldn't fully commence until the additional park and stride facility was ready to open. I don't think that it could have been ready any sooner due to planning objections stalling it. There are always planning objections to any development on campus, particularly when car parking is involved.

Sorry but lack of funding is a load of bollix!!!

What with it being college of the year and all,im sure it isn't too overshadowed when it comes to funding us poor little rural college...HA!!

oh and shall I remind ye our president is earning more than O'Bama and still refuses to take a pay cut.

Oh ya not to mention you need STUDENTS to attend your college therefore STUDENT satisfaction always must come first!!!after all we are funding the college to!And if your telling me that they can't even f**kin tarmac that small ****ty little carpark near the kingfisher then you must be living in LA LA land.

Tell me this...why couldn't they have put this new engineering building where the new park and ride place is and leave the car parks where they were and just expand them...along with making use of the wasted grass are right across from the kingfisher.If they were building it out in corrib village then there would have been less problems and less noise.(Half the buildings are already built miles away from the college so corrib village wouldn't have been to far away from it.And don't mention planning objections and all that...This is Ireland...and in case you haven't been in touch with the last few years...theres been nothing but corruption in planning.

If they were building it out in corrib village then there would have been less problems and less noise.(Half the buildings are already built miles away from the college so corrib village wouldn't have been to far away from it.

That'd never work...engineers don't like to walk!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

Oh ya not to mention you need STUDENTS to attend your college therefore STUDENT satisfaction always must come first!!!after all we are funding the college to!And if your telling me that they can't even f**kin tarmac that small ****ty little carpark near the kingfisher then you must be living in LA LA land.

I was at a meeting on parking there a few years ago and apparently they wanted planning permission for a car park where the gravel car park is by the Kingfisher but the council refused it as they were developing one of the few remaining green areas of the college.

So they just put gravel over it instead so it's not really a car park.

Also as most students don't pay proper fees (until now) we're hardly the major funders...or are we? maybe I'm wrong.

I agree the presidents salary is a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭JerryHispano

The building is sorely needed. As it is, engineering students have to travel between the regular college and the crap buildings in Nun's Island. And 1st and 2nd yr Mechanical and Biomedical Engineers have to use GMIT's machines once a week because NUIG has none! The building is far more important than parking.

Ah please re-read my posts...I never once said the building wasn't needed now did I?

I think it is needed to...but you can't hide away all the other problems just by saying "oh were building this 40million green tech engineering building" and hoping everyone will go along with it.Just like the building parking places are needed for years and years and years...still nothing done.

And its not just parking thats wrong with the place...I could go on all day about other things...

Planning/Organisation and Providing Information...very big problem in the place IMO!

Ah Davis, ya did say to put the building out where the parkin is ;).

burkey is that u?:D

I said relocate it...didn't say it wasn't needed!

Tis meself alright. Took me ages to figure out who u were:D

But the engineering building should have been built before
    Aras Moyola,
    the Marine science institute,
    the other place on the way in from town,
    the Gym,
    and the damn new nurses library attached to the old library.

The Eng building has to go there cos there's nowhere left.

Stupid planners

Perhaps the University just finds people who bicker about car parking irksome and has developed a planning strategy to deliberately wind them up.

but there was place out in corrib village for it to where this mighty car park is now!

Ya just proved my point that NUIG can't plan for ****e!Thanks for taking my side haha

@leeroybrown-very creative input there thanks!!NUIG is doing you well.

If you feel so strongly about car parking that you'd rather have large sections of the student body disconnected from the main campus then IMHO the University shouldn't really be listening to you. There'd be a shuttle bus running up to that car park right now if the recession hadn't killed off every little bit of funding left in the country.

The University plans its building projects based on three main factors: 1) strategic priority, 2) availability of funding and 3) likelihood of planning permission. The Engineering building has been a high priority for many years but due to the scale of the project funding it has been a major problem. Over the years it's moved further up the priority list as other projects have been completed. These three factors, combined with the delays that planning permission often causes result in the projects happening out of sync with each other as and when the University can begin them. They've got limited control over that.

The other buildings were put where they are for a reason. Aras Moyola has about 40% the floor area that the new Engineering building will have so the site would never have fit it. The Marine Science Building was built many years ago with requirements regarding its site and its annex (the new grey building) had to go beside it. Any extensions to the library should logically be beside it, with the nursing library finally moving that function from unsuitable rented accommodation in Dangan Business Park and a planning application in progress for a larger library extension. The Engineering building and the Sports Centre were planned at the same time along with the park and (st)ride with the parking moving temporarily from site to site. The Eng building is a build on a scale of size, cost and complexity well beyond anything else added to campus in a long time.

The college also has to deal with strict planning requirements regarding the number and position of car parking spaces and has a number of serial complainants and planning objectors who'd only love to jump on an opportunity to have a go. The only option available that could have kept the spaces in the park and (st)ride south of Corrib Village was a multi-storey carpark which was assessed and found to be impossible from a cost point of view.

I'm not the biggest fan of some of the things that NUIG's management do at the best of times but I do think that the building programme is one thing that is actually going relatively well considering the complexities involved.

Its not only parking!!!

Why was the new sports centre put where it is and not out near dangan where the sports grounds are?

Why is there a waste of green area across from the kingfisher with could be used as an expansion to the small potholed gravelly carpark?

Why can't the engineering building be where the park and ride is?Lots of buildings like the clincial science,school of film and digital media etc... are detached from the "main" college and people have to walk.

Why isn't there proper sign posting in the college?Time and time again I've heard visitors say how they can't find any of the places.

If theres such poor funding(wouldn't think so though) why doesn't our president take a pay cut and perhaps use the extra money from that to actually tarmac the crappy student carpark one...surely the students of the college could do with a tarmac carpark instead of a gravel one full of potholes.*notice* the new STAFF carpark beside the cairnes building is tarmac...how convienient:rolleyes:

How come dicommisoning of computer suites or renewing of toilets,could not be done during the summer?

What is aras na macleinn(sp) actually been used for anymore?

Why couldn't they have made a 50 metre swimming pool in the sports centre so they could actually hold professional gala's there?

If the park and ride system was such a great idea...why are people parking on the side of the newcastle road...and hence narrowing the road?

Why do people think NUIG...College of the year...gets neglected when it comes from funding from the governement when they clearly don't...i do believe the extension to the library,a sports centre and now this new engineering building have been and are being built in the space of a year...all very costly projects...surely must have money somewhere.

What would make people thinking NUIG,college of the year,a national university,would have trouble getting planning permission,in a corrupt irish planning system?

Why were the college student accomodation sites all put where they were...miles away from the actual college,all scattered from each other and without even a direct free bus facility from them to the college...after all they seem to cost a fortune surely they could afford to run a bus link.

Why do the college let there staff give out the exact same exam paper as the previous year?

couldn't be arsed going on...

Its not only parking!!!

Why was the new sports centre put where it is and not out near dangan where the sports grounds are?

Why can't the engineering building be where the park and ride is?Lots of buildings like the clincial science,school of film and digital media etc... are detached from the "main" college and people have to walk.

As the previous poster said, it makes more sense to have the main buildings as close to the centre of campus as possible. Do you really think 1100 engineering students and staff should have to walk to Corrib village and back a few times a day? Having spent the last four years walking up and down from Nun's Island ,a seven minute walk, I can assure you that even the 15 minute walk to corrib village will become quite tedious.

Parking is quite a temporary thing, as I'm sure you can appreciate by the constant opening and closing of car parks around the college...it makes more sense that something permanent like the engineering building is kept centrally.

Regarding corruption in planning, I presume you are joking? Do you really think a project like this is open to corruption. Let me remind you that its taken many years to even get permission to put this building where it is now...hardly sounds like college got its own way here.

Funding for this building was acquired quite a while back so its really not coming out of the college coffers this year. And you and I are paying for the gym, along with private investment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 942 ✭✭✭whadabouchasir

Why were the college student accomodation sites all put where they were...miles away from the actual college,all scattered from each other and without even a direct free bus facility from them to the college...after all they seem to cost a fortune surely they could afford to run a bus link.
    This is what happens everywhere,and it's even worse in Dublin especially trinity where the student accomadation is miles away.I do agree with you on the free bus though.

Tell me this...why couldn't they have put this new engineering building where the new park and ride place is and leave the car parks where they were and just expand them...

I can't believe you're being serious. Put the engineering building off campus? One of the largest and most important faculties in the college been given a
    lower priority than you're parking needs?

And that's exactly why parking should be off campus, perhaps space can be found to bring those back to campus in the near future.
    If theres such poor funding(wouldn't think so though) why doesn't our president take a pay cut and perhaps use the extra money from that to actually tarmac the crappy student carpark one...surely the students of the college could do with a tarmac carpark instead of a gravel one full of potholes.*notice* the new STAFF carpark beside the cairnes building is tarmac...how convienient:rolleyes:

because they aren't let.
    Why do people think NUIG...College of the year...gets neglected when it comes from funding from the governement when they clearly don't...i do believe the extension to the library,a sports centre and now this new engineering building have been and are being built in the space of a year...all very costly projects...surely must have money somewhere.

read my original post again. no one was talking about government funding.

If you compare Trinity to NUIG, Trinity has a massive tourist trade and much stronger industrial links and funding. They have far more revenue streams than available to the likes of NUIG. Trinity has been able to afford the purchase of houses around its campus for years. Even now as the recession hit and the budget took a bit hit, they were still able to purchase a few house for a few million. NUIG doesn't have the same resources.

woe-betide the type of student NUIG is producing, if they would prioritise parking over the teaching facilities....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

Back when I was starting Elec Eng in 2002, "By the time you'll be in final year, you will be up in the new engineering building.." :rolleyes:

Badly needed imo.

Ok please read again I never once said this building was not needed...I think its a great thing ok!!!!But think outside the box here...I'm on about the planning on where its being built.
    lumpwood wrote:
    As the previous poster said, it makes more sense to have the main buildings as close to the centre of campus as possible. Do you really think 1100 engineering students and staff should have to walk to Corrib village and back a few times a day? Having spent the last four years walking up and down from Nun's Island ,a seven minute walk, I can assure you that even the 15 minute walk to corrib village will become quite tedious.

Why can't they expand the campus?Why does it have to be so centralised...Build the engineering building along with parking for the engineering staff and students out in corrib village...Therefore they wouldn't even need to go near the "main" campus and the other engineering buildings near the campus no longer being used for that can be used to offer other small courses if they get approval of them.
    lumpwood wrote:
    Parking is quite a temporary thing, as I'm sure you can appreciate by the constant opening and closing of car parks around the college...it makes more sense that something permanent like the engineering building is kept centrally.

I believe parking should not be a temporary thing though as being a temporary thing can cause hazards.THe college should not centralise...it should expand.
    lumpwood wrote:
    Regarding corruption in planning, I presume you are joking? Do you really think a project like this is open to corruption. Let me remind you that its taken many years to even get permission to put this building where it is now...hardly sounds like college got its own way here.

Yes I do believe there is corruption in planning in this country even in big projects.Other "major" projects around the country have shown signs of this.The port tunnel and the m50 but to mention a few.
    lumpwood wrote:
    Funding for this building was acquired quite a while back so its really not coming out of the college coffers this year. And you and I are paying for the gym, along with private investment.

Let them try acquire funding for a multi-storey carpark so...surely it is a high enough priority also.
    This is what happens everywhere,and it's even worse in Dublin especially trinity where the student accomadation is miles away.I do agree with you on the free bus though.

It doesn't happen so much in UL. I know it happens to most colleges that the accomodation can be miles away from the college but it should be priority to the colleges to satisfy there students by offer a method of transport to the students.After all they are already paying big bucks for only ok standard places...nothing brilliant like.
    I can't believe you're being serious. Put the engineering building off campus? One of the largest and most important faculties in the college been given a
    lower priority than you're parking needs?

Never said the building wasn't needed and what defines campus?where all the main buildings for SOME subjects are...surely maybe someone doing BIS or a masters in accounting or something would consider the cairnes building their main campus regardless of where it is located,they probably wouldn't use the IT buildings or concourse...Expand the campus is what I'm saying...It does not have to be so centrallised!!!
    And that's exactly why parking should be off campus, perhaps space can be found to bring those back to campus in the near future.

But having parking off campus is creating a hazard elsewhere...Since the park and ride place has opened..people are parking their cars on the side of the newcastle road...narrowing the road and creating a hazard all because they are trying to park as close to the campus as possible!!!Anyway them buidlings won't be brought back cause the only real car parking thats left around the "main" campus which could be dug up,is STAFF car parks and I very much doubt they will be dug up:rolleyes:
    cause they aren't let.

Bull****...Ya don't need planning permission to tarmac a piece of ground thats already there!!!All the other car parks are tarmac...so no excuse why that one couldn't be either.
    If you compare Trinity to NUIG, Trinity has a massive tourist trade and much stronger industrial links and funding. They have far more revenue streams than available to the likes of NUIG. Trinity has been able to afford the purchase of houses around its campus for years. Even now as the recession hit and the budget took a bit hit, they were still able to purchase a few house for a few million. NUIG doesn't have the same resources.

I wasn't comparing it to trinity...If you want an equal comparison,try making it with UL so.Go down there for a day and see how things are laid out.You'd be suprised.And they wouldn't have all the bells and whistles like trinity.
    woe-betide the type of student NUIG is producing, if they would prioritise parking over the teaching facilities....

I like a good healthy debate,but I don't appreciate personal insults which is what I take this to be.I respect all yere opinions and I'm argueing mine thats all.I don't know any of ye so I don't wish to insult ye so I hope you can do the same...if not then please do not post!

Just a final note...and i'll say it clearly...I NEVER ONCE SAID THIS BUILDING WASN'T NEEDED OR IS A BAD THING...i'm merely saying it could be built elsewhere and that planning could have been better.

These are my opinions and I'm happy to debate them but lets not make this into an insult thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 134 ✭✭InvisibleBadger

Why can't they expand the campus?Why does it have to be so centralised...Build the engineering building along with parking for the engineering staff and students out in corrib village.

Engineering students have lectures in most buildings on campus. Having to walk back and forth from nuns island takes a long time, walking back and forth from the far side of corrib village would be impractical.

Does anyone know if the 'ride' part of park and ride will be starting soon?

The external funding that was supposed to be there to provide the 'and ride' bit has dried up due to the economic mess. The estimated cost of providing the level of service promised originally by the scheme is €100 per permit holder (incl. both student and staff) per annum. Originally there was supposed to be no cost to permit holders so that's a major issue and to my knowledge there's been zero progress in coming to a compromise regarding it.

The estimated cost of providing the level of service promised originally by the scheme is €100 per permit holder (incl. both student and staff) per annum.

How about charging for a permit to offset some of this. I think GMIT charge for theirs. It would certainly cut down numbers of people parking in there anyways.

Regaring the engineering building, many of the lectures in the first two years are shared with other faculties, e.g. science, commerce so it would still be neccessary to go up and down to the main campus. Also to get to the library, NCBES etc.

It doesn't happen so much in UL. I know it happens to most colleges that the accomodation can be miles away from the college but it should be priority to the colleges to satisfy there students by offer a method of transport to the students.After all they are already paying big bucks for only ok standard places...nothing brilliant like.

Ever hear of Chuck Feeney? An Irish American billionaire who has been exceptionally generous to UL in the past.
    Never said the building wasn't needed and what defines campus?where all the main buildings for SOME subjects are...surely maybe someone doing BIS or a masters in accounting or something would consider the cairnes building their main campus regardless of where it is located,they probably wouldn't use the IT buildings or concourse...Expand the campus is what I'm saying...It does not have to be so centrallised!!!

So you'd be happy to walk 15 mins from one lecture to the next? I've had plenty of lectures in Cairnes myself having done economics. Walking down the the concourse in rain is not fun. Indeed, i used cycle most days and even then i'd still be late if a lecture ran over.

But having parking off campus is creating a hazard elsewhere...Since the park and ride place has opened..people are parking their cars on the side of the newcastle road...narrowing the road and creating a hazard all because they are trying to park as close to the campus as possible!!!Anyway them buidlings won't be brought back cause the only real car parking thats left around the "main" campus which could be dug up,is STAFF car parks and I very much doubt they will be dug up:rolleyes:

That does not excuse their behaviour. It is illegal end of story. Besides, i lived over 3 miles from college. I cycled most days in in about 10-15mins. If it was raining i got the bus. If everyone who lives within a 3 mile radius of NUIG did the same there'd be no parking problems. Yet i know people who live little over a mile away who insist on driving wind, rain or shine. That's the real problem at the end of the day.
    Bull****...Ya don't need planning permission to tarmac a piece of ground thats already there!!!All the other car parks are tarmac...so no excuse why that one couldn't be either.

I'm pretty sure you do.

I wasn't comparing it to trinity...If you want an equal comparison,try making it with UL so.Go down there for a day and see how things are laid out.You'd be suprised.And they wouldn't have all the bells and whistles like trinity.

see above.
    I like a good healthy debate,but I don't appreciate personal insults which is what I take this to be.I respect all yere opinions and I'm argueing mine thats all.I don't know any of ye so I don't wish to insult ye so I hope you can do the same...if not then please do not post!

Just a final note...and i'll say it clearly...I NEVER ONCE SAID THIS BUILDING WASN'T NEEDED OR IS A BAD THING...i'm merely saying it could be built elsewhere and that planning could have been better.

These are my opinions and I'm happy to debate them but lets not make this into an insult thing.

Please point out where I insulted you. I'll have my people draft a letter of apology.

kthanxbai

lumpwood wrote: »
    How about charging for a permit to offset some of this. I think GMIT charge for theirs. It would certainly cut down numbers of people parking in there anyways.
    That's the issue that there's been zero progress on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 660 ✭✭✭Claypigeon

On the subject of parking; there's so few spaces at the University that people park EVERYWHERE in Corrib Village from around 9-4 every day. With or without permits, it's still not meant to be done in 90% of the spaces they park in and clamping is a bit pointless since there's no way they have enough clamps or time to punish everyone |:

However I think they're doing something with (what was) the tennis courts in the village, is that going to be more parking?

Regaring the engineering building, many of the lectures in the first two years are shared with other faculties, e.g. science, commerce so it would still be neccessary to go up and down to the main campus. Also to get to the library, NCBES etc.

If you start charging for a permit...people simply won't buy one as the distance of the parking is to far away and other will just resort to parking on sides of roads and in house estates...then for those that do pay...they still won't get there ride service as it won't be feasible.

Well I should hope in time the college are looking at moving most of there lectures and stuff to there designated buildings!!If not provide a bus link to these places as they should be doing already but its just poorly thought out.
    Ever hear of Chuck Feeney? An Irish American billionaire who has been exceptionally generous to UL in the past.

I did and did you see the use his money went to...Not really bad planning there.
    So you'd be happy to walk 15 mins from one lecture to the next? I've had plenty of lectures in Cairnes myself having done economics. Walking down the the concourse in rain is not fun. Indeed, i used cycle most days and even then i'd still be late if a lecture ran over.

I'm doing that walk myself.bit annoying but ya get used to it.But if the college planned things better these walks wouldn't have to be so much...or else like mentioned above...provide an on-campus bus link.
    That does not excuse their behaviour. It is illegal end of story. Besides, i lived over 3 miles from college. I cycled most days in in about 10-15mins. If it was raining i got the bus. If everyone who lives within a 3 mile radius of NUIG did the same there'd be no parking problems. Yet i know people who live little over a mile away who insist on driving wind, rain or shine. That's the real problem at the end of the day.

Not really...loads commute from headford,tuam,loughrea,athenry,spiddal and some from even out in Mayo.Think about all the students in the college...now think about all the student car parking there is...enough said.
    I'm pretty sure you do.

Well then anyone with a tarmac driveway in there home are screwed:D
    Please point out where I insulted you. I'll have my people draft a letter of apology.

You insinutated that I was an idiot by saying "NUIG are producing students like me who prioritise parking over the engineering building"(which I wasn't doing in the first place but anyway)...Just cause you don't like my opinions theres no need for that.

Like touched on by others,I do believe paying for parking is going to come in next year...don't think its a good thing but it will happen.Its just taken away another small privledge the students had.

Can I ask ye this...Do ye think the staff parking around the "main" campus is going to ripped up in future for a new building?honestly...