Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your get out clause?

• 17-09-2009 3:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 515 ✭✭✭

If I'm down the country (don't get down as much since my Grandmother passed away:( but she's the reason for this thread) I used to get away with knowing nothing about farming or agriculture.
    It was for one reason only. I would confidently talk to my aunts about the iniquitous behaviour of butchers who would try and leave the "slipper" out of the whole Ham that you'd bought. Don't know what made it great, but if you talk about the best meat being in the "slipper", it's like a green card.

So yeah, anyone other equivalents that they use to pretend they haven't moved completely to the "big smoke".:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

How about 'I'm not from Dublin'? Gets 'em every time. Besides, all country people who move to Dublin end up with a weird 'D4esque' accent. Impossible to miss.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭genericguy

when im in donegal with the girlfriend's family, i just refer to derry as londonderry, refuse point-blank to go to mass, and refer to home as the pale.

works like a fooking charm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

When my gf doesn't want sex she packs up her bags and goes to live with her mother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,710 ✭✭✭RoadKillTs

Just start a big rant on how Kerr Pinks are better than Records and they will leave alone for the whole weekend.

RoadKillTs wrote: »
    Just start a big rant on how Kerr Pinks are better than Records and they will leave alone for the whole weekend.

Kerr Pinks are better. Now leave me the fcuk alone. ;)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

That_Guy wrote: »
    When my gf doesn't want sex she packs up her bags and goes to live with her mother.

Crikey, thats bit extreme! :pac:

Biggins wrote: »
    Crikey, thats bit extreme! :pac:

I know. I don't even have a gf.... but if I did she would do exactly that. Derren Brown told me that while he was picking lotto numbers out of my ass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Dont know about a get out clause I am looking for a get in clause. I am 3 years in the country I am told I will never be a member, my kids will never ben members but my grankids might start to be accepted.

I kindly reply that if all the culchies feck off back home I might buy a house in the pale at a decent price then you can shut up your shops and go back to farming.

Not going to make me popular i think!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Can't wait for the "how to fit in in Dublin as a culchie" response thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I always say stuff like, "Ah sure O'Malley/Mullen/Flaherty (delete as appropriate) was the best corner forward this county has ever seen. That new young fellah couldn't hit a feckin' barn door" and then take a long sup of porter and they all agree with ya.

One of the country lads. That's me that is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

If I'm down the country (don't get down as much since my Grandmother passed away:( but she's the reason for this thread) I used to get away with knowing nothing about farming or agriculture.
    It was for one reason only. I would confidently talk to my aunts about the iniquitous behaviour of butchers who would try and leave the "slipper" out of the whole Ham that you'd bought. Don't know what made it great, but if you talk about the best meat being in the "slipper", it's like a green card.
    To get into I.C.A meetings maybe. Can you get to Balinasloe via Ahascragh? What day is the Tuam mart on?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 120 ✭✭raptorman

Talk about yer grá for flowery spuds!

Ask: "Did ya ever take out the backswarth"

Ask: "When was she noticed"

Drink Guinness along with a small one.

Discuss the quality of turf that has been seasoned for a year.

Say: "May your hand stick a pig and let the pig be yer own"

Say: "You could stick two suck calves on that one and you'd still have a drop for the house" While looking at a woman with big breasts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭anniehoo

Magnus wrote: »
    Can't wait for the "how to fit in in Dublin as a culchie" response thread.
    Try being a Dublin Culchie! Im a northsider with Ag Science qualifications. The craic tryin to explain that one on a sat night in the pub i tell ya.
    Randomer: "yer wha? a farmer..from Dublin...no feckin jaysusin way"
    Me: yeh i swear ask me anythin ye like about quotas
    Randomer: c'mere mick..this wan here thinks shes some sort of wanna be culchie

/endless hours of fun