Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Matthew Macklin v Amin Asikainen thread

• 21-09-2009 5:01pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭

Still on me honeymoon but get back to Blightly on wednesday and managed to have got press clearance for this one and will provide you maniacs with picks of the weigh in and fight before I fly to Dublin for the Poonsawat fight and hopefully Matt will have the belt on the flight with him.

TBH I aint seen a whole lot of Amin apart from the Sylvester fights and read a few reports and is a tough fuucker - hardest fight Matts had since Jamie - how do you see it going?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

There's Asikainen v Gevor.

Asikainen's decent, but I think he could be slightly faded and I fancy Macklin to do a job on him. The odds are a bit too strongly in Macklin's favour, but I think he could stop Amin before the 6th is out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 338 ✭✭duagre

I never saw either of the Sylvester fights. Thats a pretty good win to have though, and Ring have Amin at number 6 in the world. It's great opportunity for Macklin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 942 ✭✭✭Vintagekits

weigh in is at 4pm at Hattons new gym. I shall update later.

my photos from weight in - article tomorrow.

3951058119_57f24206fd.jpg3951058839_acea588332.jpg
    3951056825_22233df520.jpg3951832128_1c943ab7fc.jpg

I am somewhat surprised at the lack of interest shown here about the first as I cant wait for it to be honest.

Anyway here is my article on it.

Matthew Macklin – Amin Asikainen. – by Leonard Gunning

Manchester based Gallagher’s Gym member Matthew Macklin leapfrogs domestic challengers to face Ring magazine top ten rated middleweight Amin Asikainen to top the bill at the Ricky Hatton promoted bout for the vacant European middleweight title at the Manchester Velodrome on Saturday 25th of September.

Macklin, a former ABA amateur champion at welterweight, steps up to European level leaving a frustrated Darren Barker in his trail and is confident going into his fight with the Finnish former Euro champ. The Birmingham Irish fan favourite brushed aside misguided critics who claimed he was avoiding a challenge for the British title against Barker’s stating “People who say that (I am avoiding Barker) are living in a bubble, they are the type that can’t see outside of London never mind seeing outside of Britain, they are in a little bubble and they probably don’t even know what The Ring magazine is, if they did, they’d know that Asikainen is ranked number six and a much tougher fighter”.

“Realistically, what has Darren Barker done, he’s been dropped by journeymen and he admittedly says that the only live opponent he faced is Darren McDermott, an area level fighter, who are they kidding!? In reality, it’s all good chat, it talks up a fight and hype is hype but I don’t think anyone apart from their own cleek of mates pass any heed about me ducking Darren Barker because I know who I’d rather fight. If the same title was on the line and the same rankings were available I’d fight Barker seven days a week over Asikainen.”

But thoughts of Barker’s questionable rivalry won’t cross Macklin mind on Saturday as he proceeds to fry a much larger fish. The days of the undisciplined bon viveur seem to be now but a distant memory as Macklin confessed “19 or 20 you look ten years ahead and think that it’s an eternity, all of a sudden you find yourself 26 or 27 and you think ‘Jesus where did those years go?’ In another seven years I’ll be 34 and my career will be over so now, although I’ve always trained really hard and very dedicated, sometimes in between fights I’d let my weight go high and maybe drank too much but now I’m dedicated all year round even in between fights.”

This dedication has paid dividends and since his enthralling defeat to Jamie Moore for the British light middleweight title in 2006 the Solihull native has chosen to step up to the middleweight division and has strung together seven consecutive victories including a knock out victory over Darren Rhodes, a points win over experienced campaigner Yori Boy Campas and in his last outing he earned an explosive knockout win over Wayne Elcock to dethrone the Brummie rival of his British middleweight title.

But Macklin doesn’t see the fight going the same way as the Elcock fight outlining “I don’t think I rushed in with Elcock, I just landed with a good shot. The shot just came, but against Amin I just want to take my time, if he steams in then than that’s’ a different story, but it’s a twelve round fight, it’s a long time so the first three rounds I just want to find my range and use my jab and get going really.”

The remainder of the article can be found here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,383 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

"Manchester based Gallagher’s Gym member Matthew Macklin leapfrogs domestic challengers to face Ring magazine top ten rated middleweight Amin Asikainen to top the bill at the Ricky Hatton promoted bout for the vacant European middleweight title at the Manchester Velodrome on Saturday 25th of September."

Don't you mean Friday the 25th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭f1dan

I have a weird feeling that this is gonna be a really tough fight for Macklin, one he might actually lose. Can't wait for it now. Should be a cracker!

your first bad prediction this year f1dan! stunning finish!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭bamboozler

macklin stresses his irishness once again with his green attire. Lovely left hook, europe today, world tomorrow.

By the way is Brian Peters a cornerman or a promoter?

f1dan wrote: »
    I have a weird feeling that this is gonna be a really tough fight for Macklin, one he might actually lose. Can't wait for it now. Should be a cracker!

I don't think I could have been more wrong! What a left hook. Barker next?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

Stunning finish by Macklin, he really is the real deal.... Always felt that his defeat to Moore was his corners fault by letting him blow his load too early! Would love to see him takin down Abraham. Lets hope that Dunne can do the double tomorrow.

alanceltic wrote: »
    Stunning finish by Macklin, he really is the real deal.... Always felt that his defeat to Moore was his corners fault by letting him blow his load too early!

Couldn't have said it more eloquently!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 554 ✭✭✭spongeman

What a punch! cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭bamboozler

alanceltic wrote: »
    Stunning finish by Macklin, he really is the real deal.... Always felt that his defeat to Moore was his corners fault by letting him blow his load too early! Would love to see him takin down Abraham. Lets hope that Dunne can do the double tomorrow.

Abraham moved to super middle and is tied down to the super six. But on abraham from the 2 times i tried to watch him fight he wasnt exactly dynamic, which was disappointing after his broken jaw miranda fight, so macklin would of had a great chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 murpheile

Very impressive by Macklin, great left hook for the first knock down. He looked in superb condition in the ring tonight which backs up what he was saying in Vintagekits article about looking after himself between fights more, obviously its having rewards. Ricky and him talking about Sturm and Sylvester afterwards would be great to see him get a shot at one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

Very impressive tonight; huge left shot, was over from there.

Weird as this sounds though: I think it might have been let go too long, but then stopped prematurely!!! I think Asikainen had recovered and would've made it to his stool - but should've however been stopped before that when he was hanging out of Macklin - which I suppose evens it out.

Matthew and Ricky seem to be very pally! Could mean fantastic things for him with Hatton behind him.

Congrats to the champ anyway!

Well done Mattie - here are my pics - other better ones have been submitted to my editor and I will do an article before I go to bed!!

Great night!

3953713231_f49b2877a1.jpg3954495782_757e5db7f6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mick_ser

Really impressed by Macklin!! What a sweet shot. Looked in top shape seemed like he really wanted it. Hard to believe he's been a pro so long. Hope he gets a shot at Sylvester, would be confident of a Macklin victory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭MCMT

That's terrific news. Weldone Macklin. Onwards and upwards from here!

Anyone happen to have a link or footage of this? Annoyed I missed it, was busy shoveling "culture" all night.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭consultech

MCMT wrote: »
    That's terrific news. Weldone Macklin. Onwards and upwards from here!

Anyone happen to have a link or footage of this? Annoyed I missed it, was busy shoveling "culture" all night.

If youve got sky sports it's on again at 2am. Usually right at the top of the show, was earlier I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

my god Ricky Hatton looks terrible. Hope he sticks to the promotions now. Macklin is a class act.

It looks like Macklin has the greatest prospects out of the Irish trio of middleweights of winning a world title. He fought an established top 10 fighter tonight and dispatched him in stunning style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭mick_ser

yah don't think lee could handle him if he stood with him, which would probably happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭MCMT

consultech wrote: »
    If youve got sky sports it's on again at 2am. Usually right at the top of the show, was earlier I think.

Cheers, but managed to find a link in Finnish. Here it is for anyone else that missed it (or wants to watch again):

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b3ZliPBbccQ

What an insane left hook! They guy didn't just fall to the canvas - he struck the f*cking thing. I'm surprised he didn't leave a dent. That alone should send ripples around the world about Macklin. Lets hope he gets the big fights he deserves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭Brad Goodman

great win alright... lets hope dunne does it tonight and we have a great weekend for irish boxing

also i see the brits are claiming matthew as their own :rolleyes:

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/boxing/8276027.stm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Chriscl1

great win alright... lets hope dunne does it tonight and we have a great weekend for irish boxing

Where was he born?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

Great win, first knockdown was brutal! Go Macklin!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

He was born in England, so the Birmingham fans will obviously support him as one of their own. Matthew is an Irish fighter, but he represents both Ireland and his Birmingham fans too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

feck me what a hook.

...on that tube clip keep tappin the mouse button on 1.46 while its playin, just before the hook obviously, whatever sound effect is in the background along with sound of punch adds to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭c1979

devastating punches from Macklin.

Fair Play. I think he can smash Duddy or Lee

c1979 wrote: »
    devastating punches from Macklin.

Fair Play. I think he can smash Duddy or Lee

as do I?

So will it be Sturm or perhaps Sylvester next?

Sylvester - Macklin KO's him imo!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 710 ✭✭✭makl

dlofnep wrote: »
    He was born in England, so the Birmingham fans will obviously support him as one of their own. Matthew is an Irish fighter, but he represents both Ireland and his Birmingham fans too.

...and played hurlin for tipp at u21. irishness nay in Q.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 112 ✭✭H. Flashman

Macklin is the real deal - that fight he lost against Jamie moore was a classic, he showed in that fight he's got a mighty heart and determination. He could have won it but billy graham knows no other style than go forward and punch and punch and punch and then when your out on your feet punch some more. He simply exhausted himself.

He's got power too. If he can settle down with the same trainer for a while he'll go far. And yes I agree I think he'd take both Duddy and Lee (And I'm a limerick man)