Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is there anything wrong with dating a red headed lady ?

• 17-09-2009 12:48am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭

i know this really cute one

but my friends seem to hate the idea of dating a red head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭JamieK

Is it not going to be you dating her and not your friends?? :rolleyes: How does it matter what your friends think?? If they were proper friends they wouldn't slag somebody that you could potentially really like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,127 ✭✭✭kjl

listen to your heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭Monkey61

The fact that you would consider not dating someone because of the colour of their hair suggests that you are in no way mature enough to even consider having a relationship.

I'd leave the poor girl alone, she could do better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,830 ✭✭✭✭Taltos

Monkey61 wrote: »
    The fact that you would consider not dating someone because of the colour of their hair suggests that you are in no way mature enough to even consider having a relationship.

On a side note some of the most attractive women I know are red-headed.
    But if you hold your friends opinions in such high regard then I have to wonder if you are really ready for an adult relationship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭Vyse

Monkey61 wrote: »

+++1. You come across like a 12 year old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,494 ✭✭✭kayos

Huh? Nothing in the world wrong in the world with a red head.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Troll :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭RossFixxxed

Wooooow! Do not date her. Red haired women, like many other women want a man who doesn't treat a relationship like a twelve year old.

You've a lot of growing up to do. I'd leave dating out for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

Seems peculiar to the anglo-saxon world. Trust me if the girl is cute and a redhead - she goes abroad she'll have the men queuing up to ask her out, and she could probably do far, far better than you or your 'friends'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

i have to laugh when i read this - just because she has red hair! I imagine your still in schoool and i guess it can be tought with peer pressure etc but come on - red hair is lovely and lots of people would love to have it. But as i said your probably still in school and kids can be cruel. Leave the girl alone as she can do better and when you grow up - you'll realise what you missed!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Cute girl who you think you might have a chance with results in you asking the internet if you should date her...?

Yup, she could do better.

Cute girl who you think you might have a chance with results in you asking the internet if you should date her...?

Yup, she could do better.

It's scary isn't it. It's that whole "how do you live like this?" .... "DON'T GOOGLE THE QUESTION!!" situation.

I think the Internet could do better than that and it's full of weirdos!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Are you worried future kids may have no souls?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,145 ✭✭✭SarahSassy

All the red headed women I know are truly nuts - maybe its just a poor representation of the overall population (or maybe not :O).

Work away if you dont mind having ginger kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 603 ✭✭✭metalgear2k2

This is probably a wasted answer on you as you sound like a child but yes you should, my previous long term gf was a redhead, beautiful hair, nice white skin and she never tried to hide it with that terrible fake tan. Very strong confident woman that knew what she wanted, since then I always seem to check out any redheads I spot without even thinking about it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,598 ✭✭✭✭prinz

SarahSassy wrote: »
    Work away if you dont mind having ginger kids.

What is that supposed to mean? Probably lighthearted comment, but that's exactly the kind of nonsense that has his friends taking the mick out of this girl.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

SarahSassy, have a bit of cop on before you post please. That goes for anyone else who wants to have a laugh.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

maybe this is a bit off track but im just wondering - when people slag red haired people, im not getting at anyone in particular here, but comments like having ginger babies etc, is this kind of racist?? I imagine if someone said - not unless you want a black baby or whatever - that would be considered racist right?

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    maybe this is a bit off track but im just wondering - when people slag red haired people, im not getting at anyone in particular here, but comments like having ginger babies etc, is this kind of racist?? I imagine if someone said - not unless you want a black baby or whatever - that would be considered racist right?

I actually had to delete a post on that as it would get me banned. That's the kind of idiotic double standard that drives me mad. And the 'no souls' comment IS funny, I'm very slightly red headed and i laughed all the way through south park, but comments on people's kids. I don't get offended by jokes, but sometimes by the ignorant bigot behind it.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

Wandering off-topic here, can we keep all replies helpful to the OP thanks.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

But youre not your friends, are you? You think this red head is 'a cute one'.

If you want to live in your friends pockets, and only do what they see as ok, then fine. But I say use your own mind, and decide for yourself.

For the record, hair colour is not something to base a relationship on. She could dye her hair blue next week, but would still be the same girl. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,264 ✭✭✭mood

What age are you? You sound very young (teen). Why do you care about something so silly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭xXxhotstuff xXx

i have red hair and for years i have wanted to dye it because i hated it but finally im beginning to like it.. i was the only one it ever bothered tho.. in school i was known as "the girl with the fair nice hair" to those who didnt know me and those who did always complimented it.. even people i had met for the first time would always comment on my "beautiful red hair" and foreigners love it.. i think its stupid to even considere not dating this girl just because she has red hair thankfully iv never come across a fella like you because it has never stopped any lad iv been with and my boyfriend has warned me not to dye my hair because he loves it and thinks no other colour would suit me as much.. OP you should focus on all the lovely things about this girl instead of one thing your friends dont like and take the piss out of your friends by saying things like "yer only saying that because ye know shes way out of yer league".. have a mind and opinion of your own your friends shouldnt be doing all your thinking for you!!

OP: I'm gonna write you a prescription:

1) Two testicles to be attached immediately
    2) A personality of your own to cultivate
    3) The ability to make a decision
    4) And an awful lot of cop on.

Take these. I still think she's WAAYY better off without you. You are way to juvenille, and I can only imagine what it'd be like if you do go out with each other.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 168 ✭✭super_metroid

bump

bump

Don't 'bump' threads here. If you want to bump a thread, how about replying to the advice you've been given so far?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What planet are you from? Seriously.

What difference should it make to anyone if a person has white, grey, black, red or blonde hair?

You are clearly immature and are not intelligent enough in the dating arena to know that hair colour is as important as what type of perfume a girl uses.

Why would you concern yourself about what your "mates" think - if they are your genuine friend then they won't give a sh1t about who you date - they will like her because she is your gf.

My wife is a red head and is stunning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

Listen mate, have a bit of cop on. You can date whoever you want if you can make yourself look well in other peoples eyes, but I can't see how that is possible with you as you clearly lack the maturity or personality to gain any respect from any well grounded young woman. I hope you don't ask this girl out, and even if you do, I hope she rejects you because she would probably deserve better. I hope she finds a good man for herself, and as for you, it's about time you graduated Primary School.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Don't worry about your mates. Long term if you think your kids being ginger would bother you get out before you get attached

To the other posters i've nothing against gingers per se but this is a pi so just giving an honest answer. i wouldn't want ginger kids myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aurora Borealis

Surely this is a troll!?! Some of the hottest people out there are redheads. First guy I was with was a redhead and v cute to go with it and there are so many beautiful red haired girls. I'm blonde but teeter on the edge of dying my hair red, am advised it wouldn't suit my colouring though. :(
    Natural red hair is fab!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 Choice One

This is cleary a joke- Well done to the OP for getting so many responses.

My turn............Is it ok to slap fat kids???

Choice One wrote: »
    This is cleary a joke- Well done to the OP for getting so many responses.

My turn............Is it ok to slap fat kids???

You might want to read the charter before posting here, unhelpful posting can earn you a ban from this forum

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,262 ✭✭✭✭Joey the lips

Two words!

Nicole Kidman!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

it's fine, just don't have kids with her, they're horrible

http://images.paraorkut.com/img/funnypics/images/r/red_head_child-12005.jpg

....where do you think redheads come from then?

Anyway, Thread locked, OP has his answers.