Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Debs 2010

• 15-09-2009 12:21am
    Registered Users Posts: 786 ✭✭✭

I was thinking about starting the debs commitie in my school.. Is it too early yet to be booking it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 529 ✭✭✭Homicidal_jesus

i dont think its every really to early..if you got the money they got the time;)

• Registered Users Posts: 7,231 ✭✭✭Fad

My debs isnt for over a month :confused:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,686 ✭✭✭Kersmash

Jaysus I haven't even thought about that, it's so far away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 357 ✭✭djcervi

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=62720- that should help you with your search for a venue.

I'd say organise a proper debs committee now and start research now. It wouldn't hurt.

I think for a lot of people debs 09 is stll in season.

Fad wrote: »
    My debs isnt for over a month :confused:

really???i had mine over a month ago ha

The city people tend to have theirs later........

I want to get it out of the way!

The city people tend to have theirs later........

I want to get it out of the way!

ah ye crazy city folk:p

that will be pretty weird considering ye probably will have all have made new college friends and such

ah ye crazy city folk:p

that will be pretty weird considering ye probably will have all have made new college friends and such

I suppose the lack of inbreeding does funny things to our minds :p

Seeing as most of my year are in UCD it wont be that strange.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

In my school the debs comittee was set up the other day. Our year head didn't like the people who were on it though and asked for them to be changed :eek: so i don't think its too early theres loads to do.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

Am I the only one perceiving a touch of irony there?

Or catching a mental image of fake baked Sorchas and RossOCKs going "Oh my Gawd!" as they alight from the Dorsh? :cool:

Am I the only one perceiving a touch of irony there?

Or catching a mental image of fake baked Sorchas and RossOCKs going "Oh my Gawd!" as they alight from the Dorsh? :cool:

It was joke :P

I was in the Arts block for the first time yesterday, the assumption isnt exactly misguided.

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 29,509 Mod ✭✭✭✭randylonghorn

It was joke :P

Why, did it sound as if I was wearing my serious boxers?! :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭Daragh101

D4........blahhhhhh

Daragh101 wrote: »
    D4........blahhhhhh

I have been educated for the last ten years in D4:(

I am one of the lucky ones though, I dont live there

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭BDR

We set ours up last week.

I'm not on it though, most of our teachers told us to try not to be on it because it takes up too much time.

Go ahead and start one now though, last years 6th years left it till the end of October and found it really hard to get a good venue on the dates they wanted. So the earlier the better.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭DancingQueen:)

I found out my date for the debs today, early september. The hotel told us it was booked up for most of setember with debs already.. don't know if it's true though.

could be..but they could just be sayin that to get ye to pay up faster..happened for my debs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 Freebee09

if I dont get on my schools debs committe I will have to stab someone...

I dont trust the rest of my year to do it....

Going to the previous year's debs in four days... :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 CosmicLove

Our debs committee is already up and running.
    They're currently trying to book our pre debs, we've got the 2 dates they're going for and everything! I'm also looking at dresses atm xD

Pre debs? :S

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 CosmicLove

Yeah, that's what I was like at first too. Cause I originally grew up in England. So to be honest I didn't really know that much about the debs itself!
    But yeah, considering that it's already being organised might aswell go :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭tracker-man

what kind of prices are hotels charging for debs? A meal, band, dj, security, etc.? I am on debs committee in my school, and its the first time the school is organising one so we're learning as we go along... Any tips?!

• Registered Users Posts: 929 ✭✭✭TheCardHolder

Bit early?

I booked a suit four days beforehand.
    Got around to asking a girl two days before it :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 117 ✭✭Davabo

Bit early?

I booked a suit four days beforehand.
    Got around to asking a girl two days before it :pac:

Cutting it a bit close there mate, Your lucky haha
    Or good looking :rolleyes:.

• Registered Users Posts: 676 ✭✭✭ayumi

yea,our yr have already started a debs commute since the end of September!

and have decided on the date and venue

• Registered Users Posts: 8,900 ✭✭✭Eire-Dearg

Ours is done and dusted already. Ridiculously early, and it triggered everyone asking people to go with them so early.

Ours is done too. Infact the first payment for it was expected on the friday before midterm. =/

• Site Banned Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭DB10

just found out our debs cost 90 euro per ticket..:rolleyes:

Why is it so much and what exactly does it pay for??

• Registered Users Posts: 330 ✭✭3_BOoYA_X

Ours is set and all too, already paid Š40 off it, Š180 for two tickets is abit steep in my opinion. Limo on top of that, then dress, hair, tan, etc. Its going To be hitting Š600 before the night even start.
    Could get a good leaving holiday for that much. ><

Mine was €100 a ticket.

Paid for the meal, the band and the dj. Nothing else really.

Meal was fine, band were good craic, dj was awful (In terms of music played and general djing skills).

I'm very very cynical, and I enjoyed the night. Take what you will from that.