Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help: Stolen bike - South Dublin

• 26-09-2009 5:21pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭

Its a long shot but feck it...

Someone stole my bike around 2.30pm (Saturday) from Windy Arbour Luas.
    Its a baby blue GT Tour BMX with black wheels. Whoever it was popped the lock like they knew the combo. No damage to the lock as it was sitting where I left it with a different combo to what I use.

Its a fairly unique bike, I havent seen any of them so if someone bumps into please let me know.

Pic is attached.

5500_145089290780_692420780_3885279.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭kincsem

Sorry to hear about the loss. I'll keep a look out for it.

When I was about twelve I had a combination lock. My friend's father worked in insurance. He borrowed my lock (locked), turned his back to me, and handed it back to me opened in less than a minute.

How do we let you know if we see it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 97 ✭✭whicawha

if you drop me a pm i will pass the info onto the gardai.

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Live just down the road, will keep an eye out. Will get my brother to look if he's out in the skatepark in bushy, thats where its most likely to end up being a BMX and all.

You're lucky its such a unique colour.

Live just down the road, will keep an eye out. Will get my brother to look if he's out in the skatepark in bushy, thats where its most likely to end up being a BMX and all.

Thanks very much! I only moved here last week, didnt even get out to Bushy on it. Never even thought about checking there but I will now.....when I figure out were it is.

I am lucky its that colour......could spot it a mile away. Thanks for you help anyway lads! If its found there will defo be a finders fee involved!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

not for long :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

Sorry to hear about that, Ive been offered BMXs by little ****s around rathmines before maybe try there?

Also, Before people go thinking everybody on a baby blue GT tour is a thief, Those bikes were sold by Halfords, they are quite common, so dont go accusing people thinking It has to be the bike.

OP do you have the frame number?

kona wrote: »
    Sorry to hear about that, Ive been offered BMXs by little ****s around rathmines before maybe try there?

Also, Before people go thinking everybody on a baby blue GT tour is a thief, Those bikes were sold by Halfords, they are quite common, so dont go accusing people thinking It has to be the bike.

OP do you have the frame number?

I got my bike in Halfords about a month ago. No frame number....... I think I would know it if I was close up. There are a few scratches and knocks on it that I know if it was mine. Also, if by chance I did bump into someone cycling it I would be fairly confident whoever it was couldn't bull**** the fact they either bought the bike legit, stole it themselves or bought it off a scummer.

Anyway, this is a long shot but any help is appricated!

whicawha wrote: »
    I got my bike in Halfords about a month ago. No frame number....... I think I would know it if I was close up. There are a few scratches and knocks on it that I know if it was mine. Also, if by chance I did bump into someone cycling it I would be fairly confident whoever it was couldn't bull**** the fact they either bought the bike legit, stole it themselves or bought it off a scummer.

Anyway, this is a long shot but any help is appricated!

The frame number is usually on the Bottom Bracket shell, without it there aint much the gards can do.

Most BMXS will have knocks and scratches on it, You cant just rip somebody off the bike for no reason, especially a generic one which are all over skate parks. If you ask somebody where they got their bike, they will just say they bought it, if you get all offensive they will tell you to **** off.

All Im saying is just be careful, I had a bike robbed a while ago, I got it back, but i had the frame number, and I built it myself, and there are no bikes like it anywhere. Yes I did take it back off a scummer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

Yes I did take it back off a scummer.

did it involve a large Gang and a black Van :D
    no seriously how?

was it like this

" I saay dear fellow I do believe that you have my 2 wheeled non combustion mode of transport there"

scummer: "Oh sorry my boy" [dips hat and hands over the bike] :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Piercemeear

Report it to the Gardaí. Even if you don't have a frame number. If you can describe anything about it that makes it slightly unique (dents, modifications) put that in the report as well.

I was cycling home down Camden street yesterday and I saw a friend's bike, that had been stolen over a year ago, locked up outside a shop. Same bike, quite unique — lots of little mods and scratched paint, but he'd never had the frame number. He'd described it in detail in the report though. He rushed over, locked up the bike with his own lock and called the police. They arrived fifteen minutes later. They had the report on file. Examined the bike, examined his ID, and cut the lock off right there and then and handed the bike to him. Over a year later, no frame number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,662 ✭✭✭RMD

Unlucky, I'll keep any eye out for it in chuckies. Word of advice, having worked in a bike shop I'll tell you this, 9/10 combination locks are weak and give a noticeable click when a correct digit is entered, customer came in before as he had forgotten the combo, wondered if we could help him, colleague had it open in 2 minutes, no damage to the lock.

Locks are as good as the money you pay for them, most locks under 20 quid can be cut with a bolt cutters, sorry you're only finding this out now pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭alfalad

Report it to the Gardaí. Even if you don't have a frame number. If you can describe anything about it that makes it slightly unique (dents, modifications) put that in the report as well.

I was cycling home down Camden street yesterday and I saw a friend's bike, that had been stolen over a year ago, locked up outside a shop. Same bike, quite unique — lots of little mods and scratched paint, but he'd never had the frame number. He'd described it in detail in the report though. He rushed over, locked up the bike with his own lock and called the police. They arrived fifteen minutes later. They had the report on file. Examined the bike, examined his ID, and cut the lock off right there and then and handed the bike to him. Over a year later, no frame number.

That happened to a mates bike, he had it locked outside our work place and it was stolen, luckily there was a security camera on the area so he went to the building security and they said they would get the footage, 5 min later he got a call from the security guard, you'll never believe it but the garda robbed your bike!! Some guy had gone to them saying the same thing as your mate and the they believed him and cut the lock and gave it to him. Thankfully my mate still had the receipt with the frame number from when it bought it new from a shop about three years previous. But it still took the garda a couple of days before they got the bike back for him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭Piercemeear

alfalad wrote: »
    That happened to a mates bike, he had it locked outside our work place and it was stolen, luckily there was a security camera on the area so he went to the building security and they said they would get the footage, 5 min later he got a call from the security guard, you'll never believe it but the garda robbed your bike!! Some guy had gone to them saying the same thing as your mate and the they believed him and cut the lock and gave it to him. Thankfully my mate still had the receipt with the frame number from when it bought it new from a shop about three years previous. But it still took the garda a couple of days before they got the bike back for him!

That's kind of hilarious in a horrible way. I'm guessing it was a case of mistaken identity on the part of the guy who thought it was his bike. Otherwise it'd be pretty ballsy to call the Gardai to nick a bike for you.

I did think about whoever had the biked locked up there. Could have changed hands two or three times in a year, in good faith. Still, I'm sure whoever was riding it Saturday paid a lot less for it than my friend did. And hopefully if they go report it stolen the reports will flag each other.

me@ucd wrote: »
    did it involve a large Gang and a black Van :D
    no seriously how?

was it like this

" I saay dear fellow I do believe that you have my 2 wheeled non combustion mode of transport there"

scummer: "Oh sorry my boy" [dips hat and hands over the bike] :p

Im not articulate enough for that,

Its more like give me back my bike you ****ing thieving scumbag, come near my house again and ill rape you with a bat thats covered in tacks and aids,

People, or parasites, that buy stolen goods knowingly are as bad as the thieving scum. **** them, treat em the the same as the thief.

If there wasnt a market, there wouldnt be supply.

That's kind of hilarious in a horrible way. I'm guessing it was a case of mistaken identity on the part of the guy who thought it was his bike. Otherwise it'd be pretty ballsy to call the Gardai to nick a bike for you.

I did think about whoever had the biked locked up there. Could have changed hands two or three times in a year, in good faith. Still, I'm sure whoever was riding it Saturday paid a lot less for it than my friend did. And hopefully if they go report it stolen the reports will flag each other.

The gardai would give any real detail cause they knew they would get a grilling for cutting the lock. The guy said he bought it in the states and lost the receipt etc so whether is was a case of mistaken identity or he was chancing his arm we'll never know. It was hilarious at the time though, my mate went from gutted to rolling round laughing in a spilt second!

alfalad wrote: »
    The gardai would give any real detail cause they knew they would get a grilling for cutting the lock. The guy said he bought it in the states and lost the receipt etc so whether is was a case of mistaken identity or he was chancing his arm we'll never know. It was hilarious at the time though, my mate went from gutted to rolling round laughing in a spilt second!

If they were really thorough, they should have asked for the customs reciept:D

Cant believe Garda did that without solid proof. Pretty shocking.

If they were really thorough, they should have asked for the customs reciept:D

Cant believe Garda did that without solid proof. Pretty shocking.

Thankfully it all worked out but my mate had to ring round a couple of different Garda station to find out which one was responsible for it and took a bit of time to sort out, was shocking and would love to have been a fly on the wall when the garda was given out to.

The frame number is usually on the Bottom Bracket shell, without it there aint much the gards can do.

Most BMXS will have knocks and scratches on it, You cant just rip somebody off the bike for no reason, especially a generic one which are all over skate parks. If you ask somebody where they got their bike, they will just say they bought it, if you get all offensive they will tell you to **** off.

All Im saying is just be careful, I had a bike robbed a while ago, I got it back, but i had the frame number, and I built it myself, and there are no bikes like it anywhere. Yes I did take it back off a scummer.

i will know my bike if I see it and yes I can and will just rip it from whoever is cycling it. If they tell me **** off then I will tell them to **** off back ha and I will rap the lock they got through round their neck......will see if they can crack it a second time

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭Donny5

i will know my bike if I see it and yes I can and will just rip it from whoever is cycling it. If they tell me **** off then I will tell them to **** off back ha and I will rap the lock they got through round their neck......will see if they can crack it a second time

I'd consider this kind of vigilantism as bad as bike thievery, to be honest, although it's probably just rhetoric. I've had a bike stolen before, an expensive one too, and at the time felt very strongly about it. However, on reflection, it wouldn't be worth an assault charge.

I hope you get him, take that course of action with a innocent person and you will be treated harsh by the gards.

Do that to a scumabg junkie you could be stabbed, get aids, get your ass kicked.

You can expect sombody to jump in against you too thinking youre the thief.

Im just saying becareful, Id feel the same way(I have)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Spotted one of these - exact same bike - yesterday evening. Youngfella probably about 14/15 in a Terenure College uniform, coming out of the apartment which were built on the grounds of Our Lady's. As kona says, they could be a common bike, so it's probably legit, but might be worth your while taking a spin around the Terenure College/Bushy Park area around 5pm.

People have also gone into the Terenure College bike lock-up in the past to rob bikes and conversely to look for their robbed bike, but one doesn't advocate trespassing here...

seamus wrote: »
    Spotted one of these - exact same bike - yesterday evening. Youngfella probably about 14/15 in a Terenure College uniform, coming out of the apartment which were built on the grounds of Our Lady's. As kona says, they could be a common bike, so it's probably legit, but might be worth your while taking a spin around the Terenure College/Bushy Park area around 5pm.

People have also gone into the Terenure College bike lock-up in the past to rob bikes and conversely to look for their robbed bike, but one doesn't advocate trespassing here...

Excellent dude! I will check it out. Not going to do anything rash but if its my bike its coming home with me...... I will keep you informed on how I get on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Careful now, have you reported this to the Gardai yet? If you havent you could possibly be done for theft yourself.

Jumpy wrote: »
    Careful now, have you reported this to the Gardai yet? If you havent you could possibly be done for theft yourself.

It was reported to the Gardai 30mins after the bike was stolen. I will be taking my lock with me, locking the bike up and waiting until the cops come. I have the receipt of purchase and described some distinct scrapes on the top part of the bike to the cops.

I will be going down with 4 or 5 friends so if the little **** tries to do a runner we should have him covered.

I wont be going ape-**** on a 14 year old, not my style! But a few well placed words and questions plus the balls to take the big off him is what I have. If he wants to call mammy or daddy thats all good too! I have no problem dealing with them and the last thing I want is to steal back a bike that isnt even mine in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

"Now where did I say those scrapes were..." ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭Borneo Fnctn

If it is your bike give him a good hiding.

It was reported to the Gardai 30mins after the bike was stolen. I will be taking my lock with me, locking the bike up and waiting until the cops come. I have the receipt of purchase and described some distinct scrapes on the top part of the bike to the cops.

!

So, say if I saw a nice colnago, or a kona stinky, locked up in town, and noticed a few scratches. Reported it stolen to the gards,describing the bike I saw 5 mins ago, then "found" it. and ran back to the gards?

They arent gunna do anything unless you have a reciept and a frame number.

Id be very careful about a group of adults approaching a child and challenging him on the ownership of a bike. Even if he did pinch it, hell know dam well you cant take it unless you can prove its yours, otherwise its your word against his. Unfortunatley the gards dont take sides.

Hope it is your bike though and you get it back, without a charge for assault or harrasment or god knows what else.:mad: The law protects scum, and they are the ones who are familiar with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,232 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

The law protects scum, and they are the ones who are familiar with it.

Too true and so wrong, they seriously need to relax the laws on people protecting their property/goods against scumbag vandals. Anyone breaking into another person's proterty to thiev or possible worse deserves everything the occupant can dish at them in order to protect their possessions/well being. Within reason of course, I'm not saying all thieves should be shot on spot but something needs to be done to protect the owners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 745 ✭✭✭cable842

really sorry about what happened to your bike. But Sorry you should not have locked it there if you take one look at the bike you can see its worth loads.

I left my bike at red cow luas stop ever day for a year and collected it ever morning at 6 am cause I was working.

Thats grand anyhow the day before Christmas eve 2 years ago I left it there went to pick it up heading back home one the day the whole bike was vandalized luas company did not want to know about it at all even thou there were cameras.

They Cut the Brakes they burst the tires but ha ha they couldnt take it with the lock I had on it.

So, say if I saw a nice colnago, or a kona stinky, locked up in town, and noticed a few scratches. Reported it stolen to the gards,describing the bike I saw 5 mins ago, then "found" it. and ran back to the gards?

They arent gunna do anything unless you have a reciept and a frame number.

Check post #13 on that one!