Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

pistol mag holder

• 18-09-2009 4:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭

anybody know where i could get the thing that gose around the handle of a pistol and around the the end of the mag. It stops the mags falling out accidentally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭Tommyboy71

Airsofthacks.ie (i think that is the right addy)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

anybody know where i could get the thing that gose around the handle of a pistol and around the the end of the mag. It stops the mags falling out accidentally?

You mean a MagGuard, I presume, I think TSA have them and the place in Blanchardstown.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,881 ✭✭✭mle1324

MIA do them for like a 10er i think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,205 ✭✭✭Firekitten

you're using a fabric holster arent you?

Try one of the serpa or fobus style holsters... (Plastic shell) and say good bye to expensive lost mags (they physically cant push the mag release in the holster)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭Dread-Lock

I personally fine those plastic holster's great but way too expensive. It's much cheaper to buy the MagGuard and a fabric holster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,814 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Dread-Lock wrote: »
    I personally fine those plastic holster's great but way too expensive. It's much cheaper to buy the MagGuard and a fabric holster.

You can buy a genuine Fobus holster online for €19 shipped, Win:)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

those MAG guard things are a pain in the face. when you drop the mag out and grab the next one ya nearly always trap a bit of the strap in the magazine well and have to take the mag back out and do it again.
    I use either the fobus, Serpa or safariland holster with a pistol lanyard connected to the magazine. the mag cant go anywere without me knowing it and the pistol is held nice and tight. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Sam Fisher

Serpa is expensive, but definitely worth the money. Been using them for years now, and wouldn't use anything else. Had the Fobus, but they do strip the paint off the slide..

There not all that pricey these days. theres plenty of good quality chinese ones available now.
    15 euro on here and that have them to suit many different pistols.
    http://www.ebairsoft.com/holster-glock-p-1024.html

Can you get SERPA's for lefties?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

Leftyflip wrote: »
    Can you get SERPA's for lefties?

i know you can with the real ones. you can get them on ebay, the guy i bought one of was ecop or something like that and i seem to recall he had lefty ones....

you can do yeah, but as a lefty myself i think there a bit pointless, the pistol is supposed to be a backup so i would usually have the rifle on the left, when comes the need to use the pistol its always on my right side, nice and handy. :)

i know you can with the real ones. you can get them on ebay, the guy i bought one of was ecop or something like that and i seem to recall he had lefty ones....

You got a link?

the chinese ones break... tried one, hated it... went to real. Its 40£ for a real serpa... worth it to not loose mags, and be more effective. They do make a left handed model, as do safariland and fobus :)

Richie: when you transition to secondery, the rifle is meant to drop down the front, not at the side, and if the side, it goes to the offhand side, and is moved into place by your 'off' hand while the 'trigger' hand goes down for your secondery... it SHOULD be on your shooting side for fastest draw, however, I'm ambidextrous, i go both ways! (oh lol)

I ordered mine from e-cop on ebay. No problems with delivery, good genuine product. But you may also want/need a hip platform.

Leftyflip wrote: »
    You got a link?

for you dude.....

http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Ecop-Police-Supply__W0QQ_fcidZ99QQ_sidZ12024003QQ_stposZQQgbrZ1?_nkw=LH+serpa&submit=Search

i purchased off these for a full serpa rigout for a sig and they shipped fast. i had no issues with them, hopefully you will have the same.

now a word of warning...and this is hear-say.

i have a TM p226 metal from ehobby and it fits like a glove...so i guess the metal kit and the original TM are spot on size wise. I have heard people say some of the cheaper gas pistols are a little off on size so they can rattle...now that is something i read somewhere....but be advised. It might be worth checking the pistol make/name on some of the boards around to see can others verify.

also perhaps firekitten knows someone closer to home for shipping and thereby cheaper.

I find the plastic tm p226 ( have that one) is a tad tight in the serpa, but im not arsed about marking it... so it works fine and securely.

Www.uktactical.com have serpas belt mounted for £39 stirling, and 85 for the leg mounted rig.

£25 for a fobus

£29 for an IMI holster

£99 for a safariland dropleg

http://www.uktactical.com/acatalog/Holsters.html

Years ago, I used to use cloth holsters, and recently converted over to the plastic type. To be bruitally honest, they are worth the extra money... easier to draw from, faster too... better security for the pistol and magazine isnt able to be lost as easily... They are an investment, but worth it personally. I use a paddle mounted Serpa on my belt most games, its right where I need it, and it never moves.

A friend uses the dropleg and told me its the most stable one hes used. Doesnt rotate or drag down... simples :)

for you dude.....

http://stores.shop.ebay.com/Ecop-Police-Supply__W0QQ_fcidZ99QQ_sidZ12024003QQ_stposZQQgbrZ1?_nkw=LH+serpa&submit=Search

i purchased off these for a full serpa rigout for a sig and they shipped fast. i had no issues with them, hopefully you will have the same.

Thanks for that Falls!

For serpa, the following:
    KJW M9 fits,
    KJW Sig229 fits,
    KSC USP .45 fits,
    Socom MEU fits,
    KSC Glock 19 fits,
    KJW Para-Ord 14 sort of fits:o
    TM USP EBB not way it will ever fits:mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭ASI Casper

I can add that the KSC / KWA USP compact fits perfectly.

I have serpas for my KWA USPc, TM MEU & TM P226. Wouldn't use any other type of holster now.

Another plus for the serpas is that they can be mounted directly onto molle with an adaptor. And at various angles. Including upside-down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

Yeah ditch the b!tch......meant in the nicest possible way of course. (Speaking of the empty/malfuctioning primary)

Sam Fisher wrote: »
    For serpa, the following:
    KJW M9 fits,
    KJW Sig229 fits,
    KSC USP .45 fits,
    Socom MEU fits,
    KSC Glock 19 fits,
    KJW Para-Ord 14 sort of fits:o
    TM USP EBB not way it will ever fits:mad:

jeeze the TM doesnt fit in a USP...yikes!!! there was me assuming TM would be all anal retentive about accuracy and i didnt need to worry....feck (then again maybe the electric ones are 'different' sizes)

i was about to drop on the five-seven tm pistol and holster....maybe i need to check this out a bit more...

on a whole, Tm guns 'tend' to be wider... thier glock certainly is... KSC guns are perfect size wise... However Tm plastic ones will fit just in some cases... hence why your aftermaket kit on a 226 fitted... smaller just :)

I've used one for a tm p226, a we 1911,

i have on order, (arriving soon i hope) direct from Israel, a fobus for my cz75 system 7, and my maruzen PPK/s Guccis! ( joking, they are just the most practical... and fabric ones suck so much...) ( and I cant stand droplegs)

Funny, the TM USP Springer .40 S&W fit fine, it's just the EBB (well, doesn't actually do the middle "B") just won't budge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,363 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

My KJW P226, MEU 1911, KSC USP and HFC USP all fit fine in Serpas.

Firekitten wrote: »
    Richie: when you transition to secondery, the rifle is meant to drop down the front, not at the side, and if the side, it goes to the offhand side, and is moved into place by your 'off' hand while the 'trigger' hand goes down for your secondery... it SHOULD be on your shooting side for fastest draw, however, I'm ambidextrous, i go both ways! (oh lol)

Thats all well and good if you cant shoot with the less dominant hand, I'm as good in the right as i am in the left. I learned to shoot RS in my right hand even though i am dominant left.

Theres also at least 4-5 different makes of serpa in china. ive only ever seen one of them that was cheap crack prone plastic. it was an RSOV one. The ones from ebaybanned and the later ones now on RSOV are like for like, identical to the real blackhawks, even their leg platform and their packaging is the same.

yeah, i had one of the 'identical packaging' ones from ebb... it snapped its back pannel and the holster was generally not too nice...

however compare it directly to a real Cqc holster? no comparison really... the bhi are MUCH nicer quality, you can feel it.

Regarding transition to secondry.... mm, you're right, if you're able to shoot either handed, it works, I'm the same, but i prefer to transition the weapon the same way as non ambi... depending on the hand im using...

I use my right, drop the weapon down to my left side with the left hand on the grip, and go for the secontry with my trigger hand... fast... when im using the rifle on my off hand, for corners say... i can still draw it either side... i just find its how I set up kit and was taught things that effects how i do things... its sortof habbit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,478 ✭✭✭Chuck the Buck

i was about to drop on the five-seven tm pistol and holster....maybe i need to check this out a bit more...

My TM 5-7 fits in this Fobus (second from the right). As for it fitting with a real Blackhawk CQC SERPA I'll tell you when mine arrives next week, but I imagine it'll be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,440 ✭✭✭✭thermo

not all fabric holsters are bad i use this one

http://www.protac.ie/store/index.php/protac-equipment/holsters-and-magazine-pouches/special-operations-drop-holster.html

i got a dpm one and it never moves on my leg up or down or rotate, a tad pricey, but if you want good kit you pay for it! seriously hard wearing and worth every cent!

thats specifically the type that will drop a mag if you are too energetic... the strap over the heel of the grip is right where it pulls the frame onto the mag catch... you run, jump, dive, or perhaps perform a weird cancan during a skirmish... you're going to be magless pretty fast.

My TM 5-7 fits in this Fobus (second from the right). As for it fitting with a real Blackhawk CQC SERPA I'll tell you when mine arrives next week, but I imagine it'll be fine.

chuck, will you let me know dude as i am really interested in the 5-7.

and thanks for the help its greatly appreciated.

thats specifically the type that will drop a mag if you are too energetic... the strap over the heel of the grip is right where it pulls the frame onto the mag catch... you run, jump, dive, or perhaps perform a weird cancan during a skirmish... you're going to be magless pretty fast.

was that to me??

Soft holsters are perfectly fine, as can be seen used by our own armed response units.

Most cases of mags falling out are due to mag release catches being too soft. also, in most cases the gun is a 1911 or hicappa. they are more suseptable to it.

thermo wrote: »
    was that to me??
    a response to that holster you posted yeah... Used them, not a fan.

Richie: because gardai response units use them clearly makes them the pinicle of tactical equiptment right? lowest cost items right?

anyway, its largely just an airsoft issue... RS mag catches tend to be stronger (for the most part) I do find m9s and 1911s love to dump mags, sometimes glocks... generally guns that come with plastic mag catches stock do it often.

Of course they are. they don't like to have to replace things very often so go for quality plus, unlike having an airsoft gun on your leg, they are carrying a valuable/dangerous firearm. You'll be happy to know though, they have started using the safariland in some units.

Point being though, cloth holsters are pretty good, its the crappy mag release spring that lets them down. the same can be said about some 1911's in a serpa.

a response to that holster you posted yeah... Used them, not a fan.

Richie: because gardai response units use them clearly makes them the pinicle of tactical equiptment right? lowest cost items right?

anyway, its largely just an airsoft issue... RS mag catches tend to be stronger (for the most part) I do find m9s and 1911s love to dump mags, sometimes glocks... generally guns that come with plastic mag catches stock do it often.

iv never lost a mag with this holster, i among others think they are a great holster!

Masada wrote: »
    Of course they are. they don't like to have to replace things very often so go for quality plus, unlike having an airsoft gun on your leg, they are carrying a valuable/dangerous firearm. You'll be happy to know though, they have started using the safariland in some units.

Point being though, cloth holsters are pretty good, its the crappy mag release spring that lets them down. the same can be said about some 1911's in a serpa.

Thats a broken gun... not the holster, the serpa cannot press the mag release... even if it wanted to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Anyone have a link to a fobus suitable for a railed 1911? I have one for my other non railed 1911 and find it quite good

Thats a broken gun... not the holster, the serpa cannot press the mag release... even if it wanted to.

Ermm, yes. it can. I own probably 5 1911s and am somowhat professional when it comes to identifying a broken gun thanks. :)

Serpa, although i use them myself, aren't the be all and end all. I use fobus, Safariland and that Irish DPM holster too. all are perfectly fine.

If your mag catch isn't up to scratch, you mag will fall out regardless of holster.

what did people do before Blackhawk invented that i wonder?

I'm just wondering how it presses the mag release? its covered, yet kept separate from the holster?

Tbh I dont care what people did in the days 'back yonder'... I use a Serapa or fobus for my handguns, because for me, they work.

Anyway honey, I thought you'd be wise enough to know the difference between a professional, and a good professional.

to be fair the holster i posted about is designed with the SF operator in mind, and is in service with our own SF as well as the brits and several others!

all i said was iv no complaints with the item and have never lost a mag while using it!

As has been said... Real steel sidearms have stronger mag catches... Plus you arent paying for the mags...

We use what works for ourselves... you like that... grand, I like plastic frame holsters... my thing... I go off what experience I have, and what suits me best... Tbh, i Cba doing what someone else does because 'they do it'... We arent sheep.... I wouldnt expect someone to do as I do... 'because I do' Its all personal, and I'm merely saying what i feel about them in a personal respect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

I've found with "soft" holsters that you really do get what you pay for. I've used cheap ones made for airsoft and found them to be absolutely useless, any pistol with a bit of weight would fall out or lose it's mag fairly quick. I've tested the one thermo linked and it is absolutely solid, well worth the money.

may look it up then, but ive always been paranoid of soft frame holsters...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

serpas are pretty good. I have the 1911 ones though. Pistol never sits right and can be very wobbly.

Using a soft shouldes holster i got of ebay and it7 the bu7iness.

kdouglas wrote: »
    I've found with "soft" holsters that you really do get what you pay for. I've used cheap ones made for airsoft and found them to be absolutely useless, any pistol with a bit of weight would fall out or lose it's mag fairly quick. I've tested the one thermo linked and it is absolutely solid, well worth the money.

Yup, my thoughts exactly, I use it with me French kit and actually find it to be more comfortable than most other holsters I use. Mine has taken a severe beating in the time ive had it though, I think im due a new one.,

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Plus you arent paying for the mags...

Really, where can I avail for this free mag offer?

Rew wrote: »
    Really, where can I avail for this free mag offer?
    Only if the qm doesnt catch you... it was destroyed by enemy fire remember... not lost...

ooh doc? You can tighten the retention arm in the serpa (if its a real one) which will stop it wobbling :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 611 ✭✭✭Craigsy

I use a soft Strike Systems holster for my Sig P226 ( which is a hefty enough) and i've never had a problem with mags being released. The only problem i had with it was that the spare mag pouch wasn't great and while running i had to watch my spare mag fly out in front of me and smash into the ground:( Other than that good holster