Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Medical costs.. Can't afford it

• 12-09-2009 5:47pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey so I got assaulted in town.. Didn't go to the guards as didn't think there was any point. Anyway I went to the hospital the next day as I was feeling dizzy. I have a fractured eye socket and it will cost 100 euro for having that xrayed etc. Now I need a cat scan and may need surgery in James's. My problem is I am on the dole with no medical card and I have been told that a C scan is very expensive. I don't have anyone to give me money and I am pretty stuck. Any advice? As in if I just leave it which is risky until I get a medical card will that work? Or is there some way of getting through this without having the money to do it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Thing is i don't know who the guy is.. Basicaly I was in a pub and I went to the toilet.. I was waiting for a cubicle and I presume someone did something to the guy inside because he opened the door shouts at me you weren't next... And then throws a glass of whiskey into my face.. I didn't even get to respond... So I am giving out **** and he leaves the toilet... next thing the bouncers come in and drag me out so I am standing outside giving out about it to them (Not aggressive but sort of cheeky). Anyway this Ahole standing having a smoke comes over and shouts you **** off and go home. And I said who are you man? it's none of your business. And then whack he headbutted me. So this girl comes over and is like you should probably just leave. Then the Ahole walks back inside not before shouting YEAH into my face and sqauring up to me. And then I went home.

you shuold still go to the guards. I'd be reporting the bouncers and all.
    THe social welfare might be able to fast track a medical card for you. The hospital social workeres may be able to help

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,091 ✭✭✭dearg lady

um, I'm a little confused, did you go to a public hospital? Cos that should be free, well there's an admission charge(I thnk it went up to €125 but could be wrong) but the the rest should be free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 John5

Thing is i don't know who the guy is.. Basicaly I was in a pub and I went to the toilet.. I was waiting for a cubicle and I presume someone did something to the guy inside because he opened the door shouts at me you weren't next... And then throws a glass of whiskey into my face.. I didn't even get to respond... So I am giving out **** and he leaves the toilet... next thing the bouncers come in and drag me out so I am standing outside giving out about it to them (Not aggressive but sort of cheeky). Anyway this Ahole standing having a smoke comes over and shouts you **** off and go home. And I said who are you man? it's none of your business. And then whack he headbutted me. So this girl comes over and is like you should probably just leave. Then the Ahole walks back inside not before shouting YEAH into my face and sqauring up to me. And then I went home.
    You should have reported this guy who basically assualted you to the Gardai, and yeah i would have mentioned the bouncers too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭VaioCruiser

dearg lady wrote: »
    um, I'm a little confused, did you go to a public hospital? Cos that should be free, well there's an admission charge(I thnk it went up to €125 but could be wrong) but the the rest should be free.

A one off fee of ~€50 and scans etc should be free along with all treatment thereafter. I don't understand the OP.