Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Burglary and Attack

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,379 ✭✭✭thebigcheese22

That's absolutely sickening tbh, hope the two students are doing well :(

These scum should be locked up for a long while IMO, stabbing someone just for a few 'electronics' :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,016 ✭✭✭lilmissprincess

Was wandering back up college road yesterday morning at 11-ish and there was a paddy wagon, garda car and garda bike around with about six guards, two guys wearing bandages standing out talking to them...this explains it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Mercy

My friends had there house (behind college nook) broken into aswell, completely trashed. Took 11 people 2 hours to clean the kitchen. I also know of 2 houses on McCurtain Villas being broken into. It's crazy... could have happened any of us. Hope they're doing ok

• Closed Accounts Posts: 99 ✭✭KokaNoodles

Was wandering back up college road yesterday morning at 11-ish and there was a paddy wagon, garda car and garda bike around with about six guards, two guys wearing bandages standing out talking to them...this explains it.
    Saw the same, one man had a bandage round his ear :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

This city is going to the dogs. I've been living here now for 4 years and the place has gotten so bad over the last 6 months. Just last weekend a friend of mine was beaten up by 3 guys outside Hillbillys beside the Peace Park. He was standing outside eating a snack box and they asked him for it. He said no and they jumped on him. My mate is only a little guy. He's skinny and isn't more than 5'7. He had to get stitches in his hand and he has a black eye and some bruising in general around that area.The guys have been caught but I doubt anything serious will be done to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,093 ✭✭✭Amtmann

Tribes is taking a turn for the worse now as well. A lot of rough types are starting to frequent it, especially after 8pm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,299 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

Not surprised at all by this, heard of several break ins already around there, and its only the first week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭AddictedToYou

Furet wrote: »
    Tribes is taking a turn for the worse now as well. A lot of rough types are starting to frequent it, especially after 8pm.

I know. :( Used to be my hide out from the world..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭samf

Mercy wrote: »
    My friends had there house (behind college nook) broken into aswell, completely trashed. Took 11 people 2 hours to clean the kitchen. I also know of 2 houses on McCurtain Villas being broken into. It's crazy... could have happened any of us. Hope they're doing ok

I was living in a house on McCurtain Villas over the summer and the place was robbed when 2 of us were asleep inside. We moved out as soon as it happened and moved to a far more secure house, but I heard the same house was robbed again this week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 Mercy

samf wrote: »
    I was living in a house on McCurtain Villas over the summer and the place was robbed when 2 of us were asleep inside. We moved out as soon as it happened and moved to a far more secure house, but I heard the same house was robbed again this week.

Ha that's the house I was on about Sam, mercy = flynn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,863 ✭✭✭Papa_Lazarou

I was living in sunview terraces over the summer and my friend got car jacked outside our house at about 11pm. Guy came up to him with a screw driver and threatened him and made him drive to blackrock where he made a go to stab him but thankfully cut across his stomach instead of impalling him. The city is becoming a very dangerous place to live in.
    With college getting back into the swing of things i can only see things getting worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭captainspeckle

this is so messed up! :mad:

I read somewhere a while back that statistically, when an economy is in recession, crime rates sky rocket. I'd say this is definately the case... scumbags looking to make a quick buck.

makes me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 766 ✭✭✭Timistry

two guys living next door to the 2 lads in the article above were attacked aswell last week by a pack of knackers. Kicked in the face and everything. one of um is going for a scan because he has a suspected broken nose.... Anarchy reins!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

god this is sickening to hear.
    I only graduated in 08 and while I heard of the odd few break ins, nothing was ever this bad.
    Some serious examples need to be made for these scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 875 ✭✭✭scriba

This is genuinely frightening, while there were always problems with break-ins into student houses from college road all the way out towards glasheen road and barrack street directions, these incidents did not usually involve violence (at least in the past). It all sounds sinister and premeditated to be honest.

Sadly the one thing that won't happen is any sort of serious example being made of this scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 877 ✭✭✭Mario007

ya we almost got killed by 40 scumbags the other night too, if not for a chinese letting us in...its pretty awful if you ask me...i mean 16 year old kids who have no life goals or anything doing stuff like that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭odin_ie

I was living near castlewhite last year, had a hurl beside my bed all year...just in case something like this were to happen. Not a solution to the problem, but sure as hell made me feel safer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭liberal

ive been living in cork all my life

the city goes through cycles, it gets very bad for about 3 months then it clears up

the violence in town is linked to one group that hang outside hillbillies on thurs nights, they dont go college, there's usually about 30 of them ages 16-22 they try to start fights with random people and if the fight escaltes they all group together, they specifically go outside hb to get into fights, it all started because Bondi Beach started letting in people who weren't students on thurs nights, now Bondi Beach is closed but these people still come out despite probably not getting in anywhere

i wouldnt be too worried about them...just aware of them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 291 ✭✭liberal

Mario007 wrote: »
    ya we almost got killed by 40 scumbags the other night too, if not for a chinese letting us in...its pretty awful if you ask me...i mean 16 year old kids who have no life goals or anything doing stuff like that...

they do have life goals..... you were unfortunately the part of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭Byron85

liberal wrote: »
    ive been living in cork all my life

the city goes through cycles, it gets very bad for about 3 months then it clears up

the violence in town is linked to one group that hang outside hillbillies on thurs nights, they dont go college, there's usually about 30 of them ages 16-22 they try to start fights with random people and if the fight escaltes they all group together, they specifically go outside hb to get into fights, it all started because Bondi Beach started letting in people who weren't students on thurs nights, now Bondi Beach is closed but these people still come out despite probably not getting in anywhere

i wouldnt be too worried about them...just aware of them

See my post on the previous page,
    This city is going to the dogs. I've been living here now for 4 years and the place has gotten so bad over the last 6 months. Just last weekend a friend of mine was beaten up by 3 guys outside Hillbillys beside the Peace Park. He was standing outside eating a snack box and they asked him for it. He said no and they jumped on him. My mate is only a little guy. He's skinny and isn't more than 5'7. He had to get stitches in his hand and he has a black eye and some bruising in general around that area.The guys have been caught but I doubt anything serious will be done to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭Nova_era

I would'nt mind the robbery side of it, that's going to happen anywhere, and as someone pointed out we can expect a rise in robbery rates due to the economic climate etc.

But stabbing someone in the back?!?!

That's not something that the police can ignore, that guy could have been killed, and where would we be then?!

There's a big difference between stealing a snack box or an ipod, and stabbing someone.