Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Race Number Transfers - Let's be nice.

• 15-09-2009 2:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭

There's a rule here that race number transfers cannot be requested without proof that the race permits transfers. There is good reason for this, and so these threads must be locked. However, I would like to suggest that people who post these threads should be told politely why their post is not allowed. Recently, it seems to be used as an opportunity to chide a potentially valuable new forum member. Nobody's perfect, I know that I didn't read the charter until I'd been posting for quite a while.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,462 ✭✭✭HardyEustace

How about having "no race transfers unless email/rule to say allowed" as a title for a stickie?

That way, it's more visible and people have more chance of realising the rules.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭--amadeus--

I do see your point and I take it on board(s).

However there have been a series of threads looking for number swaps just lately and the patience of one of teh users (not a Mod) was obviously tried to the point where he took the p.

The thread was locked and teh title changed. I changed the title for a couple of reasons. First because if I had left the thread title unchanged and teh original message in place then people could still organise a swap through PM. By deleting things like contact details (email, phone number) from those messages and changing the thread title to obscure the race that the OP wants to swap for (or even that it's a race swap) I can minimise the chances of a number swap happening.

I know a lot of people don't "get" the ban on number swaps but we're too big a site now to be seen to be facilitating rule breaking.

Secondly I changed that title to point out that there is a great big BLOCK CAPS thread at the top saying "READ ME". In fairness if someone is daft enough to not read the big sign that says "wet paint" are they within thier rights to complain if people giggle at the stains on thier trousers?

It was supposed to be light hearted but make the point that that poster should have read the "read me". We don't *have* to be 100% serious all of the time.

And finally what makes you think that all of these one post wonders are brand newbies and not regulars with a new identity chancing thier arm?

How about having "no race transfers unless email/rule to say allowed" as a title for a stickie?

That way, it's more visible and people have more chance of realising the rules.

We could try it but I guarantee that will be ignored just as much as teh "READ ME FIRST" title is ignored

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

And finally what makes you think that all of these one post wonders are brand newbies and not regulars with a new identity chancing thier arm?

That hadn't occurred to me. When it comes to editing the thread/title I think I'd prefer to see a polite approach rather than sarcasm. I think it would look a little more professional and also more welcoming to new members who might be nervous about posting to start with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭CaoimheX

I dunno, it was kinda funny ! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Made me read it anyway, probably would not have read it if it said something like "Wanted HM entry"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

A little off topic here but it does seem that alot more Tri's do allow swaps is it becoming the norm in tri's ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 gdogg09

cfitz wrote: »
    There's a rule here that race number transfers cannot be requested without proof that the race permits transfers. There is good reason for this, and so these threads must be locked. However, I would like to suggest that people who post these threads should be told politely why their post is not allowed. Recently, it seems to be used as an opportunity to chide a potentially valuable new forum member. Nobody's perfect, I know that I didn't read the charter until I'd been posting for quite a while.
    Have managed to contact them and hopefully will be registered for the big day so panic averted. Locking the thread without notice seemed a little harsh alright but i suppose rules are rules. No bad feelings here. Now to take the new course down to chinatown...sub 1:30 is the goal. Anyone looking to register should email them and might be instructed they have a chance! Good luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭CaoimheX

Yes I noticed that too in the tri's, not allowing swaps must be to generate the most amount of money possible for the event, I'm guessing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭cfitz

CaoimheX wrote: »
    I dunno, it was kinda funny ! :rolleyes:
    dna_leri wrote: »
    Made me read it anyway, probably would not have read it if it said something like "Wanted HM entry"

Well maybe I'm too sensitive so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,584 ✭✭✭✭tunney

CaoimheX wrote: »
    Yes I noticed that too in the tri's, not allowing swaps must be to generate the most amount of money possible for the event, I'm guessing

Not at all. (I'm not a race organiser).

There are logistic with changing and entry and while most races allow it up to a point after that date they don't.

Changing waves, rebalancing waves, to name but a few take time and after a particular point the focus should be on the race organisation not transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

dna_leri wrote: »
    I would find "wanted HM entry" very disturbing..... oh you meant half marathon.;)

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Given that it was like the 5th post in the last like 24 hours with people looking for race numbers for the one race, it does get a little grating. Plus, sarcasm is funny. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,365 ✭✭✭hunnymonster

....the patience of one of teh users ...
    on a serious note, there is also the mod's time to consider. Essentially we are on call for this 24/7 and sometimes we just check in to see WWIII hasn't started. We don't always have the time for a fully intro-to-boards-we're-nice-guys post but if something needs locking, we've an obligation to do it as soon as we notice it. I often worry I come across as curt and nasty if I quickly lock something but sometimes there are family screaming for dinner, boss looking for a report and training to be done and boards gets 30 seconds.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Heres my take.
    There should of course be race transfers but perhaps with a small surcharge etc. I mean sometimes these things happen and its not like you are running without payment .

Im recently back from holiday and missed out on the Adidas half marathon after logging on with 15 days to go. As I had not seen or heard anything else I thought that was fine as entries were to be closed two weeks before.I was amazed and annoyed when I saw "entries closed". Having run 69mins and average 72 mins for the half its not like im a fun runner. I have raced and supported the running scene for the guts of ten years. I have also spent a fortune staying over for races and have turned up year after year for many. I was going to email the organiser but saw the post after post about NO LATE ENTRIES.. Sometimes people DO get caught out regarding a deadline and perhaps somebody who puts something into the sport should be allowed a small break.

It annoys me sometimes when certain clubs or athletes get a free entry into a race, and I dont expect free entry, nor would I run without a number.

Therfore perhaps armagh 10 or loughrea 5 here I come!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭RoyMcC

Good post jinka. Yes I do believe that race organisers could be more flexible sometimes. However there are real organisational issues caused by transfer requests. For example, a lot of races use third party online entry systems. Where the original runner has entered online the system needs to be manually bypassed or overridden to recognise the transfer. Maybe the new runner will need to fill out a manual entry form, sign the disclaimer etc. then the organiser needs to manually delete the original and transfer the entry fee credit etc.

There also comes a time where T-shirts need to be ordered, programmes must be printed, a definitive list of runners must be handed to the medical people etc.

Fair play to those RDs that do facilitate transfers as he/she has a pretty full schedule in the days leading up to the race.

And no matter how late you leave the closing date there will be runners who miss it. In my RD days I used to allow entries until midnight the day before the race and still got moaned at because there were no entries on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

gdogg09 wrote: »
    Have managed to contact them and hopefully will be registered for the big day so panic averted. Locking the thread without notice seemed a little harsh alright but i suppose rules are rules. No bad feelings here. Now to take the new course down to chinatown...sub 1:30 is the goal. Anyone looking to register should email them and might be instructed they have a chance! Good luck.

I presume it's the Lifestyle Sports - adidas Dublin Half Marathon you are talking about. If so, I'm assuming that the "managed to contact them" you are talking about is the race organisers.
    Can I just say that it doesn't really matter what sad story you come up with, there are physically no numbers left, and therefore, exceptions cannot be made. Your post above might wrongly lead people to think that they can just ring the office and get sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 monkeyduff

Look guys I apologies for posting the thread but the orgainisers of the HM messed up my entry. I made a rash decision to ask for a transfer. I didn't read the terms & conditions and can see why transfers aren't allowed. I agree with your comments......I just wanted to run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭Hard Worker

monkeyduff wrote: »
    Look guys I apologies for posting the thread but the orgainisers of the HM messed up my entry. I made a rash decision to ask for a transfer. I didn't read the terms & conditions and can see why transfers aren't allowed. I agree with your comments......I just wanted to run.

Race entries are not dealt with by the organisers. Entries are done online by YOURSELF.
    I'm sure that the fact that the entries are so high and, unfortunately, some people have missed out, the organisers will take on board the situation, and hopefully, next year, nobody will be disappointed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

monkeyduff wrote: »

In case that's code for "someone PM'd me and I arranged a transfer", make sure you know the risks and ensure you carry an id tag with contact details in case of emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 monkeyduff

No one PM'd me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 408 ✭✭jinka

Lads just do another race. Thats what im going to do. At the end of the day running in the morning on a hilly course trying to lap people isnt the B+end all! .Lots of quality races on worth doing. Perhaps there is a NIKE CHAMPION SPORTS race thats even better!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 gdogg09

I presume it's the Lifestyle Sports - adidas Dublin Half Marathon you are talking about. If so, I'm assuming that the "managed to contact them" you are talking about is the race organisers.
    Can I just say that it doesn't really matter what sad story you come up with, there are physically no numbers left, and therefore, exceptions cannot be made. Your post above might wrongly lead people to think that they can just ring the office and get sorted.
    My post had the intention of letting people know that if they sent an email to 'Lifestlye Sports' then a representative might get back to them with good news. This is what happened to me (as i think i mentioned). In detail: i did manage to contact them, they had a few numbers left and once i explained what had happend they instructed me to post in my application. Now i may be wrong but this might have been useful info. At no point was i making out that this was going to be a simple case of ringing the bloody office. Yellow card buddy.

No need for personal abuse.

And gdogg09, in case you weren't aware HW is on the organising committee for the race series, so if he is saying that the race is full and no one is getting in then you can be pretty sure that the race is full and no one is getting in.

I'm closing this because I think it's run it's course but if anyone wants to debate the merits of race transfer rules in general feel free to start another thread.