Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do most gay men dislike GAA?

• 16-09-2009 04:46PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 21

This seems to be a trend in gay men. Its how I usually find out if a guy is gay, when he suddenly goes quiet when the conversation turns to football, gaa, etc. Is this a dead give away?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bada_bing

not necessarily, one of my friends is gay and he is the biggest Arsenal fan ever. Never misses any of their matches and gets pissed off whenever they lose.
    besides i know a lot of other guys who are straight and have no interest in football at all, they prefer to do other sports such as running, swimming, rowing etc... so bottom line is that you can't judge someone's sexuality based on whether they like football or not.

though if some guy says he loves watching America's next top model or some ****e like that , then chances are he's gay!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21 CRonaldo

=bada_bing;62135466]rowing etc... so bottom line is that you can't judge someone's sexuality based on whether they like football or not.

Lol you just contradicted yourself there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,510 ✭✭✭Tricity Bendix

bada_bing wrote: »
    though if some guy says he loves watching America's next top model or some ****e like that , then chances are he's gay!!!!
    I tried using the "but the women on it are hot" line, but it didn't wash.

On topic: I like watching the occasional game of hurling. Hate the GAA, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭anotherlostie

Some gays do. Some gays don't.

As in all aspects of life, be it personal grooming, DIY, hill walking or whatever. Some gay men will have an interest, some will not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭Ronanc1

I'd probably say yes as GAA (most of the time) attracts less than open minded non-liberal types, who are more likly to be homophobes and complete arses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Cubscout

I for one play and follow rugby,gaa and hurling.I have met a lot of gay men especially in rugby.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

Ronanc1 wrote: »
    I'd probably say yes as GAA (most of the time) attracts less than open minded non-liberal types, who are more likly to be homophobes and complete arses.

Its has a strong rural following. We are not complete asses I can assure you. Of all the sports I follow I find the GAA crowd the best to be in. The fans can mix unlike Soccer, for example. The crowd at a GAA match is very mixed. Men, women, children, grandparents. Its all of rural Ireland.

Grant rural Ireland is typically less liberal than the city. Its the same all over the world though. Rural Bavarians tend to be more conservative than those in Munich.

What you are observing in the GAA is not the cultural of the organistion as such, but rather the culture of rural Ireland. Despite this the GAA is the most forward looking and progressive sporting organisation in the country. The success of Croke Park and its ability to sustain itself and grow over 125 years is testament to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,400 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Euro_Kraut wrote: »
    Its has a strong rural following. We are not complete asses I can assure you. Of all the sports I follow I find the GAA crowd the best to be in. The fans can mix unlike Soccer, for example. The crowd at a GAA match is very mixed. Men, women, children, grandparents. Its all of rural Ireland.

The fans can mix at domestic football games in Ireland - this is not the UK. Stating that suggests you've never gone to one... you'll also get a similarly mixed crowd at any LOI game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,957 ✭✭✭Euro_Kraut

MYOB wrote: »
    The fans can mix at domestic football games in Ireland - this is not the UK. Stating that suggests you've never gone to one... you'll also get a similarly mixed crowd at any LOI game.

Fair enough. I have been to a few game actually.

Anyway... I had written a longer retort, but we are going waaay off topic.

Grant rural Ireland is typically less liberal than the city. Its the same all over the world though. Rural Bavarians tend to be more conservative than those in Munich.

What you are observing in the GAA is not the cultural of the organistion as such, but rather the culture of rural Ireland. Despite this the GAA is the most forward looking and progressive sporting organisation in the country. The success of Croke Park and its ability to sustain itself and grow over 125 years is testament to that.

Sorry didnt mean to sound so strident:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Nowhere near the same extent. And there's segregation required at certain games. I used to live outside Tolka park and the kind of police you saw there you didn't at croke park.

Rugby however the crowds mix just as much as GAA

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 496 ✭✭renraw

I'm gay and only recently gave up playing hurling because I play soccer almost every week :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Euro_Kraut wrote: »

What's all this about rural?

City folk follow it very strongly too! And its not only Dublin city I'm talking about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Damien1989

Agreed.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,013 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

I'm gay and don't care about football - nor do my gay mates, but equally, nor do my straight mates. That's because we're nerds and that's almost more defining for me in my likes and dislikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,400 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Nowhere near the same extent. And there's segregation required at certain games. I used to live outside Tolka park and the kind of police you saw there you didn't at croke park.

Rugby however the crowds mix just as much as GAA

Certain Dublin derbies get segregated. But its a complete and utter exaggeration to claim you'd get more guards on Richmond Road than outside Croker. Additionally the vast, vast majority of trouble from the Dublin derbies actually happens outside the stadia, usually kids who weren't let in in the first place!

As goes the crowds actually mixing - thats football culture, basically. For instance the only one stadium in the entire country puts Finn Harps fans in an area where they're on their own (Drogheda United's United Park) but at the other 18, people still stand with their own. Not because they have to, just because they want to.

Ioxy your nerdy and moderator of stargate and scifi..............

............ Will.........
    You............ marry me!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,620 ✭✭✭Rick_

I'm gay and I enjoy watching GAA matches as well as American Football and Ice Hockey and UFC.

Soccer doesn't really do it for me though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭brandodub

Paddy C wrote: »
    I'm gay and I enjoy watching GAA matches as well as American Football and Ice Hockey and UFC.

Soccer doesn't really do it for me though.
    Me too although am perennially disappointed with the Dubs:(
    I'd say there's quite a few gay GAA supporters

More into Rugby Union than League though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭elekid

Ioxy your nerdy and moderator of stargate and scifi..............

............ Will.........
    You............ marry me!! ;)

Hands off, he's mine! :P

I would say the same as Ixoy, my tastes and most of my friends tastes (my friends being mostly straight) are far more to do with being nerdy than anything else. I'd take video games, tv shows and sci-fi over sports and cars or indeed, fashion and drama, any day. Though come to think of it most of the gay people I know are also nerdy anyway!

Hands off, he's mine!

Fight to the death over him and seeing as were the nerdy scifi types i suggest phasers at dawn haha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,061 ✭✭✭shoegirl

I think gay men generally enjoy GAA, but the sport itself hasn't made any sort of effort to project a gay friendly image, unlike rugby, where you've had loads of very positive supports - such as IRFU and Leinster branch backing up the Bingham Cup (they provided the refs and a lot of tactical supports to the BC), open gay referees such as Nigel Owens etc. GAA don't really open up to the gay community in the way some other sports have.

That said there is a huge closeted lesbian community in womens camogie and football, but again no official endorsement, and I suspect a lot of smaller clubs and provinces would throw a seizure if they were expected to support any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,240 ✭✭✭CaptainSkidmark

im neither gay or bisexual and i hate the GAA! shower of feckers if ya ask me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Dark Artist

Well I'm gay and I don't like GAA, so there's some shred of evidence for you. That said, of course there's straight guys who don't like GAA, I know plenty.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭Nebit

im gay and i like most sports! :)
    i think the atmosphere is great especially for GAA and Rugby. You go into a pub on the day of a game and automatically associate with the people there so i don't get what some of you mean by acceptance?
    Also i have a few m8s of mine who don't like sport and are straight, similarly i have girl friends who are majorly into sports, and they are very straight.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Certain Dublin derbies get segregated. But its a complete and utter exaggeration to claim you'd get more guards on Richmond Road than outside Croker. Additionally the vast, vast majority of trouble from the Dublin derbies actually happens outside the stadia, usually kids who weren't let in in the first place!

As goes the crowds actually mixing - thats football culture, basically. For instance the only one stadium in the entire country puts Finn Harps fans in an area where they're on their own (Drogheda United's United Park) but at the other 18, people still stand with their own. Not because they have to, just because they want to.

Well of course as croker has a capacity of 80,000 and Tolka park only around 10,000. Of course the trouble is outside the grounds because its segregated inside.

And sorry for the confusion, when I said "the kind of police" I meant literally that, not number of police. I'm talking about the lads going around in full body armour and alsatians by their sides. It was really annoying when a derby was on as I had to have my bag searched on my way home and one time was almost refused entry to the area but for a sound guard accepting it wasn't unreasonable for me not to be able to prove my address.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,682 ✭✭✭LookingFor

I've been moulded by my experience in school, but where I went to school - and this was in Dublin, not in the country - there seemed to be a strong correlation between the GAA crowd and homophobia, both among players/students and teachers/coaches alike. They were also by far the most arrogant and 'clique-iest' of all the sporting groups too. I remember school trips where the GAA folks would be drinking with the GAA coach/teachers...and of course no one else could do likewise. The GAA coaches doted on their players and pretty much hated everyone else. There was of course homophobia a degree of tribalism in the other groups, but the GAA crowd were far worse than other sports (soccer, basketball etc.).

This is of course probably just down to a couple of the GAA teachers/coaches in my school and their "leadership", however rather than anything inherent to GAA. In the case of my school they just tended to be...rougher...than the teachers involved in other sports. I think such people are likely to be more aggressively homophobic.

(BTW, I hate that word in context like this. They weren't AFRAID of gay people, they just love to use them as an object of ridicule and hate to make themselves feel better via 'us vs them' association. The word homophobia extends far too much sympathy to these people.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭swirlser

My BF loves his GAA and supports his county proudly...

Myself on the other hand, not so much! Im what you might call a fake supporter, Ill wear my jersey on the day of big matches. Otherwise, should he be happening to watch a game and Im present, lets just say I dont put much focus on the teams playing or the score........ :o