Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trail riding for beginners in the Phoenix Park

• 21-09-2009 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭

hey lads and ladies,
    any of you into going to the park for learning the basics of trail riding, bike handling, and balance, its 10 miles in total, TUESDAYS & SUNDAYS, even if you dont have a bike, renting one at the main gate is possible. a good way to get back in shape and rekindle the love of the this sport and pasttime
    ok its on tuesday 6:20pm and sundays 3pm, meeting at the popes x carpark, have been going over the best trail to use, want to get this up and running as a weekly meet, so would love to hear if you have any ideas yourself, starting on the 29th of september 2009 onwards drew, ladies welcome as my missus is a beginner

if i do get a large volume of places i will add an extra day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Kaldorn

can you mail me thedetails

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,414 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

mockler007 wrote: »
    hey lads and ladies,
    any of you into going to the park for learning the basics of trail riding, bike handling, and balance, its 10 miles in total, tues thurs and sundays, even if you dont have a bike, renting one at the main gate is possible. a good way to get back into keeping fit, and getting fresh air, pm for times and meeting place

You say "trail riding" in the post, but "trial riding" in the subject - which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭martingore

Can you pm me too ? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭mockler007

its trail, sorry for the miss spelling teacher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,400 ✭✭✭Caroline_ie

i wouldnt mind trying this out myself. can i get details too?

Trojan wrote: »
    You say "trail riding" in the post, but "trial riding" in the subject - which is it?
    thanks for pointimg out my error, youve made my day man x x x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Out of interest - is this just people meeting up for a spin or some kind of organised instruction?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Morgan

Jeez, touchy. Maybe he just thought you meant trials.

im not touchy lol, i was thanking him, note the kiss kiss kiss at the end, its just really for first timers, wanna come you big expert yeh, how did your wicklow do go?? our van broke down on the way, but we went up over the weekend, and the gf died, so not a good starting point for beginners, easy on the legs and also good for riding over roots etc, so how about it morgan my man >???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,032 ✭✭✭CheGuedara

Couldn't resist

jrwjgp.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

keep the groups smallish lads, the park rangers are not a fan of big groups spinning offroad in the park! ;-)

and the park is grand for a bit of offroad, plenty to do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

Park rangers not fans? Nor are the people running and walk on the "tracks" that people "mountain bike" on.
    Most of the people I see riding mountain bikes in the phoenix park do so on walking tracks with complete disregard for walkers/runners. Equivalent to riding on a footpath.

we will be giving the right of way to ppl walking, not acting like loopers, as beginners arnt very fast, we are trail riding not downhilling lol,

as well as giving the right of way to walkers, giving a large berth, also it will be done at a slow pace, 10mph, if that, its the basics of riding over roots etcs and a constant watch for walkers will be kept, dont want nutter turning up, my other half cant do over 8mph as shes just starting no no worries there, are you going to join us?

its trail, sorry for the miss spelling teacher
    mockler007 wrote:

I asked you because there is a massive difference between trail riding and trial riding.

Please be civil on this forum when people ask genuine questions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

by way of explanation

Trial

Trail

any excuse to post vids of people doing stupid stuff ;)

some nice trails in the Phoenix Park, MTB XC national champs held in there in 97. Also, some competing, eh interests in there. I'll never forget scouting through the course for the self same nationals in eager preparation early one evening to encounter some other eager young men. :eek:

whatever happend to that guy, lads i know the diff, made an honest mistake, can we please move on thankyou ;)

have you seen his skills, mind blowing what he does,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,814 ✭✭✭Drapper

tunney wrote: »
    Park rangers not fans? Nor are the people running and walk on the "tracks" that people "mountain bike" on.
    Most of the people I see riding mountain bikes in the phoenix park do so on walking tracks with complete disregard for walkers/runners. Equivalent to riding on a footpath.

jeepers, never saw the signs 'walking tracks'? and lets not start the walkers on cycling tracks debate that's done to death!

ive read the byelaws, and it states that no bikes should be ridden on the footpaths, it does'nt say anything about the trails, and a footpath is a paved walkway that is put in place for walkers, now the trails are not footpaths, but infact walkways, so they can be used, opw have even let that cycle hire go ahead, and they rent out off road bikes for use for this matter, now i dont condone nutters who do 35mph down a footpath, the park is the peoples park and it is for the people of ireland, and whichever way they intend to use it, within the byelaws, which we intend to do, so for begginers that cant really average over 15mph, it is a huge advantage on learning of this fine sport and past-time, drew

I'm not a big fan of aggravating anyone, but honestly there's so many pedestrians walking in the bike lanes in the Park (where I do want to do 35km/h) that I'd be happy enough to cycle on the trails without feeling I was out of order, and I would genuinely explain that in a non aggressive way if confronted. Of course as the faster moving object I think it's up to cyclists to give way to runners etc.

I think if everyone is reasonable then all trail users can be accommodated without anyone getting upset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 135 ✭✭Glitterangel76

Can i get the details too? :)

here here trojan, i agree totally with you on this, the details are posted at the top of the 1st page of this thread, as i said ladies are very welcome, as my missus is comming aswell, any questions on what to bring and wear etc ask away, i would ask if you would wear lids,

so lads and ladies, tuesday the 29th 6:00pm whos comming??? this trip is 1:30hrs long, sunday is a longer trip, 2hrs 50mins

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭Package

hmm, bikes :)