Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First Years living in Centre Point?

• 10-09-2009 2:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

Any first years living in Centre Point? I am! Moving up Friday doing Arts cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭reap-a-rat

I'm here right now!! apt 9;)!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭jighooligan

Nice! Think Im 42! Is there many first years up there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,985 ✭✭✭skelliser

where is centre point?
    is it in the liosbaun industrial estate?

a "short distance" from the college! lol!! its a least a 30 minute walk from there, more when its windy, rain
    those apartments where originally built at the boom for upmarket types, professionals with cars, now that they cant sell them
    they have rebranded it as student accomendation.
    This place would be just about ok for gmit but nuig! no way

Just thinking about the walk to college, horrible horrible walk in store for ya, you'l have to walk down the back of the estate
    across to castlelawn heights, down the dyke road to the bridge, cross the bridge into college. on a good day that 30minutes at a good pace. That entire walk is completly exposed to the elements and it rains alot in galway.

the bus, youll have to walk back up to the statoil/cemetary and wait for a bus, if and when one comes, into eyre square, another wait and then it heads out to the university raod, not to bad but will also take at least 30 minutes

seriously if you still can, get somewhere else, newcastle area or west side of the river, but not in the liosbaun industrial estate!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭schween

skelliser wrote: »
    where is centre point?

Lisbaun Industrial Estate, Tuam Road.

Nice! Think Im 42! Is there many first years up there?
    any time i'm around the place seems dead but we'll see on friday!! feel free to call over for a cuppa when we get our kettle fixed:D!!

Ill be up for tea tomorrow so!:)
    How many of ye are there?

skelliser wrote: »
    where is centre point?
    is it in the liosbaun industrial estate?

a "short distance" from the college! lol!! its a least a 30 minute walk

I've walked it about three times, twice since ive moved her and the weather's been nice and it was twenty mins at my pace!! walked it for the open day last year, shockin wet and windy day and it took around the same!! its not that far!!!

and jighooligan, there's me and my mate next door, im sure we can entertain ya!! my roomie wont be here til sat, sniff:(!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Jaysus, all the first years must be mad about tea this year... thought you'd be going round for bucky!

tea is just a euphemism, but shhhhhh;)!!

Euphemism? You mean theres no tea?:D
    Yeah I think mine is moving up tomorrow as well hopefully anyways! Been out there much yet?

nope!! out tonight, coyotes---- Sh1te nite, so my cuppa tea, casual is my friend:D!! so hopefully twill be a bitta craic anyways!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Casper89

Any first years living in Centre Point? I am! Moving up Friday doing Arts cant wait
    Same here! Moving up tomorrow! Doing Arts!:) Only thing is I'm getting a bus up from Kerry, earliest being half 9 in the morning and it arrives in Galway bus station quarter to 2 so I'd never make it for office closing hours 2 o'clock...called them up this morning and gotta go to gort na coiribe first to pick up my key, and then head up to centrepoint! With 3 big bags! I'll sooo be in need of a good brew!:D

Oh thats a pain in the arse:mad:
    We should all have a big meet-up tomorrow night???

Oh thats a pain in the arse:mad:
    We should all have a big meet-up tomorrow night???

i'm in anyway:D!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭Casper89

Meet up sounds good! Me and my roommate are here on level two, don't see much activity around seems quite quiet!:P

Anyone around tonight so?? I thought all the first years would be around tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

I was there for 2006-2007, it's miles from college! Got a bike but still ****. It's only acceptable if you've a car. I was in 4th year but all first years I lived with hated it, it's in a fcuking industrial estate! Unless you get a seriously boozy crowd the craic won't be great, basically I just slept there, spent all my chilling time in gort/dun/cuirt na coiribe which was where all the fun was back in my day.

Casper we'll be around tonight if ya wanna call to 42.
    Think we might be headin out to Corrib village but sure come with us:D