Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

bit of help here please

• 21-09-2009 7:42pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭

Right so lads. Problem is, me twin brother has a 04 VW golf 1.4
    He dropped it in 3 weeks ago to get fixed, had to get it towed to garage as it wouldnt start.
    He doenst have a clue about engines so is fairly hazy at trying to explain to me what happened the car. I was talking to me man that was fixing it for him and he said that he had to take the full engine out to see what damage was done as the water was just coming out of the rad as quick as it was going in and it looks like me brother was driving around for a while with no water in it.
    Then it turns out that there was water entering by the pistons and somehow ending up in the oil. dunno how.
    Anyways, me man see's that the fuel pump is buggered aswell so off he goes and fixes a new one to the car, aswell as replacing the head with a brand new one. Water pump was gone aswell so thats replaced, timing excetera is done now aswell.

anyways he picked her up earlier on and now anytime he locks left or right the car konks out.

I done a little crappy video there a minute ago, Fair enough you cant see anything but hopefully you petrolheads might have an idea going by the sound of it and the little knowledge I have of what was supposedly done to it. so here goes. sorry bout quality of video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9o5BPZeBoQg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,686 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I have not looked at the video but has the car been fixed successfully or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

can't see the video, but it sounds like the head gasket was gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,898 ✭✭✭✭seanybiker

colm_mcm wrote: »
    can't see the video, but it sounds like the head gasket was gone.

yeah i only done the video mainly so ye could hear it. I couldnt find the lever thingmebob to lift up the bonnet yoke.
    he only got it back today so to other poster, no its not fixed yet sadly.

oops I forgot to save settings on the video thats probably why it didnt wrok for ye.

no I dont have a bogger accent :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Sounding very rough. Don't think it was fixed 100%.
    May bring it back.