Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Salsa

• 16-09-2009 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭

Honestly don't know where to put thread so please move it to a more suitable position if need be. Basically living in North Dublin but anytime I go to Salsa dancing classes it is great doing the classes but when I go to a club and start dancing I am like a rabbit in front of headlights. All the girls who do the classes go straight home afterwards and it does not look good if you stay around afterwards as the class is for 1 hour and it is adios after that. I have no confidence whatsoever. Is anybody in a similar situation? I would love to meet someone so as to practice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,012 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I, too, have that personal issue. I can dance reasonably well during the class, but forget 90% of it when I'm out in a club. The problem with my club is that they go to a quiet pub after the class -- losers.

I'm thinking of doing day/weekend long dance classes, so hopefully I'll be so good at the end of it that I can only forget so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭janullrich

Thanks Swayze. I am glad somebody feels the same way. If you do find ways to get some practice outside the "practice hour" scene I would be happy to hear about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 356 ✭✭agent_smith

I find the salsa dance classes in dublin can be a little snobby in some places. The garda club springs to mind.... as in the regular good dancer will not dance with the beginners etc..

First of all fair play to you getting lessons. It is great craic and does give you great confidence when you get going. Have you considered Swing dancing? They do that in Q bar on a wednesday evening and its very welcoming for beginners and great social dance scene after.

Also have you tried asking one of the regulars if you can have a dance after your salsa class. It can be difficult, but its a great way to get better.

Hope things work out for you,

agent_smith

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭janullrich

Thanks Agent Smith. Good advise there. Appreciate it.