Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Server?

• 17-09-2009 10:13pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭

Lanparty died tonight with 6 people on it, people kept connecting and when there was 10 on it it was unplayable.

Need to sort out a decent server, who willing to cough up readies :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,874 ✭✭✭✭PogMoThoin

Kinetic^ says its only using 512MB ram and 15% cpu.

I think its hard drive lag though, the game is very hd intensive which is why people joining the server lag it

The is the specs of the Gameservers.ie server we played on, (they also had other services running on the box at the same time) is as follows:
    2U intel server with a quad core xeon processor, 4 gigs of fast ram and hardware raid (120gigs usable space after raid overhead) on a 100mbit pipe.
    It coped with much more players than the one we're playing on, although laggy, we played with 30 once.

Gameservers.ie have offered us this box as a full dedicated server for €60-70pm, thats €10 each for 6 or 7 of us. We'd have full RDP administrator access to the machine to do with as we please, with the box running server 2008. The only thing they ask for is for them to have an administrator account at all times on the box.

Had a quick google, here's 3 UK companies offering slots:
    https://alpha-networks.co.uk/billing/cart.php?a=add&pid=71
    http://www.warcore.co.uk/arma-2
    http://www.alphafrag.co.uk/

Pings on these would be higher, typical UK server pings. The servers would probably be run as services with other things running on them with no guarantee they'd be any better that what we've been playing on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

PogMoThoin wrote: »
    Had a quick google, here's 3 UK companies offering slots:
    https://alpha-networks.co.uk/billing/cart.php?a=add&pid=71
    http://www.warcore.co.uk/arma-2
    http://www.alphafrag.co.uk/

Pings on these would be higher, typical UK server pings. The servers would probably be run as services with other things running on them with no guarantee they'd be any better that what we've been playing on.

Seriously where do you find these places?

http://gamingdeluxe.co.uk/game-servers/Arma_2.php

this one has the 3rd highest populated server according to

http://arma2.swec.se/server/list

which doesnt show private servers.

buts it £205 a year for 18 man.

Whats the story Kinetic^, the lanparty Arma II servers been down for days? I'm itching for a game and there's no server

Folks, I think maybe its time we dipped our hands in our pockets and got an Arma II server. Anyone willing to contribute and play regularly please post Your interest here so we can get the ball rolling. Anyone who contributes would get full admin access, power change missions and to kick. We need a proper show of hands.

We might even gain a few new players now that OPF2 is released. Reports on the BI forum have said that there's a big increase in players happening at the moment, people returning to the game and lots of new players.

With our own server we could organise a weekly Arma II night, some custom missions and even some person v person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭cashville

Hi, it's the infamous here, I'm willing to contribute to this.

Could we go back to the old map or switch between maps with our own admin access to the server then ye? The 2gb download hasnt been d/l by loads of people, and at least now we'd be all be able to kick the tardos.

Yeah, its prob best to go back to the original map. We could maybe have a sahrani sunday :D I'm getting a little bored with domination and evolution, although some mission like this would be set as default, I'd more-so like to play custom missions and try pvp. We'd have this freedom with our own server.

We'd only need a 15-20 slot which is very affordable if we all chip in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

LP.ie server is going to be down for a week or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭kenon

Yeah I'd be willing to contribute. My only fear is that nobody would use it as its been fairly quiet of late.

Sahrani is a great map but it did seem to put people off.

kenon wrote: »
    Yeah I'd be willing to contribute. My only fear is that nobody would use it as its been fairly quiet of late.

The release of a few other games and the expectation of OPF2 saw the amount of players drop. I know myself I overdosed on Arma II and went away to play Batman AA, Resident Evil 5 etc.
    Sahrani is a great map but it did seem to put people off.

Yeah, maybe play it once a week, like i mentioned above, Sahrani Saturday.

I don't mind paying my share for a server that only has one proper nights gaming per week with lots of players, all of us playing one night a week, as long as its there whenever we want to play. We cripled the amount of players by running the Sahrani map, loads try to join and get kicked whenever its running. As You saw Yourself putting Carrier Domination on would fill the server instantly. The mission and map dictates how busy the servers going to be.

I would pay.

dreamers75 wrote: »
    I would pay.

Ah c'mon, You started the thread :D

yeah but i havent finished res 5 yet :D

Also, I've no idea who run's decent servers so I'd be trusting yourselves not to sign us up to a big heap of shîte server. ;)

computer.jpg

that should do it?

Also, I've no idea who run's decent servers so I'd be trusting yourselves not to sign us up to a big heap of shîte server. ;)

Although its the most expensive option of those listed above I'd still be on for the gameservers.ie option for the following reasons:

1, they're Irish
    2, because they're Irish the pings are nice and low for everyone. Its peered through the Inex so offers the lowest ping possible for all of us
    3, its a full dedicated server option, not slots, this gives us the option to host files, run our own voice server or other things........mmmmmm uTorrent :p
    4, being a full server gives us complete control of the missions and mods, You'd not get that with slots on a server, as for instance to run the Sahrani mod, You need to add it to the startup parameters
    5, having control of the full box gives best performance, we'll know there's no other services running and can tweak
    6, we're not limited to a certain amount of slots, the skyslags the limit
    7, we're not tied to Arma II, could run another second server on the box when its quiet, when we played on this server they were running another dedi server on the box, it still handled 30 players if You remember

Gameservers.ie have offered us this box as a full dedicated server for €60-70pm, thats a tenner each per month for 6 or 7 of us. I've no problem with a tenner per month, thats 2 pints :D
    Thoughts?

I go to the full list of game servers sort by players.

then see who has the most on it.

http://www.alpha-networks.co.uk/

1 Month Price - £0.89 GBP
    3 Month Price - £0.86 GBP
    6 Month Price - £0.84 GBP
    12 Month Price - £0.81 GBP

I dont care if they are irish or english, they are nearly 50 quid cheaper per month than gameservers.

http://www.suicidesquad.co.uk/index.php if you want to test out alphas servers.

But You're not getting full control of the server. No chance of running Sahrani etc. All my other points above

http://www.alpha-networks.co.uk/dedicated.php
    Compare like with like man, scroll down to the quadcore servers, cheapest is Uk£100 per month, theirs is a 2.4Ghz Q6600, Gameservers is a 3.2Ghz Xeon quad

Might not look like it to You, but what Gameservers are offering is an absolutely amazing deal, the server they're offering is about €1500 to buy, has hardware raid and is sitting on a 100Mbit pipe

Any more willing to contribute? So far we've only 4 confirmed willing, where are the rest of ye?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

sign me up Pog, my liver may like the 2 less pints but my eye's might not.

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

i'm game as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭c0mpliant

I'll contribute towards it, I don't mind what price it is once the server is good quality and we can control it

Ok, we've now got 7 contributors. You've all agreed to contribute, but none have stated their server preferences. Need to make sure we're all agreeing here.

Does anyone else still prefer the cheaper option of slots dreamers75 linked to?
    Does anyone have a problem with dealing with Gameservers.ie?
    Does anyone have a prob with a tenner pm? (if more sign up, this gets cheaper)
    All ok with paypal?

I've already contacted Gameservers.ie to make sure their offer is still open, but we did beta test their network for them. We really need to get the ball rolling

Paypal is cool with me. I don't mind what server you decide on, I'm sure ye's will go with the best one.

I go with my option top ranked/played on server in Arma2 land vs.........., seriously no faith in gameservers.ie :D

Will paypal for whatever the general consensus is mine or gameservers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 710 ✭✭✭BattlingCheese

paypal preference too and would prefer gameservers for the reasons of good ping and mods/map control.

Just got a reply back from Gameservers.ie
    Hi **,

Sorry for the delay in response! The windows server that we had provisioned for yourselves has actually been taken by another group. Saying this, we have another server (currently running our Linux shared platform) that we could repurpose for your needs - this box has exactly the same spec as the initial box you were using for testing purposes with a price of €65 per month (all inclusive).

The only issue with this is that it will require a trip to the datacentre to preform a windows install. Beyond that, it might take a little longer to install/update ArmA2 again, unless of course you are confident that you can carry on this process yourself?

In either case, a re-install will take place this Friday (pending your agreement) and we can either provide you the server with windows 2008 \"as is\" or can pre-install ArmA2.

How does this arrangment sound?

-Gameservers.ie Support

All ok with this?

I can install the game, thats no bother, in fact I'd prefer to update the server, run a defrag first and do it myself. Pity there's no linux client yet

Paypal and Gameservers sounds good.

Looks good Pog

• Legal Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 5,400 Mod ✭✭✭✭Maximilian

fine by me

Ok Guys, time to sort this. I've gotten confirmation from Gameservers that the server is ready for us as soon as they recieve cash thru paypal. I'll be pm'ing each of You

Sorry that their email to me has been in my spam folder since yest morn :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I may join ye in time if that's possible, I still haven't played on line. Last night was the first time playing it in weeks, I enjoy the game but I avoid it because it just sucks up so much of your time. I spent 5 hours trying to wipe out the main camp in in the Manathan mission only to find out I was supposed to have artillery for that part of the mission. I cleared the camp once with just the lads but one of them died from his injuries after the battle I was never so sickened. I ran into a battlefield and carried the bastard to saftey and then the bastard goes and dies on me. :mad:

I need to get my internet connection sorted though it's constantly dropping and wouldn't be great for online gaming.

ScumLord wrote: »
    I may join ye in time if that's possible, I still haven't played on line. Last night was the first time playing it in weeks, I enjoy the game but I avoid it because it just sucks up so much of your time. I spent 5 hours trying to wipe out the main camp in in the Manathan mission only to find out I was supposed to have artillery for that part of the mission. I cleared the camp once with just the lads but one of them died from his injuries after the battle I was never so sickened. I ran into a battlefield and carried the bastard to saftey and then the bastard goes and dies on me. :mad:

I need to get my internet connection sorted though it's constantly dropping and wouldn't be great for online gaming.

Jaysus, if you think single player is a time sucker wait til you get into multi-player!!!! Well worth it though :pac:

Will cough up on friday :o

Server is up, 217.78.4.73 or do a filter search for boards.ie

Still WIP so there may be issues

When are we getting a game going with a few of us on the server? Some team v team or something......paid for it, yet we don't use it. We should organise something after the weekend as I'm sure everyone is busy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Guys i'm waiting for my components to arrive to build up my gaming machine(which I got especially to run the likes of Arma2).

Would it still be possible to join and pay monthly for this? I don't have any experience playing Arma but I know its all in the MP, so I'd be dying to join a server??

Guys i'm waiting for my components to arrive to build up my gaming machine(which I got especially to run the likes of Arma2).

Would it still be possible to join and pay monthly for this? I don't have any experience playing Arma but I know its all in the MP, so I'd be dying to join a server??

Course, the more the merrier. The servers been running for a while and You're free to join when You're ready. I'll be organising some custom mission evenings once I shake this bug.

Now get some practice and cut Your hair recruit!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Four of a kind

Course, the more the merrier. The servers been running for a while and You're free to join when You're ready. I'll be organising some custom mission evenings once I shake this bug.

Now get some practice and cut Your hair recruit!!!!!

Sir!!!!

I just ordered a new processor. Im hoping going from 2 to 4 cores will make a difference. And yes, I'm not good with money.

Maximilian wrote: »
    I just ordered a new processor. Im hoping going from 2 to 4 cores will make a difference. And yes, I'm not good with money.

LOL, I just ordered 4GB more of ram (while its cheap), gonna make myself a 4GB ramdisk (virtual hd on the ram) for the most used texture .pbo's :D Its supposed to be a much better investment for this game than an SSD, eliminated all delayed textures etc.
    I've already done this on the server to the missions folder to avoid Join in Progress lag, and its worked, people joining no longer get the mission file uploaded from hd.

will pay as soon as i get out of work and top up 3v :mad:

one ****ing shop in the area does it and it opens when it wants too.

Always wanted to see someone try and integrate the unmanned drones into a mission. Wonder how well it works....

http://www.armaholic.com/page.php?id=8346

You have to use a UAV in the SP campaign to look for something. I dont remember what exactly, probably troop movement before you arrive in that area on a mountain bike.

Basically the UAV was flying in a large figure of 8 over an area, you go up to what looked like a portable generator and then you could see what the UAV saw and could control the camera on it.

It was a feature that worked well in what was a bug ridden mess of a single player campaign in version 1.01.

I want to see the Mando Missile in action!