Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Chris de Burgh "sees red" - Irish Times article.

• 11-09-2009 8:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭

http://short.ie/dgrtm7

Now there is a nice well deserved slap Chris de Burgh gave critic? Peter Crawley of the Irish Times. I am no fan of Chris, and the 'calls of Chris we love you' is a bit much (a lot much infact......)

But fair play to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

And fair play to the paper for printing it. De Burgh has over-reacted. Got caught up in his own self-importance. The review was not bitter in tone, childish maybe.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Politics Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,110 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dizzyblonde

Chris seems to have a bit of a persecution complex in the last few years, and an overblown sense of his own importance. With Rosanna off in London now he's not getting much press coverage at the moment so I think Crawley's review did him a favour ;).
    The review was a bit petty and insulting but it would have been better for him to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73 ✭✭LOOKIHERE

I agree - it was an over reaction. But as you say a childish review - infact all parties were, including the IT for reprinting. Poor editing I suppose but too many times we read very one sided articles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,144 ✭✭✭✭Cicero

Ouch!! Double Ouch!!

Peter Crawleys review isn't actually that bad- obviously he's not a fan of that genre of music (MOR has it's following and it's a strong loyal fan base, like it or not) - however, Chris is just down right childish and insulting- he has formulated his retort as if he is some sort of renowned playwright - however, he has done it in the style of school boy as opposed to an award winning writer- his PS at the end has a very strong cringe factor- someone please take the shovel off Chris !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Not the best piece of journalism tbh and De Burgh has a point. Read the review and it is pretty poor and just an excuse for a childish self-indulgent rant. Hard to say from the review whether it was any good, which is what it's supposed to do. It would have been far better to say "I hate Chris de Burgh but I'm going to try and review his gig objectively".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Corb

De Burgh yet again shows what an eejit he is :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

I honestly thought it was quiet refreshing to see him stand up for himself.
    Why cant the critics be given a taste of their own medicine!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 JuanBluff

I fully agree, that was a quite ridiculous reaction. As an artist you should be able to live with criticism or reviews like this, Writing a letter to the paper is childish and shows that Chris's self consciousness is not the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 irishguy64

Ah Chris Deburgh, what can one say about Chris that hasn't been said before. Chris you are one of the biggest twats currently residing on these shores....no, I'm sure thats been done before....Chris your muzak is the worst kind of aural torture imaginable....definitely done before.....trim your eyebrows....his poor wife has exhausted herself with that one to no avail.
    I could go on but its all been said before, people don't like this man (excluding his fans but that leaves everybody else) 1. Because noone with any taste in music could possibly endure the utter drivel he produces
    2. Those clothes, his eyebrows, that hair...he looks like he walked off the set of Life on Mars and not in a good way.
    3. And now we all know what your really like after reading your rather pathetic letter to Mr. Crawley, the fact he felt the need to write to a critic to complain about him doing his job shows how insecure he is, surely reviews are just part of the deal if you put work out there, good or bad you have to take it on the chin, which unfortunately in Chris' case must hurt a lot.

Finally I want to comment on the content of the letter. I am related to a journalist who writes a critical piece for a well known magazine. Not so long ago he recieved by email a letter of complaint by a Mr. Chris Deburgh regarding his unhappiness with a review my relative wrote about him. I have a copy of this email and I can tell you that the content of it is almost identical to the one sent to Mr. Crawley. The same infantile tone, the same attempt to belittle the journalist in question, the same gargantuan chip on his shoulder which comes across in every sentence.

Why can't this man enjoy his fans (God knows he's lucky to have them) and just be thankful for the success he has had. He will never, ever, ever be cool or musically credible, It's bad enough he makes a public spectacle of himself when he walks out onstage, does he have to do it in the papers as well

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 havingfun247

ha ha! what a moron. I thought this was brilliant!