Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Amateur Poker League - O'Gormans Bar, Kilminchy, Co Laois

• 23-09-2009 11:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭

Starting this Thursday 24th Sept, the Irish Amateur Poker League begins in Portlaoise in O'Gormans Bar in Kilminchy Village. Full details below.

1. Who is running the event - Poker in the Pub Limited
    2. The purpose of the event – (commercial) The Irish Amateur Poker League.
    3. Date and Location of event - Thursday nights in O'Gormans Bar, Kilminchy Village, starting on the 24th Sept
    4. Registration and Start time of event - 9 o'clock
    5. Any prerequisites- Open to all
    6. How can tickets be purchased & is there a maximum number – On the night
    7. Type of Tournament – Hold'em No Limit / Double chance.
    8. Cost of entry and any subsequent rebuys/top-ups etc – €10
    9. Cost of registration – Included in the entry
    10. % of entry fee/rebuys/top-up going into Prize fund – The game is a league leaderboard, with the qualifiers gaining entry into the grand final with a €65,000 guarenteed prize pool. The €10 is broken down as follows
    - €4 goes to the prize pool each night
    - €4 goes to the TD
    - €2 goes to the Irish Amateur Poker league
    For more information and discussion of how the League will work, see this thread
    11. Any guaranteed prize pool – €65,000 Prize pool guaranteed including 5 trips to Las Vegas and the winner will receive FREE ENTRY into 2010 WORLD SERIES of POKER all expenses paid plus €10,000
    12. If applicable, Number of re-buys allowed and over what time frame/blind levels – Standard Double Chance freeze out with 2500 chips starting stack plus 2500 chips any time after first hand up to the first break
    13. Starting Chips – 2500
    14. Rebuy and Top-up chip amounts – 2500 chips any time after first hand up to the first break
    15. Blind levels – 25-50/50-100/150-300/200-400/300-600 etc
    16. Blind time frames – 15 minutes.
    17. Places being paid and if any prizes are other than cash – Yes prize on the night at least 3 prizes, 1-3 player qualifiers from each venue to the grand final in Killarney. please see below qualifier structure, Last 10 players receive points, 10th = 1 point, 1th = 10 points and so on
    18. Are there going to be dealers – Dealer at the final table
    19. Will there be a documented list of rules – Yes, Our House Rules
    20. Is there a tournament director – Yes; J.P. Woodfull
    21. How are disputes handled - who has final say - TD
    22. Grand final - The National Event Centre, Killarney on the 5th, 6th, and 7th February 2010

J.P.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,082 ✭✭✭✭Random

Where are the other games on?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Juan Pablo

A full list of venues is available here

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭michellegavigan

will ye be asking if we would like to put an xtra few pounds for the prize pool

If a number of people want to put money into a side pot for a last longest bet I can look after that for you, sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 cchristy

Juan Pablo wrote: »
    Starting this Thursday 24th Sept, the Irish Amateur Poker League begins in Portlaoise in O'Gormans Bar in Kilminchy Village. Full details below.

11. Any guaranteed prize pool – €65,000 Prize pool guaranteed including 5 trips to Las Vegas and the winner will receive FREE ENTRY into 2010 WORLD SERIES of POKER all expenses paid plus €10,000

€65,000 guaranteed:eek:.pretty good value for €10. How can you afford to pay that prize pool.

cchristy wrote: »
    €65,000 guaranteed:eek:.pretty good value for €10. How can you afford to pay that prize pool.

Poker in the Pub will be running games in over 100 venues nationwide over the next 12 weeks. Sponsorship from the venues and a % of the entry as outlined in my inital post will go towards the main event prize pool. If you use the link in point 10 in the first post it is explained in more detail.

Reminder, this game is on again tonight, 9pm start.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 596 ✭✭✭winstons pt

Juan Pablo wrote: »
    Reminder, this game is on again tonight, 9pm start.

Good game i hear from last week :D
    Well done JP
    Regards Paddy @ Winstons Poker

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭michellegavigan

hi there! just wondering why the results are not up from last thursday yet!:confused:

I have them done up in work Michelle, will get them up on monday. Top 3 after 2 weeks are as follows

Dermot Chamberlin 14 pts
    Gary Coss 14 pts
    Michelle Gavigan 13 pts :)

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

how many people is this getting

• Registered Users Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

GL with this JP.

Cheers Oscar.

Iron,we got 11 down last week, the first 4 weeks are really a trial run in a venue that has never done anything like this before. We may look at moving the night for the next 4 week stint in a few weeks time, its really down to what people want. I would expect more runners next week, you should pop down.

Reminder that this is on again tonight. 18 runners last week with a lot of side action, should be a good night!

Standings for the top 5 are as follows

# Name Points
    1 Gary Coss 20
    2 Brendan Dunphy 19
    3 Tom Moore 15
    4 Dermot Chamberlin 14
    5 Michelle Gavigan 13

J.P.

Congratulations to Brendan Dunphy who topped the league after the first cycle. Starting again from scratch next week. Please note, this game wll now take place on Tuesday nights at 9.

Reminder to all that the next 4 week cycle starts tonight at 9.

Reminder that this takes place again tonight at 9 in O'Gormans Bar.

JP

Reminder that this takes place again tonight at 9 in O'Gormans Bar. Two weeks left on this cycle with two tickets g'teed for the final cycle.

JP

• Registered Users Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Irish Iron

good crowd the other night for this 17 or 18 i think.

best of luck in vegas jp

Irish Iron wrote: »
    good crowd the other night for this 17 or 18 i think.

best of luck in vegas jp

Cheers Dave, if the numbers keep up for the next cycle we will be able to give an extra ticket, plenty to play for!

Top 5 after three week are as follows

Gary Coss 19
    Brendan Dunphy 14
    Daniela Comaskey 13
    David Scully 12
    Paul Byrne 11

John Condron will be running next Tuedays game in my absence.