Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Simon Young Back on the Radio

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭The Muppet

That is great news, I didn't catch it either but wish him well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72 ✭✭essdee

Got a chance to hear some of his show today and he sounded great. Plenty of his vintage gags between the tracks:

Talking about a psychiatrist "Never trust a man with a bed in his office."

His first mobile disco was called "Wings" - it never really got off the ground.

He wondered if people in Australia ever refer to us as "Up over" since we refer to them as being "down under."

And if there's a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there's a ninety per cent probability that you'll get it wrong.

Keep throwing them out Simon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

I'd forgotten he had disappeared off the radio. By the looks of things he's been to hell and back. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

So likeable a presenter you just couldn't get annoyed by him. Plus, he used to present a show on 2FM in the early 90s which featured some great 70s disco and soul.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I heard it recently, load of tosh to be honest ,in my opinion.

About as much substance as a mouse's fart.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

essdee wrote: »
    Plenty of his vintage gags between the tracks:

Talking about a psychiatrist "Never trust a man with a bed in his office."

His first mobile disco was called "Wings" - it never really got off the ground.

He wondered if people in Australia ever refer to us as "Up over" since we refer to them as being "down under."

And if there's a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there's a ninety per cent probability that you'll get it wrong.

Good lord you think this is funny. Never liked the chap on the radio, but wish him well after all his trouble. Seems like he's had a rough time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Didnt know he was the voice of "Jimmy" who used to speak to Ian Dempsey in the mornings. I remember listenin to that on the school bus!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭General Zod

fair play to the guy, been through a rough couple of years, good to see him getting himself back together.

• Site Banned Posts: 8 FlUtO

Any update on Simon of late?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,308 ✭✭✭✭Bard

FlUtO wrote: »

Jaysus, you had me thinking Simon was back on air (again) ...

oldposts.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,261 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

FlUtO wrote: »

He is on Twitter; djsimonyoung is is account there. Maybe you could drop him a line and ask him what's up in his world.