Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New York Summer 2010

• 17-09-2009 9:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭

Ok so myself and 2 friends are hitting new york next summer to work for the summer before going back to college.Now im just looking for info on accommodation, jobs etc off anyone who has done this already please???:D:D:D thanks!!we're amatures at this so any help is greatly appreciated :D

Fi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭DeadMoney

Hey, my advice is just get all your J1 and flights sorted nice and early and DO NOT go with USIT. Use sayit or go4less as these will allow you to book your own flights independently and take out your own insurance. USIT fleece you when it comes to the J1, believe me! Book your flights nice and early and you will get a very good deal as these have dropped recently. Perhaps getting your own cheap Aer Lingus flight to London and then flying from Heathrow may work out cheaper, I'm not sure. Check out all the major American airlines such as United, Delta, AA etc as well as BA and Aer Lingus.

If you book your J1 nice and early, you will get it very cheap as they usually have a limited promotion where it is only like €85 or something. With regards to jobs, do you know anybody working in New York? Some people are blessed with a good connection there who can get them work easy but if you are not one of those people, just start looking on Craigslist in the weeks before you head over and try email as many employers as possible. I'd also advise living in Brooklyn as you are close to the action and not stuck out somewhere like Long Island. Many Irish J1'ers tend to go to Long Island to areas like Montauk. I can never really understand but I guess the Big city is not for everyone. Anyway you'll have no shortage of great bars, clubs 24hrs a day if you live somewhere decent in Brooklyn. The main thing about going to new york is not to be fussy about your accommodation. Its all about location in New York and rent is expensive but once you are willing to squeeze in to a place and not be too worried about not having loads of room, you will be fine. Look at it this way, eating out is pretty much as cheap as eating in and if ye live in a good neighbourhood ye will meet loads of young people and have loads of parties to go to etc so think location instead of luxury.
    Best of luck, I'm hoping to get over there myself this summer. Let me know if you find any jobs as I could use one also ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 Berking

Hey, I'm currently in New York on the J1. I would highly recommend NY for a J1. I'm living in Brooklyn, near Queens. Getting into Manhattan is pretty easy from anywhere in Brooklyn or Queens so I'd recommend anywhere in these places. Craigslist is probably your best bet for finding a place to live.

As regards jobs, they were very difficult to get this summer. It took me more than a month to get one, and the pay isn't great. However, one of my friends got a job as a night time doorman in an apartment building and got 20 dollars an hour. There's an irish immigration centre in Queens which has some very useful contacts for these types of jobs so I would recommend going there as early as possible to beat the crowd. If you get there early in the summer, I'm sure you could get one of these jobs. Hope this helps.

Berking wrote: »
    Hey, I'm currently in New York on the J1. I would highly recommend NY for a J1. I'm living in Brooklyn, near Queens. Getting into Manhattan is pretty easy from anywhere in Brooklyn or Queens so I'd recommend anywhere in these places. Craigslist is probably your best bet for finding a place to live.

As regards jobs, they were very difficult to get this summer. It took me more than a month to get one, and the pay isn't great. However, one of my friends got a job as a night time doorman in an apartment building and got 20 dollars an hour. There's an irish immigration centre in Queens which has some very useful contacts for these types of jobs so I would recommend going there as early as possible to beat the crowd. If you get there early in the summer, I'm sure you could get one of these jobs. Hope this helps.

Hey Berking, can you give us an idea of how much rent is around Brooklyn? I'm hoping to live around Fort Greene, Fort worth, Bedford , Williamsburg areas. Also, is it tough to find places for 2 people to move in?

I cant really give you an accurate estimate Im afraid. We're living in Greenpoint, near Williamsburg. We got a big apartment between 8 of us and it costs about 5 grand a month. But thats a lot more expensive than it should be, and you can, and should, definately get something a lot cheaper.

It shouldnt be hard to find somehwere for 2 to move into, and I'd reckon you could get a reasonable place for about 900 dollars a month between 2. Could probably do cheaper in some parts of Brooklyn. But I would definately recommend looking for a place in Williamsburg. Its a very cool place.

I cant really give you an accurate estimate Im afraid. We're living in Greenpoint, near Williamsburg. We got a big apartment between 8 of us and it costs about 5 grand a month. But thats a lot more expensive than it should be, and you can, and should, definately get something a lot cheaper.

It shouldnt be hard to find somehwere for 2 to move into, and I'd reckon you could get a reasonable place for about 900 dollars a month between 2. Could probably do cheaper in some parts of Brooklyn. But I would definately recommend looking for a place in Williamsburg. Its a very cool place.

Thanks, yeah I've heard great things about Williamsburg alrite and we want to get it on the action. I've heard though that it is quite an expensive area as it is so popular with young people. If it was a case where places there are too expensive would you recommend any other neighbouring areas which are close by and also have a good youth presence and music scene?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 consume

By early what do you mean? Early May?

Im planning on heading over with a few friends to NY for the summer and any tips that anyone else has would be great
    ie where you stayed, how much you payed, places your recommend, jobs you got etc.

No, by early I mean early in June. We went to the immigration centre late in June, and the guy there said that somebody had just taken on about 20 students for doorman jobs, which would be pretty well paid. So if you get there in early in June, I'd say you'd have a good shot at one of those. The immigration centre is in Queens, their website is here: http://www.eiic.org/

Those jobs would be handy and well paid. But they'd also be boring and the hours would be pretty unsociable. The alternative would be to look for shop type work. However, lots of these employers aren't keen on hiring temporary staff, but there are some jobs around. To get these, you just have to go there in person and try to speak to someone that matters. Keep an eye on Craigslist too for open days in these shops. Lots of them do it, and this might be your best chance of landing a shop job. Problem with these jobs is that the pay isn't good, but on the plus side, you can meet a lot of cool people. We met a load of American friends from these jobs, which I guess is kinda the point of the whole thing. It's better than just hanging around with Irish people all Summer.

I really recommend New York though. Its unbelievably good fun. We were there for over 4 months and barely scratched the surface. Never a dull moment. Being back in Ireland has really made me realise how great the place actaully was!! But I will say, a couple of the lads I went with had to come home early, so its a bigger risk than going to some the resorts.

Like I previously said Greenpoint/Williamsburg areas are very nice. Thats were we lived. Very easy to get to Manhattan. But most of Brooklyn and Queens are fine. As long as your within walking distance of the subway you cant really go wrong. That runs 24 hours, its cheap and its safe. I frequently got it after a night out and never had any trouble. The amount we paid is earlier in the thread, but that was very expensive. Just be aware that people could go home, so try not to be too tight on the rent!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 murm57

DeadMoney wrote: »
    Hey, my advice is just get all your J1 and flights sorted nice and early and DO NOT go with USIT. Use sayit or go4less as these will allow you to book your own flights independently and take out your own insurance. USIT fleece you when it comes to the J1, believe me! Book your flights nice and early and you will get a very good deal as these have dropped recently. Perhaps getting your own cheap Aer Lingus flight to London and then flying from Heathrow may work out cheaper, I'm not sure. Check out all the major American airlines such as United, Delta, AA etc as well as BA and Aer Lingus.

If you book your J1 nice and early, you will get it very cheap as they usually have a limited promotion where it is only like €85 or something. With regards to jobs, do you know anybody working in New York? Some people are blessed with a good connection there who can get them work easy but if you are not one of those people, just start looking on Craigslist in the weeks before you head over and try email as many employers as possible. I'd also advise living in Brooklyn as you are close to the action and not stuck out somewhere like Long Island. Many Irish J1'ers tend to go to Long Island to areas like Montauk. I can never really understand but I guess the Big city is not for everyone. Anyway you'll have no shortage of great bars, clubs 24hrs a day if you live somewhere decent in Brooklyn. The main thing about going to new york is not to be fussy about your accommodation. Its all about location in New York and rent is expensive but once you are willing to squeeze in to a place and not be too worried about not having loads of room, you will be fine. Look at it this way, eating out is pretty much as cheap as eating in and if ye live in a good neighbourhood ye will meet loads of young people and have loads of parties to go to etc so think location instead of luxury.
    Best of luck, I'm hoping to get over there myself this summer. Let me know if you find any jobs as I could use one also ;)
    ive already bkd my j1 with usit (it was free not €85). didnt bother waitn 4 sayit and go4less havent a clue what theyr talkn about, they cant evn book flights yet :eek: ! usit seem 2hav the best deal anyway with the bank loan - i dont hav 2pay anything until i come home - sweet!! i cant wait, headn 2cape cod! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 ChairmanMeeow

Are USIT paying for the above advertisement? :P

I'm in the same boat as the OP, thinking of going to NY next summer most likely Montauk.( As long as I have no repeats!) As I've a relative with business contacts there I should have a job sorted easily enough. I was just wondering about accommodation. Assuming I'm going, when should I book it? And why is all the places I looked at so far so friggin expensive?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 tm2tlk

Planning on going to Montauk myself next summer! Booking with go4less as they seem to have best deal and were honest about costs also the woman was much friendlier and helpful to me as someone who knew very little about J1s! I've been looking into accomodation but apparently most places are for 5 or 6 people at least and are either very basic but cheapish or else well equiped and VERY pricey! I was wondering if anyone knew about accomodation that is reasonably priced AND an ok place to stay!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 robe4ie

Hey, I'm heading to Montauk with a group of mates for the whole summer. Both of my brothers went there two years in a row and apparently it's really good, great people, easy jobs and a good nightlife. We booked with go4less cause they are cheap and really easy to talk to. I've heard jobs are very easy to come by and accommodation is easy to get if you book early, although I hear they are not big on groups of lads so it's better to tell them you're a mixed group.

Can't wait gonna be amazing!

Booked with go4less too. They're so helpful so they got my vote! Been looking for accomodation! I think its really hard because it all seems SO expensive! Maybe thats just me though. If you have any luck finding good cheap accomodation I'd love to hear about it!

We're not going to book accommodation until January, if you get a house between a decent sized group it shouldn't be too expensive. Have you looked into jobs yet?

Yeah I've been looking up places to work and there seems to be LOADS of bars/restaurants/pubs in the place and also lots of shops so I think it will be fairly easy to get a job once your heading over early enough! :)

I'll probably wait til closer to the time too to book accomodation but I dont want to leave it too late either incase everywhere decently priced is taken and I do not want to be spending ALL my money on accomodation especially if it not up to scratch! I was told a house is the way to go and just get others to bunk in with u to lower the cost but I've looked at houses and you'd need about 20 people in them to make them any way decently priced!

We're planning on staying in ann breyers it's supposed to be the best for Irish students and not too expensive. check it out http://www.annbreyerscottages.com/Welcome.html

I emailed and got no reply! But thanks ! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 cookie5982

Was in Montauk a few summers ago and to be honst found it pretty boring, far too quiet for my liking!. Having said that its probably just me as i know people who really enjoyed it, i just prefer the hustle and bustle of a big city then the beach.
    In terms of jobs try Gosmans dock , its bascially an area of restaurants ( some casual and a more fancy one) and shops, its all owned by the same family, plenty of irish working there when i went! also theres a big drugstore in the town i remember irish girls working in and plenty of gift shops selling montauk branded jumpers and shorts that the irish worked in!
    In terms of going out go to Nicks on the beach and point full of irish and ridiculously cheap, especially sloppy sundays in the point!
    and for accommodation try tipperary inn, friends of ours came mid summer and managed to get a room!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭NavyandBlue

cookie5982 wrote: »
    Was in Montauk a few summers ago and to be honst found it pretty boring, far too quiet for my liking!. Having said that its probably just me as i know people who really enjoyed it, i just prefer the hustle and bustle of a big city then the beach.
    In terms of jobs try Gosmans dock , its bascially an area of restaurants ( some casual and a more fancy one) and shops, its all owned by the same family, plenty of irish working there when i went! also theres a big drugstore in the town i remember irish girls working in and plenty of gift shops selling montauk branded jumpers and shorts that the irish worked in!
    In terms of going out go to Nicks on the beach and point full of irish and ridiculously cheap, especially sloppy sundays in the point!
    and for accommodation try tipperary inn, friends of ours came mid summer and managed to get a room!

Hey, we're planning to got to Ann Breyers's cottages. There are 8 of us and we were thinking of getting a six person cottage. Does anyone know if A) The cottages are realisitically big enough to have 8 people in them and B) if the landlords would chuck us out if they found out that there were two extra people living there.

Cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 Emzer

Hey ,
    Me and my friend were planning on going to montauk in the summer and emailed Ann Breyers's cottages but didnt get a reply we both emailed just wondering did anyone get a reply and know how much it is and since it would only be two of us are the cottages for 6 and up?
    also Would people be up for sharing?

we have been looking at accommodation in new york city and its very expensive so not sure what to do!
    Anyone know of any good places to stay in montauk (besides Ann Breyers's cottages) or nyc?

Since posting last, I got a reply from Ann Breyers and it was quite expensive, so I started looking cloeser to the city and I've found some good places for way better prices very close to the city. Was told to look on craigslist and sublet.com and there are lots of other sites that I had a look at and found some decent accomodation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 PamUddin

Im going to New York for the summer months aswel and looking for accommodation and people to share with as Im going by myself!!! any suggestions howl il go about finding flat mates??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 170 ✭✭NavyandBlue

Emzer wrote: »
    Hey ,
    Me and my friend were planning on going to montauk in the summer and emailed Ann Breyers's cottages but didnt get a reply we both emailed just wondering did anyone get a reply and know how much it is and since it would only be two of us are the cottages for 6 and up?
    also Would people be up for sharing?

we have been looking at accommodation in new york city and its very expensive so not sure what to do!
    Anyone know of any good places to stay in montauk (besides Ann Breyers's cottages) or nyc?

Hey if anyone stayed in Ann Breyers over the years, could they please send me a pic or two of the accomodation as their website is rather poor. I would just like to see what they look like before committing to renting them for the Summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 303katy

hey guys
    me and my friend are hitting Montauk this summer, havent heard of many j1'rs on about it yet tho? My friend was there last summer, said their was no problem getting a job (or jobs : ) ) Im checkin out accomodation now too, I think the motels are where the craic is

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,829 ✭✭✭lil_lisa

Just some advice, I know people who stayed in NYC and paid a lot and couldn't get jobs. I also know people who stayed up around Poughkeepskie and Saratoga and got cheap accommodation. Its a train ride from the city but it might be worth it for the whole summer. Look up Irish bars, they love hiring Irish people for the authenticity of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sup

i was in montuk last year and it was unreal. i know 8 people going back there this yr from last yr.if your under 21 its the only place to go and if your over 21 its even better. it is a tiny place but that adds to the craic there. everybody knows everybody. the beach in the town is amazing. the best pubs are nicks, the point, the trails end, shagwongs and there pretty good for work aswell. i got there in may last year and it was realy quite. it doest get busy until mid june. there is loads of work there. i went thru 4 jobs there. pathfinders summer camp is a good place for work. the money is only ok but ur home everyday at 3:30 so if u wanted another job u could get it. the locals are sound aswell. live in ann breyers if u get the chance coz it is the least amount of hassel and the other places arent much cheaper. its a 3 hr train to new york aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 ChairmanMeeow

Flights booked for the 27th of May for NY.:D

There will be 5 or 6 us heading over, but what part of New York should I go to? Where are the main spots in the city for J1ers to reside?

I have my job sorted for Downtown Manhattan.I looked into Hoboken, and the Northern parts of Brooklyn and parts of Queens too.

Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Irishstabber

Flights booked for the 27th of May for NY.:D

There will be 5 or 6 us heading over, but what part of New York should I go to? Where are the main spots in the city for J1ers to reside?

I have my job sorted for Downtown Manhattan.I looked into Hoboken, and the Northern parts of Brooklyn and parts of Queens too.

Any ideas?

You flying with delta 1230 flight from DUB?