Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haile in Berlin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

Universal Sports is only at the 33 minute point?

How many pace makers does one man need? He's got 7 of them!

Krusty and Rusty both through halfway within 4 secs of each other on 91mins.

...and Woddle through half on 1:48

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,378 ✭✭✭asimonov

Village Runner in 1:29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Peckham wrote: »

And through 25k now. Can they just pick it up just a little?

Ike in 1:46

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Racing Flat

Haile gone from sub 15 5ks to almost 16 for 35-40 - all over? Maybe the heat...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Haile gone from sub 15 5ks to almost 16 for 35-40 - all over? Maybe the heat...

He's finished now hasn't he?

2.06.08, died a death, 61.45/64.23 splits. Doesn't augur too well for the field.

Haile winning the Berlin marathon was the first part of a big multisport accumulator bet I've got going this year. Now I just need the other 6 parts of it to come up and my €10 will magically turn into €23,000!

Now through 30k just under 2:10. Come on lads, big push needed!

Abhainn wrote: »
    And through 25k now. Can they just pick it up just a little?

Seem to have gone 44, 42, 43 for 10ks, so a controlled start might work out well.

Edit that may not be Krusty and Rusty - just 2 runners down as Boards AC

Now through 30k just under 2:10. Come on lads, big push needed!

My gut feeling would be if the plan was 88.36 for half way and they've gone through in 91, it's not going to happen, but fingers crossed.

asimonov, what was village runners final strategy?

I've a feeling many people seem to be off their half way targets, might be very hot out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭myflipflops

Haile winning the Berlin marathon was the first part of a big multisport accumulator bet I've got going this year. Now I just need the other 6 parts of it to come up and my €10 will magically turn into €23,000!

What price did you back him at?

My gut feeling would be if the plan was 88.36 for half way and they've gone through in 91, it's not going to happen, but fingers crossed.

asimonov, what was village runners final strategy?

I've a feeling many people seem to be off their half way targets, might be very hot out there.

VR was just going to follow the pacers to 35k and then see if he could push on for 2:58 or just hang on.

pwhite587 wrote: »
    What price did you back him at?

4/7 - it was the shortest odds bet in the accumulator!

The lads giving it a good lash with a strong 35-40

Haile was slowed to 3.27/km pace for last 2k. Very odd. Injured?

asimonov wrote: »
    VR was just going to follow the pacers to 35k and then see if he could push on for 2:58 or just hang on.

Update?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

HG home in 2:06:xx. Looked bloody hard.

A few Irish through in 3.00.xx. Painful.

Edit: Seems to be some discrepancies between the during race times given and the finishing splits.

Krusty and Rusty home in 3:01. Look forward to their reports, am sure they're disappointed, but tough going as it gets warmer there.

Sub3 in Berlin? Fcuk yeah! VR home in 2:59:08.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

That's 3 boardsies with 3:01s this year. Excellent runs by the two of them though, it looked tough out there.

Excellent run from VR - that's his first sub 3, isn't it? Bloody well done that man!!

Well paced, 89.45, 89.24 splits given I think. Job done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭kevinkilbane

...and Woddle through half on 1:48

anything yet on woddle???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,411 ✭✭✭SUNGOD

anything yet on woddle???

3:20 for 35k so far

IKE is 3:03 for 35k...edit ike finished in 3:45 well done great stuff

Woddle home in 4:03

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Abhainn

Fair play. Great second half splits. Brilliant

I think Mithril also came in sub 3 at 2:59:03. A 90:43 first half then 88:03:eek:
    Yeah pity about the other 3 guys at 3:01, but bloody excellent excellent

Just after my 20 miler I feel even better now.

Great going by Ike, delighted for him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭wizwill

well done to everyone that did Berlin today, some great running! thanks for the updates from Boardsies too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Krusty berated me when I congratulated his 3:01 run- he says he did 3:00:50, and wants those 10 seconds! So close to sub 3!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 GregTanner

Does anyone know the composition of the yellow "mineral drink" used in yesterdays' marathon. I'd like to know if it had any glucose in it. Hit the wall very hard at 28Km.

GregTanner wrote: »
    Does anyone know the composition of the yellow "mineral drink" used in yesterdays' marathon. I'd like to know if it had any glucose in it. Hit the wall very hard at 28Km.

Funnily enough I started to struggle at about 28k there last year - when I wasn't expecting any problems until 35k at least...