Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

loading gas problem 1911?

• 17-09-2009 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭

Just bought a M1911 colt made by TERCEL. Lovely item and very happy with it. My problem is when I try to charge the mag with gas I only get about two shots from it and its empty:( Instructions are all in Chinese so of no help!

Its a blow back if that makes any odds? Hope someone can put me on the right track. Cheers all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,463 ✭✭✭Leftyflip

Does the mag make a hissing sound when full of gas?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

are ya turning the canister of gas upside down to fill the magazine? if not you should be. your only getting vapor in the mag. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭chem

Masada wrote: »
    are ya turning the canister of gas upside down to fill the magazine? if not you should be. your only getting vapor in the mag. :)

I am turning it upside down masada. I keep it pressed in for about a min and still get only two shots and it dies! How do you know when a mag is full? Or how long do they take to charge?

Thanks for the quick reply and the help;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭TNTQ

In some mags, inlet valve is located very deep and the nozzle from some bottles is not reaching deep enough. If that is the reasone, you need to get different brand of gas, with long (best) steel nozzle. Is the preasure in the mag (you can press on the "nob" in the back of the mag)?

Would you be able to post a pic of the mag and the gas canister??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

2 shots would imply wrong way up loading.

Hold the gas can and mag upside down, fill then, theres no way to overfill, it will stop filling once its full.

Ensure the gas can is full, not dying, and hold it perpendicular to the mag valve, ie. line them up correctly.

Make sure your mag is empty before filling, press the striker valve on the back to empty it.

If that doesnt work, get some silicon oil, lidl do it in the car section, and spray it on the striker valve and other fill valves.

If that doesnt work post up again, it may be a gun issue, but thats less likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

is the mag cold? just have to eliminate all possabilities:)
    but being a bit cold wouldnt make efficency that poor
    just curious about this but wouldnt a minute fill put loads on pressure on the valves?

gungun wrote: »
    is the mag cold? just have to eliminate all possabilities:)
    but being a bit cold wouldnt make efficency that poor
    just curious about this but wouldnt a minute fill put loads on pressure on the valves?

Acctually you should get better fill from cold mags than from warm.

Do a test. If you have 203 grenades. Put one into the freezer and one keep in room temp. Fill "cold" with the same gas as warm grenade. Load them with the BBs and shoot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭gungun

indeed you may get a grand fill from a cold mag but if you dont warm it up after filling it the gas still wont last long at all right?

gungun wrote: »
    indeed you may get a grand fill from a cold mag but if you dont warm it up after filling it the gas still wont last long at all right?

Couldn't agree more:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭Sod'o swords

If the slide is metal make sure you're not using 134a.

It isn't strong enough for the metal slide, so you'll only get two or three shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 683 ✭✭✭Head_Hunter

Are you getting a haze of gas spraying out of the barrel with each shot?

Sorry folks was out for abit. Im using a new can of extreme blow back APS3 for the fill. I did find that if I spray/stop/spray/stop the mag hold abit more but still only 5-6 shots! No gas is venting with shots. The shop oiled up all moving parts and valves before I left the shop. Shop owner said one fill should last 3 mags. Mag is at room temp. I hope this info helps in some way! Thanks for all your help. Might have to take it back to the shop tomorrow if I cant figure this out:(

Oh and when I press in the valve at the top of the mag its empty after the two shots.

Its not filling properly then, either the valve in the gas can is arseways or the fill valve on the mag.

You can confirm you are holding mag and can upside down yeah?

Is there a lot of venting of gas when fired, as in a pfft hiss or just a pop noise as it should be?

Its not filling properly then, either the valve in the gas can is arseways or the fill valve on the mag.

You can confirm you are holding mag and can upside down yeah?

Is there a lot of venting of gas when fired, as in a pfft hiss or just a pop noise as it should be?

When I fill it as much as I can, There is a pop then a miss fire, cock again then a hard pop holding the action back locked. Still another BB in mag. Holding mag and can upside down while filling. Only time I get the half pfft hiss is on the 3rd shot and it only half cocks the action.

Id have the guys who sold it to you have a look at it, sounds like it isn't filling correctly, the second weak shot is the low pressure gas pissing out and not cycling the action.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

the loading muzzle is also a possiblity. take a few photos if you can. remove the slide and photograph the inside of it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭Inari

It honestly sounds like it's the mag well is too deep for the gas you have.

I had the same problem, and I bought an extension off of SEairsoft. Now it fills like a charm. Do a test. Put the tube of the gas into the mag well, and see if there's any clearance (i.e. space between mag and metal of the gas can)...if there's not or not much, it's just the mag well is too deep. If there is, I don't know what it is.

Masada wrote: »
    the loading muzzle is also a possiblity. take a few photos if you can. remove the slide and photograph the inside of it. :)

Thought that myself but you wouldn't have an empty mag after really, he said there wasn't gas pissing out every shot, more like weak shots after one strong one.

@Inari: The tercel has a shallow inlet valve hole, so he should be able to get the nozzle in, tisnt like an army meu or anything.

By all means, take pics, put them up, but plan a trip up to the retailer to have it looked at, could just be the fill valve is arseways. But all in all I'm surprised that would be a problem, do you get a lot of gas leakage as you fill it? You shouldn't on that mag.

Thanks for all the advise lads;) The problem seems to have sorted its self out:confused: She is up and running now and empties the mag no problem!! Might of just needed the oil to work its self into the system?

Cant wait to take it to the 1st skirmish now! Thanks to all again for your help in this issue.

Sound.