Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap commercial jeep...

• 24-09-2009 9:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭

Thinking of something in a SWB commercial. spending as little as possible (sub 1k) for occasional towing (1500kg max)

Is it a false economy buying a jeep that cheap?

I'm thinking of something like a Pajero 2.8 SWB from the 90's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

I would be of the opinion that it is another mans trouble you are buying.

Saying that I tested an early 90's fourtrak today and it looked fierce rough, was expecting to get writers cramp with it but it was grand.

I dont think you would even get one of those for that money and I'm not sure it would be fit to pull that load.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 94 ✭✭aravan

This took only seconds to find. Its more than a grand but it will tow forever.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Landcruiser/GX--SWB-/200929194648847/advert?channel=CARS

That looks very very clean.

I am surprised how cheap it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mr. Pseudonym

aravan wrote: »
    This took only seconds to find. Its more than a grand but it will tow forever.

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Toyota/Landcruiser/GX--SWB-/200929194648847/advert?channel=CARS

Looks good alright, but the OP would be paying close to €1k pa in road tax. And fwiw, mywheels said that the road tax on this vehicle is out since Aug 05.

How about something like this ... it a commercial Pajero

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mitsubishi/Pajero/2.5-SWB,/200936195111488/advert?channel=CARS

I reckon for the sub €1k though you might be better off getting a copy of the buy and sell!!

In fairness it wouldnt take long to convert it to commercial.

You are probably right about checking out the buy and sell or the dealer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭dbar

I bought a car off the same man only a couple of weeks ago - had a problem with the gearbox and he sorted it out on the spot, I found him very good to deal with. I can call and have a look at it if you want no bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 73,382 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I like the look of that Cruiser alright. would be converted to a commercial in a few hours.

Not moving on it for a few weeks but will keep ye posted. thanks for the opinions so far.

the tax on that yoke is out since Aug 2005!

not surprising at €900 a year

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What do ye think of this one:

95 Toyota 4runner (Hilux Surf) 3.0 manual. UK spec, 98k €1475 from a dealer.
    Should have it home, commercialised and DOE'd for €2k?
    What engine is it? 1 KZT Or the 1KZ-TE?
    Nice wagons lots more grunt than the 2.4 as well.

yep, I have reservations about the 2.4 models - cooling problems. also I'd rather have the familiarity of the 3.0 engine.

as for the engine type, no idea - could be either one. only 5bhp or so in the difference but I reckon the newer version (which is still on sale in some countries) could be tweaked for more bhp (I'm used to a 173bhp Cruiser)

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭macshadow

That hilux surf looks clean from the outside anyway. Do ye know how many speeds the auto ones have and the mpg, so many of them are auto in the uk. Colm would you be able to convert it to commercial yourself? if you go ahead with it you might document the process in photo?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,906 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

yep, I have reservations about the 2.4 models - cooling problems. also I'd rather have the familiarity of the 3.0 engine.

as for the engine type, no idea - could be either one. only 5bhp or so in the difference but I reckon the newer version (which is still on sale in some countries) could be tweaked for more bhp (I'm used to a 173bhp Cruiser)

To be fair some of the 1KZ-TE also had head problems, but careful maintenance usually prevents it.
    You can make the E version up to 140-160hp no probs
    One plus with the 1 KZ engines is that they are very easy to maintain, Timing belt takes only 20mins and even if it fails the cam is gear driven so it's non-interference engine.
    Manuals also put less load on the coolant system than the Auto versions and avoid the problem of coolant getting into the Auto-box.

This one just popped up on autotrader. it's an auto. but for £999 who cares too much.

Problem is, something seems dodgy about the garage,

The sellers email address doesn't have the garages name on it, maybe i'm too fussy. will call on Monday either way.
    It's also a Hilux Surf and not a 4 Runner as advertised.

http://www.autotrader.co.uk/classified/advert/200942344050861/sort/priceasc/search-target/usedcars/make/toyota/model/4-runner/page/1/quicksearch/true/postcode/bs324nf?previous=%2Fsearch%2Fresults%2Fusedcars%2Fpostcode%2Fbs324nf%2Fmake%2Ftoyota%2Fmodel%2F4-runner%2Fpage%2F1%2Fquicksearch%2Ftrue%2Fsort%2Fpriceasc&anchor=advert200942344050861&logcode=p

• Registered Users Posts: 3,036 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Daihatsu Fourtrak? Don't the Mitsubishis give gearbox bother? Most are OK I suppose but the Daihatsus are an unsung hero in my opinion adn there aint no city chic ****e about them either.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/977512

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/994540

The Fourtrak is a bit too basic for me. I like the idea of them, but they're just not what I'm after. I'm settled on a Hilux Surf or a 4-runner at the minute. thanks for the suggestion

• Registered Users Posts: 292 ✭✭.17hmr

Looks good alright, but the OP would be paying close to €1k pa in road tax. And fwiw, mywheels said that the road tax on this vehicle is out since Aug 05.

How about something like this ... it a commercial Pajero

http://www.carzone.ie/search/Mitsubishi/Pajero/2.5-SWB,/200936195111488/advert?channel=CARS

I reckon for the sub €1k though you might be better off getting a copy of the buy and sell!!

sorry lads the mitsubishi pajero is gone i bought it today very tidy we jeep fair play to the man or woman who owned it last,just thought id let you know take care.:)

Update: Been looking around, and upped the budget a bit.
    Narrowed it down to a Pajero GLS 2.8 LWB manual, preferably with leather and the diamond option pack.
    3 of these have come up on auto trader in the last 4 days but all were sold pretty much straight away. Found 2 possibles this evening.
    Plan is to head to the UK regardless and stay there till I get one!

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭PaddyBloggit

What made you choose the pajero?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,210 ✭✭✭argosy2006

Narrowed it down to a Pajero GLS 2.8 LWB manual, preferably with leather and the diamond option pack.
    3 of these have come up on auto trader in the last 4 days but all were sold pretty much straight away. Found 2 possibles this evening.
    well dont buy the 2.5 version! they over heat,head gasket trouble the lot of them,,
    i take it your buying a commercial jeep, or you will pay huge vrt on 7 seater!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

I feel i should warn you that the 2.8td in the pajero is a diesel guzzler. My mechanic warned my about this when i nearly bought one a few years ago. There a very solid car but i went for a toyota surf instead. The 3ltr surf engine actually gets getter mpg than the Paj engine.
    But hey its up to you.;)

btw; look out for the VRT when you get back over here!!!!!!$$$$$

I've been looking for a decent 3.0 manual surf for months, and none have come up for reasonable money.

Re: VRT, it's a LWB so VRT should be €50.

Re choice to go Pajero: Think it'll be easier to sell on than other options for the money (Trooper, MU, 2.4 Surf, Terrano, Frontera etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 338 ✭✭PaddyBloggit

I've been looking for a decent 3.0 manual surf for months, and none have come up for reasonable money.

Re choice to go Pajero: Think it'll be easier to sell on than other options for the money (Trooper, MU, 2.4 Surf, Terrano, Frontera etc)

Did you consider a landcruiser?

Land Cruisers cost twice as much as the equivelant Pajero. I sold them for years, I know how good they are - but they're too expensive for what I want and any low mileage high spec ones are even dearer.

If you are importing a 4x4 thats not a commercial into the country you will be hit for regular VRT.
    If its commercial ie; has no back seats/seat belts & darkened or covered rear windows or its a pick-up you pay only 50 euro. Otherwise you will be hit for a percentage of the price of the vehicle.

Cant see how a Pajero would be easier to sell than a surf to be honest. There are dozens of pajeros for sale in this country, theres only a handful of surfs available.

Have you seen this? http://www.adoos.ie/post/7876716/toyota_surf_hilux_80500_miles

If you are importing a 4x4 thats not a commercial into the country you will be hit for regular VRT.

Not if you commercialise it before you present it to customs

Slidey wrote: »
    Not if you commercialise it before you present it to customs

This is true but how much would it cost to commercialize the vehicle?

Not a lot. around €100-€150

I'll hopefully do a step-by-step if/when I get the jeep.

Not a lot. around €100-€150

I'll hopefully do a step-by-step if/when I get the jeep.

^
    Did you look at that link on the other post? The surf for sale.

Never saw it.
    TBH I'm looking for a manual - will be doing a fair bit of towing, also have mpg concerns.

plenty autos in the UK too. Won't completely rule it out though.

Thanks for the link.